Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Liberty Press Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Christian Liberty Press Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)

Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Review 1 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No good!

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom of 2
Location:New England
Age:25-34
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to add my 2 cents since this book has good reviews here. I used this for about 30 pages. Unless you live in the region where this book is published, don't bother. In the beginning of the book, your child is supposed to see a picture of a fish and think "bass", and a little while later think the same picture is a fish. There are also other dialectical words, such a "pop" for soda. I really liked the price of the book. Now that I'm switching to a new phonics book, it's money lost. We did about 30 pages of this book before I gave up in frustration. It's been about 10 months since I switched away from it, so I don't recall every detail. Until there is a seriously updated version, I'd stick with MCP plaid, explode the code, or any other phonics that you like. This will frustrate you will it's lack of attention to detail.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phonics workbook!

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
StrangeGirl
Location:New Hampshire
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4-year-old daughter has been using this book to learn to read and has been having great success with it. She is easily distracted and the two-color pages have been great for holding her attention but not overstimulating her. She is learning letter sounds, blends, and digraphs as well as writing, which to me is a complete package for a young child. I use the four readers (sold separately) to go along with it, and she loves them. This program is simple, thorough, and effective, without being cartoony and distracting. Great product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
We do like the simplicity of this program and especially the cost. I did purchase the teachers manual, the student book, and the cards. I love the cards and would purchase them again....but, most definitely suggest purchasing the four phonics readers which accompany this curriculum. My daughter LOVES the readers as they give her such a sense of accomplishment. I do supplement this curriculum with a set of beginner sight word cards I purchased separately. Teacher involvement is obviously heavy and should be expected in any program for it to be successful. I like this program well enough to purchase level B....price is right, pages are durable and colorful enough, content is thorough.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katie
I really enjoy this curriculum! It is so easy to use, and my daughter is catching on very quickly! She already knew most of her letter sounds coming into Kindergarten, but this format helps her connect the sounds and feel confident about reading! I am very glad I did not spend the extra money for a more expensive curriculum when this one is working for us like a dream!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
MDV
These are basic worksheets to use with a reading book. They match up well with "Noah Webster's reading handbook". They are black and white but do have lots of pictures. They are thorough and get the job done, but I have found they do not engage the child. My daughter will only do one side of a worksheet daily and cries if I suggest she do more. Still, they do a good job teaching for a great price and are definitely worth the money. But, if you have a child that needs some excitement--songs, poems, color--to keep them sitting and engaged, this is not the curriculum for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anne
We enjoy this, although it would be better with correlating readers and spellers. It is worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jack Stevens Jr.
Great phonics program! We accompany this book with Hearts & Hands. My kids love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ellen O.
Excellent value. I like the simple layout, whether for a child who is easily distracted or for someone who can move at a quick pace and does not need a lot of "busy-work." Be sure to use the activities in the teacher's manual (though I agree with others who have commented, maybe not all the writing). The teacher's manual is not long, but these activities are really needful to thoroughly master the material. You may want to do a quick search online for [free!] activities to supplement the concept of blending sounds together (c-a-t=cat), because this concept is not explicitly taught. On the whole, a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amy Fang
it is a good workbook for learning phonic,it is easy to teach my kids.all information in one book.it is good for busy mom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2007
I taught my son to read with this program last year. He was a little over 4.5 when we started with better than average motor skills. He already knew his letter sounds, but we reviewed them anyway.Adventures in Phonics is a great learn-to-read program. It is easy to use, and the simple, uncluttered teacher's manual lays out every step of the process. There is a LOT of writing in this book. We did ALL of the writing and my son had beautiful handwriting and was able to spell. Then about 2/3 of the way through the book he suddenly hated it. So I stopped all the writing and did the rest orally. However that was also a mistake as the writing really cemented his learning. Therefore I would recommend doing a little more than half of all the writing, and then leaving some blank on each page in case review is needed. I highly recommend the CLP Phonics K Readers that go along with this. The manual tells you exactly when to introduce each new phonics book.We are spending some time reviewing with a School Zone workbook and then we will continue with AIP B.Please consider saving your money over expensive programs and give this a try.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2005
This book reminds me of the Phonics books used in schools when I was a girl. That was several years before the schools decided to dump phonics skills in place of sight reading. This is a no-nonsense approach to teaching Phonics and it works! Christian Liberty products are so reasonable in price and educationally sound.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2003
Customer Avatar
Denise Johnson
This workbook has been just perfect for teaching my son to read! He is easily distracted, so the simple black and white line drawings and exercises are great for holding his attention, yet allowing him to concentrate on his work. I am now ordering a second copy for my daughter, and I have little doubt that I will order a third copy in a few years for my younger son.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Phonics, Level A (Grade K)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2002
Customer Avatar
Mary Beth Voelker
I taught both my older children to read with this simple, inexpensive workbook. Its organized in a logical progression that has children reading words by the time they have learned the short vowels and 2 consonants. We did 2-4 pages each day and by the time we were 2/3 through the book the kids could read easy readers on their own. By the end of the book they weren't limited to easy readers but could read and understand any ordinary book suitable to their maturity and level of interest.It's not fancy and doesn't have any "make learning fun" frills, but Adventures in Phonics is highly effective. After all, reading is the fun part, and the more effective the teaching the sooner you get to the fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.