Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook

So what if she can't hook a fish? This girl has a plan to snag something else...and his name is Justin. Lucy Binoche is attractive and intelligent, and she has better than average hair. So why is she nearly thirty and still single? When stunningly gorgeous Justin Gerard joins the singles group at church, Lucy is convinced that he's the answer to her prayers. And when he signs up for a camping trip in Snowball, Arkansas, Lucy is quick to write her name on the line beneath his. There's only one problem: Lucy's idea of "roughing it" is suffering through a long line at Starbucks(tm). She assumes she can rely on the grace of God and the assistance of her best friend Matt, to thrive in the great outdoors. Will Lucy pretend to be someone she's not just to snag a boyfriend? Or will she discover she can be loved just as she is?
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Great book. I finished in one sitting. It ended the way I had hoped. It was a very easy read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Book is cute; not one that I'd want to keep in my library for rereading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Lou Roberds
I really appreciated the unique way of inserting the spiritual aspect of the daily talks in prayer !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jim Smerk
This was my first "Love Finds you" book and I was totally impressed. I loved the layout of the book and this was a great story. The best part was adding the recipes which made it exceptional to me (I collect recipes). The story line and the characters were believable and wonderful. I loved it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie Canter
I really enjoyed this book! There were a lot of funny moments and I identified with Lucy's attempts at trying to catch the perfect mate. I remember those days before I was married. I think Bricker is an author to watch!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Peale
This book was hysterical. It is rare for an author to make me truly laugh, but this one did. I recommend this book if your looking for a light romance with a funny read. The ending could have been better for me since I like "the boy next door" theme.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lana
This is a sweet, easy-read romance. Lucy is quite comical and has inspiringly funny prayer journal entries. This was my first Sandra D. Bricker read. She does a fabulous job incorporating humor and the message of Christ into the romantic storyline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dawn Kinzer
Have you ever tried to be someone youre not in order to fit in or impress people? Or been too impatient to wait for Gods timing?Lucy struggles with both in the entertaining romantic comedy, Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas, by Sandra D. Bricker.If you want to curl up in front of a fire on a snowy or rainy afternoon with a fun read, choose this book. I enjoyed Sandras witty writing, and not only laughed with Lucy at her mishaps, I was touched by her hearts experiences. I couldnt help but cheer her on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roseanna White, Christian Review of Books
Okay, so shes not outdoorsy. She hasnt owned a pair of tennis shoes since she was twelve. Heights make her ill, and shes allergic to . . . everything. Thats no reason for Lucy Binoche to miss out on snagging her man, right? Because when the hunky Justin says hes going on their churchs singles retreat to Snowball, Arkansas, Lucy isnt about to let one of the other girls hook him along with their fish. Hes hershe just doesnt know it yet. But with the help of her best friend Matt, shell have reeled him in in no time.Matt knows Lucys plan is a bad one from the get-go. Pretending to be someone shes not just to get Justins interest? Stupidespecially since shes so great to begin with. Quirky, yes. Unsuited to the outdoors, obviously. But needing to change? No way. If he could just find a girl with her qualities who didnt think of him as a brother, hed be set.As the group heads off to the retreat in Snowball, hilarity and misadventure dogs their steps, sure to keep the reader in laughter and the pages turning. I absolutely adored Lucy, fell in love with Matt, wanted to claim all the members of the singles group as my new best friends, and am ready to plan a vacation in Snowball.I couldnt put this book down. Light and fun, with gems of truth sprinkled throughout, this is a quick read and a great story. I enjoyed every paragraph and was thrilled to see the recipes they used at the retreat at the ends of the chapters.Filled with humor and romance as sweet and comfy as a smore, Snowball, Arkansas is a good read waiting to happen. Youre not going to want to miss this launching title from Summersides Love Finds You line. Fabulous!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heather
If you are ready for a feel good book, then this is the one. Love Find You in Snowball, Arkansas keeps you entertained and chuckling at the main character, Lucy, who is trying to be anyone but herself to get the man she thinks is the one. She forgets to look right in front of her and all along the right man for her has been in front of her, supporting and being her best friend since they were both children.True to my expectations Sandie has written another book I wanted to keep on reading and was not able to put down, I finished this in a couple of days. Sandie has a way with her words of enabling the reader to feel as if you are right there with the characters. I would find myself reading as fast as possible to learn of the next comical moment Lucy would get herself into. This is a funny book that makes you believe in love all over again. What a great read and I cannot wait for the next book from Sandie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paige
I LOVED this book by Sandra D. Brickner. The humor made me laugh-out-loud, while the depth of Lucys spiritual journey made me analyze being true to Gods plan for my life. Sandie has a real gift for weaving humor with spiritual growth, and writes a very strong story. Anyone questioning Gods purpose in their life, and wondering if they might try to help Him with His job will benefit from reading it. I was reading late at night and laughing about certain scenes until my daughter asked what was so funny. I read a few scenes to her and had her laughing, too. Im surprised we didnt wake up the whole house. It was a great moment. We really laughed over the horse scene. You just have to read it. I loved the recipes included in the book, could visualize being in the story with the characters, and, because Im originally from that area, I LOVED the descriptions and setting. I miss the Ozarks so much! Thanks, Sandie, for a fantastic, fun read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
mary beth
This is a laugh out loud romantic comedy with God's will for your life as it's cental message. Sandra Brickner does a phenomenal job wrapping the two together in her first inspirational romance. Lucy Binoche is a 30-year old single woman who is searching for Mr. Right. She belives she has finally found him and in order to "close the deal" she agrees to a week long retreat in Snowball, Arkansas pretending to be someone she is not. Her best friend Matt watches the transformation and is frustrated that Lucy can't see what a fantastic person she is just as God intended her to be, no transformation needed. This light-hearted comedy handles the deeper subject of being authentic with comedic flair and grace. A wonderful read. I couldn' put it down. I know you won't be able to either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2008
From the first moment that Lucy sets her cap to attract Justin Gerard, Sandra Bricker takes the reader on a merry chase that takes you to a camping spot in Snowball, Arkansas where Lucy and her friends encounter all sorts of adventures made more exciting by Lucys mishaps trying to fish, ride in a hot air balloon, explore a cavern and ride a snowmobile; all things she tried to do in order to attract Justin. From bug bites to a sprained ankle, Lucy endures it all for love, but is it the wrong love? Is what she truly wants right under her nose?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathie C. Moore
LOVE FINDS YOU IN SNOWBALL, ARKANSAS is a quick and wonderful read! I read most of it on a travel day flying from Dallas to Orlando for vacation, and could hardly wait to finish it that night at the hotel. Lucy Binoche is a quirky, lovable character who keeps you chuckling as she bumbles through the singles retreat searching for love, when all the while it is there for the taking. All of the characters in the singles group are well written, lovable, and real.The story is well told by author Sandra Bricker. I loved this book and look forward to reading her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2008
Lucy Binoche falls in love the second she meets gorgeous Justin Gerald at her church in Little Rock, Arkansas. She gets her best friend, Matt, to introduce them, and when Justin signs up for a week-long singles retreat in Snowball, Arkansas, Lucy signs on the line right below him. So what if she cant hook a worm and Justin is the original outdoors man. Immediately after signing up, Lucy gets Matt to help her learn how to hook a worm and cast a line, and even how to sit in a canoe. And even though Lucy doesnt exactly master the tricks in Matts living room, shes convinced the camping trip will be a breeze, even though Lucys idea of roughing it is suffering through a long line at Starbucks and staying at a 4-star hotel. How long can Lucy pretend to be someone shes not? Will the new Lucy snap a boyfriend?LOVE FINDS YOU IN SNOWBALL, ARKANSAS, is the second book in the Love Finds You series, and it is a winner. I totally loved Lucy, and Matt, and all the other secondary characters. The book is funny and lighthearted, and even better, it is set in my part of the country. I enjoyed watching the characters tour areas that Im very familiar with. The faith message is very well down, and not preachy. My only problem with this story is that there were liberties taken with the October weather conditions in Arkansas, but this is fiction. I loved this book and cant wait to read this authors next Love Finds You book coming in 2009. Dont miss this new series by a brand new publishing house.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Miralee Ferrell
Lucy Bioche has a problem, or so she thinks. She's pushing 30 and not married, with no serious boyfriend in sight. Her best friend Matt has been a big brother forever, but he's not boyfriend material. Lucy makes a decision--one that will impact her life forever. She and Matt head off for a week long, Christian singles retreat in the Ozark mountains even though she HATES outdoor activities. Why? A gorgeous new "hunk" started attending her church and he's definitely the outdoors type. If only Lucy can fit in his world, she's convinced they'll be a perfect fit. After all, he's drop dead handsome and a Christian, so what more could she ask?The next week isn't at all what Lucy expects, as she meets one disaster after another. God is trying to get her attention and bring her focus back to what really matters. Being true to herself and true to what God wants for her life, but the lure of catching Justin keeps getting in the way. This was such a refreshingly FUN book, but Sandra did an excellent job weaving in some sound Biblical truths, as well as down to earth common sense. The combination was perfect...not too silly, and not too serious or 'preachy'. I highly recommend this book to Christian fiction lovers, or anyone who wants to spend a few hours grinning, chuckling and following the romantic antics of a very believable young woman as she tries to discover what really DOES matter in her life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elaine Lyons Bach
Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas is a lovely story to mark the debut of a successful author, Sandra D. Bricker, into the Christian fiction market. Lucy and Matt are instantly likeable characters, well drawn and completely believable - as are all the characters in the book. Lucy and Matt are both gifted with a sense of fun and adventure. Some of Lucys misadventures put me in mind of many of the romantic screwball comedies of the forties and fifties the ones you watch over and over again. Clear and concise life lessons are deftly woven into the story without being preachy. Ms. Bricker shows her artistry as she sprinkles the tale with her imaginatively humorous metaphors, and explores her universal theme without beating you over the head with it. Summerside Press is a new publisher with new ideas. I love the idea of a series of books that take place in a different real small town. Snowball, Arkansas played into the story so much that I would love to take a trip there someday to see the caves, fish, and sled like Lucy. I sincerely hope I do not fall into the same scrapes as she, though knowing myself to be a clutz, I could very well do so. Finally Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas is a book I will gladly lend to my eighty-seven-year-old mother and my twenty-year-old niece with no qualms about the content. I now intend to keep a look-out for more Love Finds You books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debra Ullrick
Sweet, fun, and fabulous! That's what Love Finds You In Snowball, Arkansas is! I love this story by Sandra D. Bricker. I laughed SO hard. I snickered often. And I giggled a zillion times. Several Oooos and Ahhhs departed from my lips too. Along with a fewOh mys!This really is a book to: grab a blanket, curl up in a chair in front of the fire, and drink a glass of Betty Sues Hot Apple Cider. Whats Betty Sues hot Apple Cider you say? Well, read the book and find out.Love Finds You In Snowball, Arkansas ministered to me in so many ways. One of the things I really gleaned from it was Lucys prayer journal. I have to start one like that. I love that Lucy was so honest with God, and that she signed each prayer/letter to the Lord in a unique way. How you might ask? As if! Buy the book and find out. Love Finds You In Snowball, Arkansas has several to-die-for recipes and even a few cooking tips. One I found extremely helpful and interesting.And boy, howdy, does Lucy ever get into some pretty unique, precarious predicaments. Lucille Ball and the I Love Lucy show have nothing on Lucy Binoche.Such as a laptop and a wild moose encounter. But is it really a moose? And was does the laptop have to do with anything?Or, fish with evil eyes. Or was it just a small mouth bass?How aboutinvisible bugs that leave itchy bug bites all over you. Huh?Better yetLucy gets whacked in the head by something that no one would ever want to get whacked in the head with. What is it?If you want to know the answer to these questions, then buy the book to find out. You wont be sorry.And if you want to read a story thats filled with adventure, love, romance, humor, giggles, friendships, and dessert, then Love Finds You In Snowball, Arkansas by Sandra D. Bricker is the story for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Loree Lough
It's no surprise to Sandra Bricker fans that she's done it again. SNOWBALL is a fun, fantastic, faith-filled read that'll give readers a chance to exercise all their emotional muscles. They'll laugh, they'll sigh, they'll cheer when the heroine realizes she really IS good enough, just the way God made her...and that happily-ever-after love IS possible...with your best friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
d page
I loved the characters in this book! Lucy was a hoot. The snappy dialog really kept me reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>