Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Hidden Secrets, DVD

Capitol Christian Music Group Hidden Secrets, DVD

Reunited at the funeral of a hometown hero---and inspired by his faithful witness---three estranged friends find tensions escalating as personal secrets are revealed. Can Jeremy break out of an unhealthy love triangle? Can his fiancee, Rachel, rekindle their relationship? And will skeptical Gary make peace with God? Stars John Schneider, David White, and Stacey Keanan. Approx. 90 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hidden Secrets, DVD
Review 1 for Hidden Secrets, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Had potential...

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cheryl MacMillan
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fairly cheesy script that covers all your basic stereotypes of Christianity and human/God's response to sin. Solid acting from John Schneider and Tracy Melchior are the only reasons why we didn't turn it off. Other actors over-dramatized their roles, especially the condescending character of Rhonda - who possibly sees themselves in her and feels convicted?!? Had her character been much softer spoken but uttered the very same lines we'd have a more accurate picture of how judgemental and hurtful we Christians can be, and perhaps would make different choices in the future. The fact she was given free reign to destroy others through the complacency of her [goofball] pastor, shrugging husband and other apparently godly men and women in her life - who supposedly loved her - made my husband & I shake our heads in disbelief. This is why Christians have such a bad rep. Please tell me that all the folks who loved this movie aren't living in this kind of reality. IMDb rated it 5.3/10. Perhaps the entertainment value was that high because it gave audiences something to heckle at.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hidden Secrets, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of THE best movies!

Date:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kessa
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie was good in every way possible! Excellent story...acting..comical...and so much to learn from the message given. It's a movie that you don't just watch once but go back again for more! Watch it...you won't regret it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hidden Secrets, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great ending twist!

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sister
Location:Sweden
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This film was incredible in the way it blended the ' hot topics' of today's society so well within each character. John Schneider is a great actor and his humorous spin to the way the non-believer views Christianity and asks questions was really good. Makes one think about our message to the unbeliever and where the love and grace of God is as we meet those without Christ. It was powerful. I thought it very amazing however that in the final 5 minutes of the film, there was a twist.....as I am sure other viewers must have also thought Chris's life took a tragic ending. Film well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hidden Secrets, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good lessons

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathrae
Location:Southern Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great lesson on humility and how people can change when the Lord is convicting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hidden Secrets, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite modern/current movie!

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karenc
Location:USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie has touched me so very deeply; it is the kind of movie that one even gets more and more out of--with each viewing.
I would venture to guess that even the producers had no idea how deep this would run in the heart of a Christian...(and I have not seen a bad review on this movie). I would love to see more movies and "books" on this venue.
It deals with the concept of judgmental-ism. Deep down, I think we can identify with all these characters in our daily walk.
Thereby, I think this movie helps us to grow. I know what it did/does for me.
Furthermore, the characters are so very likeable. Each character is very developed because the script is so well written.
I am a complete fan of this movie, and I am not sure if I ever watched one movie so often.
Not only would I give this movie more than five stars, I would give each actor/actress ten stars as well!
Another thing that is so cool, is that most of the main characters seem to have leading roles...they are all that important to the movie and the point.
Corin Nemec's (who plays Michael Stover) soft gentle voice and reflection brings this movie to life, and Autumn Paul (who plays Rhonda Mirfin) brings a character to the screen that makes us think about our own walk and the times we may have laid someone out on the street somewhere by what we have said. That is where this movie takes us for a ride of our own contemplation. Truly, an outstanding performance by all the cast.
Even more, there is something about the golden Polaroid filters in this movie that invite us to stay for a while. I greatly enjoyed the sets and the coloring that only seemed to enhance the theme of tender and emotional moments and even funny moments.
If you venture into this movie, stick around for the last few scenes...this is what makes you want to plug this movie back in the player soon...to see it again and let the message once again stir your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hidden Secrets, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bernadette Lazare
Location:Everett
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can honestly say that this movie is one of my favorites. I wish I coul find more movies like that. It has a very strong message about forgiviness, redemption, and christians who think they have the right to judge others. It's a movie that church people need to watch. I pray God will use it to touch many others and change lives. Thank you for making this movie! God bless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hidden Secrets, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Buy Buy Buy

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:West Allis, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is definite buy for the church! Great for the youth as well as the parents!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.