Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Inter-Varsity Press Ecclesiastes: Chasing After Meaning, LifeGuide Bible Studies

Inter-Varsity Press Ecclesiastes: Chasing After Meaning, LifeGuide Bible Studies

Are you tired of getting pat answers when you ask hard questions about faith? The writer of Ecclesiastes is not afraid to ask the big questions like "Where can I find fulfillment when I seem to be going in circles?" and "Who is really in control when the world looks topsy-turvy?" In the process, he discovers how faith in God is meaningful in the real world. This revised LifeGuide Bible Study features additional questions for starting group discussions and for meeting God in personal reflection, together with expanded leader's notes and an extra "Now or Later" section in each study. Includes 12 studies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ecclesiastes: Chasing After Meaning, LifeGuide Bible Studies
Review 1 for Ecclesiastes: Chasing After Meaning, LifeGuide Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Questions in this study get at meaning to our live

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
10 men
Location:Baton Rouge, La
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I was apprehensive about selecting this study guide for our group of 10 men. Actually, I selected it because it was the one book in the bible I didn't know much about. When I read the first lesson, I immediately liked it personally because it was like going back to one of my philosophy classes in college. The very first sentence catches you...........
To my delight, every man in our group commented positively and looked forward to our study of this guide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ecclesiastes: Chasing After Meaning, LifeGuide Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A "meaningless" challenge!

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christine Voss
Location:Dryden, MI.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a regular count of 10 to 15 faithfully prepared ladies meeting every Tuesday, this study was full of mind challenging, thoughtful examination. One of the better studies from this series that can be done in one hour per lesson and can be completed at home in as little as half an hour or days if you really want to dig and search. Lots of meat in this Book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ecclesiastes: Chasing After Meaning, LifeGuide Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Study looks great!

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Richard
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Sunday school class is always in search of good bible studies
that challenge our beliefs in a complimentary manner. The Ecclesiastes study, which we have planned to begin at the end of August, is truly a Bible scripture study in lieu of our regular type of study books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ecclesiastes: Chasing After Meaning, LifeGuide Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study resource!

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
HT De Maat
Location:White Cloud, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We chose to study the book of Ecclesiastes while looking for a study which our group had not done before.
The study booklet is well done: thought provoking discussion
questions with precise instructions in the Leaders Guide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ecclesiastes: Chasing After Meaning, LifeGuide Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Raye Stone
We are using this study on Ecclesiastes for our 'Welcoming Women on Wednesdays' community Bible study. We are just getting into it, but do like this study. We have been using the LifeGuide Bible Study books for several years now. As I am the Bible study leader, I do like the way the books are put together. The study is easy for me to lead and doesn't require a lot of reading and studying ahead of time for our participants. I like the fact that there are so many topics to choose from. We hold our Bible study at Katy's Cup, which is a community gathering place. It has brought us several people from the neighborhood, which is why we hold it at a public place! We will continue to use the LifeGuide Bible Study material. Thank you for making it available at an affordable price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ecclesiastes: Chasing After Meaning, LifeGuide Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Mcghee
This is a great study. It is helping our group search for the optimistic out look from the great pessimist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ecclesiastes: Chasing After Meaning, LifeGuide Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elaine Huntsinger
Very good! Just what we wanted for our small group study. Several older members had questions about Ecclesiastes. this will fit the need perfectly! Thanks!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ecclesiastes: Chasing After Meaning, LifeGuide Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Helen Ferguson
I like the format of the LifeGuide study books and I found this study guide provided an excellent guideline for our study of Ecclesiastes. The "purpose statement" for each study provides a place to begin and then a place to wrap up with a challenge to take from the study. The questions enabled us to bring out understanding of the text of Ecclesiastes in our discussion, and to guide us in seeing the relevance of the Book to today's world. I recommend this study guide and encourage others to use it to become familiar with a lesser-known book of Scripture, and its lessons for us from God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.