Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Atonement Child

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House The Atonement Child

In one horrific moment, Dynah Carey's perfect world is shattered. A few weeks following the attack, she faces an agonizing decision that pushes her faith to its limits and threatens to tear her family apart. Will she choose to end the untimely life within her, or embrace it? Her decision will change more lives than she could ever imagine! 376 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.709 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 out of 26100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Atonement Child
Review 1 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
jelysno
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book was quite engaging! Not only does it speak to those who have suffered the terror of rape, but also the fear of an unplanned pregnancy. I liked that she brought to light that even Christians can struggle with the temptation of abortion. And as always, her conclusion to the struggles throughout the book was heartwarming and uplifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Atonement Child

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book definitely exceeds expectations.
This story was very well written. I would say it is a must read for someone who has experienced an abortion and regrets it.
I would definitely say God can bring healing through this book.
There are times when this book is difficult to read but its well worth sticking with it and reading to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The family history in this book is fantastic.

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rainbows Promise
Location:Amarillo, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
The development of the story line is excellent. The reader knows that an reconciliation of the main characters is coming but the ending is exceptional. I couldn't get to the ending fast enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Gripping - sometimes, heartbreaking - Story

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Psalmista
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Atonement Child was complete with every ingredient I love about Francine Rivers' writing - exquisite detail, fully developed characters, a beautiful flowing narrative and the Living Word breathing through every page. I found myself really empathizing with the main character's plight and even coming to understand the mindset behind the actions of even the characters that I don't particularly like (i.e. Ethan, the dean, the "It's legal" pastor, etc.)
The novel makes pretty clear what Rivers' stand is on the controversial topic of abortion. As someone who shares her viewpoint on the matter, I found myself moved, appalled and intrigued by the struggles that the characters went through. My heart broke with every figurative "slap in the face" that the main character encountered.
The book has given me a lot to think about. It has also challenged me to "TRUST AND OBEY" no matter how difficult my circumstances are.
Overall, I loved the book and how Rivers always manages to make me care about her characters. The one thing I find lacking is the ending - which I found to be rather abrupt. I would've liked to read more about how the characters - especially Joe - were handling what happened at the end of the book. I also would've liked to know what happened to Ethan and the people at NLC. But well... I guess that's just me not wanting such a good book to end.
Four thumbs up! (Borrowed two thumbs from a friend to make it happen...)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good subject

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Book Nut
Location:Milan, Mi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very thought provoking. We have chosen this book for discussion in our book club. The content is very appropriate for today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Atonement Child by Francine Rivers is a wonderful book. It is about a young college girl who is raped on her way home from work. She finds out that she is pregnant, having been a virgin prior to the rape. This book deals with the effects of an abortion on everyone involved, the doctor, the person having it, and those people's future spouses. This books is definitely a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not a favorite, but still good read

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
Location:Olivehurst, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've read pretty much every novel Francine has written. "The Atonement Child" was not one of my favorites, but it's nice to see it back on shelves again. Francine handles the issue of abortion through her gift of story, and she does it without being heavy-handed or preachy.
The characters are well-developed and the story flows well. This just didn't have the usual depth I've come to enjoy from a Francine Rivers novel. But fans of Francine Rivers will enjoy this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
ReaderMom29
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Atonement Child is an example of what Christian authors should be doing with their talents. It is an engaging read and deals thoroughly with the subject of abortion, treating it biblically and compassionately. The only way that the killing of unborn children will cease in our nation is for individuals to become convinced of the horrors of abortion. The best way to convince individuals is through popular media and entertainment such as literature and film. Harriet Beecher Stowe proved this in relation to slavery with Uncle Tom's Cabin. Francine Rivers contributes in the same way with The Atonement Chiold, in which she does a wonderful job of balancing bold truth with hope and healing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good read

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christian Bookworm
Location:OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
A wonderful tale about life, pain, and hope. The story shows you how God can provide love and support through a difficult time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unforgettable

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A parent seeking grace from the past, a current flame smothered by hatred and greed.
A faithful friend never faltering, never failing and always putting love on the back burner.
Dynah Carey, college student and waitress at Stanton Manor House becomes the victim of a violent crime. Her faith begins to falter and she begins to doubt God's grace and love. Can she find the understanding she seeks? Will forgiveness fill her broken heart?
The author pens an unforgettable journey of realistic proportions. Heartbreak, indecision, grace and love fill the pages of this memorable novel. Original, believable and interesting characters with fitting storyline and plot will keep you reading. Her stories never disappoint, guaranteeing the reader an entertaining and hard to put down book. Loved the ending. I will recommend this very well written novel to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Atonement Child
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"The Atonement Child" is one of those books that will stick with you forever. Probably every woman has some sort of unwanted "attention" during her life. Hopefully, usually, it's not a full on rape by an unknown stranger in the dark, in the open, leaving the woman completely exposed. This book follows Dyna, while at college she is raped by an unknown man while walking home. In her denial and trauma, she refuses the morning after pill given to her by the hospital. As often happens in books or movies of rape, she becomes pregnant. She continues her denial for many weeks, until she can no longer deny the obvious. She decided to carry and keep the baby.
Though I am sure the intent of the book was to promote pro-life, the trauma and struggles that Dyna endures are horrifying. The author does not hold back on how awful any of it is. It actually led me to re-affirm my pro-choice status. How anyone can ask someone who has been through all of that to carry a baby conceived in that way is beyond me. Yet even though Dyna decides to keep the baby, it is written in a way that makes the reader not think less of Dyna or the baby. It is her baby and her choice. If the woman can see past how the child came to be and lot it as a mother should, then by all means she should keep the baby. Her Choice. As it should be.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Atonement Child

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dynah is happily engaged and in college when she is raped and finds out she's pregnant. Now she has to decide what to do with the baby. Plenty of people offer advice, some for abortion and some for having the baby.
I thought the book was good. There were quite a few characters to keep straight and the point of view in the story sometimes changed quite a bit during a chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2012
O my! What a beautiful story of the horrors of life. This book had me crying,smiling,and praising God all at one time. It deals with rape,relationship troubles,morals,and a whole range of life emotions. Then, through it all as in life, beautiful things happen that make living worth the while. Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Very Controversial Issue

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francine Rivers did such a great job portraying the big issue of abortion in this book. The main character, Dinah, a godly young lady, who is serving the Lord has the unexpected happen to her. You know the "why do bad things happen to good people" ordeal? Her "perfect" life is shattered by rape and the consequences multiplied by an unwanted pregnancy which now brings the question, "What to do with this child?". Her life as she knows it is over, unless she does what everyone else seems to think she should do, gets an abortion. That would solve it all. No bad reputation, no ruined life, no reminders of the bad thing that happened to her, as far as those around her it seems to be the perfect solution.... but what about the emotional scars abortions can leave? No one wants to talk about the facts, or give her any real information on the long term effects of a decision like this. Her family is being torn apart, her faith stretched to the limits, and time is running out. What will she do?
This book is so worth the read, for many reasons, but it especially gives insight about the damage abortion can do to a woman physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. I wonder how many women are out there that no one knows what they have gone through or suffered in the course of their lives after having an abortion, whether out of choice or possibly being forced or coerced into one. What does God have to say about it? Is society's view on the issue an accurate one in light of His Word? This book certainly gives much to think about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

how life can change in the blink of an eye

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved it was hooked on page one and loved the ending! This was the ending I was hoping for and the characters were so well developed and just so real and likeable (well there were a few that I just wanted to scream at :) but 1 that was a knight in shining armor). This was the first one I've ever read of Francine Rivers and I am so glad I decided to give her a try I love her books!!! The Atonement Child was a wonderful book that had really wanting Dynah to find her true happiness after all that she had been through!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Atonement Child" by Francine Rivers is the story of Dynah Carey. She becomes pregnant as the result of a rape, and the novel shares her story of deciding whether to have an abortion or not, as well as the resulting consequences of the rape and pregnancy.
I loved that there is a novel that tackles such a hot-button issue. I felt it could have been a bit more balanced though. Putting the baby up for adoption was not really covered in the book--rather, the focus was on whether or not to have a abortion. Also, there wasn't a whole lot of closure regarding her rape. It's such a traumatic event, but we the readers weren't really given a lot of insight into her healing process from the rape.
Overall, a good read. I applaud Ms. Rivers for tackling the issue of abortion and presenting Dynah's story so well with how she wrestled with the issue herself (and not just Dynah, but several other characters as well have their own secrets and pain).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane Kinney
Location:Bridgeport, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
No one writes fiction like Francine Rivers. She really gets to the heart of the matter and challenges to reader to go deeper in the faith.
Abortion is such a tough issue and many have opinions that are black and white. Either it is wrong or it is a choice. Yet, when challenged, those on the side of pro-life will agree to the validity of an abortion when rape is involved. This book addresses this exact issue. Yet because Francine Rivers is such a good writer, she addresses this hotbed issue with gentleness, forgiveness, and grace.
What I enjoyed about this book is that it challenged what I believed. It is hard to stand on the side of pro-life without having compassion for women in tough circumstances. And what are we do with women who do have an abortion but have to live with the guilt and shame the rest of their lives? Are we to condemn them? Or are to to lavish compassion and grace on them? I am not sure what I would do, but this book has challenged me to look at this issue from a whole new perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's Plan

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wilkie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book really shows that God can take something horrible and turn it around for something good. God's plan are amazing if we are just open to accepting them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Nice Read

Date:June 18, 2012
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A touching story intertwining three generations of women, following the impact of choices made in difficult moments. The message is heartfelt and timely, and makes an honest effort at providing both sides of the pro-life/pro-choice issue. If you share the same bias as the author, the novel makes for a decently entertaining read. A more critical reader will perhaps find fault with the writing style and the intentional effort to pull heartstrings as a way to persuade thought. I'd recommend it to a friend, but only one who already shares my pro-life views. As persuasive literature, it falls just shy of hitting the mark.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Atonement Child
This review is fromThe Atonement Child.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a teriffic read

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Atonement Child is one of the first books I read by Francine Rivers, and though it is fiction, it deals with two tough topics: rape and abortion. Rivers takes a tough, yet compassionate view on the issue of abortion and weaves a great story around it. In my opinion, this is the best book she wrote. Although I am a guy, I loved the book and was pulled into the story. I always considered myself very pro-life, but this book helped my pro-life views to be even stronger. Kudos to Francine Rivers for doing such job writing about these two issues.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.