Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge - eBook

Zondervan Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge - eBook
Review 1 for Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful

Date:September 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
mmccoy
Location:Buford, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was recommended by a friend in Bible College and the next thing we knew we were all reading it together. I usually do not do devotionals but I was surprised and a little disappointed when I opened my E-Book and found I had finished this one. Definitely makes you think and helps keep you encouraged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

still working

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
imabrassy1
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am still in a study that will take an additional 38 days. So far I've liked what I have seen. It is a good study on prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Draw your Own Prayer Circle

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle C
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book drew me in, I found myself reading more than one chapter at a sitting. The short concise chapters made it an easy read. I was encouraged and challenged by the faith of the people in the stories the author shared. This book can challenge your prayer habits and perhaps help you change up your devotional time to become more productive and powerful. At times, I found myself rooting for the prayers that were prayed and found myself excited to hear how God answered those prayers, even it it was a not now answer. I too prayed a prayer and God answered with a challenge. The challenge is shared here on my other blog, 42kmfromhere
While I have not read Batterson's Book "The Circle Maker" Which this book is a spin-off devotional. Overall, I would recommend this book to someone looking at strengthening their prayer life and perhaps their faith.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Draw the Circle

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tony Brackemyre
Location:Wilmington OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I’ve read all of Mark Batterson’s previous books and appreciate his writing style. Several months ago I was able to purchase multiple copies of The Circle Maker to make available to some of our leaders here. Draw the Circle is a continuation of that book.
In this offering, Batterson builds on the principles of The Circle Maker, but also includes stories and testimonies he has received from people who have read his book. He designed this book to be a 40 day devotional and it came at a good time for me as I was just finishing up a Bible reading plan.
I have found Batterson to be quite quotable and my Kindle version of the book has a list of highlights from various chapters. While Batterson is a proponent of believers spending time in prayer, he doesn’t see prayer (or drawing prayer circles) as a way to get God to do what we want Him to do. In one chapter of the book, Batterson writes: “Sometimes the purpose of prayer is to get us out of circumstances, but more often than not, the purpose of prayer is to get us through them.”
Just a few pages later, Batterson makes this statement: “If we’re being completely honest, most of our prayers have as their chief objective our own personal comfort rather than God’s glory.”
Draw the Circle is a good resource for those looking to grow in the discipline of prayer. I found both Batterson’s words and the stories he shared to be both helpful and challenging.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Draw The Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge, written by Mark Batterson, is a book centered around an ideology that was instituted within his previous publishing, The Circle Maker.
Mark teaches his readers that, as they engage in a powerful prayer life, they will receive promises from God. These promises should be encircled until God brings then from concept to conceptualization.
An example that is utilized to demonstrate the Biblical relevance of this ideology is found in Joshua chapter six. In obeying God, the Israelites encircled Jericho each day, believing that God’s promise of the walls coming down would occur as He stated on the seventh day.
While some might feel this concept or ideology seems a little hard to accept, it is one that we might consider, at least to a reasonable extent. What is a reasonable extent? That is a question that we must answer ourselves, but we should not try to utilize this ideology to turn God into an answering service for our own personal desires.
To recommend this book or not is a question I will answer. My suggestion is as follows: Take a moment while in your local bookstore to turn a few pages and decide for yourself.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ENCOURAGING

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doreen renewing strength
Location:Tampa Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAR
30
DRAW the CIRCLE
I first need to let you know, I received this book free from Booksneeze for the purpose of a review.
I am free to post honest reviews both positive and negative types.
When I first received this book I was suspect. I did not want it to be yet another "40 Day" plan only to come to the conclusion that they are as lasting as the head allows. But, what I discovered is this is an amazing challenge to take seriously the matter of prayer and what you should pray about.
The author writes principles both for praying and action. He shares many of his own stories as well as those of others but he has a deep understanding of the love and power of our MIGHTY GOD who is not locked into our time schedule.
As I complete this, I am challenged to draw my own circles and see what a mighty, loving, kind yet Holy GOD, wants to do in me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fabulous inspirational tool

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
BurtonBookReview
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had seen this book mentioned quite a few times so I was eager to snap up a copy of my own. There are times when I'm wanting to "be" or "feel" closer to God, and just reading the bible sometimes doesn't cut it. I wanted to try out a devotional, and learn how to feel like I am accomplishing something when I am praying to God. The first sentence sold me on the book, and the other rave reviews helped seal the deal.
And so my first experience with a 'Prayer Devotional' shall begin with Mark Batterson's Draw the Circle. What I expect from the book is a bit of guidance on getting organized with my prayer requests, and to learn how to formulate a prayer request in my mind without stumbling over my words. Based on the synopsis, I should draw inspiration from 40 stories that will inspire me to be more bold in my prayers.
The book reads swiftly, with mini-anecdotes to illustrate the point of each chapter. Most memorable are when he writes of hitting his knees in the airport, something that I turned into an easy to remember 'stop, drop and pray' mantra. When is it okay to pray? Obviously, whenever, and however you can manage it. It's a reminder that hey, God is everywhere, and He is listening.
Topics covered include persistence in prayer, and having the ability to act on your prayer. Sometimes just waiting for God to answer your prayers isn't good enough, God wants to see you want to work for it, too. And what if you are very persistent, and you are praying, and yet there is nothing fulfilling? Maybe you are looking at it the wrong way. Maybe you need to do it differently.
Think of George Washington Carver, and peanuts, and then UNICEF and peanut based nutrients for the impoverished of the world, as not such a good idea as it is a God-idea. And a seed.. that single seed and how much life it holds in its tiny existence, yet so full of promise: Day 12: Sowing a Seed made me cry. Perhaps you will find a different chapter that will be your spark of recognition for God's love for you, but this book will help you find some solace. And it will bring new meaning to your prayers, when you pray and how you feel about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful devotional

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. This is a book that will spur you on to increase the quality of your prayer life. It is very challenging yet at the same time very encouraging. There are many examples throughout the book of how God has answered prayer. Even though the answers were not always what the person was asking for you can see the hand of God at work. In this book Mr. Batterson encourages us to continue praying and not give up. That's the point of drawing the circle, it's another way of explaining the parable of the persistent woman. God wants us to be persistent in our prayer life. I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to have a better prayer life. It's a wonderful devotional that will make you want to stop and get on your knees and get praying.
I received this book free from booksneeze.com in exchange for my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is what I was hoping for.

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie E
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Draw the Circle: 40 Day Prayer Challenge by Mark Batterson is a follow up book to The Circle Maker. The 40 days come from when Jesus set off into the wilderness to pray when he was being tempted by satan. I must admit that this is the first book by Mark Batterson that I have read.
I was drawn to the title because I am constantly struggling with prayer. I struggle with when and how long and sometimes with even what I should pray about. I have found that this book is a great tool for people like me. Mark lays out exactly how we should pray, when we should pray (not a set schedule), and who we should pray for. He shows great examples of his faith throughout the book in his own stories and stories that others have sent to him. He parallels each of the days lessons, if you will, with a Bible verse.
Through this book I have found a new way of journaling my prayers and feel as though my prayers are more personal and more in tune with how God would like me to pray. Thanks to his prompting of me to journal I am also able to keep up with prayer requests of people that I come in contact with throughout the day. I just write it down and pray over them during my prayers. I am able to go back and see how God has answered my prayers. I look forward to going through this book time and time again to reveal new truths each time I read it.
If you are struggling with prayer or want to draw closer to God in how you pray I do recommend this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com to review. All opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.