Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1

Tyndale House Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1

No one is safe. . . . In 1936 Nazi darkness descends upon Europe. Every person is only one step away from being swept into the nightmarish tide of evil. Blond Elisa Lindheim, a violinist with the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, adopts an Aryan stage name for protection. But her closest friend, Leah, a talented Jewish cellist, is in a perilous position.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1
Review 1 for Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Greatest read and historical fiction the best!

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
moose
Location:colorado
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave to granddaughter and she can't quit reading. Will share with others in the family. A pastor's wife and friend gave me this series.
It opened the past in new ways.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Triple G
Location:NW Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the rest of the series and wanted to share with a friend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A gripping story

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cookie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very fond of History, and this story, a fiction with such a realistic background looks so real as we know these dark events happened not so long ago... Like it says, it allows reader to "discover the truth through fiction". A book for everyone to be read, as anti-Semitism is growing up again. I couldn't give up until the very last page !
The questions at the end of the book "Digging deeper" is a good opportunity to teach kids or young people who are often ignorant of that period of time and make them facing the right questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hands down, the best book I've ever read.

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
gogurtmom
Location:Mid-Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been an avid reader. A friend suggested this book to me and I was not quick to agree to read it. I didn't think I'd like the WWII setting. After the first few chapters the author ties the lives of the characters together, and I was hooked. I learned things I did not know I still needed to learn. My life was changed...and that does not often happen with a historical fiction book. This book, and the series, are wonderful...and this book inparticular holds it's place as my favorite all-time book!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barb Johnson
Great reading!!! I have the whole series.. Hard to put down! Realistic history, yet highly informative & interesting!! Read this series first and then "The Zion Chronicles".. I will read again & then sell..Wish I could sell on this web site..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Ok, first of all, I can't wait until I'm able to read the rest of the books in this series. When I finished this one, for some reason, I was thinking it was a single novel - but there are 8 more!! This book actually dragged for me a little, but I think the actual thickness of it discouraged me the most, and I put it down for a few weeks. Last night, I picked it back up again, and this morning, I stayed in bed for hours until I'd read the entire thing!! An excellent book - well-written, suspenseful, politically and historically accurate. My main problem was the seeming overabundance of men ready to fall at the main character's feet. Don't let that stop you - read this book!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2007
I love the Zion Covenant series! Vienna Prelude was a great book and once I started, I just couldn't stop :) It was intensely well-written with a gripping plot; the characters were all 'real' and I've learned a lot about WWII and the Holocaust. Awesome book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kari
This series of books is by far, the best I have ever had the pleasure of reading. I am 15 years old and have thoroughly enjoyed each book as my anticipation climaxes with each sentence. I have always had a passion for the Holocaust and my understanding of it grows as I continuously uncover the great suffering of the chosen people. Through reading these books, I have also uncovered a new political hero of mine, Winston Churchill! Hopefully, these books will inspire even more readers, as they have me! Thank you and God Bless!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kerrin
This book is fantastic! You will fall in love with the main character, Elisa. A Jewish musician who must put aside her fears and help rescue children from the hands of the Nazis. But can she save them before time runs out? Be prepared that once you pick up this book, you won't be able to put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vienna Prelude, Zion Covenant Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2005
Customer Avatar
Evan
So far its been excellent. I'm fourteen and I love it. My parents read it years ago and they loved it so much my sister was named after the main character. Its excellent. Better then Monster.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.