Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Inter-Varsity Press Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies

Inter-Varsity Press Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies

At times we are all tempted to ask, "What's the use?" We work and work as Christians and sometimes seem to get nowhere. That's how the original readers of Hebrews felt. Yet the author of this letter cheers for them to stay on track and never quit, so they can reach the finish line by the power of Jesus Christ. Through these studies in Hebrews, you will also find the encouragement you need to stay in the faith race. This revised LifeGuide Bible Study features additional questions for starting group discussions and for meeting God in personal reflection, together with expanded leader's notes and a "Now or Later" section in each study. 13 studies for individuals or groups.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies
Review 1 for Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lightweight launch pad for discussion

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Coheir888
Location:PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our men's prayer/discussion breakfast uses this "Life Guide" study series because each topic provides a place from which to launch without interjecting too much theological viewpoint indoctrination content. Each of the series is a "good" place to start discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Group Study

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
JBru
Location:Cleveland, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A well put together study on the 'Faith Race'. Our group discussion has centered on faithful obedience ~ and Hebrews provides a blueprint for following Jesus completely.
Moreover, by tying back references to the Old Testament, Hebrews makes our group want to deeply understand the Word. Not only understand, but to be able to put into practice what we are discussing/learning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like the question and answer format

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Liz Denton
Location:Modesto, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used a number of LifeGuide study guides and have found them very compatible with my style of leading/teaching. "Hebrews" is no exception. The study teaches not only the answers, but how to find the answers for yourself, which is vey important.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Mcghee
This has been an excellant study for my class of Mixed Christian maturity Class. Thought provoking, encouraging deeper study, and genuine seeking are just a few of the reactions my class had to this study. I would like to encourage everyone to use this study guide as they delve into one of the sleeping books in the New Testament. Just ask your group what can you tell me about Hebrews. Will you hear the Heroes of the Faith book as I did?. There is so much more to it than that as my class discovered.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Mcghee
This has been an excellant study for my class of Mixed Christian maturity Class. Thought provoking, encouraging deeper study, and genuine seeking are just a few of the reactions my class had to this study. I would like to encourage everyone to use this study guide as they delve into one of the sleeping books in the New Testament. Just ask your group what can you tell me about Hebrews. Will you hear the Heroes of the Faith book as I did?. There is so much more to it than that as my class discovered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Hayes
Our women's Bible study group has greatly appreciated this Bible study series. We switch from an Old Testament Study to a New Testament Study. The questions are usually helpful and thought provoking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Edgar Bork
Where to begin? This LifeGuide study is definately worth the investment, which is minimal. An exceptionally researched and dynamically presented, 13-part study of one of the New Testament's most intense, focused and persuasive books. The adult Sunday school class I facillitate is half-way through this study and unanimously pleased with it (as we are with past LifeGuide studies). Preparation time for a study leader is minimal, yet the study encourages significant preparatory research as the studies are subtley involved. That is, the Question/Discussion format seems minimal on the surface but actually ENCOURAGES significant tangential discussions. A marvelous bang for the buck... less than five dollars each when ordered in batches of 10 or more. Go for it!E.H. Bork. Sunday School SuperintendentImmanuel Baptist Church, Ypsilanti, MI
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carroll Mccasland
We are using it ina small men's group. Everyone seems happy with it although we have just started.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shari Hedwall
I have known the Lord for many years and never appreciated the book of Hebrews for it's great encouraging message. Doing this study has wonderfully opened my eyes to some new truths God has for us there. Not only encouraging me to stay in the race but seeing Jesus as my PERSONAL High Priest. Wow!Excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hebrews: Race to Glory-Revised Edition LifeGuide Scripture Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sara Hart
I've been using LifeGuide Scripture studies in my adult Sunday school class for about the last year. I prefer the question/answer format with discussion to the "lecture" type of class - that way more than the teacher get to use their "little gray cells"! :) This Hebrews study is very "deep". Of course, Hebrews is one of the deeper books. Some of the questions I'm really going to have to dig on to figure out what the writer was wanting for an answer or what direction he was going in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.