Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Whispers in the Wind - eBook

Bethany House Whispers in the Wind - eBook

After fleeing North Dakota and the now defunct Wild West Show, Cassie Lockwood and her companions have finally found the hidden valley in South Dakota where her father had dreamed of putting down roots. But to her dismay, she discovers a ranch already built on her land.

Cassie's arrival surprises Mavis Engstrom and forces her to reveal secrets she's kept hidden for years. Her son Ransom is suspicious of Cassie and questions the validity of her claim to the valley. But Lucas Engstrom decides from the start that he is in love with her and wants to marry her.

Average Customer Rating:
4.115 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
0
20 out of 2677%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Review 1 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Whispers in the Wind...

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jewels
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I must say that I've read several books in the past by Lauraine Snelling and Loved them!! This one, unfortunately, fell flat for me, personally.
The storyline has been reviewed many times, so I won't repeat that...but, I simply could NOT relate to any of the characters with the exception of Mavis who is a good strong character in this book. As others have stated, Cassie just seems so lost...and just when you think feelings were starting to "possibly" develop between her and Ransom...it just loses steam.
I was nearing the end of the book when I got distracted from my reading to deal with something...and just couldn't pick it back up...for days...then weeks...then, I had to be honest with myself. I just had no interest in finishing this book.
Again, I usually love Lauraine's books, so I wouldn't want anyone to stay clear of her wonderful stories out there! This one just didn't do "it" for me.
Thank you Bethany House for the free copy and the opportunity to review. The thoughts expressed in this review were entirely mine. I was not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVED this book!

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassie Lockwood has found the land of her Father's dreams. She has brought along some friends, Chief, Micah and Runs Like a Deer. Upon locating the land she finds a family living there by the name of Engstrom. Adam Lockwood and Ivar Engstrom were co-owners of the land but when Adam won half of the Wild West Show from Jason Talbot in a poker game he moved on, with plans of returning someday. That day never came but Cassie did return to a land she never knew.
Mavis and Ivar had four children with three of them still living there with her, Ransom, Lucas and Gretchen. The children were never told that there was another name on the title of the land and they are not happy to just be finding out about it. It doesn't really bother Gretchen much because she is in love with Cassie's horse, Wind Dancer but Ransom is beside himself and Lucas, well Lucas is a ladies man so to speak and had seen Cassie in town and fell in love with her even before he knew who she was.
With both Adam and Ivar passed on the boys are afraid of what is going to happen now that they have a 'new' co-owner, does she plan on taking everything they have worked all of their lives for? Ransom has been talking about reopening the gold mine and panning for gold but Lucas wants to sell the property and move on. With Cassie showing up everything is even more up in the air, she has no interest in Lucas and wants to live on the land of her Father's dreams.
Mavis loves Cassie from the time she lays eyes on her and insists she will live on the property, she and her companions will live up the hill where the old (original) cabin was built but needs a lot of repair work done, the two women in the cabin and the two men in the Wild West Show wagon. That is until the townspeople that don't like the Indians come out making trouble.
This book was even better than the first one and it still leaves you hanging. I will say again that I love Lauraine's books and you will not go wrong if you invest in this series.
Thank you to Bethany House for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A slow but clean read

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Coffeyville, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cassie Lockwood is a young lady who used to be a star in a Wild West Show. Her livelihood had always depended on her shooting and riding skills, but when the Show is cancelled, she finds herself in a situation where she has to provide for herself and some other performers that have always been with her, without making use of her training. After coming across with a deed to ranch, half to which her late father was entitled, she decides to go to North Dakota and start a new beginning.
However, she finds that a family is already established in the ranch and has been living there for many years. Mavis Engstrom and her three children have to face the fact that they have to give up and share a good part of their land with strangers. To Ransom and Lucas, Mavis’s older boys, Cassie is an intruder; to Gretchen, the youngest one, Cassie is the opportunity to have a sister.
It is not easy for Mavis to deal with conflict, but she decides to respect the wishes of her late husband and Cassie’s father, the original owners of the ranch. They all pitch in and help Cassie and the others settle. But Cassie’s inexperience leads her to question her purpose in life, her worth and her faith in God.
Through all her mishaps and tries to understand and perform all what keeping a household implies, Cassie does demonstrate some fortitude of character. I like the fact that she is constantly concerned of others and accepts her responsibilities (although these are practically self-imposed); not many people would face life the way she does. I particularly enjoy Mavis; she is the ever wise motherly figure that is willing to demonstrate a Christian character – unselfish, accepting of others and willing to serve. With the help of Mavis, Cassie will find out that her value goes beyond the chores she is able to perform.
“Whispers in the Wind” was one of those books that are good for spending the time, but I would never pick them up again and read a second time. When I started reading it, I did not know that this is the second book in a series by Mrs. Snelling; however, this did not keep me from grasping the main story line, which is quite straightforward. There are some “loose ends,” but I may say those are due more to the fact that I am not familiar with the beginning of the story (the first book). Also, it was not interesting enough for me; I am not looking forward to reading neither the previous, nor the next book in the series.
It has good Christian principles, so I would recommend it as an easy, clean read.
I received a complimentary sample of this book from Bethany House Publishers, in exchange for an honest review. This has not biased my opinion on the book, nor on the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Slow-moving

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kasi Bland
Location:Missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book continues the story of Cassie Lockwood, a young woman who recently lost her father and her position as sharpshooter in a Wild West show that her father owned. Cassie has just arrived at her father's ranch...in a hidden valley she has only heard about. However, the ranch is also owned by Mavis Engstrom and her sons. Cassie's arrival causes much upheaval and Tension in the Engstrom family. However, Cassie isn't willing to give up her right to the ranch.
I have read several series and books by Lauraine Snelling. I was disappointed with this book. I just could not get into it and it is extremely slow moving. The book did not hold my attention at all and I have no desire to read the third book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
KenzieB
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Are you telling me this ranch is not ours?"
I have read several books by Lauraine Snelling, and must of her books have offered exciting adventure. When I heard that she had a new series, I quickly snatched up the second book, Whispers in the Wind.  Unfortunately, I was very disappointed.
In this book, Cassie Lockwood feels lost. From the time she was knee-high, she had purpose. She had a part to play in the Wild West Show. After the show disbanded, she becomes desperate to find some way to provide for herself and her friends. Discovering a deed to a ranch that her father partially owned, Cassie travels there, expecting against all odds that they'll accept her. Since her father has not been in contact with his partner for some time, the Engstrom family is taken by surprise. Begrudgingly, they allow them to move onto the ranch. Hoping for a fresh start, Cassie settles into ranch life but the challenges along the way make her question her worth, her purpose, and her faith in God.
Because of this, the book is a very light read. The characters were not developed any more from the first book. I liked Cassie well enough, but some of her decisions were hard to understand, and most of the book was spend on Cassie deciding what she was going to do.
The plot was not developed any further, and I felt as if I could have skipped this book and just read the first one, Valley of Dreams, and the third, A Place to Belong. Whispers in the Wind suffered from middle book syndrome . This is why I can only give it 2.5 stars.
I recommend it to anyone that would like to read the third book in the Wild West Wind series. I am pretty sure that if you want to understand the leading man in the third, then you will need to read this one. I have read the synopsis and am looking for to see how Cassie's relationships turn out.
I received this book free from the publisher through Bethany House's book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
by Kenzie Banner (http://kenziebanner.com/blog)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slow Paced

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cassie has finally at the ranch her father told her about, and when she arrives she get's a luke-warm welcome. Ransom is frustrated that he must not only share the ranch that he has worked for with his siblings, but with this newcomer, Cassie Lockwood.
This was a rather interesting read, though for me it just didn't have enough to the actual plot, time moved slowly and there didn't seem to be a ton of things going on.
There was good character development and I could see why Ransom would feel the way that he did, after all he was practically the only one putting anything into the ranch, and here comes a girl that he finds he has the share it with. I really liked Ransom's mother, and thought that she was a nice woman. And I wasn't really sure what to think of Lucas's infatuation with Cassie.
Overall for me, this just wasn't my kind of book. It was very well written, but the pace was slow and there wasn't alot going on. So for me personally this wasn't my kind of book.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read and Kept me interested

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
missy
Location:Naples,ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like how it is set on the wild frontier days as it was a very different time then what we have now. When people were friendlier and treated you with respect. Great story Cassie Lockwood and Mavis have a great connection and friendship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Whispers in the Wind

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassie Lockwood's journey is over. She has found the ranch her father had told her so much about. He had bought the ranch in partnership with his best friend Ivar Engstrom. Adam's widow Mavis welcomed her with open arms but her grown sons have reservations about the partnership of their father and Cassie's father. Mavis and Ivar had never mentioned anything about owning only half of the ranch and their children.
Ransom has his concerns with the fact that this important piece of information was never mentioned until the day Cassie and her friends show up to claim her inheritance which was half of the Bar E Ranch. Mavis had not only withheld the fact that Adam was a partner in the ranch but that she had also been in love with Adam Lockwood before she married their father. She has not revealed the later to anyone.
Has Cassie come all this way just leave in order to preserve the peace within the Engstrom family? They are the true definition of family and love and she does not want to cause them problems.
Book two was so much better than book one. I felt more connected with the characters and story. The character Chief has become Cassie's shadow and protector even more so since the death of Adam Lockwood. Micah is the animal handler that came along with them in hopes of finding a place to plant his feet. Then there is Runs Like A Deer the Indian woman they found injured on their journey and she has made them her family. All of these people have become a family unit.
Mavis Engstrom is the glue that holds them all together including the addition of Cassie's little family. Her young daughter Gretchen is a mini Mavis in the making. Mavis's son Lucas gets ahead of himself most of the time though it is usually with the best of intentions. Her son Ransom is very protective of his family and the ranch. He is a hard nut to crack. But once he cracks it is all good. Her son Jess is off at college and Mavis is not sure how he will react to news that half the ranch belongs to someone else.
The author told a heartwarming tale of coming home and uniting a group of people that God had meant to be together for the better of all of them. It is all there love, family, unity, determination and trust in God and their fellow man.
I wanted the story of these beautiful people to continue. Looking forward to reading more.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read!

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wildrose
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lauraine Snelling is the author of this second of a series, Whispers in the Wind. My review is on the second book, so I will start by just briefly saying that if you have not read the first in the series, I highly encourage you to do so!
Whispers in the Wind starts off where the first book left off. The book follows Cassie Lockwood as she finally finds her fathers property and the family that currently lives there. The story takes us through the emotions Cassie suffers while trying to learn to take care of herself and her friends. I was captivated with this series from the first book, although as I wish to write an honest view I will admit that this second book was a bit harder to get through. It was a bit redundent and sluggish. However, having said that I feel that it is still worth the read as its a very interesting series and I look forward to the third book coming out!
I enjoy the overall story, time period and setting of this series and can't wait to find out how the entire story pans out!
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my own, honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunflower
While I admit, the first of the book started out a little slowly, by the end I was hooked. Please get the third book out quickly, Ms. Snelling!! I want Cassie and Ransom to fall in love.! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Story that Flows Like a Gentle Stream

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whispers in the Wind is the second book in the Wild West Wind series--If you have read Valley of Dreams, you will be glad to know that this book picks up right where the first book left off.
Whispers in the Wind doesn’t flow like a raging river, but rather a gentle stream.I think the pace of this story allows the reader to really get to know the characters, not only that, but to step back into a time where life truly moved at a slower pace.
Cassie Lockwood and her people are now living in the “Valley of Dreams” that her father had often spoken of, but Mavis Engstrom hadn’t told her sons about their fathers’ partnership with Cassie’s father, Adam, in ownership of the ranch. Once the story is told of how their fathers came to find and begin homesteading on the the land, Ransom, feels threatened, afraid that Cassie will seek to take the ranch away from his family, causing tension between both families.
Cassie feels that she need to find away to support her people, but the only thing she knows is the now defunct Wild, West Show she grew up in. How will she earn the money she needs to survive?
Mavis Engstrom is strong, both in her faith and her resolve to kept her family, which now includes Cassie and her people, together. She takes Cassie under her wing, filling the void in Cassie’s heart that has been there since her mother passed away.
If you liked Lauraine Snelling’s Red River of the North and Return to Red River series, I think you’ll enjoy this book and the other books in the Wild West Wind series, as well. I also think that you will see a lot of similarities between Ingeborg Bjorklund and Mavis Engstrom.
**Whispers in the Wind by Lauraine Snelling was provided for me free by Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A relaxing read!

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
RobinV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently finished reading book 2 in the Whispers in the Wind series by Lauraine Snelling. I have not read the first book to the series; however that did not cause any questions to arise at any time while I read this book. The author did a wonderful job explaining how Miss Cassie Lockwood ended up in South Dakota and why.
Author Lauraine Snelling did a marvelous job in bringing the characters to life. I loved that she gave enough details to paint a clear picture while you’re reading without the details being overbearing. At no point did I wish to skip a paragraph. With excellent details about the Bar E Ranch and the Engstrom family who live there, along with wonderful descriptions of Cassie and her friends, I felt as though I was a part of the story watching it unfold before my eyes. It was fun to read how Cassie is an excellent shot with various guns but for the life of her could not cook.
The first few chapters seemed slow for my taste, and I soon found out that this is the pace throughout the whole book. That being said, I truly enjoyed reading it. I found myself picking it up each night and enjoying the pleasantly relaxing story of a young lady trying to find her way in a new land with a few friends in tow. I particularly like the fact that the eldest Engstrom son, Ransom, is not pleased by Miss Lockwood’s arrival, and how helping the newcomers set up a cabin and other requirements before winter hits, leaves him trying to make up the daily work around the ranch that was left. Why I enjoyed that part I’m not completely certain. Let’s just say it leads me to believe that how he feels now might not be how he will feel in the next book.
I am looking forward to book 3 in the series which I hope will reveal who of Mrs. Engstrom’s sons sweet Cassie will end up with. I have a pretty good guess as I’m sure you will too once you read Lauraine Snelling’s Whispers in the Wind, Wild West Wind~2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the Black Hills of South Dakota in the early 1900s

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
mcaldwell
Location:Erie, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me start by saying that I love nearly all books by Lauraine Snelling. When Bethany House offered me the chance to read and review this book, I was delighted. And, it spurred me to pick up the first one in the series to be caught up on Cassie Lockwood. I liked the story about Cassie and her desire to find a home which is coupled with her sense of responsibility toward the motley crew that makes up her unique family. I think the book is best enjoyed, though, by following along the series and starting with VALLEY OF DREAMS. I did not care for the ending of WHISPERS IN THE WIND as there are too many unanswered things. But, in Snelling style, I'm sure there is at least one more to follow. The series itself is unique in its setting: turn of the century in the Black Hills of South Dakota, following members of a disbanded "wild west" show. I await the next book to find out the rest of Cassie's story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Whispers in the Wind - A Real Page Turner!

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mavis Engstrom should have shared her secret with her three sons and daughter before now. Cassie Lockwood’s arrival was a shock to Mavis and forced her to reveal secrets she had kept hidden from her children. Ransom didn’t take the news well. The fact of the matter is he is down right angry. The home he lived in all his life is now in jeopardy of having to be shared with an outsider. Where is the justice in that? What real proof is there that this woman had claims to half their land? As far as he was concerned Bar E Ranch belonged to the Engstrom’s. His brother Luke felt differently; he was immediately smitten with Cassie and claimed Cassie was the one for him.
Mavis soon finds herself being drawn to Cassie. She feels a connection with this young lady. Is it because of Adam, Cassie’s father? She once was in love with Adam but ended up marrying Adam’s best friend Ivar Engstrom.
Cassie Lockwood’s father was part owner of a Wild West Show. After his death Cassie continued with her trick riding and shooting act, but now the show was disbanded due to failing revenues. The only hope she has of making a living is the deed proving she is half owner of the Bar E Ranch. Would she be able to collect what was due her?
This is the first book that I have read of Lauraine Snelling. I enjoyed it immensely. While I have not read the first book in this series I didn’t feel lost or that I was missing out on what took place in it. Right from page one I was drawn in. I loved how the author made the characters come to life. If you are looking for a good Christian fiction book to read this one is for you. I loved that the author brought God and scriptures into this story. It is a book about trusting and having faith. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series.
I wish to thank Bethany House Publishers for providing me with this book to read and review. The opinions are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two Families, One Ranch Trying To Work Together

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the privilege of interviewing Lauraine Snelling, on our radio show “Kingdom Highlights”, for her new book, “Whispers In The Wind” Book Two in the Wild West Wind series published by Bethany House.
From the back cover: She’s come this far…must she turn back now?
After fleeing North Dakota and the now defunct Wild West Show, Cassie Lockwood and her companions have finally found the hidden valley in South Dakota where her father had dreamed of putting down roots. But to her dismay, she discovers a ranch already built on her land.
Cassie’s arrival surprises Mavis Engstrom and forces her to reveal secrets she’s kept hidden for years. Her son Ransom is suspicious of Cassie and questions the validity of her claim to the valley. But Lucas Engstrom decides from the start that he is in love with her and wants to marry her.
Will Cassie be able to build a home on the Bar E Ranch and fulfill her father’s dream of raising horses, or will she be forced to return to the itinerant life of her past?
The quest is over. Cassie and her little band have found the ranch land that her father was half owner of but they found that there is already a family living there. Cassie has never had a home before. She has always lived in the wagon or on the trains that took them from place to place. Cassie, Chief, Micah and Runs Like A Deer only want a place to settle down and live like normal people, not show people. Mavis Engstrom and her daughter don’t have a problem however her sons, Ransom and Lucas, feel threatened. Now begins an uneasy truce of sorts as these two families have to work together to prepare for the coming winter. All the characters are so easy to fall in love with and Ms. Snelling is such a wonderful writer that we easily get caught up in everyone’s life. These are wonderful people and we wish that we had these kind of people for our neighbors. There are wonderful themes that flow throughout the story, Family, love of God, home, friendship, hard work and Ms. Snelling makes them all elegant. There are no car chases, nothing blows up however “Whispers In The Wind” is exciting, interesting and will keep you flipping pages as these characters work to deal with their new set of circumstances. I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the next one to know how everything is all going to work out.
If you missed the interview for “Whispers In The Wind” and would like to listen to it and/or the other interviews in the Home To Blessing series and/or interviews with other authors and professionals as well please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A Big Disappointment :(

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
AMYMCCOY730
Location:Delaware, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I began this book with a lot of excitement because it has been a while since I last read a book by Lauraine Snelling. I typically enjoy her writing and was looking forward to delving into a new book. This book begins well with great characters and great character development. The story line keeps you interesting and the love interest from Lucas kept me guessing at what may happen next. But, that's where the warm fuzzy feelings ended for me. The character's financial situation was never solved, her relationship with Lucas was still in the development stages at the end of the book, and she was still questioning God in the end. Her relationship with Ransom goes from hostile to non-existent and at some point I got the impression that he had started caring for her. I am sure that Snelling probably has a third book ready to go to complete this series and I hope that book ties up all of the loose ends that were left by this one.
Thank you Bethany House for the free copy to review. I have expressed my own thoughts and feelings in this review and have not been paid for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Whispers in the Wind by Lauraine Snelling

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Whispers in the Wind by Lauraine Snelling. Whispers in the Wind is the 2nd in the Wild West Wind Series by Ms Snelling after Valley of Dreams. In this installment Cassie Lockwood and her family of friends from the Wild West Show finally find the hidden valley in South Dakota. Her father was half owner in the ranch and had always dreamed of returning to the ranch to live. She finds Mavis who with her family owns the other half of the farm and had been keeping it a secret from her children who were under the impression that the ranch would theirs someday. Jealousies and suspiciousness abound as these two families learn about each other. Cassie learns to live off the land and the Engstoms learn to trust the new relationship.
I liked this book but did not love it like I thought that I would. It tells the story of Bar E Ranch and Cassie and the Engstrom’s finding each other. This book tells the story and it is more interesting than ordinary life but there is no completion of a diffident plot throughout the book. The mystery of whether it is possible to reopen the gold mine is still a mystery at the end. Will Cassie and the eldest, Ransom Engstrom learn to trust and like each other as partners is still uncertain at the end. It is obviously a part of a series and really can’t stand alone.
This book was provided for this review by Bethany House which is a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent..

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda Tarr
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found myself not wanting to put this book down, it was better then book 1.. I can't wait to read book 3, but of course I have to wait like everyone else for it to come out.. Thank you Lauraine you are my favorite author..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Plodding and Pointless

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I might as well just say it and get it over with - I was disappointed with Lauraine Snelling’s “Whispers in the Wind”, the second book in her Wild West Wind series. I really wanted to like it, and I was hopeful that the painfully slow buildup in book one would lead to a dynamic and compelling story in book two, but it was not to be. “Whispers in the Wind” resumes the plodding saga of Cassie, a jobless trick rider from a Wild West show and her assortment of friends who have arrived in the valley that Cassie’s deceased father was part owner of. As in book one, Cassie remains a flat, emotionless character that the reader will have difficulty connecting with. She seems to revolve like a hamster in a wheel around an inner dialogue of wanting a real home, feeling inadequate to provide for “her” people (all of whom are far more competent than she is in taking care of themselves), and is pretty much always uncertain about what she should do – whether that’s go to dinner where she’s invited, attend church, buy supplies, or travel to a nearby town to meet with a sponsor. When I first picked up “Whispers in the Wind” I was certain that there would be major relationship developments between Cassie and the Engstrom brothers, Ransom and Lucas. These were the most well-rounded characters in book one, and their conflict with one another and struggle to keep their ranch going made “Valley of Dreams” a worthwhile read. In “Whispers in the Wind”, however, there is almost no conflict between the brothers, and the ranch now appears to be flourishing. Indeed, the author spends a lot of time describing the bounty on the table…along with Cassie’s many thoughts of inadequacy and helplessness when it comes to preparing meals. The reader who expected a budding romance will be let down in that regard as well. Although Lucas, the younger brother, is supposed to be “smitten” with Cassie and set on marrying her, Cassie is completely oblivious and has no emotional response whatsoever to any of his attentions- which the author doesn’t really elaborate on anyway. What frustrated me was that there was no believable reason why this 20 year old, healthy, pretty girl would not be attracted to a handsome, attentive young man. While it still seems clear to me that the author intends to develop a romance between Ransom and Cassie –don’t hold your breath, it’ll probably be book 6 at the rate things are going- it’s not at all believable by this point. There’s simply been no engaging between the characters except between Cassie and Mavis Engstrom, the ranch matron. The book is almost entirely from the point-of-view of someone’s internal monologue with themselves or God, and any actual dialogue is awkward and stilted.
Final thoughts: if you read book one, and you’re one of these people who want to know the rest of the story (like me) you’re probably going to want to read book two…just prepare yourself. It’s not just a leisurely read, it’s downright sluggish. It’s sure to leave you hoping for a miracle in book three.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Whispers in the Wind - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peggy Perriman
Location:St Joseph, Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its a wonderful book written by my favorite author. It is a nice continuation of the first book in this series. Keeps you reading from the start to the finish. Im hoping there is a 3rd in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>