Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Gates of Zion, Zion Chronicles Series #1

Tyndale House The Gates of Zion, Zion Chronicles Series #1

Ellie Warne, a young American photojournalist, finds herself in Jerusalem in 1947. She unwittingly becomes a pawn in a political chess game when she photographs some ancient scrolls discovered by Bedouins. Who would guess that a few innocent photos could entangle her in such a desperate web of intrigue and peril?

David Meyer seems to love her dearly, but Moshe Sachar has a purpose and commitment in life that intrigues her more than she can say. Through it all, Ellie discovers a people, a spirit, and a person who profoundly change the direction of her life.

Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Gates of Zion, Zion Chronicles Series #1
Review 1 for The Gates of Zion, Zion Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent storyline

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom42girls
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you enjoy a great story combined with historical facts, this is an excellent read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Gates of Zion, Zion Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Oh my word! I love this book!

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ella
Location:Indiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all of Bodie and Brock Theone's books, but this one was close to the best. The way the weave their stories is sooo amazing, it just kept me reading until suddenly I was staring at the Epilogue. I was so disappointed when it was over. My favorite characters were David Meyer, Ellie Warne, and Bobby Milkin. The plot was intriguing, the characters were awesome, and overall, the book was super!!!!!!!! Now I just have to get the rest of the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Gates of Zion, Zion Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series is something everyone should read

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Bristol, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Thoene's books on WWII and the plight of the Jewish nation is something we should not forget or be rewritten by present day critics. They are great for lessons in history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Gates of Zion, Zion Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I have read the book, gave this one to a friend.

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linn
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read this book after a trip to Israel and the scenes they mention I could see in my minds eye, it made it very exciting. I'''m not one for romance, but the history and places in this book, and the series was great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Gates of Zion, Zion Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joyce Villeneuve
This is a wonderful series! I have read all of their Covenant series and am starting on the ion series. Start from the first one to get to know t characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Gates of Zion, Zion Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Johnson
I read all five books of this series, and am grateful for all the information and blessing received through these marvelous books. The almost constant danger, suspense, and violence in these books are balanced by characters that grab one's heart in the first chapter. I shall never forget them--even Shaul, the dog!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Gates of Zion, Zion Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Carly
I absolutely love this book! The first time I read it, I was so captivated by the characters. Some of the historical background and political conversations can be hard to follow, but the second or third time I read the book, I understood it much better. Definitely a must-read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Gates of Zion, Zion Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2007
I really, really liked "The Gates of Zion". Bodie and Brock Thoene present a heart-warming and inspiring saga that weaves history with fiction. I fell in love with the characters in this book, Rachel especially. At times it was confusing, but then I had never previously studied Israel or its politics so a lot of the background info was new to me. Still, an awesome book that I thoroughly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Gates of Zion, Zion Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Victoria Owen
I give this book three stars, because I had difficulty following the history of Israel and the difference between Hagannah and Irgun. Also, I disliked the rude and almost homicidal character David Meyer. But this book is necessary reading for those who want to read the series. I was curious about the other characters and how they would turn out, so I kept on reading in spite of David! Its sequel, A Daughter of Zion, was much better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.