Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook

Zondervan Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
Review 1 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the Best Women's Devotionals Out There

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I realize that I have spoken about this book and highly recommended it, but with devotionals, I make sure that my first review is more of an overview. But I also like to come back and fully review the book once I have read it all the way through. And this is one certainly deserves great recognition.
I have not read the book that accompanies this devotional, but this devotional has been a life-changing experience in itself. If anything, it has whetted my appetite to wish to do the Bible study "Unglued."
Lysa TerKeurst is a completely down-to-earth writer. She tells it like it is even at the risk of making herself look bad. She is not afraid to speak the truth even when you don't want to hear it. She is real about her walk with the Lord, and even though each devotional is only a page or two long, it will encourage and convict you.
If you are looking for a devotional that can certainly change your life in 60 days, this is it! Trust me, I need to go back and reread this devotional for sure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect devotional reminders

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
jj2010
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unglued Devotional is a great book to have in your home. I have read the original Unglued book and enjoyed it. For me the Unglued Devotional is even better because it goes through a lot of the key points and most important parts of the book, but it is broken down into a 2-3 minute read that I can fit into moments of my day. Unglued is about handling those days and moments where you are at your wits end. Its about recognizing your patterns of how you handle things, whether you are an Exploder or a Stuffer, as the author titles it. Lysa has lots of practical advice and Godly guidance about how to set yourself up to make progress in the areas you struggle. Of course none of this is easy. But that’s why I like the devotional format because without consistent reminders and redirecting my focus, I tend to fall back into old bad habits.
As a mom, wife with a busy household, this is a book I definitely recommend to friends.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unglued

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unglued Devotional
While I haven’t read the Unglued book, its “accompanying” devotional Unglued is a wonderfully uplifting book itself. It is something that I could read straight through, not waiting for each day’s installment. Lysa Terkeurst becomes a trusted friend, one you know can honestly commiserate with you. There is a depth of honesty that is so refreshing and, frankly, inspiring. Not only does she share her own mommy woes with her readers, but the way she shares her coping mechanisms, self-talk, and prayer, feels almost like a kind of “letter to my daughter” written to us by a Proverbs 31 woman to the younger generation—and she’s not that much older than I! Well, we certainly appreciate it. Her snippets pack a powerful punch while keeping it brief enough that we can enjoy her words of wisdom during a harried breakfast with the kids before school then continue to ponder the memory verse and/or thought for the day throughout our day. She is able to both convict and comfort, giving us perspective and purpose—even as we are struggling to become better guardians for God’s precious charges, we are being molded more and more into His image as well. This is a book I will cherish for some time to come. I look forward to passing it along to my own daughter when she embarks on her own journey of motherhood many years from now.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

encouraging

Date:April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
quiltnmama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are many things in daily life that effect our emotions as women. Each of us handle them in different ways but I think we can all say that at some pointed we have reacted in a way that saddens our hearts. Lysa's devotional, Unglued Devotional, 60 Days of Imperfect Progress, is a daily devotional that addresses our emotions and reactions with truth and honesty from the scripture as well as with compassion, humor and encouragement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this devotional is a great one for everybody

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
prayingconstantly
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My book review on unglued devotional:
Synopsis:
Is it really possible to make raw emotions work for us instead of against us? Building on insights from her book Unglued, TerKeurst walks with you on a 60-day journey to break the cycle of exploding or "stuffing" your feelings. Each entry includes an opening Scripture, devotion, thought for the day, and closing prayer. 144 pages, softcover from Zondervan. This companion devotional to the bestselling book Unglued provides encouragement to help readers handle emotional struggles. Including a daily opening Scripture, Thought for the Day, devotion, and closing prayer, this book helps readers begin a 60-day journey in learning to positively process raw emotions, such as fear, anger, and regret.
My review of unglued devotional:
This devotional for unglued really helps you with figuring out why you have the emotions such as: anxiety, worry, fear, doubt, and stress and it encourages you in Jesus and shows you how to really pray about the emotions you are dealing with and it helps you not stuff your feelings and get them out in the open and deal with reality I would recommend this book to all my friends it is a great book that every one should read.
Disclaimer: I got this book free of charge from booksneeze.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nise
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I like to start my day with a quiet time that includes cup of something warm along with a reading of a daily devotional. In Unglued the author gives plenty of personal experience and turns it into practical advice that is thought provoking and relatable. Easy to read, enjoy and learn from without being preachy. This is a devotional that I will reach for again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loosing it

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever felt as though you were just going to come unglued at the seams?...maybe you have actually come unglued with a co-worker, spouse, child(ren) Lysa has 60 days of insight on getting imperfect progress. She takes the everyday blow up events and turns them into spiritual growing experiences. She comes with inside perspective of mother, wife and woman. She knows first hand what it is like to come unglued and then regret it. Lysa TerKeurst shares biblical insights, personal anecdotes, and practical advice on how to make “wise choices in the midst of raw emotions.”
a copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A devotional I'll read over and over

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
IChooseJoy
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Today”s review is of Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress by Lysa TerKeurst. I’m not usually the “devotional” type. I prefer to just read through the Scripture. But, when I read the description of this book on Booksneeze, I decided I’d give it a try. It was a topic that interested me, and I really got a lot out of the devotional!
Here is how Lysa describes the book: “As we venture through these pages and apply what we learn, we are going to gain more peace, honesty, and connection in our closest relationships. You are not trapped by the emotional cycles of your past. Hope for change is rising!”
I really need that hope, as I often do feel trapped by my emotional cycles. At first I thought that “unglued” was referring to just losing your cool or your patience in anger. But Lysa shows that coming unglued is losing self-control because of all kinds of different situations: insecurity, fear, hurt, feeling compared, weakness, depression, worry, parenting or marriage problems, or even getting a nasty email from someone! I truly desire to have a more self-controlled life and to come “unglued” much less often. I know this book will help me.
I read it through quickly to do this review. But starting tomorrow, I’m just going to read one devotion a day and meditate on God’s word and Lysa’s thoughts throughout the day. Each day has the following: A Scripture verse, thought of the day, 2-3 pages of the devotion, and a closing prayer. Most days share a story and give very practical tips on what to do to improve.
Here are some of my favorite parts: She gives a plan for dealing with the crazy situations BEFORE they happen so you can react to them calmly. She gives a great outline for how to respond to a mean email (if indeed you need to respond). She lists some wonderful verses for including in notes to people. She helps us realize that the true aim of our anger should be at Satan, not the people in our life who anger us. 1 Peter 5:8-9 says “Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith.” Don’t let Satan win in those stressful moments. Resist him!
So, in conclusion I recommend this book to moms who would like to get rid of “unglued” moments in their lives. As you read through it and apply it to your life, you’ll make imperfect progresss! And I pray I will, too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Devotional for Moms

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reenie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are looking for a short read for each day, this book is great. I found that Lysa's examples really hit home for me and her scriptures and word for the day were very encouraging. I only wish she would've elaborated more on each topic, but I understand it was a devotional so there was no room for that. Guess I'll have to buy the original book, Unglued, as this devotional is based on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress
By Lysa TerKeurst
Book Description
This companion devotional to the bestselling book Unglued provides encouragement to help readers handle emotional struggles. Including a daily opening Scripture, Thought for the Day, devotion, and closing prayer, this book helps readers begin a 60-day journey in learning to positively process raw emotions, such as fear, anger, and regret.
I have not read Unglued but I don't think you need to read it to understand the devotional. The devotional's purpose is to help keep women from becoming emotionally unglued. The author tries to encourage women to refrain from stuffing their emotions or exploding. Each day begins with a Bible verse and "Thought for the Day" then progresses to whatever she has to say for the day (a.k.a. the devotion) and it ends with a prayer.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Read alongside the original for best results:-)

Date:March 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Snowflakes
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had been wanting to read the companion book to this devotional, Unglued, since I read on Lysa's blog that she was writing it. It is an area I struggle with daily. I LOVE Lysa's approach and manner of speaking. I feel like if I met her in a coffee shop, we'd sit down over our caramel machiattos and laugh and talk like old friends. I am really enjoying this devotional. The daily selections are short enough for a mama who doesn't get many quiet moments to be able to read in a sitting and ponder on throughout the day. They topics are very relevant and her points are scriptural and realistic. If I had one negative, it would be that I feel like I just want a little bit more each day, and I think maybe that this devotional would be even more powerful if read as an accompaniment to the original book. That said, I recommend it for anyone who struggles with controlling their behavior when in highly emotional situations, particularly those who "stuff" and then explode (ahem.... I can relate to that one.) I'd recommend this devotional, particularly if read in conjunction with the original book, because it would benefit from a little more depth which I think the original book would help provide.
* book provided at no cost from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. No financial compensation was received.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an amazing resource

Date:March 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
lorealle
Location:pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this 60 day devotional is for the woman who lets her emotions control her. it gently guides you on how to make your emotions work for you rather than against you. it's so easy to come unglued when others irritate, disappoint, criticize or do other things that bump into our happy. each day starts with scripture, a thought for the day, a 2 - 4 page devotional and ends with a prayer.
this devotional is to accompany the unglued book lysa wrote. i haven't read that book yet but am really thinking i should. from reading the devotional, i'm thinking it can stand alone on it's own and wouldn't think it necessary to read the book first.
i really enjoyed this devotional. the lessons were short, easy to read and easy to understand. i was easily able to relate it to my life. lysa is honest and speaks from experience, not candy coating her own trials or poor choices she made in allowing her emotions to control her.
lysa offers Biblical advice on dealing with naughty littles, trusting in God when we are fearful, being wronged by friends, disappointment, abrasive people, conflict and aching hearts. there were so very many days that i could relate with every single word she was saying. i am sure one mama that needs to learn how to control her emotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alyssa Liljequist
Age:18-24
The Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress by Lysa Terkeurst is a companion to her bestselling book, Unglued. I have not read Unglued but I don't think you need to read it to understand the devotional. The devotional's purpose is to help keep women from becoming emotionally unglued. The author tries to encourage women to refrain from stuffing their emotions or exploding. Each day begins with a Bible verse and "Thought for the Day" then progresses to whatever she has to say for the day (a.k.a. the devotion) and it ends with a prayer. My favorite part was the personal stories. Some that had to do with being a wife and mom didn't directly apply to me but were still fun to read. I like that each day is short and easy to read. I read through the book in way less than 60 days. The Unglued Devotional is different than most devotionals in that the emphasis is on how not to become unglued in your life rather than learning more about the attributes of God or a specific book of the Bible.
~I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson/Booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Read

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Lysa Terkeurst’s Unglued Devotional attempts to help women “live in the grace of making imperfect progress, be a more positive role model, and know with confidence how to resolve conflict.”
This is a 60 day journey with a daily reading of a Bible verse, Thought for the Day, devotional, and ending prayer. The readings are short and written in a conversational tone often infused with humor that made for an enjoyable read.
The author draws from her life experiences to highlight issues that arise that can lead someone to become unglued. But it is more than that. The author does not just merely rant about situations that arise, but rather shows the reader the grace of God found in such situations. The goal is evident in each devotional--addressing the situation, an introspective analysis, conflict resolution, lasting change.
This devotional does not seek to appease the reader’s unglued reactions but rather seeks to draw attention to the causes-one’s own heart issues- and the solution-Jesus.
Each day’s reading is short and to the point. The author’s conciseness and templates for achieving conflict resolution provides the reader with applicable reference material.
I would recommend this devotional to anyone who is committed to make life changes so as not to become unglued.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotion book for moms!

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
mom3ways
Location:Greenfield, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a wife, mother, leader, employee, and many other things on any given day. I can easily become unglued over a small thing or a mountain on any given day. Lysa Terkeurst in her new series, Unglued, gives practical ways to make imperfect progress in hopes of correcting unglued situations and behaviors. I have been leading the Unglued DVD series at my MOMSnext group and have learned so much from her teaching. That is why I was excited to get my hands on the devotional book she wrote.
If you are like me and have read Jesus Calling several times, this is a great devotion book to pick up. There are 60 days of devotions included and I would recommend reading at least twice!
Each day starts with a verse:
A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger. Proverbs 15:2
Then a thought for the day:
Choosing a gentle reply doesn't mean you're weak; it actually means you possess a rare and godly strength.
After the days devotion, she ends with a short prayer:
Dear Lord, I accept the challenge to hold my tongue in order to honor, give grace, and have compassion for others. Please give me strength to do this today. Thanks so much. In Jesus' name, Amen
The example above is from Day 47. What a great way to start any day! Each day is a reminder that I can make a choice in how I treat and respond to others. And it will help break the cycle of being led by emotions rather than the Holy Spirit!
*I received this book in exchange for my review. The opinions are mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Daily Devotional For Highly Volatile Emotions

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lysa Terkeurst in her new book “Unglued Devotional” published by Zondervan gives us 60 Days of Imperfect Progress.
From the back cover: Imperfect progress in 60 days?
Lysa Terkeurst, like most women, has experiences when others irritate, disappoint, criticize or do other things that bump into her happy. We come emotionally unglued as we stuff, explode or react somewhere in between. Is it really possible to make emotions work for us instead of against us?
In this companion devotional, Lysa builds on the teaching from the bestselling book “Unglued” to encourage more peace and calm in your relationships. During this 60 day journey you will:
Live in the grace of making imperfect progress even on those days when your emotions throw you for a loop.
Be a more positive role model to your family and coworkers as you shift from overreacting to speaking life-giving words.
Know with confidence how to resolve conflict in your closest relationships
Including a daily opening Scripture, Thought for the Day, devotion, and closing prayer, this book will help you make progress in how you react to break the cycle of exploding or stuffing your emotions.
Why do we need a new daily devotional? All of us have emotions. Sometimes our emotions overwhelm us and we become “Unglued”, we fall apart and these emotions take control. We either explode like an atomic bomb or we stuff that same energy inside us and make ourselves sick. We are imperfect people. Lysa Terkeurst is an imperfect person and she provides us 60 daily devotions on how to deal with those emotions that cause us to lose it. “Unglued Devotional” is not a time-consuming read. Each devotional starts with scripture, followed by a Thought for the Day, followed by the devotional and then concluding with a prayer. They are only a page or two in length but they are oh so helpful to properly channel our energies in the right direction. If we use these daily devotionals correctly we will all be the better for it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource For Every Woman

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh so many times I feel like I have come "unglued" ~ as Lysa calls it. I call it~ "loosing it." This is a great devotional. As women~ we juggle many different roles and feel stress from all the people in our lives pulling us in all different directions. Sometimes we feel like we are coming unglued.
This book contains 60 devotions to help us realize that as long as we are walking with God ~He can take our human thoughts and feelings and help keep it all together. Lisa gives us some practical helps along with Biblical advice that will help us grow into women who control their emotions instead of over-reacting to the stresses of everyday life. She shares Godly advice and scripture to help us resolve conflicts rather than drive wedges in out relationships.
As we mature ~ we realize the damage our mouths can do so we meekly learn how to stuff our emotions. This in time is like a time bomb that will eventually explode. Lisa helps women learn how to deal with the issues at hand to keep that from happening.
Each devotion starts with an opening scripture~ a thought for the day ~ a devotion and a prayer. Lisa Terkheurst is a New York Times best selling author and a national speaker. She is the president of Proverbs 31 ministries. Her devotions are read by over 600,000 women worldwide on a daily basis. She has been a blessing to many and you will be blessed by this devotional.
I have started my 60 day journey to imperfect progress. I love this devotional and rate it 5 stars. This is a devotional that every woman should read~ great book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Unglued Devotional

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The subtitle of this book says it all: Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress. Most of our progress goes that way, after all, making changes over time, making mistakes, picking ourselves up and trying again thanks to God's amazing mercies new every morning. It's progress, but imperfect progress.
And that's okay. Sometimes we don't even feel like trying to overcome things like emotional pitfalls and our out-of-control tongue or our broken relationships because we're afraid of failing. This book encourages us to just start moving forward.
If you've read Lysa TerKeurst's book, Unglued, this 60-day devotional simply breaks down the basic themes of the book into small daily bites. It's "review" in a good way, in a way that slows you down and makes you think and apply what you're reading instead of rushing through chapter after chapter and never really putting it all into practice.
This devotional can also stand alone for those totally unfamiliar with the original book. It covers how we react and respond to others and to stress, how to boss our emotions around instead of letting them control us, and how to improve our relationships within our homes and outside of them.
Ever-practical and always downright open, vulnerable and real, Lysa TerKeurst is the perfect guide through this journey to emotional control not because she's got it all figured out and is perfect, but because she's willing to tell about her own struggles to learn these lessons. And we need that. We need someone to be honest enough to say, "Hey, I've been there, sometimes I'm still there, and I can tell you there is victory with Christ."
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quick devotions for moms

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mudpies and Tiaras
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to review Unglued Devotional by Lysa TerKeurst. As a busy mom to 4 kids, I love how this devotional is broken down into very quick, easy-to-read segments. The reading for each day is 1-3 pages and takes just a few minutes. I know the purpose of a devotional is to daily reading. However, I was unable to read just one a day. Each time I turned the page, I felt like Lysa TerKeurst had somehow snuck into my house and witnessed the sibling fights, the messy rooms and the times when as a mom I feel like I have messed it all up. This is an honest devotional that asks you to take an honest look at yourself and who you are when no one is looking. I was convicted, encouraged and felt like I made a new friend. This is a devotional but Lysa TerKeurst has written an actual book as well to go along with this. For this mama, it would be a very welcome gift for Valentine’s Day! I urge you to look for this and read it for yourself. Even if you’re not a mom, there is still wisdom to be gained from reading Unglued Devotional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress - eBook
This review is fromUnglued Devotional.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great daily resource

Date:February 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sanibel
Location:New York, New York
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes you need a friend to talk to on a daily basis or a resource where you can go to when you are having a bad day. Lysa Terkeurst book is just that. Her book Unglued Devotional is a companion to my life. It has a daily scripture, thought for the day, Lisa's interpretation, and a daily prayer. I read this book before I go to work so I can focus on the Lord as my day progresses. My wishlist for this is to have a few blank pages where I can write my own interpretations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>