Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook

Zondervan The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook

Kariss Walker knows all too well that finding suspense story ideas can be grueling. But the idea that just landed in her inbox could be her next bestseller . Until Kariss's new story attracts an onslaught of danger she never expected.
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Review 1 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cold Cases aren't so Cold

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
GerBear
Location:Oak Hills, California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In both of her Crime Scene books, writer Kariss Walker dives into Cold Cases, but time after time barely excapes being killed. Don't know if she can survive another case, but I'm hoping DiAnn Mills will come up with a third in the series. These are the first two books I have read by this author and they are wonderful. I honestly didn't know who the culprit was until the very end.....and it keeps you in suspence. I will now make sure I get her Call of Duty series of books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

No Slowing Down

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
AlyciaMorales
Location:New Mexico
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the things I love about DiAnn Mills' stories is the complexities of her characters. There are only two main characters in The Survivor - Kariss Walker and Tigo Harris - but every other character involved in this intense suspense novel has just as many facets to their stories as Kariss and Tigo. I also love that even the relationships are tense. There isn't a slow spot in this book.
I also love that DiAnn touched on one tough topic in this novel: a fallen pastor. I always prefer novels with something to say about our world, and The Survivor does not disappoint.
I highly recommend The Survivor. It's full of action, suspense, and tension. It'll keep you turning pages and wondering just how the story will end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Child Attack Cold Case, A Car Bombing & Romance

Date:May 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiAnn Mills in her new book, "The Survivor" Book Two in the Crime Scene: Houston series published by Zondervan gives us a new adventure with Kariss Walker and Tigo Harris.
From the back cover: Is it her next bestseller . . . Or her last words? In The Chase, award-winning author DiAnn Mills introduced you to the world of Kariss Walker, the bestselling suspense author with a nose for trouble. In The Survivor, Kariss gets the chance to tell her most powerful story yet. But will it revitalize her writing career? Or bring it to a violent end?
Kariss meets Dr. Amy Garrett, who survived a brutal childhood attack in which the assailant was never found. Now Dr. Garrett wants her story written in a novel. Kariss wishes she could seek the advice of Special Agent Tigo Harris, but she broke off the relationship a few months prior and seeing him again would be too painful. She interviews Amy and conducts her own research, stepping unaware into danger.
Tigo misses Kariss and wants her back, but he understands why she broke off their relationship. Instead, he concentrates on solving a car bombing and bringing the killer to justice. As Kariss's new story attracts an onslaught of danger that she never expected, can Tigo save the woman he loves and find out who wants her dead for writing about an unsolved cold case?
A Cold Case is a case that could not be solved when the actual events occurred. So all the files are boxed up and put in storage not under closed but under inactive. Kariss is looking for a new storyline to use for her new suspense novel when she receives an email from Dr. Garrett. Dr. Garrett survived a brutal attack when she was young and wants her story told, anonymously, to help other young women who may have had a similar situation. Kariss begins her investigation which begins a whole new set of danger for her that she was unprepared for. Meanwhile Tigo is investigating a car bombing but it seems that both cases may be related. "The Survivor" is a thriller in that the lives of both Walker and Harris are put in deadly danger through the course of these investigations. I think this is Ms. Mills best work yet and her characters are well-defined. Once the action gets going Ms. Mills revs up the thriller quotient considerably which will have you reading and flipping pages as fast as you can. Don't start this book late at night because it will be very difficult to put it down or stop thinking about it. I recommend this book highly and am greatly looking forward to the next book in the series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic suspense story

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiAnn Mills has written a wonderful suspense story sure to keep you reading until the very end. All too often about 2/3 of the way through the story I feel as though I am done reading, bored, ready to move on. I want it wrapped up already. Not in this case, I was engaged all the way to the end, and I had no clue who the culprit was, either. Well done!
I appreciated the fact that Kariss wouldn't consider getting back into a relationship with Tigo unless he came to the point of a personal relationship with God. His story to conversion was well told, not too easy or overly dramatic.
Having not read the first book in the series, The Chase, made me hesitate to jump in with this one, but it was not a problem at all. What needed to be explained was well enough for me to follow the story, but I don't think it would have felt bogged down by explanations of previous exploits either.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a suspense filled mystery!
I received this ebook from Netgalley and Zondervan for the purpose of an honest review. My opinion is my own. Thank you Zondervan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DiAnn Mills does it again

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammy Sotela
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again DiAnn Mills has written a book that I could not put down. The characters we met in The Chase return. It is like visiting old friends. I can't wait for the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Writer or Survivor?

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiAnn Mills’ code words for her books are “Expect an Adventure.” Well, she’s pulled off another dynamic, compelling read that literally had me reading throughout the day, anticipating the next move of each character, romantic circumstance, and life-threatening dangerous episodes. Her characters are realistic to the roles they play, the romance is an on-again, off-again situation because of painful secrets and the aspect of being unequally yoked, and the danger is palpable with attempted kidnapping and car bombings.
With a best-selling suspense author, Kariss Walker, searching for the truth as the main character, DiAnn doesn’t disappoint with lack of action, suspense, and romance. I found this to be a very creative method that made the novel read so well. The multilevel suspense action between the threats to the Kariss and Dr. Amy Garrett, who survived a childhood assault, which is still a cold case, is the juice that keeps you reading! A killer desperate to do anything to keep his crime a cold case. Loved the suspenseful twists!
The Christian aspect of the story is subtle, yet very important to the story line.
This book was provided by the author in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a genuine thriller

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Survivor DiAnn Mills actually gives the reader two stories in one...and though it could be confusing, she manages to use this method to increase the tension, the drama and your adrenaline. I have so far not read book one in the series, The Chase, and yet I did not find it at all detrimental. When I do go back and read the first one, I will likely have some spaces filled that I was not aware of being empty. That is the trade mark of a good author, I believe. This is really an edge of your seat page turner, and I found it difficult to come back to the real world, or even to have time to breathe. The characters are human, complete with flaws and strengths, the evil believable, yet conquered. Though at time the story seems dark and forbidding, there is hope and light at the end of it. Not all of the people were loveable, but that gives the story a deeper context.
More and more I am thinking that things are not what they seem, and the things I see, remember or read, as in this novel, I will do so in the light of my own experiences, dreams and life. In case you are not sure, The Survivor has found a place on my Keeper Shelf!
I received this novel free from Thomas Nelson and Zondervan through their Booksneeze program in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb Second in a Series

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Glenda Fowlow
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some suspense stories are such you can skip scenes and not miss much. I like to savour Ms. Mills' novels enjoying the details and descriptions she brings to her writing. Her pacing starts slow but gathers momentum as the book progresses.
Brown-eyed beauty Kariss Walker attempts to write another novel while nursing her broken heart. Kariss is a strong character and independent, but we experience her subtle transformation softening her sharp edges.
Tigo Harris concentrates his energies on solving crimes and improving his botched attempts at relationships with God and Kariss. I loved reading his thoughts and getting to know him better! The undercover scenarios were deftly handled and I felt as if I was right there with Tigo and his partner.
Midway through the book, I suspected who the villain was and I tried jumping to the end. That left me dissatisfied, so I returned to my spot and read it all word for word. It really is a book meant to be relished rather than rushed. Great story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 and counting

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiAnn wonderfully captures the heart of suspense in this Houston Crime Scene sequel. Her portrayal of authentic Christianity as seen in Ryan, Kariss, and Linc is great. It's relational not religious. Tigo's conversion was spot-on; not forced but believeable. My only issue was Kariss' handling of another life and death scenario. Apparently she learned nothing the first time around and this made her far less appealing as a Christian, woman, and professional. I wondered if Tigo would change his mind after her nearly childish responses and attitude. It will be intriguing to see how she hopefully matures in the third installment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will keep you up at night

Date:April 7, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have ever read by DiAnn Mills, but I have to say it won't be my last.
Wow. What a fantastic author. This book will keep you up at night both with wanting to read more and with heart pumping fright. I know a suspense book is good if I want to get to the end because I need closure and The Survivor is such a book.
I did not read the first book in the series and did not feel at all lost, you can read this book and still enjoy it. But after reading this book I want to read the first and see what did happen with the characters earlier.
DiAnn has two crimes that need to be solved and I kept thinking there has to be a connection, but what is it? Oh, you'll have to read to find out. And there are so many suspects but I was so excited when it clicked in my head who I thought was behind the attacks.
Okay, I don't want to say too much so I will stop with that. I highly recommend this book. I have heard wonderful things about DiAnn and now I know why.
A copy of this book was given to me from the publisher through the BookSneeze program in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Survivor by DiAnn Mills

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suspense, love, action and a page turner. My attention was grapped on the first page. Kariss is an author and a story is dropped into her lap. The action only speeds up. Think, ACTION, ADVENTURE, LOVE and FAITH. Kariss finds the book is based on fact not fiction. Someone doesn't want the book written and will do anything to stop it. I started reading DiAnn's books about a year ago and haven't been disappointed in one yet. I give this book 4 1/2 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Sequel

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Protagonist, Kariss Walker, writes suspense novels based on cold cases. Amy Garrett, a childhood survivor of violence, wants her story told as if a work of fiction with the hope of drawing out the perpetrator and thereby solving the crime. As soon as the ladies agree on the project, horrible things begin to happen to Kariss.
I enjoyed renewing my acquaintance with Tigo, the handsome FBI Agent and Kariss' love interest. He holds Buzz Lightyear in high regard. (It's things like this that make a character come to life.) Tigo struggles with his faith in God, and because Kariss does not want to be unevenly yolked, she decides to stop the romance. The story opens as they've not seen one another for two months. The reader cannot help but root for Tigo to find God, accept Christ, and restore his relationship with Kariss.
Some cons: Amy is losing her hearing and doesn't like using the telephone; yet it seems, she's always on the phone! Amy's brother proves to be a distraction--at least for me. The undercover work should have been left out.
This work is a sequel to <i>The Chase,</i> and I suggest you read them in order.
Discussion questions are included.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Zondervan for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Follow up to The Chase

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
The IE Mommy
Location:Beaumont, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was excited to review Crime Scene Houston: The Survivor because I had read The Chase. The suspense kept me wanting to turn the pages even faster. While I would say that this novel is definitely a suspense novel, there is also mystery and romance as well. The Survivor picks up where the first novel leaves off. Kariss Walker and Special Agent Tigo Harris are back, but they have broken up.
Dr. Amy Garrett wants Karriss to write her story that is absolutely horrific. She survived a crime in which the attacker was never found. She wants to contact Tigo, for some advice but decides it may not be best to.
Will Kariss find herself in constant danger? Tigo wants to help her, but is he too late? Tigo wants her back so badly, but he must find out who wants her dead!
Their relationship had lies and it hurt Kariss, but she had to end the relationship because of her faith. Tigo understands, but that still doesn’t stop him from wanting her back.
The two main characters stay separate for a few chapters and then they merge, so it is a bit confusing to stay on top of everything. But, once they merge the suspense will begin and there is no turning back on this Crime Scene Houston novel. The Survivor is a definite must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Will her best seller be her final words?

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Is it her next best seller....or her last words?
Sometimes for a writer, the most difficult task if often coming up with the idea for your next book. Kariss Walker now has to chose which one of her true life tales she will breath life into. When she receives an email from Dr. Amy Garrett who wishes to bring her own tale to light, Kariss is more than intrigued. When she agrees to meet with Amy, she finds that Amy was brutally attacked as a child and the criminal was never caught. She wants Kariss to use her story in her next book in the hopes it may help other women see themselves through the eyes of her fictional character. She doesn't want her name mentioned in the book for obvious reasons and doesn't want any monetary compensation for her efforts either. Kariss believes that there may be more behind her story that just what she is willing to tell. Unfortunately she can't use her reliable source in the Houston police department Tigo Harris, due to a split in their relationship. Now all she can do it hope that she will find the true to the story without putting her own life in danger.
Special Agent Tigo Harris is trying hard to stay focused on his work, but he can't seem to keep Kariss off of his mind. He pours himself further into his work trying to solve a car bombing that has taken the life of the wife and daughter of Jonathan Yeat, a man with a ministry that puts ex-cons to work. As of lately he has had to lay off many of those employees and a few have made personal threats. Tigo believes this is an open and shut case with the killer simply being a distraught employee whose taking it out on a wealthy man and his family. But is this case really as simple as it seems or is there a connection with the latest book Kariss is working on?
In the latest suspense novel, The Survivor by DiAnn Mills, once again the opportunity to work together in unexpected ways to help solve a cold case brings Kariss and Tigo together. While each of them are dealing with their own issues even though they try to keep their relationship in the past, those old feelings are resurfacing once again. Kariss is trying to keep her faith strong in light of wishing things were different between her and Tigo. They both use their work to keep their minds focused some place else, but ultimately it will take act of God to bring them back together.
I received The Survivor by DiAnn Mills compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Zondervan Publishing for my honest review. This is the second book in the Crime Scene Houston Series, the first being the Chase which I had previously reviewed. While the characters remained the same, I felt it lacked the chemistry and spark that the first novel had. Each chapter toggles back and forth between the two until they finally merge later in the book. I am sure that after watching the Hunger Games this year, I am not the only reader to confuse the names of Kariss with Katniss either. The suspense is engaging and for those of you that love solving crimes, this will be one you will enjoy. You can read this as a stand alone as DiAnn gives the reader a bit of inside information in this one to help you understand the motivation of the main characters. There is also a discussion guide included at the end that is wonderful for book clubs. I would rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great Diann Mills suspense novel!

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diann Mills writes a good suspense novel. This book has mystery and romance as well. I would recommend reading the first book in the series "The Case" first, this one picks up where that left off. The characters are so real and likeable, I was frustrated that two of the main characters kept putting themselves in harm's way! I kept asking myself "what is wrong with these two?"
Overall a gripping yet entertaining novel. I enjoy her books so much! 5 out of 5 stars!
I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid Sequel to The Chase

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TV reporter-turned crime novelist Kariss Walker is approached by Dr Amy Garrett, the victim of a brutal childhood assault in which the culprit was never caught. Amy wants her story told, and asks Kariss to write it. In her personal life, Karris is recovering from having broken off her relationship with FBI agent Special Agent Santiago (Tigo) Harris, partly because of his lack of Christian faith.
Tigo and his partner, Ryan Steadman, are pulled off a gang killing to investigate the carbomb murder of Joanna Yeat and her daughter. It seems at first that the real target might have been her husband, Jonathan Yeat, but the picture of the perfect family soon shows cracks.
The nature of a suspense novel means that the reader knows there must be some link between these two plot lines, but it isn’t immediately apparent. When it comes, it’s well done, but I thought the ending was too contrived and there were a couple of minor plot points that were never properly resolved (e.g. who did Joanna meet at the mall? If Amy is going deaf and doesn’t like using the telephone, why is she always calling Karris?).
Overall, this was a solid but not outstanding novel that will appeal to fans of Christian romantic suspense and authors such as Dee Henderson, Irene Hannon, Dani Pettrey and Susan May Warren. This is a sequel, and while it can be read as a standalone, it will be better read in sequence, as The Chase covers the first part of Kariss and Tigo’s relationship.
Thanks to Zondervan and Booksneeze for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Survivor, by DiAnn Mills, is a riveting story that keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very end. It is book two in the Crime Scene: Houston Series, following The Chase.
Kariss Walker, an award-winning author, decides to take on a new novel based on the true story of Dr. Amy Garrett, who was brutally attacked and left to die as a child. Amy’s story, however, draws the attention of the assailant, who was never caught, putting both women in grave danger. Special Agent Santiago Harris, with whom Kariss has recently ended a relationship, becomes the one she turns to for assistance and advice as the situation becomes more and more serious. When Tigo’s current case involving a car bombing and Kariss’s become obviously related, he fears for her life and wants desperately to protect her, something hard to accomplish as she continues to put her life in danger.
This is a wonderfully written novel, one that was hard to put down. The characters and situation felt very real. I was saddened to find out that Amy’s story was based on a real-life occurrence. I was impressed with this book and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading suspense novels.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

pretty good suspense and romance

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kariss Walker writes suspense novels, having made a name for herself on TV news and writing suspenseful romance. She is contacted by Dr. Amy Garrett, a woman who had been attacked when she was nine years old. While the attacker left her for dead, Amy survived. The attacker was never arrested. Now, twenty three years later, Amy wants Kariss to write a novel about her experience, hoping to draw out the man.
The man has been tracking Amy all these years. When he finds out Amy and Kariss are working on the novel, he decides to finally finish what he started then.
Right in the middle of the action is FBI Agent Santiago Harris. In the first novel in this series, Kariss abruptly ended her relationship with him. In this novel, we see them both struggling with their feelings.
This is the second in the Crime Scene: Houston series and I think it would be beneficial to have read the first in the series. While this book can be read alone, there is much that happened between Kariss and Tigo (Santiago) in the earlier book that is essential to understanding this one.
Mills touches on many issues in this book. She writes that she strove to depict realistic family dynamics in the midst of tragedy. We read about favoritism by parents and rebellion by a son. We are confronted with the infidelity of a pastor and a scorned mistress. There is a spouse who kept secrets and Tigo kept a secret from Kariss. There would certainly be a great deal to discuss at a reading group and discussion questions are included.
There is lots of action and suspense in this novel. Christianity is well presented and essential to many of the characters.
The only aspect I did not like about the novel was that Kariss sometimes seemed too naive. For one who had been through danger in the first novel and herself wrote mystery novels, she made some stupid decisions. While she is a fighter and strong character, some parts of her personality just didn't seem to go with the rest of her.
All in all, a pretty good novel with suspense and romance.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Very Good Read

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Swifty2012
Location:Topeka, KS
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DiAnn Mills has done it again... I picked up this book with high expectations and I was not disappointed. Mills has combined suspense and romance in this second installment and I can truthfully say that I liked this book better than the first. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a fast-paced read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Survivor, Crime Scene: Houston Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down.

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
imabrassy1
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the 2nd in the Kariss and Tigo story. It resolves the relationship. Kariss is contacted to write a fictionalized account of a women's abduction and attempted murder as a child. Karis agrees and there is much mayhem and turmoil. It is thrilling and a ride a minute. The roller coaster ride ends in an unusual way and keeps your interest all the way through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>