Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harbourlight Books Deadly Additive - eBook

Harbourlight Books Deadly Additive - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deadly Additive - eBook
Review 1 for Deadly Additive - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Date:April 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Thereadmaster
Location:Davenport,Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a fairly good book. It had some romance and a bit of action. It took you all over the world. It was a fun book. I hope to read more of his. I received this from the book fun .org for a fair and honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deadly Additive - eBook
This review is fromDeadly Additive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unbelievably Action Packed

Date:May 8, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deadly Additive was a book that kept me on the edge of my seat and took me all over the world. There was not a slow spot in the story, but the action kept going. I just wanted to take a breather. This played out like an action packed thriller in my mind and if I was in any kind of a fix like that, I would want a Jeb Sledge to not only rescue me, but be on my side. Jeb and Kristin are the main characters and we really get to know both of them well. Kristin does some pretty bold actions that in all honesty I probably wouldn’t have the guts to do. Like I said, this book kept me on the edge of my seat and I wondered a time or two how she was going to make it out alive. And poor Jeb, he had to really work hard at a job that he wasn’t too sure he wanted to do anymore. This deals with some scary chemical warfare, and the bad guys really don’t have any redeeming qualities. With all that is against them Kristin and Jeb both are dealing with pasts and inner conflict. Not only do we get to know Jeb and Kristin, but we also get to know the secondary characters as well. And I do not want to be “impolite” and not mention Raul. He was probably my favorite side character. This was a hard to put down read and I could really see it as a movie. I received this book from the Book Club Network, Inc. and the opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deadly Additive - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

exciting

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Deadly Additive was an exciting read with characters that kept me interested in not only the upper story (saving the world), but also the lower story (saving the girl). The storyline is thrilling from the beginning until the end leaving you wanting more.
Sledge and Kristen are an unlikely couple who find love in a strange place. Both realize they will have to go ‘back to their roots’ and bring God into the equation. Realizing their upbringing created issues that only God can fix and then turning those areas over to God.
The action and plausibility of this book is enthralling with Sledge fighting guerillas who are set on using chemical weapons to achieve their goal of destroying America.
I received this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deadly Additive - eBook
This review is fromDeadly Additive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The novel piqued my interest with the title, so when I received a copy I wanted to take my time reading it to savor the action and adventure. I am so glad I did too!
The novel starts out slowly with a mystery of why a man has been severely wounded, taking a very long time to recover as the sole survivor. The man is a soldier, who returns after action to face emptiness that nags his insides and isn’t easily shoved aside. Jeb is that soldier. He only wants to begin a new life, yet is constantly pulled back into action and this time by a private billionaire. His goal is to extract this man’s daughter from hostiles in Columbia and return her safely home, but what unfolds is more than Jeb signed up for. Now, along with a reporter named Kristen posing as someone else, they begin to uncover a dangerous plan to murder many around the globe through use of unknown substances.
The trail the suspects leave causes many government agencies to get involved and the tentacles of the operation reach around the world. The author does an excellent job of setting the stage where the characters have to decide which way to proceed with many choices available. However, above all, Jeb and Kristen are forced to face their past hurts along with fighting the evil that threatens to eliminate anyone who even gets close.
Some of the characters are from various countries and have interesting personalities along with some amusing ways of stating a situation. Not only are the characters from various parts of the world, the weather is a factor in how Jeb has to carry out his missions. One time Jeb has to go for days without sleep, but is able to function to the conclusion of the problem. It is really cute the way Jeb is described in the story and yet how inwardly he is a huge teddy bear. Kristen can almost be like a soldier when she has to and all the while hoping Jeb will soon be there to rescue her from the hands of certain death.
I hope the writer crafts a sequel to this novel as the future of the characters wasn’t shared or the capture of the head man who was threatening so many people. I loved how Donn pointed out in Jeb’s character the truth that when all is said and done the deep soul or heart questions can no longer be ignored. This is a great story with much suspense, action, romance and danger. My hope is to see what becomes of the multifaceted problem of capturing the designer with very nefarious intents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deadly Additive - eBook
This review is fromDeadly Additive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well written international adventure

Date:April 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeb Sledge had been entertaining thoughts of retiring from his dangerous work. But when he was asked to rescue two young American woman kidnapped in Columbia and face his old nemesis Diego Contreras, he takes the job. Extracting the women goes smoothly and Sledge manages the rescue, even when their extraction helicopter is shot down.
That is not the end of the adventure, however, as one of the women, a journalist, has photographic evidence of mass murder by chemical weapons. Sledge's military status is activated and he is sent back to Columbia with a team to find the chemical weapons factory. There is a master mind behind a complex operation but Sledge has no idea how he can be identified and neutralized.
I really like this novel. The writing is taught - there is not an extra word. Taylor is really a word smith. The action is intense, and it keeps coming as Sledge does one job after another for Brinkman. There is some romance too as Sledge and one of the women he rescued feel a spark between them. There is actually a little humor included as well.
If you like jungle adventure, international intrigue, and the possibility of romance, you'll like this book. Sledge is not on good terms with God after Contreras murdered his girlfriend, but God is working on him.
Something else I liked about the book is that Taylor included at the front of the book the factual background to the story. I appreciate that.
I received a complimentary digital copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of an independent and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deadly Additive - eBook
This review is fromDeadly Additive.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thrilling read!

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachael Merritt
Location:Bangor, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deadly Additive by Donn Taylor is a fast paced suspenseful read. Sledge begins by rescuing two women, one an heiress and one a journalist, from Columbia. However, it soon turns into much more than that. The two women found a pile of dead bodies just before being kidnapped. It us obvious that they didn't die a normal death. Sledge gets involved in trying to find out why there is some kind of large hidden factory not far from where the rescue takes place. It involves several countries, many dangers, many dangerous men, and chemical weapons.
This was a great read. I stayed up late to finish this one. A suspense, mystery tale with a little romance thrown it. Wonderful read, and I had a very hard time putting this book down. Once again, I'm thrilled that Christian Fiction's suspense books are more available now, with better authors and books. I love this genre, but I wasn't it clean as well. Highly recommend this read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deadly Additive - eBook
This review is fromDeadly Additive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting action

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Deadly Additive” is a riveting book. I read it in two days and then searched online for more books by Donn Taylor! I loved his sense of humor, the mystery, action and even the light romance. “Deadly Additive” is a military action story, featuring Jeb Sledge, a man who seems to not think very highly of himself. Although he seems to spend most of his life doing good things, helping the underdog and rescuing the hurting, he feels empty inside. When he spends some time with a missionary, he begins to question his belief system, searching his life and his heart, all during intense action and being in highly stressful situations.
Donn Taylor kept me guessing as to what would happen next, and I must say it is his fault I did not get my house cleaned! I was impressed with Taylor’s ability to express his feelings in print. I feel I learned a little bit more about terrorism, and how just taking care of one terrorist, or one place of illegal business is not enough to protect folks. All terrorism needs to be wiped out, including the money men behind the scenes.
I was given this book by The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deadly Additive - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story!!!

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Voracious Reader
Location:NH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I refuse to give up any more. LOL Suffice it to say, Sledge does not get his wish to "live the quiet life".
After just a short while of traveling with Sledge, you can see beyond the tough guy exterior. And although he strives to be on the side of good, something is always missing from making the mission complete, and it takes a missionary to bring it to light for Sledge. I love the enlightening speech and matter of fact way the truth is told. And Sledge, in his thick headed stubbornness continues to try to do things on his own.
This is a great adventure story, with added depth. Definitely keeps the pages turning. I loved it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deadly Additive - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Action packed

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raul and his family in Columbia are just a few of the characters in the book adding flavor to our hero and heroine. Figuring out where the “bad guys” will go and what they will do next make the book fast-paced and the many levels of espionage keeps you glued to the story. Better than watching a movie because Mr. Taylor brings out so many emotions not easily viewed on film. Hints at the heart change of the hero and heroine are hinted at throughout with the culmination of finding peace in the end, an added benefit of Christian fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deadly Additive - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense-filled Action Adventure

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
AngieArndt
Location:near Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though I rarely read military action adventure novels, I jumped at the chance to read Deadly Additive. I met Donn at a couple of conferences and was familiar with his dry wit, so I knew this would be a good one. I was not disappointed.
This adventure is full of intrigue and romance as Jeb Sledge butts heads with journalist, Kristen Halvorsen. The suspense suspense keeps you on the edge of your seat with South American drug lords, chemical warfare and greedy American capitalists. If you want an inspiring action-filled read, Deadly Additive is the one for you. Loved it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.