Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters

Tyndale House Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters

Bryce and Ashley are ATV-riding tweens from Colorado who unearth action-packed mystery and adventure wherever they go. From clearing the name of a local miscreant to thwarting a gold-stealing heist, the twins' growing faith and the strong example of their parents guide them through even the most life-threatening situations. Perfect for ages 8 to 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Review 1 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
This review is fromHaunted Waters - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Daughter loved it

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was the first gripping novel my 9year old has ever read and she loved it! Couldn't put her Kobo down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thirteen-year-old twins Ashley and Bryce Timberline’s mother remarries and the family relocates from the Midwest to Colorado. Attempting to integrate their blended family, stepfather, Sam, takes Ashley and Bryce to a remote mountain cabin get away where a mysterious intruder stalks the twins. After Sam scares the man off, they discover a priceless gold nugget was stolen from the museum they’d visited earlier in the day, and they surmise a connection. But what does the stalker want? The man returns and after a harrowing fight and flight scene, leaves the family for dead after ramming their vehicle into a frigid lake where it sinks with all onboard. How will they escape?
The authors artfully weave a strong spiritual thread with real life middle school applications into this high action page turning suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good but...

Date:November 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
J O
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This story was obviously written with the entire series already in mind. Sequels will build on this one. My 11 yo son enjoyed the book and couldn't wait for the next one. As an adult, I read the first few books and found the writing rather uneven, the stories a bit formulaic and far-fetched, but they are a harmless and engaging read with some faith-based lessons thrown in. I wouldn"t discourage my son from reading them, but will probably try to borrow them, not sure we want to spend money on the whole series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bookworms 70
Location:Western Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I appreciate you people asking for reviews. However I buy the books for other people and for our school library- as I run the library:) So a lot of the books I don't read. (Would love to have the time to do it!!)
but many, many thanks for the good books you stock - our school kids love them!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My kids loved it (9 and 11-year olds)

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bryce and Ashley Timberline are thirteen-year-old twins. They haven’t lived in Colorado long, and they’re still getting to know their new stepfather, Sam. When Sam takes them on a vacation to see the biggest gold nugget, it seems like a chance to get to know him better. But when the gold nugget is stolen and someone starts following them around, their nice vacation weekend turns into a deadly chase.
This was a fun read. The story was told from Bryce and Ashley’s points of view. The chapters are short, no longer than three pages, so it feels like you’re reading the book faster than you really are. The book had a huge cliffhanger that sort of came from out of nowhere that will make you want to go find the next book in the series. I read this to my kids and they both liked it a lot and demanded book two the moment I closed the book at the end. If you haven’t read these, girl them a try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A real page-turner! Exciting cliff-hanger ending,

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Volpe
Location:ashland, oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A real page-turner! Exciting cliff-hanger ending, too! Short chapters should hold a young reader's interest.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
DC*B fan
Wow. That about sums up this read. I couldn't put this down once I started reading it. I was a bit nervous about reading it at first because of the title, but once I started I couldn't stop! The only objuection I have is the cliffhanging end. Sweet Book!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lissy
I have read 1-8 of this series. I am 15, but I don't think the series is too young for me at all. It is very suspenseful, and really hard to put down. My brother and I got the fifth one first and after reading that decided we had to read the rest of the series. Now we have 1-9 and so far I think this was the best one, but they are all very good.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rachel
I absolutly love those books! They are probably the best books that I have ever read! I really like them and I am really into them!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
kate
This book leaves you hanging. When you read this one, you have to finish the whole series. And believe me, you'll want to! I'm not a fan of mysteries, so I like this series because it has action and suspense as well. It's a really great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
Lauren
It was pretty good.It was my younger brothers book,sooo it was a little young for me(I'm 13). Still it was a good book. I love all Jerry Jenkins books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2005
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
This book was great! I usually don't like mysteries but this was real cool. It's not scary or anything. And it's not all mystery, mystery, mystery. It has touching bits too. I love Bryce and Ashley! You can't just read one book though-you have to read them all because they continue on from each other. Cool book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.