Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Discovery House Studies in the Sermon on the Mount

Discovery House Studies in the Sermon on the Mount

The author's series on Matthew 5-7, first presented a God's Bible School in Cincinnati in 1907, serves to enlarge our understanding of Jesus' teaching about what His life really means in the believer's experience. For Chambers, the Christian life is authenticated when the indwelling Spirit applies the principles of Christ to the particular circumstances of the believer. This is doctrine in work clothes, truth become reality, redemption expressed. And, consistent with all his work, the author reminds us in these studies that our focus must be on God alone and not on those among whom we live.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Review 1 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pat Cook
Read it, Loved it, Living it and Sharing it with others. It made me even saltier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ian McDonald
I find this book a very interesting read. I have 2 other books by Oswald Chambers and enjoy his insights. For me Oswald Chambers speaks what God wants me to hear. As always Oswald Chambers points out how Christ points to being focused on God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
meowfoong
Short and concise. A good and stimulating overview of the sermon on the mount and its practical implications for Christian living.Recommended reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Green
I ordered this for a Christmas present for my "radically saved" father-in-law.I was "spot reading" it just to make sure he would understand it and I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN !So....I got on the web and ordered 4 more to give as gifts.Truly meat for the hungry !!OUR GOD REIGNS !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Frederick Hood
This book is rather enjoyable since it is short and concentrates on Matthew 5 - 7 in the Bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mark Snodgrass
This is a great book for personal devotion time. Chambers is engaging and challenges the reader to live out the Sermon on the Mount. If you enjoy "My Utmost..." then you will enjoy this book as well. It reads in a very similar fashion. It is not, however, an exposition of Matt. 5-7. Rather, it is Chambers' re-narration of these familiar texts with an emphasis on how these texts transform our relationship with God. My congregation is currently reading this book, while I present a verse-by-verse exposition. For a thorough exposition of the text see D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones book with the same title. What Chambers lacks in detail, Lloyd more than adequately compensates.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jean Brown
Awesome. Written 100 years ago, but timely for today. Chambers has deep insight into Jesus' words for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.