Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook

Zondervan A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook

Loss in life is inevitable, but it's possible to harness the hardship of loss and turn it into a positive event in your life. Author Jerry Sittser explores painful events like divorce, death and illness and shows that it's not the circumstances we find ourselves in at these points of loss, but how we respond to them that widens our spiritual capacity to experience blessing and growth in the midst of grief.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Review 1 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Resources

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hope
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although it seems like this isn't a particularly well known book when I ask others if they have read it, I think it is one of the best books addressing grief available.
Someone had recommended it to me and I happened to end up reading it not long before someone close to me died. Although my education is in the counseling field, and I have read numerous books on grief, as well as walked through the loss of many others close to me prior, I was grateful to have just read Sittser's book.
I was grateful I had read this prior to that particular death, though, as I think reading the extent of the loss that Sittser walked through might have been difficult when in the middle of processing your own grief.
However it is a book to return to over and over, whether you've lost someone or not.
What I really liked, though, is that Sittser's book really contains valuable principles that transfer to loss in general, not just death - meaning chronic/severe illness, etc. as well.
It is truly an exceptional gem and worth reading and returning to over and over.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
KenR
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a very touching book. The Author shares his own personal experience of losing 3 family members in an auto accident. There is an excellent chapter on God's grace and another on Forgiveness. I recommend this book to anyone. I was blessed to read this book, I felt drawn closer to the Lord.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read for young Pastors and interns

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brad
Location:Solway MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this book thinking of people serving in lay counseling ministry but found it a great fit for our intern program for pastor and elder ministry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great help in time of sorrow

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ladybug
Location:Taylor, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is hope of a happy life after traumatic loss since reading this wonderful book. I downloaded the E-book and then purchased this hard copy for a friend who also went through a traumatic loss. Thanks Jerry Sittser for writing it, can't wait for your new book to come out!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Momma W
Location:GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have purchased 4 more for friends. I think the book offers a level of comfort.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book of triumph & hope more than a book of loss

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:Mattoon, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grief is complicated and those of us who have experienced the pain of losing someone we love must grapple with so many emotions. This book offers insight into those emotions and shows us that it's not our emotions that matter as much as our responses to them. Jerry Sittser shows us that hope remains even in the wake of catastrophic loss. This book is a must read for anyone in the midst of grief. Through these passages you'll learn how to understand your emotions and find that there really is light on the other side of grief.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Phenomenal Book

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Moses Lake, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was absolutely wonderful. I would recommend it to everyone. We've all experienced loss to one extent or another and this book addresses loss in a way I've never seen before. I will read it again as there is too much to learn in just a single reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent source for someone dealing with loss.

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miriam
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well written book with the author sharing his journey through loss. His insight on the difficulties that he encountered, can help those of us who have had to go through the valley of death with a loved one. It is a book to share with your friends and family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is exquisitely written.

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
cazart7
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I came across this book in a book study...I am now doing another book study with my own small group. Jerry Sittser writes with an exquisite clarity and a profound understanding of loss in every form. He not only validates and never minimizes his own losses, but he teaches us to never quantify our own losses with anyone elses. Through his dark journey, his spiritual, emotional, and intellectual processes are called into question. What results is a story of forgiveness, compassion, hope, and profound changes.
This book has changed my preconceived attitudes and beliefs regarding losses in our lives, and it has strengthened my spiritual journey with my Lord and Savior.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book on grief - period

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike Bowler
This one is deep, and we recommend it to those who have suffered a loss.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Uplifting renewing experience.

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angel
Location:Fountain Valley, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was loaned to me by someone who had also lost a spouse. I ordered it in order to pass it on and to have a copy for myself.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan
The order was on time and the books are good. Yes, I will order again. Thanks! Have a great holiday season.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book good to read once a year

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
sammye
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry Sittser has experienced PAIN! He plugs his experience into all types of pain possible to experience. We have experienced catastrophic pain but have friends who are under going pain from being locked up for a time and losing employment along with any sense of identify. This book deals with it all in a very helpful, compassionate manner. I highly recommend this book. It does not compare anyone's pain but regards each one's pain as being the worst because it is what is being dealt with at the time. This book would be helpful to anyone; keeps anyone aware and sensitive to the painful experiences of life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley Woods
This book was instrumental in providing the strength and encouragement I needed to walk through a most difficult time in my life --the loss of my husband of 27.5 years. Therefore, I purchased the book for friends who recently experienced a series of losses, as I felt it would do the same for them. Shirley Woods
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
S.D.
I received this from a friend when I lost a close family member. I have re-read sections of it several times. Excellent book for those who are suffering grief from death, illness, or broken relationship... I look at my own and others' sense of loss differently. It is a wonderful book to give yourself or to give to others. I have bought several copies to give to those in need of support. Better than flowers... this will last and give Hope.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joan Amato
I purchased this book because my husband died in January after a short illness. We were only together for two years. The first year we married were wonderful. He was healthy and we were so much in love and happy. In the second year he had a stroke, followed by his recurring rare skin cancer. Radiation, and chemo altered the chemistry of his body and his blood sugar skyrocketed. His body couldn't handle the sepsis which put him into the hospital on Christmas Day. This book was helpful for the first few chapters. But the author's recollections of his tragic loss was very sad but his pain was more personal instead of generic. It didn't help with my personal, emotional grief and how to process it. He then wrote about being three months after his loss, and then a year later, which is a time I have yet to cross. I needed something more immediate which I could use in a more personal nature. I may go back to it after my journey through my grieving becomes more manageable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alisha Larson
Surprisingly helpful. I read a chapter each night before bed in order to allow the words to slowly sink in. Author does a wonderful job of incorporating his own story into his message, but yet does not overstate his own story, allowing the reader to adapt the author's message to his/her own loss.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jana Tetrault
After experiencing the death of our six year old son, I read many books on grief. Jerry Sittser's books are the most honest and helpful books that I have read. They expose all the emotions that one experiences, and helps to remind us that we must trust in God. I have recommended and given these books to many people who have experienced the loss of a child and are in the darkest places of their grief. I truly believe that this book helped me to move out of my constant grief and find ways to celebrate my son's life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicky Fogg
I read this to be able to walk with a friend through the loss of her husband. It was incredibly insightful and has helped me understand, love, and minister to her.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
E Hollo
A tremendous book on loss of any kind. He openly, honestly deals with the struggles of the heart, with faith issues and with struggles of moving on. The love and grace of God come through beautifully. I bought a copy for each of my children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>