Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition

Oxford University Press The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition

The NABRE Large Print Edition is a convenient, large font version of Oxford's popular Catholic Bible. This black genuine leather edition is printed on smooth, durable paper in a clear typeface and easy-to-navigate format. Durable binding, readable type, and affordable value make this a perfect edition for anyone needing a large print version of the NABRE, whether for public reading or personal devotions. Also available in tan/blue pacific duvelle and paperback.

The New American Bible Revised Edition (NABRE) brings to culmination the work of nearly 100 scholars, including translators, editors, and a subcommittee of Catholic bishops who provided extensive review of the biblical text over a period of many years. The NABRE is the first major amendment to the New American Bible translation since 1991.

Features
  • 12-point type ideal for public or personal reading
  • The first update of the Old Testament since 1970, taking into account recent archaeological and textual discoveries.
  • Complete revision of the Psalter.
  • Translators' notes and references are positioned at the back of each book for ease of reading the Scripture text
  • Dogmatic Constitution on Divine Revelation
  • Bookl introductions and study notes
  • In-text section headings
  • Presentation page
  • Gold page edges
  • Thumb-indexed
  • Ribbon marker
  • 9.75" x 6.50" x 1.50"
Note: This Bible does not contain the Table of Weekday and Sunday Lectionary Readings as indicated on its box.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1794%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Review 1 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Portable. Well made. Quality materials.

Date:June 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Neil
Location:Safford, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice. It's put together quite nicely for a budget, compact Bible. The cover is bonded leather (although the box doesn't say so). The pages are sewn (although the box doesn't say so).
The text does NOT go all the way to the edge. The margines are one-half inch on the inside and outside. The inside, since it is cured, may be a little difficult for writing notes; but it's easy to read near the spine.
It's a little thick (one inch); but I expected as much from a Bible that includes Apocrypha. It is still quite portable, which is what I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New American Bible

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoAnn
Location:FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Bible. Good Quality. The Judge who we presented this to at his investiture was pleased.
Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I wish I really liked it

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peter
Location:Central Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have been looking for a revised edition of the NAB, Since I have an RSV-CE from Oxford I figured this would be similar. The size is the same and the cross references and notes both appear either in the back of the OT and NT (RSV-CE) or in the back of each Scriptural book (NABRE). The print is nice size and the paper is good. The cover is real leather but it has a very glossy finish and is the "sculpted" leather I've seen on other Oxford bibles. It's not the smooth dull sheen of the RSV-CE - it looks and feels cheap - sorry, no other way to describe it, The print is right out to the page ends and into the center but is easily read. So, I think there are nicer NABRE's around, I hear Harper Collins prints a nice one. I wish I really liked this one, but it's an also ran, My old NAB from CBP is a much nicer design.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, Easy to read...

Date:December 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbers wife
Location:Potterville, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this Bible as a Christmas present for me, after I had found it and picked it out, so I had known that I would be getting it, but had to wait 'til today!!! As I've grown older it's gotten very hard to read my standard font-size Bible, so I was looking for a NAB large-print. The font size is wonderful- easy on my aging eyes. The presentation is really beautiful with Leather binding and gilt-edged pages, and the index notches are very helpful- there was a time that I won a Bible drill at Vacation Bible School as a child, but unfortunately, my memory, like my eyes, "ain't what it used to be"... I did have to use my Table of Contents in my old Bible quite often, so am sure the index tabs on this Bible will be a great blessing. I am very pleased with this Bible, and am sure it will become an heirloom to my children or grandchildren someday!! Price was amazing, also- great quality item!! Thank you!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing in every way

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:New York State
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is beautiful in every way. The leather binding is exceptional...soft, flexible, and durable. The paper is very high quality and gives it a special feel. The way this bible is bound, it lies flat when you read it. The print is such a delight because it is clearly printed and is a very comfortable font size. The notes at the end of each book offer excellent clarification and supplemental information. The summaries offered at the beginning of each book give a thorough overview which aids in gaining a deeper understanding of context. I have searched a long time for a bible of this quality. You will love it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good typeface choices but sloppy binding

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Theo
Location:Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, a good revision of the Hebrew scriptures, though I prefer the earlier version of the Psalms. As I expect from Oxford, excellent choices were made in typefaces to make the smaller printing readable. The binding job is not what I have come to expect in bibles from the Oxford University Press and is what I can only call sloppy (stray threads in the sewing around the cover, poor glue work on the fabric end pieces). I would highly recommend this translation but not this particular edition.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a fine Catholic Bible with large print.

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pamela Lee
Location:Pleasant Hill, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This New American, Revised Edition, Large Print Bible is a real delight. It is the most current Catholic translation of the Hebrew Scriptures and the Psalms.The Christian Scriptures have not been revised, but are the current 1986 revision. The print size is perfect-not too big or not too small. The Pacific Duvelle cover in tan/blue feels wonderful in the hand. It opens nicely and lays flat except in the very beginning of Genesis and end of Revelation. I think after more use this issue will resolve itself.
The notes for this edition are all new and are NOT the same as the notes in the NAB. They represent the most current scholarship of nearly 100 scholars. I really like that the notes and the references for each book are at the back and not on the same page. This helps me interact with the text first and then look for clarification if I need it. Otherwise, my eyes keep going to the notes.
Regarding the text itself, there is a clear contrast between the slightly creamy white of the page and the dark black print. There is a minimal amount of ghosting, but it is barely noticeable. Also they have included a thumb index which makes finding the chapter you want so much easier.
This is a wonderful Bible for devotional reading and study too. I would highly recommend it to those in the market for the most current Catholic Scripture scholarship.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bible

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
prncsjani
Location:Jacksonville, Florida.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality is excellent.Have read it everyday due to the large print.Haven't been able to read my other Bibles because the print was too small.So happy you are carrying Catholic materials.Really enjoy every purchase made from Christian Book.com.God Bless!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
PapaBarry
Location:Albany NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
My wife asked me to get her a new large print Catholic bible for Christmas.
I found out that there is a new edition of the New American Bible. This is the version I wanted.
I think she would have been satisfied with a paper back bible, but I decided to get the leather cover bible. It cost quite a bit more, but I wanted to get her something special. For $5 her name is embrossed on the cover.
The Christian book store had the best price I could find on the web.
I like the gold lettering on the black leather cover and the gold edge and finger tabs to locate books of the bible.
My wife likes it very much also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I was looking for.

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tomalot
Location:Ventura, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This NABRE edition was just what I was looking for. It's an attactive, quality bible, but not overly done. It has a nice presentation page, but is not full extra inserts and pictures which I am far less interested in, and at times find distracting. The larger print makes it easier to read, and I personally prefer having the notes at the end of the chapters. While this may make it less convenient as a study bible for some, I find it makes it much smoother for actual reading. The black leather binding, recessed index tabs, and gold leaf pages also add a nice touch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hank
Location:CT
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bible is a very good value, and was delivered very quickly. My only negative comment is that the print is very small. I purchased a magnifying glass to go with the gift. the monogram was nicely done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I've expected something better, to be honest!

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
charlie
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was expecting something much better... yes, I know! What do you espected for that price, right!!! But, i really thougt it was going to be a very nice BIBLE, like the one i already have. Well, i'm going to keep this one, and as soon as i have money for something better, i will let you know OK.
Sincerely,
Charlie (yo mero pirulero!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond My Expectations

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot recommend this product highly enough. The look and feel of the cover is amazing, and the print size is perfect. I had it personalized, and it still shipped quickly. It even has indented tabs for the different books!
I purchased this as a Christmas gift, and will likely order one for myself. BUY ONE!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful translation in a beautiful leather Bible

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
justanothercustomer
Location:Bloomington, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this translation. It "reads well" in modern English. This is more of a "word for word" translation than some of the "thought for thought" translations of the Bible. For me, it has been tough to find an accurate word for word translation that also reads smoothly. This new revised NAB translation is the best that I have found.
The large print is 12-point font that is perfect for my old eyes, but not too large. I find the giant print Bibles too large for easy reading (just too big).
The leather edition if a great value for a high quality leather Bible. It should last a lifetime.
I also like the fact that they have placed the notes at the END of each chapter. This allows for better readability. For me, Bibles that put the notes along with the text seem to disrupt the beauty of the reading of God's Word. I can read the notes later, but when I'm reading, I just like to enjoy the beauty of God's Word -- and not be distracted by what men and women want to add (even though it may be helpful to review later for Bible study purposes). I have study Bibles for this anyway - I grab THIS Bible when I just want to enjoy reading the Word.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
NC woman
Location:West End, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value. However the paper is so thin that I have to be extra careful turning the pages afraid I might tear it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for gift

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
beth k
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is a beautiful gift for anyone who desires the latest Catholic translation of the Bible. The cover is leather and can be engraved with initials or full name. Great purchase!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The New American Bible, Genuine Leather, Black, Large Print, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice Bible!

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
rolf
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice large print edition. I really like the Pacific Duvelle cover (synthetic) better than leather. Very nice reader's edition with the notes at the end of each chapter so you are not distracted from the scripture verses.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.