Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size

Tyndale House NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size

One of today's best-selling study Bibles--the Life Application Study Bible--has been updated and expanded. Over 300 new Life Application notes, nearly 350 note revisions, 16 new personality profiles, updated charts, and a Christian Worker's Resource make this best-seller better than ever.

New Features:
  • Over 300 new Life Application notes and significant revisions to nearly 350 others
  • 16 new Personality Profiles
  • Most charts revised to clarify meaning and importance, plus eight all-new charts
  • New information on the intertestamental period
  • Christian Worker's Resource, a special supplement to enhance the reader's ministry effectiveness, includes:
    • How to Become a Believer
    • How to Follow Up with a New Believer
    • Mining the Treasures of the Life Application Study Bible
    • So You've Been Asked to Speak
    • Taking the Step to Application
All this is in addition to the excellent collection of features that have made the Life Application Study Bible a best-seller.
  • Thousands of Life Application notes help explain God's Word and challenge readers to apply the truth of Scripture to life
  • Personality profiles highlight over 100 important Bible characters
  • Book introductions provide vital statistics, overview, and timeline to help readers understand the message of each book
  • 200 thumbnail maps highlight important Bible places and events
  • 260 charts help explain difficult concepts and relationships
  • Cross-references
  • Harmony of the Gospels built right into the text of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John
  • Dictionary/concordance
  • Daily reading plan
  • Additional features:
    • Presentation Page
    • Family records section
    • Single Column Format
    • Side-column cross references
    • Index to Notes
    • Index to Charts
    • Index to Maps
    • Index to Personality Profiles
    • Dictionary/Concordance
    • Personal Size Edition:
      • Scripture Text: 7 Point
      • Notes: 6 Point
    • 16 pages of color maps & diagrams
    • 51/2" x 81/4" x 23/8"
    • Softcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.489 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Review 1 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kory
Location:New Hampshire
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is exactly what I was hoping it would be. Very happy with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, comprehensive study bible.

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peace
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, comprehensive study bible for a very affordable price. I would highly recommend this bible to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible! It's great!

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
flowerlillies
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this Bible and I use it all the time. It is so wonderful to have. The notes at the bottom make scripture easier to understand. I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Do not spend $ on the name imprint

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Church Secretary
Location:Punxsutawney, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This bible is good that it offers all the benefits of the NLT study helps in a smaller size, however, I would like to suggest that you do NOT order the name or initial imprint on this bible. It does not turn out very well as the cover is full of pre-printed items already. The bible I ordered was a graduation gift for a member of our Youth group and it is hardly noticeable that his initials are on there with the NLT logo in the corner and everything else. If I had known I would never have spent the extra money on the imprint.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Only problem: Print is too small!!

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sweet Caroline
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love this translation and explanatory notes in this version of the Bible. But I have a very hard time reading it because the print is too small and the way the words are crammed on each page into the center binding, makes it also hard to read.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great features

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
olyghost
Location:Beverly, Massachussetts
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The studying of the bible is made easier with this product and you can carry it with ease to anywhere you go to.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bible

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kate
Location:West Leyden, N.Y.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was totally pleased with the Bible, and the service. I purchased it for my Grandson, and he loves it. I will surely do business again when needed. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Natalie

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Natalie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. It has so much notes and is easy to understand. Only down is that its thick but for the amount of notes in it its worth it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I absolutely LOVE this Bible.

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jalena
Location:Sterling Heights, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is awesome. I love the application notes in it. It makes reading the Bible a bit more engaging for me. It is/was a great purchase from CBD. I recommend this Bible to any and everyone. The pages are very thin, so you can see through the other side a bit. I don't particularly like that. But, given the Bible itself is so neat to own, I can overlook the thin pages. Thanks CBD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pastor Beverley Simmons
Very pleased with this Bible. It is a gift for my son, and he was pleased with it also. The quality of the cover, the study helps, and additional information was very good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Troy A Lasseigne
I'm loving the New Living Translation and the Life Application Commentary. I think they work very well together in a practical way for Christians of all reading levels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Courtney Gawthorp
I LOVE this Bible. I am a new Christian and the Bible I was using was KJV and not very exciting to read. So I went searching for a new one, ordered this, and it came in the mail today!!!My cover is black and white floral tu-tone with black pleather. The pages are silver lined and the Bible has a black ribbon marker in it.The NLT translation is so easy to read and it's dramatic, making it fun to read also. The NLT Life Application Study Bible has lots of notes for EVERYTHING and a convinent daily reading plan.I would recommend this for anyone. I think it has a lot to offer and as I understand it, they make them in lots of different translations, so if NLT isn't your first choice you'll still find your perfect Bible. Also, if you have bad eyesight, this might be a little hard to read; the font is pretty tiny.The only thing that I found a little sad was that the personal sized LASBs don't have Jesus' Word in red print, but it's not that big a deal. The Bible makes up for it in being so small, much easier to carry than the Bible I was using. I can fit this in my smallest purse (tight fit, but it works).Good luck!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Delores J Gerald
I think the translation is excellent. The language is plain english for better clarity. It is great for the person who needs to understand the word and apply it to their life. Great for the new Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark Dillman
Excellent translation for understanding !!!The notes are most helpful in putting the passages in the correct context, which is essential for correct understanding. The personality profiles are wonderfully written. The book introductions, timelines, maps, charts, cross-references and 'Harmony of the Gospels' along with the many other features make this an excellent study Bible !!!THIS IS THE BIBLE OF CHOICE FOR OUTREACH MINISTRIES. The men and women in our jail ministries could not be more thankful !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
This review is fromNLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size Bonded Black.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Philip E Chin
what elese can I say the best tranlation of the bible, with great footnotes. I ordered the bonded leather edition because I wor my paperback edition out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cleve Boothman
The study bible is a great tool, i only wish that the print was larger
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Darwin
Love the Life Application Bible. We had the first edition in our house around 20 years ago. Have been enjoying the NLT and wanted to see if it was practical to make the whole thing more portable. The text is just too small. I will not be buying anymore "compact" study bibles that I know have a significant amount of study notes - bringing a magnifying glass (or microscope) defeats the purpose of a smaller size bible ;)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Helen Alexander
The reading and understanding of God's Word in this NLT Life Application is very, very good. The footnotes for various verses further clarifies and enlighten the reader.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Gibson
This is a great book. It explains most of the verses of the Bible and is easy to read. However; the print is small, but I have no problem reading it. Recommend for anyone who doesn't have trouble reading small text.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NLT Life Application Study Bible, Personal Size
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Annita Mackay
First of all, this Bible is a great value! The NLT is very easy to read and gives an excellent understanding of what the origanal languages were trying to convey. The study notes are wonderful and gives that extra understanding of the text. The only thing we found is that the text is a bit small. I do not have eye trouble but need to read this Bible in perfect light and at least 12 inches away from my face. I do use it daily and will serve well as my "regular" everyday Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.