Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV

Bethany House The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV

Now you can put together the giant puzzle of biblical people, places, and dates because the text has been printed in chronological order.Large easy-to-read type * Stories of the divided kingdoms of Israel presented in parallel columns * Dictionary-style pronunciation of difficult words * Chapter and chronological indexes * And more! * Size: 7" x 9.5" x 1.5" * 1613 pages, hardcover from Bethany
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
25 out of 2889%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Review 1 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is what I've been looking for all these years

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sharon H
Location:Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to read and this makes reading the Bible almost like reading a TRUE novel. Knowing that the Bible does say that God's word can be understood by finding the nuggets "here a little, there a little" this puts those nuggets in an easier to find and understand format. So far I have purchased one for everyone in my immediate family, and I intend to continue to share it through gifts to others. I have also recommended it on a Christian Women's Blog to which I belong.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great Bible to read

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Flossie
Location:Whiteville North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is so fun to read and know that it was in order in which it actually happens. I really love reading it and i recommend to anyone that loves reading the Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
GERobi
Location:Suffolk, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Bible. Gives me a chance to read the Bible from another perspective. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Some previous reviews must have different edition

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
HomeschoolChristianMom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I noticed that some previous reviewers had made statements that this chronological bible "pushed" the gap theory (old world creation, millions of years going by during Creation week). I double-checked the introduction to the copy I am currently holding in my lap and found what I consider to be the source of this- there were multiple editions of the Reese Chronological Bible published. The one I'm holding has an ISBN number of 0-87123-115-8 and had a copyright of 1977. The introduction states: "A number of changes and corrections have been made since the first edition was published. Suggestions or comments will be considered in future printings." The following page, titled, "A Final Word About the Dating" states "The beginning of time has always been highly debatable in the scholarly world. Advocates of the "Gap Theory" allow for millions of years between Genesis 1:1 and Genesis 1:2. This view has been advocated by such scholars as Harry Rimmer, C.I. Scofield, and M. R. DeHann. In recent years the thinking of many has shifted to the position that Gensis 1:1 and 1:2 have no gap between them and that the earth is not millions of years old, but actually of recent vintage- God creating a mature world, just as He created mature man and animals. ... May the dates and titles be kept in proper perspective. They are only aids. This Bible would be of great value without them. Only the Scriptures themselves are really important and inspired." Also, there is a general index in the beginning which outlines the contents, and in the back there is an index in traditional Bible order telling you the page number of every chapter in this Bible, so you can always find out what you're reading or track down a passage you want to look up. If you are on the fence about whether or not to get this Bible, make sure you're getting the most recent edition and you will NOT regret it!!!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love all the colorful maps and Archeology findings

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Washington State
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The paper is high quality and just overall beautful book. It's so interesting to read the Bible in chronealogical form. I can't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Has its limitations ...

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Disciple Aaron
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a Theology & World History instructor, this is an excellent tool in any research arsenal that I recommend to students. Understanding prophecy, for example, the way Rome canonized things, does not logically coincide with the historical timeline. Laying out the prophets on the timeline of history makes it more obvious to whom the prophet was addressing -- Northern Kingdom? Unified Israel, Southern Kingdom? WHEN is essential with many aspects of biblical understanding, not just prophecies. Like any historical research, however, I consider this only ONE source of information, and do not take it as "gospel" without confirmation from "two or more witnesses." (More is merrier.)
It has several downsides. First, I would not have named it for the false god Chronos. ("Sequential" would have been more biblically appropriate.) Second, calling it a KJV is a misnomer. To be a true KJV it would need the (currently missing) 14 intertestamental books placed appropriately on the timeline as well, as the "authorized" KJV (as did ALL bibles in that time) contained Esdras through II Macabees. With those missing, much of the timeline is also missing, and is therefore incomplete. It lacks a table of contents. (As other reviewers have noted, finding things is near impossible.)
It's an arrow in the quiver for the biblical historian & serious student however. Just take it all with a grain of salt as prescribed.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I was disappointed mostly

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
ftrader1
Location:Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My first disappointment was when I saw that Job was placed prior to Abraham, as if Job lived prior to Abraham. But we know that one of his friends was a Temanite who were descendants of Esau.
Then I noticed that reasons for books, chapters, or verses placed where they were was somewhat arbitrary. Some were placed by chronology of when it happened, where others by when it was written. This inconsistency was a definite disappointment.
On a positive note, places where verses or chapters were similar, like some Psalms, and 2 Sam vs. 1 Chron for example was helpful to see how they compared and the differences were readily seen.
One additional item noted was that his initial claim was that he used the chronology of Klassen, but I noted some places where he differed in chronology, and no source was cited where he got the information.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Pushes the gap theory

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
David
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Reese Chronological Bible KJV is advertised as a Bible that places Scripture in the order that it was written with no added commentary. This is not true. The book begins with commentary by Mr. Reese, stating that he believes in an older creation theory (which is another way of saying he supports the gap theory). The gap theory alleges that there was another world at one time that Satan destroyed, so God created a second world. This is not true because there is no Scriptural record of another world.
I was dismayed that Tim LaHaye endorsed this book, because he typically supports the work of ICR, which states that creation happened exactly as Scripture says it did - 6 days, with no other world floating around previously.
It's also important to note that verses are taken from books and placed in the order that Mr. Reese believes they happened. This means that there is a great deal of subjectivity in how verses are arranged.
Frankly, I would not play around with any author's work like this, and more importantly, I would be afraid to play around with God's Words this way.
I have returned this book and am awaiting a full refund.
+14points
21of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent way to understand the Old Testament

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mehrll
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible helps you understand when things happened and what else was happening at the same time. The price was very reasonable.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great version of the "Good Book"

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
L.T.Gandee
Location:mansfield ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pulls from EVERY book in the bible to put events in order. expected from a chronological bible but the way it's done makes for very interesting reading. you're readin' from different books and authors at the same time on the same pages. the only drawback would be tryin' to use it in church or bible study because lookin' up individual books and verses is nearly impossible due to the text bein' scattered all over the book! other than that it's great! ....and it's an awesome addition to my bible collection.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Spiritual Perspective

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hot Green Onions
Location:BATH ONT.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy the specific style of how this Holy Bible is composed. Its flow is not designed to trace the course of when, it was penned by man in the measure of time, but rather penned, in the measure of events happening against the backdrop or Eternity.
This truly sets it apart from other Chronological Holy Bibles like the one produced by Thomas Nelson entitled Chronological Study Bible that traces events as measured and penned in the frame work of Time.
Reeses Chronological Holy Bible is a Great Asset to any serious Bible Student.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
RStewie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great Bible for studying and for devotions. It puts a lot of what happened in order and you can see who was where when events happened in history.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The King James Bible, with cookies I can reach :-)

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
I4detail
Location:Coeur d'Alene, Id
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think sometimes we listen to everybody else preaching the Word and not diving into it on our own.
This has enabled me to be a better Berean.
I see the trials of David and where he wrote some of the Psalms.
A better idea of ages (Abraham & Isaac).
The parallel kingdoms understood a little better.
Small details of stories you grew up with that you never knew or never saw
More than anything a hunger for the Word of God!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!Enlightening!

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bibleman1
Location:Deer Park Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the Bible through many times. The past few years I decided to use different ways to read the Bible through. This past year I purchased The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV and decided that this would be the bible I would use for my read through. What a joyful and enlightening experience! The perspective of chronological order increased my understanding of the scripture. To see the parallel in the divided kingdoms of Israel and Judah, the background of the Psalms and the writing of the New Testament Epistles through out the book of Acts shed new light and knowledge. I have recommended this bible to several and have given it as a gift no less than 4 times. Read it, you will not be disappointed.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Big Mike
Location:Sumter, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a bible that has everything that happen in order not being put here and there
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
david
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bible, and I would recommend everyone have one of these in their library.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tool for studying the Bible

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
MB Alma
Location:Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is great for studying the Chronological Events in the Bible. I would recommend this book to every Christian who wants to learn more about God's word.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first Chronological Bible

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first Chronological Bible a great friend of mine got it for me, I do not know how it compares to other Chronological Bible's but I love this one it has a great layout and easy to use. I would recomend this one I do not know about others in the future I will probably look into other ones.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New way to enjoy the Word

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Henning
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This brings out the meanings of God's Word to me and is a wonderful way to read Scriptures in the order in which they were written!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Reese Chronological Bible, KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Study

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
midget
Location:casscoe Ar
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible to help me remember the order of things that happened. It is a great study guide, I like the way it is laid out. The information in the front of the Bible lets you know how to use it. I will let everyone I know about this Book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.