Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters

Tyndale House Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters

Bryce and Ashley are ATV-riding tweens from Colorado who unearth action-packed mystery and adventure wherever they go. From clearing the name of a local miscreant to thwarting a gold-stealing heist, the twins' growing faith and the strong example of their parents guide them through even the most life-threatening situations. Perfect for ages 8 to 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Review 1 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good mystery series for both boys and girls

Date:July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Norfolk, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haunted Waters is the first book in a 15 book series, the Red Rock Mysteries. Bryce and Ashley Timberline are normal 13-year-old twins, except for one thing—they discover action-packed mystery wherever they go. Wanting to get to the bottom of any mystery, these twins find themselves searching for truth without stopping.
Having grown up in the era of Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys mysteries, this was a unique book in that it would appeal equally to either gender. The twins alternate narrating each chapter, and it includes plenty of adventure to keep you interested. They are placed in realistic situations both in school (dealing with bullies, deciding whether a friend’s movie choice is appropriate) and in their mystery, while trying to model Christ-like behavior (not always, as kids are still learning, but handled appropriately in the aftermath). Aimed toward an 8-12 year old audience, I feel it would take a pretty accomplished 8 year old to read, but easily accessible to an intermediate reader already good with chapter books. The chapters are short, and with the changing narrators, they keep the reader engaged. It ends with a cliffhanger, which just makes you want to read the next one….and the next one….and the next one…..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Haunted Waters is the first book in the Red Rock Mysteries series by Jerry B. Jenkins and Chris Fabry. It is a children's mystery for 8-12 years old. The main characters are 13 year old twins whose father has recently died and they are getting used to life in a new state with a new step-dad. When there new step-dad takes them on a vacation up to see a piece of gold from the gold rush and relax at a beautiful cabin, they end up getting in the middle of quite the heist and struggle for their lives.
This book is perfect for this age range, especially boys. Lots of adventure to keep kids interested. It is also written with one chapter being from the boy twin's perspective and then one from the girl twin's perspective. I think this helps make it appeal to both genders and is a fabulous idea. I highly recommend this book and can't wait to share it with my son. I love finding new series that I can trust for him to read and enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Haunted Waters

Date:June 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! What a great book! Even though this book was written for ages 8-12, it kept my interest. Twins Ashley and Bryce go on an adventure with their stepdad. They get more than just an adventure. Jerry Jenkins is a very talented writer. I've loved every book I've read by him. I would recommend this book to all preteens that love adventure and a little mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

3.5 stars

Date:June 10, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The dual narrative is a neat feature, but it causes really short chapters. The narrative itself isn't bad. The story isn't wrapped up neatly with this book, though, you need to keep reading in the series (I assume, I've only read this first book) for some details to be concluded. There is definitely a cliff hanger at the end of the book that will probably floor kids, but about which adults will likely be able to take some decent guesses. Overall, I recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
This review is fromHaunted Waters - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast-paced read for tweens

Date:July 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
georgettegirl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first in a series about thirteen year old fraternal twins, Bryce and Ashley. In this first book, we learn their backstory. Their father died in a plane crash while their mother was pregnant with their younger brother, Dylan. Since then, they've moved from Illinois to Colorado, their mother re-married, and they became Christians. This is a fast-paced book which has the usual tribulations that tweens experience as well as a mystery that seems to follow them. Bryce is bullied in school over his ATV while Ashley feels she was a bad witness to her friend by doing something she knew, as a Christian, she shouldn't have done. In the middle of their school/friend troubles, the twins go away for the weekend with Dylan and their step-dad Sam. They travel to an old town to visit an exhibit of a huge gold nugget. Somehow when the nugget is stolen, they are drawn into the mystery and stalked by a mystery man. The chapters are told in first-person voice, alternating between Bryce and Ashley. Since the chapters are really short, this book feels like a very quick read. The twins are realistic and likeable. They struggle with living in a blended family, living a Christian life, and trying to figure out the mystery of the missing gold nugget. I enjoyed this quick, and sometimes humorous, read and recommend it to tweens who are interested in seeing faith played out among their age group. I have to say that this book does end on a shocking cliffhanger so be prepared to want to read book two, Stolen Secrets!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
This review is fromHaunted Waters - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Story, Lots of Action

Date:June 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think these two are excellent authors. I enjoyed the story and the characters. The humor was gentle and the dialogue was polite, just the way I like it. It was an exciting adventure, albeit a touch frightening with the life-threatening scenarios. I would have had nightmares for life if I went through those, and I'm considerably older than 13. The authors have great imagination. I gave it four stars because of the cliffhanger ending, forcing the reader to buy the next book to conclude it. I prefer a book that is complete in itself. That said, this is a great series for young people, and people like me who enjoy a quick and easy read once in awhile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
This review is fromHaunted Waters - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Daughter loved it

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was the first gripping novel my 9year old has ever read and she loved it! Couldn't put her Kobo down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thirteen-year-old twins Ashley and Bryce Timberline’s mother remarries and the family relocates from the Midwest to Colorado. Attempting to integrate their blended family, stepfather, Sam, takes Ashley and Bryce to a remote mountain cabin get away where a mysterious intruder stalks the twins. After Sam scares the man off, they discover a priceless gold nugget was stolen from the museum they’d visited earlier in the day, and they surmise a connection. But what does the stalker want? The man returns and after a harrowing fight and flight scene, leaves the family for dead after ramming their vehicle into a frigid lake where it sinks with all onboard. How will they escape?
The authors artfully weave a strong spiritual thread with real life middle school applications into this high action page turning suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good but...

Date:November 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
J O
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This story was obviously written with the entire series already in mind. Sequels will build on this one. My 11 yo son enjoyed the book and couldn't wait for the next one. As an adult, I read the first few books and found the writing rather uneven, the stories a bit formulaic and far-fetched, but they are a harmless and engaging read with some faith-based lessons thrown in. I wouldn"t discourage my son from reading them, but will probably try to borrow them, not sure we want to spend money on the whole series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bookworms 70
Location:Western Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I appreciate you people asking for reviews. However I buy the books for other people and for our school library- as I run the library:) So a lot of the books I don't read. (Would love to have the time to do it!!)
but many, many thanks for the good books you stock - our school kids love them!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My kids loved it (9 and 11-year olds)

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bryce and Ashley Timberline are thirteen-year-old twins. They haven’t lived in Colorado long, and they’re still getting to know their new stepfather, Sam. When Sam takes them on a vacation to see the biggest gold nugget, it seems like a chance to get to know him better. But when the gold nugget is stolen and someone starts following them around, their nice vacation weekend turns into a deadly chase.
This was a fun read. The story was told from Bryce and Ashley’s points of view. The chapters are short, no longer than three pages, so it feels like you’re reading the book faster than you really are. The book had a huge cliffhanger that sort of came from out of nowhere that will make you want to go find the next book in the series. I read this to my kids and they both liked it a lot and demanded book two the moment I closed the book at the end. If you haven’t read these, girl them a try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A real page-turner! Exciting cliff-hanger ending,

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Volpe
Location:ashland, oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A real page-turner! Exciting cliff-hanger ending, too! Short chapters should hold a young reader's interest.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
DC*B fan
Wow. That about sums up this read. I couldn't put this down once I started reading it. I was a bit nervous about reading it at first because of the title, but once I started I couldn't stop! The only objuection I have is the cliffhanging end. Sweet Book!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lissy
I have read 1-8 of this series. I am 15, but I don't think the series is too young for me at all. It is very suspenseful, and really hard to put down. My brother and I got the fifth one first and after reading that decided we had to read the rest of the series. Now we have 1-9 and so far I think this was the best one, but they are all very good.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rachel
I absolutly love those books! They are probably the best books that I have ever read! I really like them and I am really into them!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
kate
This book leaves you hanging. When you read this one, you have to finish the whole series. And believe me, you'll want to! I'm not a fan of mysteries, so I like this series because it has action and suspense as well. It's a really great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
Lauren
It was pretty good.It was my younger brothers book,sooo it was a little young for me(I'm 13). Still it was a good book. I love all Jerry Jenkins books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Red Rock Mysteries #1: Haunted Waters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2005
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
This book was great! I usually don't like mysteries but this was real cool. It's not scary or anything. And it's not all mystery, mystery, mystery. It has touching bits too. I love Bryce and Ashley! You can't just read one book though-you have to read them all because they continue on from each other. Cool book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.