Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Academic Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook

Baker Academic Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook

Readers of the New Testament often encounter quotes or allusions to the Old Testament that may be unfamiliar or obscure. In the Commentary for the New Testament use of the Old Testament, G. K. Beale and D. A. Carson have brought together a distinguished team of scholars to isolate, catalog, and comment on both the obvious Old Testament quotations and the more subtle allusions found in the New Testament. The result is a comprehensive commentary on the Old Testament references that appear from Matthew through Revelation. It is a vital resource for the reference library of every student of the New Testament, and accessible for all who wish to engage in detailed Bible study.

Contributors:

  • Craig L. Blomberg (Gospel of Matthew)
  • Rikk E. Watts (Gospel of Mark)
  • David W. Pao and Eckhard J. Schnabel (The Gospel of Luke)
  • Andreas J. Kostenberger (The Gospel of John)
  • I. Howard Marshall (Acts)
  • Mark A. Seifrid (Romans)
  • Roy E. Ciampa and Brian S. Rosner (1 Corinthians)
  • Peter Balla (2 Corinthians)
  • Moises Silva (Galatians and Philippians)
  • Frank S. Thielman (Ephesians)
  • G. K. Beale (Colossians)
  • Jeffrey A. D. Weima (1 and 2 Thessalonians)
  • Philip H. Towner (1 and 2 Timothy and Titus)
  • George H. Guthrie (Hebrews)
  • D. A. Carson (the General Epistles)
  • G. K. Beale and Sean M. McDonough (Revelation)
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Review 1 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Indexing isn't real user-friendly

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Neil
Location:Safford, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The exegesis is a little TOO detailed. Maybe if the writers gave a briefer summary before going into so much detail. On the other hand, it is very thorough.
It is organized in New Testament order - so if you are studying the Old Testament there is not a straightforward method for keying your study to NT quotes or alusions. There is an index keying OT passages to page numbers in the commentary; but that's real cumbersome.
I am thinking that this book may be more useful in a bible software (such as OliveTree) that alerts users to resources that discuss the passage being studied. So, if I am studying some passage in the OT that is quoted in the NT I would get an alert that this OT passage is discussed in the Beale/Carson commentary.
Unfortunately, I already own the real-world version of the book and don't want to spend more money on a bible-software version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To fully understand New Testament quotes use this.

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ann O
Location:Kalispell, MT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This commentary is the "go-to" commentary to understand the New Testament. The quotes are explained as well as the allusions. One can see that the New Testament is grounded in the Old Testament. The old covenant is changed with Jesus but remains the ground level of the new covenant. I cannot even begin to express how useful this commentary is for Bible study. I would recommend that every Bible student get this book.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gloria D Mason
Loving it. I'm very grateful for all the effort and hard work that has gone into putting this wonderful resourse together.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anthony Garrett
It was a gift to our son who is a pastor and he was looking forward to using it for reference very much as an added aid to teaching the Scripture more fully.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lowell G Hancock
This book is long (1152 pages). It can be read from beginning to end; but I suspect that most readers will not use the book in that way. It is reference book. Its best use is to trace the use of the Old Testament (OT) in a particular New Testament (NT) book. In other words, how did a particular NT writer make use of the OT in his NT book? The answer to this question is a continual fascination, especially for modern Bible readers who have forgotten that for first-century Christians, "the Scriptures" were the books of the OT. For example, look at how this book documents the use of the OT in the NT book of Revelation. This chapter alone makes this book worthy of purchase. This book opens a door into the mind of the first-century Christians, and how they interpreted the OT. For many Christians, this will be an eye-opening experience. The book is well documented with an extensive bibliography. Not many books have even attempted what this book has accomplished well. I recommend the book highly. Clear your calendar, and get ready for some serious Bible study.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2009
This commentary is an outstanding reference work and does an amazing job of relating how the NT uses, or put to use, the OT.On the whole the authors of each entry explain where the quote or allusion comes from, comments upon its meaning in both its OT & NT context, and then closes by pulling it all together, often with great insight.If you are a layman as I am, the writing can be a bit challenging in a few places, but looking up a word or two here and there can pay huge dividends in the end.This is a unique reference work and a wonderful commentary that can enrich your personal study, liven up any Bible study, add substantially to any teaching or papers students would write. Though I am not a Pastor, I would think it could also help with sermon preparation.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bill Royland
There is no doubt that this is a great resource and is well worth it.The list of scholars who recommend this product says it all.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ernest Wiles
The commentary was a Christmas gift for our son who recently received his Masters Degree from Grace University in Biblical Studies and is an Associate Pastor in his church for the Grand Generation. He indicated to us that he used the commentary the Sunday after Christmas in preparation for his teaching class. He said that it was a great assist and easy to use. The ability to make the connection between the New Testament words and phrases to the Old Testament vital in correct interpretation and presentation to lay folks.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Abigail Mcfarland
This a very detailed research tool. I have not used it extensively yet, but I am pleased to have added this to my references.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donald Reniker
You can never know too much about how connected the Old and New Testaments are to one another. It is a key evidence of inspiration and the unity of the Bible message.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debra Pugh
I'm very pleased with this book.It is very informative.I appreciate the wide range of books that you have to choose from.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kevin Carson
The fact is that I am using this work exclusively with my daily Biblical studies. Instead of my usually yearly working through the Bible I have decided to take the time to use this work by D.A. Carson to enhance my understanding of the NT and the OT for my self and my wife. This work is both simple and comprehensive for both the lay person and the pulpit. I highly recommend it as a service to the people of God in Christ!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Richard Buckley
a brilliant idea brilliantly expounded clarifying the issues raised by Longnecker's book enabling nt readers to enter into the mind of the apostles as they read their bibles.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
John Pepplinkhuizen Willemsen
This commentary is very extensive. You can find every New Testament usage of the Old Testament. Strong is the way the contributors declare the meaning of the text they are writing about. Sometimes, however, it could be a little simpler written. This would be better for non professionals.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.