Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook

Summerside Press Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Review 1 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good stories

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
susanmsj
Location:Odessa, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked that the stories were related, but the first one was historical and the second one was contemporary. These stories were very different, but I really enjoyed both of them. I would recommend this book.
I won a copy of this book in a giveaway and was not required to give a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Two nice Christmas stories

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AN APPALACHIAN CHRISTMAS
by Irene Brand
When Julia Mayfield returns from serving in the WACs in World War II she attempts to fulfill her only sisters dying request, to take her son to his dead father's family in Mistletoe, Kentucky. The trip to Mistletoe was a test in itself, she wasn't used to children, her nephew didn't really know her and when she gets off the bus in Booneville she has no way to get to Mistletoe and Booneville has no hotel. When she finally makes it to her sister's in-laws, they have locked themselves away in their house since hearing of their sons death and they don't know about Bobby so when she goes knocking on their door Bobby's grandfather threatens to kill her if she doesn't get off of his property. Now she has a decision to make, stay there and try to fulfill the promise she made to her sister or return home.
ONCE UPON A CHRISTMAS EVE
by Anita Higman
A baby was left on the steps of The Little Bethlehem Shoppe in the village of Noel, Missouri. Albert Goodnight, a single man, was the owner of the shop and found her sound asleep a wicker basket. Albert adopted Holly Rose but it was never discovered who left her or who her mother was. The residents of Noel knew the story and it was never talked about, until now that is. Someone told an author about the story so he decides he wants to write a story about Holly Rose Goodnight, if she'll agree to it.
I really enjoyed "An Appalachian Christmas" and found it entertaining to read but "Once Upon A Christmas Eve" did not seem as good to me. I liked the story but had trouble keeping interested in it, like it was dragging to me, but you have to know that I prefer more historical genre over modern day, so that could be my problem. All-in-all they were both nice Christmas stories and I feel that others would enjoy both.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
normie
Location:Celina, Oh
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this to be a very good book; two very interesting stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable seasonal reading

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Two novellas joined by mistletoe. Both books were very enjoyable reading and the authors cleverly link the stories by a mistletoe ball, which is not clear till close to the end of the second book - kept reading to find out the link! The Appalachain Christ is a heartwarming story with dear characters. Once Upon a Christmas has humor and spunky characters. Great Christmas Gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Cozy read for all seasons

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
dliesner
Location:Racine, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Love Finds You series has another winner with two well-written stories that resolve under the mistletoe. As other reviews have outlined, Christmas past and Christmas present show that no matter our location or circumstance in life, the most important people and moments are often waiting right under our noses. A cozy read any time of the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Christmas Read

Date:December 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only part about reading and reveiwing this book I didn't like was that I had to read it early. Each year I like to have one great romance, centered in some way around Christmas, that I read the week between Christmas and New Year's when my family is a little relaxed, in low gear. Believe me when I say that Anita Higman and Irene Brand wrote a wonderful Christmas read! The blending of past and present was perfect. The love stories were sweet and left you both touched and angered at the humanness of the characters. I shall not tell you the story, it would spoil it for you! But I do highly recommend this book as a heartwarming Christmas read and a great gift for those in your life who love romances! Grab some hot chocolate, a cozy blanket and enjoy!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved both stories by my favorite was the 2nd one.

Date:November 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first I thought I'd like the first book by Irene Brand best, since I'm a fan of historical fiction and have always enjoyed her Love Inspired stories. But then I decided to read Anita Higman's book and ended up loving it even more. Probably because it was deeper in regards to love, the heart, motivation, infatuation, and what it means to be committed to someone. However, I really enjoyed the first book, too.
They were both very different and spoke to different issues of the heart. What I enjoyed about the first book was the idea that if you love someone, are you willing to give up what you think you want and be open to something better? It also had to do with keeping promises and what real love is, versus a commitment made while grieving. Do you honor it even if it no longer applies?
Regarding the second story, I loved the whole "nobody wanted me then I received two marriage proposals in the same day" theme. I loved how the author had the heroine examining her heart and her motivation. Did she want what was comfortable and safe because of her abandonment issues? Did she want something new and exciting if it meant losing her best friend? How do you decide for the long haul what is best? Also, do you do what people expect, or do you risk doing the right thing when no matter what you do somebody gets hurt? Where does God fit into all of this...? :)
Great stories, both of them, but if I were to choose my favorite I'd have to say I liked the second story best. But they were both heart-warming and can be read any time of year, not just during the holidays.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Christmas Read

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gail Martin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Irene Brand's short novel in the Love Finds You Under The Mistlele is a delightful story set in the 40s when women's lives were so different than today. The characters were well-developed and the setting, the small village of Mistletoe, was brought to life. The plot kept me riveted and I loved the unexpected twist that made it an extra special book. Don't miss this one for holiday read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fascinating read

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Val W
Location:Arkansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Unlike most readers I know, I'm not usually fond of Christmas stories. THIS BOOK IS AN EXCEPTION. Irene Brand's tale of Appalachia in the 1940s took me back to a time before commercialism ran rampant and reminded me of how Christmas - and life - could still be celebrated with true thankfulness and spiritual blessings. It's a treasure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb!

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
fulluvjoy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed these two stories. Both had excellent characters that I loved spending time with and was sad to say goodbye to.
An Appalachian Christmas, by Irene Brand is set around WWII. I'm normally not a fan of novels set in that time era, but I really, really enjoyed this one. Fabulous story about the power of forgiveness.
Once Upon a Christmas Eve, a contemporary novel by Anita Higman is set in a Christmas shop in Noel, Missouri. This story shows how love truly can find you anywhere. In your own backyard or even on a doorstep.
I highly recommend, Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Liz Tolsma
This book is two Christmas stories in one. The first, "An Appalachian Christmas" is set in Mistletoe, Kentucky, deep in the Appalachian Mountains. Julia Mayfield brings her nephew to this tiny town to meet his paternal grandparents, which was her sister's dying wish. She meets David Armstrong, a WWII vet like herself and they make an instant connection. Several turns of events leave Julia in Mistletoe longer than the week she had planned. A Christmas miracle happens, changing things for Julia. Could a miracle be in the works for David and Julia?"Once upon a Christmas Eve" is set on present day Noel, Missouri. Holly Goodnight owns a Christmas shop that has just been voted the best Christmas shop in America. Writer Van Keaton comes to town, wanting to turn Holly's story into a novel. She agrees to let him tell the tale about how she was left as an infant on a doorstep on Christmas Eve. But lifelong friend Owen Quigly doesn't like the attention Van is paying to Holly and sets out on his own quest to win Holly's heart.I really enjoyed this book. Both stories were well written, with likable, believable characters. As is usual for books in the "Love Finds You" series, the location was central to both stories. "An Appalachian Christmas" appealed to me because of it's unique time period, the era immediately following WWII. "Once upon a Christmas" was a fun read with plenty of humor and quirky characters. Irene Brand and Anita Higman have both written stories well worth reading.**I was provided a complimentary copy of the book for review purposes. However, I only post reviews of books I truly liked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
Once Upon a Christmas Eve: I loved this book. As I turned the last page, I actually released a contented sigh. Such a sweet, sweet story. This book kept me captivated throughout the entire novella. I love a good romance or Christmas story, so this Christmas romance was a win/win for me. You wont regret spending time with these wonderful people as you find yourself swept up in their lives. This is my first review and book of Anita Higman and I certainly hope it wont be my last. In fact, Id love to hear more stories set in Noel with Owen and Holly as secondary characters. HINT! HINT! Anita is definitely being added to my favorite authors list. An Appalachian Christmas: This book is full of surprises. I enjoyed reading a Christmas romance set in the post-World War II era. The setting is beautifully described by Irene Brand. I felt as if I walked the trails, sat on the front porch, and lived alongside her characters. I invite you to take a journey to the Appalachian Mountains where love finds you under the mistletoe with an Appalachian Christmas. Youll be entertained by a wonderful story that shares how all things are possible with God and that sometimes, the most complicated of situations can become clear in the right surroundings. We just have to listen to what God is telling us. Ill definitely be reading more of Irenes writing. I hope you will too. I didn't have room to do a story breakdown here, but read this book -- you won't be sorry! You'll love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elisa Maria
The saddest thing happened yesterday. I finished Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe. The book has two stories, the first, An Appalachian Christmas by Irene Brand. Julia has returned from World War II and instead of finally hearing her folks tell her they're proud of her,she is given the responsibility of her nephew. She has agreed to take the child to meet his paternal grandparents in the Appalachian village of Mistletoe. She arrives thinking the grandparents will be thrilled to meet the boy, but instead the grandfather threatens her life. The story is a wonderful Christmas story of love, redemption and family.The second story in this book is Once Upon a Christmas Eve, by Anita Higman. A contemporary tale of a young woman, Holly, her dad, Mr. Goodnight and her best friend, Quig. The relationships are rich, comfortable and fun. Holly has always known that she had been abandoned by her mother and adopted by Mr. Goodnight, owner of a delightful Christmas shop, but has found joy in bringing happiness to those around her. But then multi published author Van Keaton comes along wanting to write her story and life suddenly becomes confusing. One word to describe this story - delightful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Archer
I love Christmas books. But over the years, I've become somewhat of a Christmas book snob. When I pick one up and begin to read, the book has to offer the same kind of promise I expect on Christmas Eve ... anticipation for what's to come, a tingle of mystique and the same kind of satisfaction found in the perfect cup of hot cocoa. Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe did just that. The book is comprised of two tales. I began Once Upon a Christmas Eve. When the famous novelist Van Keaton arrives in Noel, Missouri he quickly seeks out the beautiful co-owner of The Little Bethlehem Shoppe. It has recently been voted the best Christmas shop in America and the residents of the small Ozark town are delighted, especially the shop's co-owners Holly Rose Goodnight and her adopted father, Albert Goodnight. Keaton wants to showcase Holly's story of abandonment on Christmas Eve in his next book. While she finds the idea a bit hurtful, her friend encourages her to spend time with Keaton and find out more about the writer and his ideas. What her best friend, Owen Quigly did NOT expect, however, was a romance to develop. He's been in love with Holly since childhood but has always been certain she'd be available when he chose to move things to the next level. Now, Holly is spending more time with the Van Keaton and Owen is getting worried. When Owen realizes he is about to lose Holly, he begins an aggresive gentleman's campaign to win her back. Owen's actions will delight any reader who enjoys romance, tension, playfulness and sparks. Ms. Higman is a master at weaving those elements together. Who knew shampooing hair could be so enticing! Loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Finds You Under the Mistletoe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda Cabot
Anita Higmans Once Upon a Christmas Eve, the second of the stories in this Christmas-themed book, is the most delightful Christmas novella Ive read in many years. Unlike a typical romance with one hero, the engaging heroine finds herself being courted by two very different men. And, oh, those courtships. Giving away the details would spoil the story, so let me simply encourage you to put this book on your must read list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.