Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dave Christiano Films Pamela's Prayer, DVD

Dave Christiano Films Pamela's Prayer, DVD

All of Pamela's friends were dating. Pamela was not. And it seemed unfair that her father insisted on such a high standard of purity. Yes, it seemed unfair... until the day she married. Don't miss this moving story of a prayerful father, an obedient daughter, and the wonderful sovereignty of God. This DVD includes Spanish. Approx. 57 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Review 1 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pamela's Prayer is my prayer

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodzGirl
Location:Calif
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this movie for a spiritual birthday present (which is the day someone comes to Christ). The young lady was very inspired by the story and she was motivated to follow in Pamela's footsteps. Timeless film, it will never go out of style. Thanks for distributing this film.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Builds Christian Character

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dvd was everything I had hoped for and more. The father of the young lady was a faithful steward and wise man. This movie models great parenting skills. Our hearts' desires is that we build just as a strong a foundation as this father did. There is nothing like reaping the wonderful reward of your investments. Every parent interested in their child's purity should own this movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too old shaped

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
valoyka
Location:Puerto Rico
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The values reflected in this movie are out of balance: "You can not kiss your boyfried until you are married". I can not use this movie for the purpose I purchased it. Was looking for the same topic but, better balance.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Has good christian values.

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
lizzie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I showed this movie to our youth group since we are studying about dating. This movie is a great way to show them how important it is to stay pure until you get married and that dating shouldn't be taken so lightly and it also shows how important it is for a family to pray and read the bible together everyday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Movie

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
anonymous
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 16 year old daughter and I watched this movie and we really appreciated it. It was a beautiful movie. The father is faithful to God and a wonderful prayer warrior completely committed to God. The daughter learns to trust her earthly father and her Heavenly Father.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Important, timely message

Date:July 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eric Smith
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've seen this movie many times and I want to comment about the excellency of the message. While this movie is dated in terms of production quality, background, some dialogue, even hairstyles, the message is right on and Biblical. The single father in this movie is bringing up his daughter in a Godly fashion and wants to keep her pure not as a legalistic rule, but for her Godly good. He emphasizes Biblically why she shouldn't give herself into a relationship even in something as "innocent" as dating and kissing. Pamela objects under peer pressure because she thinks she's missing something in dating, not realizing it's not innocent when you give yourself to the opposite sex in any manner before God has brought that person in your life. The reason many Christians scoff at this purity is we've been influenced by our American culture to believe dating, kissing, and just plain fooling around is innocent when it could lead to something more devestating. This movie should be watched more than ever now because our young men and women need to know relationships leading to marriage must be guarded and done in God's way. In fact, the later courtship emphasized getting to know one another, working together for the Lord, and the watchful eye of a Godly father to not only protect the young couple, but to get to know the young man himself. This is a very good movie that will make Christians reevaluate dating and their walk with the Lord in matters of purity; please consider watching it because the message needs to be heard.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This video was great!

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Location:Stafford, Va.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pamela's Prayer is a must see for every member of the family. Young and old will get something from this film. Wonderful message to all young people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent message

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dorothy
Location:Midland, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This DVD has a much needed message for today: abstinence. This needs to be taught instead of the common idea of safe sex. I love the fathers scriptural wisdom.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
AR GIRL
Whatever you do, buy this movie!! Great message. And this way of life does work. I know many people that have followed the rules showed in this movie and it works. I am waiting for the special man God has for me as described in the movie and the more I see from Christians that haven't waited, the more I am glad I am waiting. Every time you date someone that isn't the man God has for you- you are giving a part of your heart that they will waste- as the movie shows. Better to give ALL of your heart to one man- your man. The divorce rate with people that court is much less than Christians that date. Give this movie a chance
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Girl from Dixie
Deserves more than 5 stars! I'm a Christian teen striving for higher purity. I have never dated and this encourages me to wait for the One God has for me. Great movie! Get this if you don't have it!!!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kaye Kancir
This is an excellent DVD. It emphasizes the beauty of moral purity in a young Christian girl's life. It sets a high standard for parents in guiding their young folks to the right partner in life -- doing things God's way.It shows the value of resisting peer-pressure and going on to honour the Lord.I would recommend it to all Christian parents and to all young Christians who want the best foundation for a Christian marriage.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bekah
Say what you want about abstinence and dating, but a father who is that involved with his daughter and making all those choices for her? When does she get to decide that this is what God truly wants for her? It just seems like a low quality fictional movie that will never translate to real life. The line it seemed unfair until she married. Well does it show the struggles and difficulties of married life afterward? The rate of divorce is just as high with Christians as it is with non-Christians. So tell me exactly how this film is helping except saddling parents and young teens with unreal scenarios to explain life. Bottom line this will help married couples feel better about themselves not teens who need real world examples to help them make the tough choices. Run away from this movie there are better resources available to help teens.
-3points
7of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Fear
This is just such an AWESOME movie about the way that God works when we are willing to wait for his timing. I had had two vhs of it, but they'd been destroyed or lost over the years, so I was searching for a dvd, and was so ECSTATIC to find it available here at CBD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Mckay
Pamela's Prayer is an excellent film for parents to watch with their children regarding purity. Will serve as an excellent object lesson for discussion regarding relationships, marriage, prayer, and faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sheryl Solomon
This has become one of my favorite movies! It's certainly worth the smiles. I vote yes. Thanks for offering, CBD. Sheryl
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenifer Jones
I loved this! this is a wonderful story with such powerful messages. This film is a must for teenage girls. Purity is Power!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenne S. Mcmillin
This story seems unrealistic to me, though a good idea - and well produced. My pastor assures me that some groups do believe this way. Good message on a reason for abstinence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Abigail Tiggleman
It's the best movie I seen with my 10 year old daughter. It has a great and godly message every young girl should see. I first saw it alone when they played it on christian TV. I knew I had to have it so I bought it right away. I will watch it again with my daughter soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lavern Francois
We all enjoyed it because of the choice she made. We also lent the DVD to another christian family and they thought it was wonderful. It projects our belief and the values we want our children to adopt. We have boys and the other family has boys and girls and it works well for both.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pamela's Prayer, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephen Faucette
I found this movie to be a refreshing change from what is being produced by the majority of "Christian" film-makers or what purports to be a Christian film. Among its qualities was the music -- no CCM (so-called "Christian" rock)! The lesson taught in this truly Christian movie is one that needs to be heard -- purity in every area of the Christian's life at all costs. And, true to God's Word, the rewards are well worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>