Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity - eBook

Zondervan When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 944%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity - eBook
Review 1 for When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mixed Feelings

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have to admit that I have mixed feelings concerning this book. I always enjoy Christian books that take a somewhat less traditional view, and this book certainly lives up to that sentiment. The story of Balaam and his donkey always brings a smile to my face. The author took this idea and ran with it, and sometimes I found myself quite interested in what he had to say. Being challenged to think through my Christian walk in a bit different way is a hallmark of this book, and so sometimes I enjoyed this book immensely.
However, this book does come across a bit too off-beat and somewhat out there. I found myself rolling my eyes way too often. Part of the problem is that the author comes from a mainline denominational viewpoint. I am of more an evangelical persuasion, so our theology differs. I'm not saying this isn't a Christian book. I never questioned the author's faith. In addition to all of this, I would have preferred a little less use of the Biblical word used for a donkey. I felt that the author took advantage of this figure of speech several times too many.
The best thing about the book is the brevity of the chapters. I say this because this was a book that I could look forward to reading as a semi-devotional at the end of a long, hard day. I can't say I would choose to read this author again, but he was easy to read and often quite humorous to read.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Difficult to muddle through

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patti Creek
Location:Comanche, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"When Donkeys Talk" by Tyler Blanski is definitely a different kind of book. I must say it took me several chapters to be able to start really getting into it. In the beginning, I couldn't understand his view points. I knew this was suppose to be about Christianity, but he was spending way too much time talkng about what scientists believed and their perception. To me that is not an ideal way to help someone gain insight to true Christianity and God's Word.
I love a book full of God's Word, a book where you read something and can go right to God's Word and look it up. While I finally got into this book and was able to get through it, I didn't really care for it.
I guess I am just an old fashioned "One God, Apostolic, tongue talking Holy Ghost filled, Christian" who likes learning about God in a straight forward manner according to the Scriptures the way it was, the way it is and the way it will Always be.
As far as recommending this book, I am "on the fence". If you are a new Christian, or someone who is not sure of what you believe, I would not recommend this book because it's style is confusing. He has too much of the "scientific" opinions in there and if you aren't careful, you can misread and get confused as to whether he is "pro science" or pro Christian (although, more scientists are believing in God nowadays because of irrifutable evidence that events in the Bible are facts).
If you are a "mature Christian, or someone who has studied the Bible and are secure in your beliefs, and recognize the scriptures as he gives them, then after a time, this book MIGHT entertaining to you. I say entertaining because I found it hard to take it seriously because of the way he wrote.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A pilgrimage to where?

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Logan
Location:New Zealand
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The author sets "out on a Holy Pilgrimage to rediscover the saints, stars, and beauty of Christianity for the twenty-first century". He looks for enchantment, anything that might reconnect us, post-modern Christians with the mystical from the ages gone of Christianity.
The end result is something of a desert wandering, drifting from one interesting dune to another. The book feels like a pilgrimage that never really gets going. There are lots of anecdotes and stories, that all point towards what the author is trying to achieve, but in the end I think the style trumps the substance of this book. It just doesn't do it for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

When Donkeys Talk by Tyler Blanski

Date:April 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When Donkeys Talk by Tyler Blanski.
Tyler Blanski is an American Singer-songwriter and author who was thirsty for a fresh look at his Christian faith and wanted to look back into the lives of the saints, the stars (constellations) and see the beauty of Christianity. He wants us to again believe that miracles can and will happen in the life of the Christian. He wants us to expect that God will work in our life in miraculous ways and for us to look again at the world that God has created for us to live in and experience as creatures of His creation. The writer also wants us to again look at the why we as a group find it so hard to believe in God’s miracles but we willingly listen to the science and chaos that the modern culture would have us to believe. Mr. Blanski uses scripture, history and works of the thinkers of our Christian church to states his case for belief in God’s miracles and faith in His love for us.
I struggled through this book. It is written in a flighty way and uses a lot of the modern fantasy writings that I was not familiar. It makes the reader think though outside of the box which is what Jesus also did in order to bring in the masses to Him. I hope that this book will do much the same with new readers who love reading of fantasy and would be drawn to accept that Jesus was born died and resurrected for all.
This book was provided by Booksneeze for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not your Grandmother's Religion

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
jroc
Location:Fredericton
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This certainly isn’t my Grandmother’s type of Christianity. When Donkey’s Talk takes at first a lighthearted approach to a serious topic. How do we have a deeper faith? How do we start talking to one another about faith? And can we re-energise our faith. His first few sentences had me a little hooked “If I were to tell you that i had a talking donkey, you would probably chuckle and pour another drink…nothing ruins a good party like a story about a miracle”
I didn’t expect to take this book seriously. I saw the cover and though, hmm, might be a light read. I however was proven wrong a few pages in. How often do we take our Bible Stories seriously? I come from a perspective that likes to examine the scripture and find the “true” meaning, as the literal cannot be true. The author invites us to go back into the story and see it for the first time.
Blanski does his research into history of Christianity and of certain scriptural people/references. I did find at times it was difficult to retain all the information the author has offered. He has done his research based on the pages of references at the end of the book.
You can’t judge a book by it’s cover and this is the case with When Donkey’s Talk. It was an interesting read and I learned some interesting things, but it didn’t enchant my faith. I’d leave it up to the individual to decide on this one.
3/5
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Miracles are all around us

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terra Hangen
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Donkeys Talk by Tyler Blanski
The author writes in a friendly style, exploring how science misses out on the miracles around us. He writes “Is it any wonder we moderns don’t believe Balaam’s donkey could talk? Our cult of facts and laws leaves no room for mystery or magic, no room for God.”
Sometimes modern people think that creativity comes from within rather than without or God-inspired. Blanski confides here that at times he was blind to the miracles of God around him, forgetting that the cherubim and seraphim and demons and God himself are everywhere. His book contains some memoir and some theology, and is easy to read and understand. Blanski is a musician and pursuing holy orders in the Anglican church, and writes with a touch of humor about serious topics.
Yes, Scripture tells us that God made a donkey talk and that God continues to make miracles and is active in our world today. The author calls on us to become students of Jesus, fed by passages of Scripture, and to get out of the way or become a way for God to heal and love broken people.
Thank you to the Booksneeze program for giving me this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

When Donkeys Talk

Date:February 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book was very hard for me to understand, it is not an easy read and requires full attention to what you are reading. The book has a great thought to it, and in the first chapter I was really interested. However, after that it was a repeat of material and started to confuse me as I lost the meaning of the message to the book.
The theme of the book is (?, I think) what the donkey is the symbol of in the bible and the story of Balaam. I feel that this book is more for theologian's, and not for readers that don't want to concentrate while reading. It is a heavy read with a good meaning, wish it would have been written on a lighter note to reach more people.
I would not recommend this book to people who are looking for a light read or an lazy afternoon read. You will have to pay attention and take your time to stop and think after reading this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A bit confusing

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:martinezsylvia09@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I must say I requested the book, because the title caught my attention. I really enjoyed parts of the book and other parts were a little bit confusing. What I did leave after reading the book is anytime anyone is on the quest to seek the meaning of life is too seek God. There are two types of Christians and they are those who believe in God, and those who have a personal relationship with God. The word of God points to Jesus. He is the only way to God. If you would like to read about the miracles of God and how true Christianity is not for the light hearted pick up the book. I received this book for free from NetGalley.com and did not have any influence on my review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When Donkeys Talk: A Quest to Rediscover the Mystery and Wonder of Christianity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fresh, exciting look at Christian faith

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Retha
Location:South Africa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Donkeys Talk describes Christianity it is not in mundane terms, but strange, different, alive, with humour, taking us from the medieval perspective to today’s mechanical ways in Atomland. We realize God is God. He is not part of our world; we are part of His world, the world He created.
Do we not believe in miracles anymore in Atomland?
"I could not help but wonder: is a talking donkey a divine portent or a dental problem? Everything about our modern presuppositions is pitted against the possibility of miracles. If Balaam were a modern scientist and he heard his donkey talk, he would probably study the donkey’s vocal cords."
When I read the pictures painted of heaven filled with stars, of how the early church and medieval Christians understood Christianity and Sacraments, the knight in me is stirred to the rescue –to the rescue of worshipping God in awe, not meaningless rituals.
"The idolatry of Atomland says, “Because I think, therefore I exist.” It says this because godlessness naturally leads to nihilism, narcissism, and inflated self-love. In Atomland, I come first; I decide what is truth. Students in the Kingdom of God, however say, “I am because God is. I love because he loves me. Because I love, I think; and because I am sinful, sometimes I think idolatrous thoughts like, ‘I think, therefore I am,’ as if I were God.” When we live in the love of God, allowing Jesus to renew our hearts and our minds, our loves are reoriented. We are no longer the harbingers of truth. We live in the trail of God’s salvation stories, of his love. When we apprentice ourselves to Jesus, we are enrolling in a class of love. "
God is even in the little things. Tyler Blanski reminds us that the Jesus was the one who coined phrases such as ‘den of thieves,’ ‘signs of the times,’ ‘salt of the earth’, and ‘pearls before the swine’. We use these phrases glibly and forget who said them. Sometimes we perceive God in the same way. We forget He is in the little things. Perhaps it is time to go back to the Source.
The message I received from reading When Donkeys Talk, is - Jesus is not only a story; Jesus entered real history and changed real lives, and He is still doing it today. The depth of His love and grace is not measurable.
I highly recommend When Donkeys Talks. It is truly a quest to rediscover the mystery and wonder of Christianity.
Zondervan Publishers as part of their media review bloggers program provided this eBook to me for free in exchange for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.