Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1

Bethany House Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1

Biblical excitement at its best! When Hezekiah's evil father plans to sacrifice him, Queen Abijah desperately tries to foil the plan. Only two men can help her---and neither seems trustworthy. In a land of violence and sin, queen and prince must discover the one true Source of strength. Previously published as Chronicles of the Kings. 320 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 42100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Review 1 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspired me to take a fresh look at the OT

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
KtBug
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book helped me look at the books of Chronicles, Kings and Isaiah in a whole new way. It motivated me to really read the scriptures and sort out what was accurate and what she had taken artistic license on- I was surprised how much was actually from the Bible. Our church ladies group is now reading the book for our book club and has had a very positive response.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful read!

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
NanaKP
Location:Middletown, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This first book in the series is a fabulous read! Exciting, informative, just a great first book in a wonderful series!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Russo
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book series. It brings the Bible to life. Highly recommend this author and book series to everyone-men or women!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Busserpie
Location:Prince George BC Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ebook is amazing! The author has certainly done her research in the Bible in order to write as accurately as she does concerning the characters! I was very impressed
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful piece writing this book is! I could actually pick up my bible and follow along with the book on poor Hezekiah's life. I have never ever been able to to that with any other historical fiction book. There is just the right amount of creative license from the author to make it believable, but not to much to distract it from the story. I just can't say enough great things about this book. Truly a great read.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well Written

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brian
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed it. She is a gifted writer who excels at plot enhancement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
ally
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was not a book a would normally read. But I really enjoyed it.
Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
starfish
It will enrich your understanding of the Old Testament world. Once you started, you cannot put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended to All

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed in Texas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this book. Enjoyed reading very much. Gods and Kings is an excellent Christian book that follows the Bible. I would be interested in reading more in this series. Don't miss this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mimi of 5
Location:Odessa, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for free and was immediately hooked. Made me really think about what little we have to do to follow Christ now. I can not wait to read the rest of the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking read

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
light
Location:Live Oak, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good review of life in the time of the kings and helps me see how God was at work then even as He is today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!!!!!

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
didi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this books for free. I immediately bought the next 2 installments. Great books. I was encouraged & motivated to study the bible more. Lynn Austin has been added to my list of favourite authors. If you like Francine Rivers, you will love Lynn Austin.
I really appreciate the effort and time that went into the biblical research and history. I rate this book 5/5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the first book in a terrific series.

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
L. Lawrence
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I downloaded this title because it was free. I bought the rest of the series because they are excellent. They helped me to understand the old testament kings so much better!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stacyscrap
Location:Grover Beach,Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful look at life in this time. Loved all 5 in the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It Comes To Life!!

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maddie
Location:New York City
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect when I downloaded this eBook, but I was wonderfully and completely magnetized from beginning to end. I could not put this book down and was gravely disappointed when I finished it because I wanted to read more! Lynn Austin makes the story of King Hezekiah and those times come to life and you are taken on a realistic and spiritual journey as she brings to light the story of a young boy (a son of King David who had God's heart) born into privilege that is dominated by suspicion, misuse of power, selfish greed, corrupt government, murder, and most of all, idolatry and the abandonment of God. This book is a MUST read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!!

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Salem, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Straight out of the Bible with a few decorations! It kept me on the edge of my seat to see what would happen next. Thanks for making this a free e-book. Would love to have the others in this series free also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action-packed historical fiction.

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
iread
Location:u.s.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an action-packed work of historical fiction. It really puts you there with the characters, & helps you to imagine what it really may have been like to live during the times of the kings of that era.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
johnhoyt3
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great book that highlights details of the time of the kings. helped me better understand this time in the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an amazing retelling of Old Testament History

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
WendyADurr
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an incredibly personalized view into the life of King Hezekiah during his formative years. The dramatic pictures of the lives and times of ancient Judah draw the reader in to the uncertainty of being a son of a selfish, worldy King who has defiantly turned his back on God. I look forward to reading other works by this author, who so vividly brings history to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Gods & Kings, Chronicles of the King Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maxmom
Location:Bushnell, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I am looking forward to reading other books by this author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.