Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Guideposts Forever Hilltop Two-In-One: Featuring An Unlikely Blessings & Surprising Grace - eBook

Guideposts Forever Hilltop Two-In-One: Featuring An Unlikely Blessings & Surprising Grace - eBook

Alex Armstrong is settling in as pastor of his new church in Hilltop Township, North Dakota. He's even starting to understand the quirks of his prairie congregation---and discovers they have needs that he never imagined. When his former fiancee reappears, what will Natalie think of Hilltop? And will Alex choose love over his new home?
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forever Hilltop Two-In-One: Featuring An Unlikely Blessings & Surprising Grace - eBook
Review 1 for Forever Hilltop Two-In-One: Featuring An Unlikely Blessings & Surprising Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good and Typical

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Foreer Hilltop is comprised of the first two books in this series, so in some ways, it is not fair to be reviewing them together. The series in indeed charming, and since I am now a country girl, I am able to idenitify with some of the issues that come up. And indeed, Alex has to be the most charming pastor I have ever encountered!
The first in the series was nice enough but sometimes just a little bit slow. I rhink that sometimes the first book in a series can tend to be this way because it is the introduction to all these characters. I will give Judy Baer credit for assembling a motley crew that cover the entire gamut of church personalities. You would think that a little town would be boring, but that cannot be said of Hilltop!
This becomes all too clear in the second of the series. By the end of the book, Pastor Alex has more drama in his parish than a dog has fleas. I found this second book a delightful continuation, and the relationships I had begun with the characters in the first book continued even more into this second book.
The second book had everything that makes a good story: romance, love triangle, theft, mystery, and a vicious love triangle (kind of). I was quite pleased with Pastor Alex's decisions throughout the book (no spoilers from me) and his total reliance on God. And yet even the pastor wavers now and then!
In conclusion, this is a lighthearted summer read that will resonate with most. I can hardly wait to read the next book in the series!
I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forever Hilltop Two-In-One: Featuring An Unlikely Blessings & Surprising Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Judy Baer

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
mo mel
this book is absolutely written by someone who understands her subject matter and knows how to make it interesting to her readers! judy baer is one of the greatest authors ever, in my opinion, anyway!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forever Hilltop Two-In-One: Featuring An Unlikely Blessings & Surprising Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Small Town Read

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Welcome to Small Town U.S.A.!
Forever Hilltop captured my heart with all the wonderful characters, that I met between the pages of this book. Alex Armstrong has quite the job marked out for him, between stopping the adorable Will Packard from turning every empty building in the county into a "hoomain" society for animals, to uniting two churches at odds with each other, all while trying not to gain a pound from all the good cooking! Full of small town community charm, with good natured humor that made my mouth quirk up into a grin.
Alex faces struggles of his own as well as trying to give comfort to those in his congregation.
Overall I would say that this is a well written, warm-hearted read that was well paced and that makes it terribly hard not to grin ear-to-ear :) This is the type of book that a wide variety of people from all walks of life can enjoy, it's not much a romance, it's true, but it's full of adventure and lots of heart. I personally think that this book collection would make a pretty cool gift. I would definitely recommend this book. Thanks!
I received this book from the publisher through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forever Hilltop Two-In-One: Featuring An Unlikely Blessings & Surprising Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blessing from the Hilltop

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Move over Jan Karon's Father Tim; Judy Baer's Reverend Alex is moving in. I loved this 2-in1 book so much better than Karon's series. Found the language to be much more to my liking. I hope Baer writes more about this wonderful Hilltop community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forever Hilltop Two-In-One: Featuring An Unlikely Blessings & Surprising Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forever Hilltop - Must Read!

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alex Armstrong has just arrived in Hilltop Township, North Dakota. He is to be the new Pastor of not just one church but two. Unfortunately the two churches have had a split of communities. This was not what he had expected. He thought he would be moving to a tranquil community. Since he arrived it has been one thing after another. It is a beautiful area and the house provided for him was a big surprise to him.
There are definitely some very colorful characters in this novel. Some that are overly helpful and some that are in desperate need of help. Then there are those that don't wish to be bothered at all. Alex Armstrong has his hands full. It is a good thing God is with him and Hilltop Township.
Book two takes up right where book one left off. With some unexpected events. Also a hometown girl comes home to the community for harvest time and put a whole new spin on Alex's life. But will she stay or will she return to her home in the big city?
This was a long book for sure. But well worth reading. I highly recommend this book!
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Guidposts for review. It was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forever Hilltop Two-In-One: Featuring An Unlikely Blessings & Surprising Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished the second book in the two book Book!! Surprising Grace....we continued on with Pastor Alex, and the lives of these great folks in Hilltop ND Township. I hope there is to be more, these are for the most part wonderful God loving people.
This is a continuation of An Unlikely Blessing...we will find some romance, some answers to questions, and some heartbreaks, and a loving community there to help.
Alex contacts Natalie, who broke his heart, and now we will wonder if he will leave where God had led him? Or will he find someone else? What about darling Will, and his Hoomaine Society? Will something be done about Bucky Chadwick...who is really frightening everyone. Also Dixon's sister Emmy returns for a visit. I also loved what Lydia Olson does to her brothers, who have learned to depend on her for all there meals and taking care of the home.
Enjoy this two book wonder of Love and Family...all who live here watch out for all like family.
I received this book from the Publisher Guideposts, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forever Hilltop Two-In-One: Featuring An Unlikely Blessings & Surprising Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Time to slow down

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ready for a slower way of life? A community where you actually know your neighbors and have dinner with them regularly? Welcome to Hilltop. A small community in North Dakota where most of the land is owned by the families of the original settlers. Time runs differently in Hilltop and Alex Armstrong is about to join this community as a Pastor of the two neighboring churches. Alex is unsure of what he has gotten himself into, after leaving Chicago and wanting to start fresh after a relationship has gone wrong, Alex follows God's calling to the town of Hilltop where he must learn about the people living in the community and the struggles they face on a daily basis, anything from stray animals, demanding siblings, arguing churches, quilting and cooking, Hilltop has it all.
Forever Hilltop includes two stories, An Unlikely Blessing, and Surprising Grace you will be sucked into the culture of Hilltop and hope to find a dog and some wide open fields to escape too and allow life to slow down for a bit. Judy Baer has created a charming town full of quirky characters that you will fall in love with their stories. Forever Hilltop is a great book to get lost in.
This book was provided complimentary by the publisher through Litfuse in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forever Hilltop Two-In-One: Featuring An Unlikely Blessings & Surprising Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic Summer Collection to Read!

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What do you think of September in Hilltop?"
"Better every day," Alex said honestly. "I never thought I'd say this, but it's one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. It's a quiet beauty. A gentle wind blowing across a field of ripe grain, or the sun sinking in the west is more beautiful than I ever imagined. Hilltop is a diamond in the rough. I even understand why the people here keep talking about the horrible winters and fifty degrees below zero wind chills."
"Why? You haven't experienced that yet."
"This place is a secret you want to keep to yourself. Peaceful, beautiful, authentic, friendly...Winchester Holmquist told me that he liked to exaggerate the weather extremes to 'keep the riffraff out.'"
The township of Hilltop in North Dakota is all that and more. A bit of Mayberry from the old Andy Griffith show, only it is the only home for the residents that live there and ones you will be delighted to meet in Forever Hilltop by Judy Baer.
In this delightful, two book set, the reader gets to experience the beauty and family that makes Hilltop unique. In An Unlikely Blessing, the town is in need of a pastor and has placed an ad, for which Alex Armstrong answers. What he comes to find out however, is that he is the only person who has ever answered the ad. Considering it a bit odd, until the residents of the town become part of his very own church family.
Knowing that the Pastor is single, it makes him the prime target for all the single ladies looking to settle down. Hot meals are a constant stream inside the church parsonage as Alex begins to understand what has divided the once blended town between two churches, All Saints and Hilltop Community. Alex is hoping and praying that God will give him the strength to unite the two and in the process show him if he truly does belong in the town of Hilltop.
In the second book, Surprising Grace, the story of Alex's life continues as the residents of the town become more real to the reader, from the organized and very talkative church secretary Gandy, to the red-haired-ten-year-old boy Will who is organizing a Hoomain Society in the shed on the church property saving every known animal from certain death; Nancy Hubbard who is converting her three story over-sized home into a Bed & Breakfast; and Tilly Tanner, one of the oldest residents in town who refuses to acknowledge she's eighty and wants everyone to remember she's only sixty-five. There are so many delightful characters we get to meet this time around in Hilltop Township that you can't help but fall in love with them all.
Along the way the rift between the town churches will begin to heal thanks to the quilting bee idea formed by the ladies in both churches. There isn't perfect peace in this township, but what you do come to realize is that when people come together to help out, the problems become much smaller and it draws people closer together. Perhaps God did have a purpose after all for Pastor Alex being the only one to answer the ad for the church.
I received this wonderful collection of Forever Hilltop by Judy Baer compliments of Litfuse Publicity for my honest review and I am hoping that there is still one more novel in this series yet to be written. It is delightful and peaceful to remember that some towns remain small but seem larger than life by the people living there and this one will simply take your breath away. I rate this one a perfect 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend this one as the perfect summer getaway read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.