Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for IVP Books Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture - eBook

IVP Books Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture - eBook

What is the place of introverts in the church? It is assumed by many today that church leaders, or for that matter all leaders, must have the intangible quality of charisma and gregariousness. Author and introvert Adam McHugh believes the opposite. In Introverts in the Church: Finding our Place in an Extroverted Culture he argues that these skills are not only not required, they are often an indication of poor leadership skills. While McHugh recognizes the need for community, indeed the biblical command for it, he also recognizes that how community happens, or how Scripture wants it to happen is not exactly the way our extroverted culture says that it should occur. To this end, he explains how introverts approach relationships differently, how introverts can practice Christian spirituality in ways that are conducive to who they are as people, and how they can effectively serve the church. On this basis then, McHugh offers ways introverts can serve, lead, worship, and even evangelize effectively.

If you, or another leader in your church is introverted, this book is a must read. Undertaken as a personal apologetic, it developed into an explanation of how introvert operate, how they are spiritual, the challenges they face, and the sensitivities they maintain (we all have them), you need to give this book a read.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture - eBook
Review 1 for Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A timely book in deed

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Arnold Main
Location:Mindemoya, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a welcome reminder that the extraverts are not the benchmark for Christian character and intraverts are valuable to the Kingdom of God
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life-changing book for an introvert

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mart
Location:VT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adam McHugh offers heart-to-heart understanding of an introvert's outlook on the world and his/her struggles to be a participant in it. Each chapter is another validating experience for anyone who has felt like an outsider in a culture (including the church) where extrovert characteristics seem to be both the norm and the most appreciated qualities. McHugh emphasizes the strengths that the introvert has to offer others, in our culture and especially in the church. It is a very encouraging book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
I read this book so fast! It really helped me to learn more about who I am and accept it. As I felt free to be me, I felt more free to step out of my comfort zones. The writer is gentle and understanding and yet, held on to much truth. It's worth a read even if you aren't an introvert. As I read some excerpts to my husband it helped him to understand and confirmed his wisdom. May God bless the writer and all who reads it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lauren
Adam McHugh's "Introverts in the Church" has been a huge blessing in my life. I have long struggled to reconcile my introverted nature with the teaching and pressures of more extroverted church leaders. This book helped me to realize I had been fighting against my introversion instead of learning to work with it and embrace my unique but no less valuable giftings.Introverts will find in this book self-understanding and healing, with comforting reassurances that we are not alone in our struggles. McHugh empowers with insights into ways we can serve God and His church within our introverted nature and without self-destructing! Extroverts would do well to learn from this book how to better utilize and minister to the introverts in their communites. Afterall, we are roughly half the population!The author communicates all of this in a relatable, conversational writing style. He brings a great deal of credibility to the book by sprinkling it with a more academic approach (supplementing anecdotes with cited references). I appreciated his upfront acknowledgement (and periodic reminders) that the generalizations he makes are necessary but not intended to represent universal truth. I am a better person for having read this book and am so thankful to Adam McHugh for writing it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Liadan
This book is more about the Contemplative Prayer Movement, Desert Fathers, Monks, Monasteries and former-evangelical-turned-Catholic Priest than it is about the Lord using Introverts in the Church. This book is an example of how New Age practices creep into the Church. ***The above review is absolutely ridiculous! This book contains nothing of the sort. This book helped me (an introvert) feel more comfortable in my church. If I had read this book sooner in life, it would have saved me a lot of pain. I highly recommend this book. The reviewer above doesn't sound like she even read this book. "Do not bear false witness!" I would also recommend this book for extroverts who may know 'shy' people.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Louise Unrau
This book is more about the Contemplative Prayer Movement, Desert Fathers, Monks, Monasteries and former-evangelical-turned-Catholic Priest than it is about the Lord using Introverts in the Church. This book is an example of how New Age practices creep into the Church.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul Sappington
As an introverted Pentecostal, Christian life has been a struggle to be understood and appreciated for my quiet ways of living. After being told for years that I was unspiritual, unloving, and antisocial (among many charges that were simply false), I was confused and ashamed of my quiet personality. Not anymore! It turns out that the spiritual gifts that I do possess - gifts that are recognized by the same church that told me I was antisocial - are gifts that I have BECAUSE of my quiet personality. Adam McHugh masterfully exposes the American cultural bias in favor of extroversion and the "gift of gab" that has crept into and established itself in Evangelical Christianity. Here, you will find solid definitions of introversion and extroversion. You will see how introverts process information and experiences (very different from extroverts) to come up with amazingly thoughtful insights and expressions of spirituality. Introverts and extroverts approach community in different ways, the former seeking depth and the latter seeking breadth. Both are needed for a healthy church. Also learn how introverts can work with their quiet personalities to become effective leaders and even great evangelists. Introverts are truly "fearfully and wonderfully made" (Psalm 139:14) by God for a purpose, one that only the introvert can fulfill.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pat Pope
A well-written book that I highly recommend for introverts and those who seek to understand them better. McHugh, an introvert himself, writes from a place of knowledge about the introvert personality and his insights are amazing. For introverts, this book will be liberating. McHugh not only accurately describes the introvert but goes on to offer practical suggestions and spiritual disciplines that will help the introvert to effectively recharge their batteries. One of the best chapters was entitled, "Introverted Community and Relationships". In it, McHugh makes the case that "people participate in community in different ways..." Thus, rather than defining the acceptable ways to interact within the evangelical church and deciding who measures up according to these standards, the Church would do well to take into account personality differences and understanding that not everyone is nourished by the same things or in the same way. As McHugh describes it, introverts usually operate on a spiral. That is, "they take steps into community, but then spiral out of it in order to regain energy, to reflect on their experiences and to determine if they are comfortable in that community...gradually moving deeper into the community on each loop."A well-written review of this book can also be found at:http://krusekronicle.typepad.com/kruse_kronicle/2009/12/introverts-in-the-church-book-review.html
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.