Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Let Me Hold You Longer

Tyndale House Let Me Hold You Longer

This book is a heartwarming reminder of the precious process of growing up and the joys of watching it happen. Yes, the years of childhood fly by much too quickly. As children grow, the blankets and pacifiers, ball games and dandelion bouquets fade into distant, tender memories. Most of us remember and faithfully capture our children's "firsts" . . . but bestselling author Karen Kingsbury encourages you to recognize and savor the bittersweet "lasts" - those milestones that often go unrecorded. The illustrations by Mary Collier provide a lighthearted portrayal of everyday family life and bring a sense of authenticity and fun that you and your children can enjoy together.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Let Me Hold You Longer
Review 1 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching book

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book for my soon to be 18 year old daughter. I tear up every time I read it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
kristi40
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful book! I cry every time I even try to TALK about it to someone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
scolema1
Location:Starkville, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book... Makes me cry everytime I read it. Karen K is an amazing writer!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

precious book

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
kmb
Location:Troy, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is wonderful. It really reflects how a parent feels when we find our kids all grown up and wonder where the years have gone. We gave it as a wedding gift after reading Karen Kingsbury's book in her Redemption Series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra M Green
True Kingsbury form: reaching down into your heart and your memories; helping you feel every moment captured by her pen and wishing you could do every "last" all over again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Inspired by Fiction
As a mother of six, Karen Kingsbury knows mommy moments. Let Me Hold You Longer is a children's book chronicling many of those moments. This is my first kid's book review, and I am excited to share what a beautiful book this is! I remember when I read the Redemption series by Kingsbury there was a poem in one that the mother character (Elizabeth) wrote to her son (Luke) for his wedding. I had to read it to my husband because it deeply touched me. Well, Let Me Hold You Longer is an adaption of that poem in picture book format, and I love it. It is a tender reminder to treasure your child's every day moments because all too soon those moments will change. This book would make the perfect baby shower, mother's day, or even high school graduation gift. I recommend it for all parents and grandparents. You'll want to share it with your children and your children's children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shayla Armitage
A beautiful book. It will make you cry, as you see how quickly childhood years slip by and how precious every minute is. We tend to celebrate the first, but this book reminds us to capture the moment because the 'lasts' sneak up on us and are 'lasts' before you know it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ashley Byrd
I heard this book at a childrens program, and fell in love with it. When I order it from christian books I didn't expect how great the book was going to look when it came in. Its also a great price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine M. Irvin
Everyone knows how fast children grow up. Seems like theyre born one day and go off on their own the next. As parents, especially new parents, we tend to record the first events of our childrens lives: their first smile, their first step, their first word. But how many of us will recognize the last time they ask us to hold their hand, or the last time they want to be picked up, or the last time they ask for a bedtime story? Let Me Hold You Longer chronicles the everyday events in a childs life as the parent watches and wonders: will this be the last time my child does this activity? The narrative begins with the birth of a new baby and ends when the child leaves home. The text is written in rhyme. Heres a sample:The last time that you catch a frogin the old backyard pond.The last time that you run barefootacross our fresh-cut lawn.Silly, scattered imageswill represent your past.I keep on taking pictures,never quite sure of your lasts. . . . Children will enjoy the illustrations as they capture, in a lighthearted manner, everyday family life: a baby crawling to his mother; a child bringing his mother a flower with a broken stem; two kids and a dog having a pillow fight. What I Like: I like the topic of the book. It provides a poignant reminder of how quickly children grow up and how we should cherish each moment, as it might be the last.What I Dislike: Im not a big fan of rhyming picture books, especially long ones. This book is rather long, with 29 pages, and the rhyme drags a bit in places. Other than that, its a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
D
So sweet. A good reminder that mile stones can be lasts as well as firsts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara Sensenig
This is my new favorite childrens book. As a mother of three older children, it really made me stop and realize just how many of the lasts I don't remember. It also has made me more aware, to be looking for those precious times and be able to cherish them even more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Shivelhood
It was a tear-jerker. Reminds you to stop and enjoy your children before time slips away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Let Me Hold You Longer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kelly
I love this book, especially for mom's with boys. It's a great reminder to appreciate every moment of our child's life. I bought it for all my friend's who have sons this Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.