Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The One-Year Book of Hope

Tyndale House The One-Year Book of Hope

This book is for anyone who has been hurt in life and would benefit from a hope-filled daily companion. Critically acclaimed author, Nancy Guthrie, offers insightful daily reflections based on the Word of God to comfort, encourage, and uplift those who are feeling the aches of life--whether because of everyday disappointments or deep losses. In 365 thoughtful entries, the reader will learn how much God longs to lift us up, carry us through in time of difficulty and uncertainty, and give us true, lasting joy. Each daily step draws you closer to a God who truly cares and the hopeful life he wants you to enjoy.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The One-Year Book of Hope
Review 1 for The One-Year Book of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

gentle, truthful, easy to read

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jess
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Guthrie gently takes readers through the Bible to give insight to various situations Christians face when life is difficult. I would recommend this to anyone who is struggling to find hope in this life- whether you've lost someone, are in a broken relationship, face financial trouble, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The One-Year Book of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deanna
Location:Texas
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the most powerfully helpful books to help someone with the process of grieving with hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The One-Year Book of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
cfamily
A co-worker (that I now call a dear friend) recently gave me this book. This person hardly knew me at the time, but just knowing that I was going through a very difficult time in my life, she knew that this book was just what I needed! Indeed! I found it on my desk one morning and it has been by my side everyday since. What an amazing book, full of meaning, passion, encouragement and inspiration. Each page is a quick daily read but has so much depth to it. It lifts me up everyday. We are not alone in our suffering and this book reminds me of that everyday. Most importantly, it has led me back into the comfort of the Lord's arms! Many thanks to Nancy Guthrie and many thanks to my blessed friend Kim for this wonderful gift!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The One-Year Book of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bible study leader
My own copy of this book is well worn because I have read it and reread it, but I have also purchased several copies to give to others, and have highly recommended it to still dozens more. Nancy Guthrie not only understands suffering, but she also understands the God who brings us hope and renewal. Her understanding and application of God's Word is phenomenal as she explains things like pain, comfort, God's presence, God's purposes, the reality of heaven, and perseverance. She does so with clarity and intensity, but almost as if she is sitting down and talking with the reader on a very personal level. I would highly recommend her book to anyone who has been hurt by life and desires the answers God can give.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The One-Year Book of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Glen Rose
Several friends have appreciated this book which was given as a gift. One, the widow of a suicide victim; others are young parents whose infants have died unexpectedly. The right book at the right time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The One-Year Book of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lucy Carlson
This is an excellent devotional that can be used by anybody who is experiencing, or has experienced, deep pain and feels there is no hope. It does a good job of addressing "pain" and accompanying it with truth about God's characteristics IN THE MIDDLE OF the pain. I would recommend it for anyone who wants to heal from life's hurts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The One-Year Book of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Mitchell
I was sent a copy of this book. I have found it at times intense because of what I am personally going through, but generally it has enriched my spiritual walk with Christ. I recommend this book to anyone who has or is suffering through a difficult part of their Christian journey. I have since given several copies away to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The One-Year Book of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Cormier
I lost my 21 year old daughter instantly in a car accident a few years ago. This book helped us through the first year. It is the best book to help anyone get through any kind of loss. It is based on scripture and gives scriptural verses as well as down to earth empathy. It is a week by week book that addresses themes appropriate to loss. It is not a downer. It is truly a book of hope without all the cliches. My husband and I read this book aloud each night that began our nightly devotional time. If you are in pain, buy this book. If you know someone who is suffering from any loss, the greatest gift you can give them is this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The One-Year Book of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anna McDowell
I have not suffered a big event in my life yet and I have grown more from using this book as a guide than anything else in the past 7 years. Nancy writes in such a way that anyone who reads this could glean different things from the word, devotional or prayer she includes on every page.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The One-Year Book of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robin Milhouse
Sorrow, devastating circumstances, brokenness of any sort - we are all, at one time or another, touched by the pain of this life. I purchased this book as a gift for a friend who is going through a very difficult season in her own life. It would be the ideal devotional for anyone who is currently going through "the valley of the shadow," regardless of the nature of that situation, as the author speaks not to the specifics of life's problems, but to the amazing ability our God has in meeting us in the darkest and most fearful times of our lives. If you know anyone who is feeling discouraged, overwhelmed, or is in need of some hope in the midst of a dark time, this would be an excellent gift, daily reminding them of the indescribable hope we have in Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The One-Year Book of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jenni
This book is awesome. It is beautifully written by someone who has clearly experienced her own severe pain and grief, but at the same time recognizes that her experience isn't unique. Nancy Guthrie has, in my opinion, done a tremendous job at allowing God to use pain in her life for something good by sharing her experiences and lessons with others. It is easy to read and very well organized so that you can read by subject or use as a daily or weekly devotional. So far, I have purchased two other copies of this book to share with people who have had very unfortunate tragedies come to their lives.I would also recommend "Holding on to Hope" by Nancy Guthrie. This goes deeper into her testimony that she touches on in the intro to this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The One-Year Book of Hope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mercy Hope
Not only have I been personally challenged and encouraged by The One-Year Book of Hope but I have also shared it with friends who are hurting. Nuggets of truth that I have gleaned from Nancys words have illuminated areas that were once gray in my understanding of Gods word, forever impacting my Spiritual life, and equipping me for the challenges that lay ahead. The One-Year Book of Hope is truly a priceless resource that points the hurting soul to light and hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.