Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook

Zondervan When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook

When Jesus Wept by bestselling authors Bodie and Brock Thoene, unfolds the turbulent times in Judea during Jesus' ministry, centering on the friendship between Jesus and Lazarus. With rich insights from vineyard owners and vine dressers, the Thoenes explore the metaphor of Jesus as the True Vine, harvesting the ancient secrets found in the Old Testament.
Average Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Biblical Fiction

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, this is the first book I have read by the Thoenes in years! My first historical fiction book was from their wonderful WWII series, and I always felt that they had the formula for writing historical fiction, especially in relation to history involving Jews. And they have not lost their touch as they tackle ancient Israel and the time of Christ. I love good Biblical fiction, and this definitely counts as such.
From the first page, they drew me in. They made me consider portions of the well-known story of Lazarus and his family in a different way, and I was emotionally drawn into the story in a way I never have before. I am glad to know that this is the first in the series, and I can hardly wait to read the rest in the series! If you think that you know all there is to know about Lazarus, Mary, Martha, and Jesus, let me challenge you to give this book a try. You may find that you are pleasantly surprised.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
R.jill Teske
Location:East , TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love Bodie Thoene books. This one did not disappoint. e-books are fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book brought the Bible to life.

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Glenda
Location:Griffin, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the book. It brought the story of Lazarus, Mary and Martha to life for me. These characters are more real to me after reading the book. It was a wonderful account of Jesus' relationship with His friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly Beautiful!

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As far as biblical fiction goes, you can't get better then the Thoene's. Their depiction of Lazarus is insightful, captivating, and filled with such depth and beauty, it's as if you're standing right there in a first century vineyard.
Now, if you're looking for a quick, entertaining read, look elsewhere. This is a first person bible story. There is a lot of scripture woven throughout the book, and yet, it is still a novel. In my opinion, "When Jesus Wept" is one of the most faith-filled pieces of Christian fiction out there.
I am a huge fan of the Thoenes, and although I can't classify this as a personal favorite, I'm still so glad I read it. If you love biblical fiction then this is not to be missed, but for all of you who feel this wouldn't be your style (like me), I'd say read it anyways. After all, there's nothing like broadening your horizons with a good solid piece of writing. Stick through it, and I guarantee you'll come out understanding just a little more about our Lord...
I mean, isn't that what we're here for?!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting perspective!

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book makes you picture the Bible story of Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead in a way that seems like you were almost there. Even more interesting is the fact that it is told from Lazarus's perspective. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My new favorite book!

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet Albertson
Location:Johnstown, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Jesus Wept by Bodie and Brock Thoene is my new favorite book. Bodie and Brock Thoene have been preferred authors of mine for many years, so when I saw a book written by them offered on Book Sneeze, I knew I had to review it. I got the e-book, so it is not taking up room on my very crowded bookshelves, but I will be rereading it in the future. In fact, I plan to read it aloud to my family on our next road trip.
When Jesus Wept is the story of Lazarus or David ben Lazarus, as he is known in this book. I have always loved Bible stories told with the fleshing out of fictional details, as long as the story remains true to the Bible, and this one does. The stories of Jesus in the Gospels are interwoven in a few years of the life of Lazarus in an amazing way. We don’t know if his sister, Mary, was the woman caught in adultery, but she might have been. In this story, she was, and the encounter changed her forever, and she became a devoted Christ-follower who poured out her life in service.
Did you ever wonder why Lazarus died the first time? In this story, his death was the result of his service to Jerusalem Sparrows, homeless street orphans.
I had never thought about how Lazarus felt, being called back from where he was in Paradise. He very likely was having a wonderful time of reunion with his loved ones in that happy place. I had always just considered his sisters needing him on earth. Jesus had His reasons, no doubt one of them to prove His power over death and the grave just prior to His own death and resurrection. I got new insight into the parables and stories that Jesus told, because just perhaps, Jesus told them because of happenings in his friend, Lazarus’s life.
Mary, Martha, and Lazarus became real people to me in this book, as I read of their lives, families, vocation, service, and friendship with Jesus. The Thoenes are excellent at the background information about the times, culture, politics, even the landscapes, of the Holy Land where the story takes place.
I can’t say enough good things about this book! I highly recommend that you get a copy and read it a few times! I’m anxious for that road trip to read it aloud and see what else I can learn along the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

When Jesus Wept

Date:April 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jodi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I have been a huge fan of Bodie and Brock Thoene ever since I read In My Father's House way back in 1992. Their writing transports me into the time and culture of the characters they write about. I've felt immersed in war torn Jerusalem, the American Great Depression and the famine of the 1840's in Ireland. I've only read the first three books of the A.D. Chronicles, but they made me feel as though I walked the dusty roads and saw sheep grazing and shepherds as I travelled with the Lord. Brock and Bodie Thoene made the biblical accounts come alive while still preserving their integrity and the truth of their message.
I was so excited when I saw that a new series was being released. When Jesus Wept has been on my to-read list for months. Maybe I was too excited, or my expectations overly high. Perhaps I have put the Thoene's on an unreachable pedestal, but I did not feel immersed in the culture like I did in the A.D. Chronicles and the story of Lazurus did not come alive to me in quite the same way their other stories did. In fact, portions of the A.D. Chronicles are retold in this book.
The prologue, which is repeated later on as the climax of the story is the most profound and powerful part of this story. "His sigh shook the universe" ...just a sigh..and "on a clear night constellations above the earth reflect on the still surface of the sea. But here. Only one of Jesus' tears contains a galaxy." ...just a single tear...they are such powerful statements. The magnitude of these thoughts made me think how much more our Lord really is, more than we can really fathom in our finite minds. I am in awe of how magnificient He will be face to face.
The Thoene's use the comparisons of the vine and the vinedresser throughout this novel rightfully declaring the Lord as the the true vine and the Father as the vine dresser. "Vineyards. The only crop I know where a hardship in the maturing makes the end result exquisite." "Only the vinedresser knows what will make the best wine. The vine is stressed - it reaches deep for the water, the shoots are pruned, the clusters thinned, and in the end the fruit is richer and the wine is full of character and grace. Though the growing may be difficult, God will be glorified a the end of every righteous man's story."
When Jesus Wept, by Bodie and Brock Thoene is currently available for purchase from your local or online book retailer.
Thank you Zondervan and Litfuse Group for the free copy to read in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
regular grama
I have enjoyed the author's past works but was disappointing. To much repetition of thoughts and just not as well written as the others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner by the Thoene's!

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shirley
Location:New Bern, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As with every Thoene book, you become part of the story. I always look forward to the next release.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspirational biblical fiction

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Before he called me forth from the grave, Jesus wept. . . . Jesus groaned, and the heads of angels and saints turned to look down upon the earth in wonder.
Thus begins When Jesus Wept, book #1 in "The Jerusalem Chronicles" by Bodie and Brock Thoene. Taking what little is known about Lazarus from the Scriptures, they skillfully use their biblical knowledge and imagination to weave a moving narrative of what-could-have-been against the backdrop of political unrest at the time.
Summary
Lazarus . . . The man Jesus raised from the dead in one of the most extraordinary encounters with the living Savior in all of Scripture. But the life of Lazarus holds interest well beyond this miraculous event. Living in Bethany, near Jerusalem, Lazarus witnessed many of the most important events of Jesus' life and ministry. Lazarus owned a vineyard and devoted his life to caring for its vines and fruit. But he encountered another man - Jesus - whose vineyard was the world, its fruit the eternal souls of men.
My thoughts
This novel is extremely well researched, and that alone adds much depth and interest to the narrative. In fact, one of its strengths is how vividly it shows the greed, lust for power, political turmoil and danger of the times. Most of the words that Jesus spoke were taken straight from the Scriptures and indicated by footnote. And I loved seeing how the Jewish people sung or chanted passages from the Psalms as they traveled to celebrate feast days. Their familiarity with and memorization of Scripture was inspirational.
Scripture doesn't indicate what occupation Lazarus had, so he is portrayed as a highly respected vineyard owner - and the themes of cultivating grapes, pruning, wine making, and Jesus as the vine are prominent throughout. It is interesting to see Lazarus interact with familiar characters such as John the Baptist, Joseph of Arimathea, and Nicodemus.
One questionable aspect is that the authors identify Mary of Bethany, Mary Magdalene, and the unnamed woman caught in adultery as one and the same. While some commentators take this position, it is not universally held as being accurate. But when it comes to biblical fiction, I remind myself that it is exactly that - fiction - and find inspiration in these characters and events during Christ's ministry.
The story is told through the voice of Lazarus, which could be why the character of Martha wasn't fleshed out at all. Reviews are subjective, so other people will have different opinions, but I didn't feel a strong connection with Lazarus or sense the close relationship he had with Jesus.
One of my favorite parts was the scene in heaven during the four days Lazarus was in the grave - a reunion, but also a glimpse at what was to come. In the words of Lazarus: "I stood in wonder in the midst of the ancient ones as they spoke of what was, what is, and what will be. Love. Envy. Rejection. Betrayal. Suffering. Victory. Exultation. Reunion. Forgiveness. Salvation. Restoration. Deliverance." And then, after being called forth from the tomb, "Of all those who witnessed my return from the vineyards of heaven to fallen earth, only Jesus knew what joy and beauty I had left behind."
I enjoyed When Jesus Wept overall and am eager to read more books by this talented husband and wife team. Recommended to those who enjoy inspirational biblical fiction.
For more information, visit the Bodie and Brook's website at thoenebooks.com.
This book was provided by Zondervan through the BookSneeze program in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very good book

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jelly Fish
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Jesus Wept is a fiction story based on true events, Just like most of Bodie Thoene's other books. This one was based during the time when Jesus was performing miracles, including raising Lazarus from the dead. I don't always like books that are based on Bible Stories, especially when they are written as if they are true. That was not the case with this book. this is the Introduction to the book:
"Jesus clearly believed in the power of stories. He told parables-stories-to stretch the minds and transform the hearts of his listeners. We too believe in the life-changing power of stories, and thats why we're passionate about writing fiction. In every work of our fiction, there is truth, based on research, and there is imagination, based on our minds and perspectives. We weren't here, on this earth, as Jesus walked among the people, but through the verses of scripture and our imagination, we have portrayed to the best of our ability what he might have said and in the way he might have said it."
The Thoenes include many references to scripture to back up their stories. I thoroughly enjoyed the story as much as I enjoyed the way it was written. Bodie Thoene is one of my favorite authors, and I knew I wouldn't be disappointed with her latest book.
The book, when Jesus wept, is mostly based on the life of Lazarus. He sees Jesus' miracles, meets and becomes friends with Jesus, experiences Jesus bringing him back to life, and is there for Jesus' crucifixion.
One thing that I found especially interesting was that Lazarus owns a vineyard. We recently planted grapes, and it was neat to read a professional who had done it.
I would definitely recommend this book to anyone; especially anyone who is interested in learning what life might have been life during Jesus' life on earth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Book!

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Fantastic Book!
This book takes you into life in Israel around 30AD. The descriptions of owning and managing a vineyard are wonderful. I loved seeing the ministry of Christ from Lazarus` viewpoint. If you've ever wondered how did Lazarus become ill, they have presented a very plausible explanation. Though we will never know the true story this side of heaven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A stirring historical read

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bodie and Brock Thoene have created a stirring account of the life of Lazarus in their latest book, "When Jesus Wept". I have always been curious about how Lazarus and Jesus met and formed a relationship, and the authors have done a tremendous job of staying true to the Biblical account while exploring how their friendship may have formed. The result is a moving, entertaining story that is sure to please fans of Biblical fiction! The rich historical details that they have woven into the novel add a deeper meaning to the story as readers witness how radical Jesus was compared to the typical Jewish man of the day and in that culture. It is no wonder, then, that Lazarus was drawn to Jesus and his gentle spirit and his wisdom! Some of my favorite scenes included the conversations Jesus and Lazarus had about Jesus being the vine and about the pruning that occurs in our lives with a result of wonderful fruit. These scenes offer deep truths that can encourage all of us as we walk with God and yet experience hard times and so seek a purpose behind what we are experiencing. As a whole, the characters have been beautifully developed, and I love the way the Thoene's fleshed out not only Lazarus but his sisters Mary and Martha also. The story moves along well and is written with the Thoene's usual skilled pen.
If you are looking for a well-written fiction book set in a Biblical setting, then plan on picking up a copy of "When Jesus Wept". You will come away with a greater appreciation of Lazarus and his friendship with Jesus, and will not only be entertained but inspired as well. I award this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Zondervan, and Litfuse Publicity Group for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a novel about the biblical Lazarus

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the first novel in a new series by the Thoenes called the Jerusalem Chronicles. This is a novel about Lazarus, the owner of a vineyard in Bethany. Living there with him is his sister Martha. We learn that his half sister Mary is living a distance away. She is an embarrassment to the family, having taken up with a Roman soldier after her older husband from an arranged marriage died.
We follow Lazarus as he first learns of John the Baptist and then goes with a friend to hear him. Lazarus is present when Jesus arrives and is baptized. Lazarus is at his cousin's wedding in Cana when Jesus changes the water to wine. While Lazarus is noted for his fine wine, he is amazed when he tastes that which Jesus has produced.
The friendship between Lazarus and Jesus deepens as their lives intersect. Mary's life is changed by Jesus after she is caught in the act of adultery. And Lazarus must face his bitterness toward a man who was a traitor to Lazarus' father years ago.
The novel is rich with insight into the political situation of the time. We also learn a great deal about vineyards and vine dressing. We also read about the devastation of locusts and a plague that comes upon Jerusalem. Lazarus is quick to help the victims but then becomes one himself.
This is another in the line of great historical novels from the Thoenes. I am always concerned with novels of the time of Jesus for putting words in His mouth not recorded in the gospels makes me very nervous. I think the Thoenes did a fine job with respect to that in this novel.
One aspect of the novel that did make me uneasy was Lazarus' experiences while dead. It was presumptuous, I think, to write of his experience in heaven. I found his encounter with Joseph to be rather odd. I think it would have been better to have left that whole part out, since it is all speculation.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fictionalized Story Of Lazarus and Jesus = Great

Date:April 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bodie and Brock Thoene in their new book "When Jesus Wept" published by Zondervan takes us into the lives of Lazarus and Jesus.
From the back cover: LAZARUS--the man Jesus raised from the dead in one of the most extraordinary encounters with The Living Savior in all of Scripture. But the life of Lazarus holds interest well beyond this miraculous event. Living in Bethany, near Jerusalem, Lazarus witnessed many of the most important events of Jesus's life and ministry.
Lazarus owned a vineyard and devoted his life to caring for its vines and fruit. But he encountered another man--Jesus--whose vineyard was the world, its fruit the eternal souls of men. When Lazarus's story and the story of Jesus's crucifixion and resurrection touch in When Jesus Wept, we are offered a unique vision into the power and comfort of Christ's love.
Brock and Bodie Thoene's most powerful and climactic writing project to date, When Jesus Wept, captures the power and the passion of the men and women who lived through the most important days in the history of the world.
We pretty much know the story about Lazarus and his two sisters, Mary and Martha. That is until now. Bodie and Brock Thoene in their new book, "When Jesus Wept" has given us a fictionalized story about Lazarus and his time with Jesus as well as many other encounters that were told us in the Gospels. Obviously it is not the Bible however it sure is a lot of fun and gives us a better picture of what life with Jesus might have been like back then. All the subplots that the Thoene's have worked into this book help the narrative and I liked it a lot. I am certainly looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book in true Bodie Thoene style.

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
jp51
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bodie Thoene fills in the blanks with well researched history to allow the reader to step right into the pages of the Bible and experience the life and lessons of our Saviour, Jesus Christ.
When will the next book in the series come out? Can"t wait.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review: When Jesus Wept

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kianna Rose
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Knowing that the Thoenes penned over 65 works of historical fiction and are awarded authors, I was thrilled at the opportunity to read this novel.
"When Jesus Wept" is written from Lazarus' perspective of various Biblical occurrences, such as hearing the message of repentance from John the Baptist, witnessing Jesus' baptism, which was the first time Lazarus laid eyes on Jesus.
The Authors vividly depict the unfolding events, miracles and controversy that surrounded Jesus' ministry. The Thoene's managed to intertwine the Biblical accuracies of the time along with great Historical fiction content amazingly.
I appreciated them including many conversations that we find in the Bible between Jesus and Lazarus.
The friendship that Lazarus and Jesus establish is vividly described throughout the book. The correlation of Lazarus being an owner of a vineyard and Jesus being the One True Vine is written out in picturesque detail.
Lazarus new all to well the care that went into having a vineyard that bore a delicious bounty of grapes. He knew that much pruning to remove the fruitless branches was necessary in order to create a healthy atmosphere in which to grow in. The message that Jesus' is the One True Vine who lovingly prunes and trains as necessary so we may also bear good fruit was captured impressively.
Other characters of the book such as Lazarus' overseer and the Jerusalem Sparrows provided a more developed story line of the intimate and personal account of Lazarus and his family happenings.
This is the first novel I am reading by Bodie & Brock Thoene. The historical Christian genre drew me in and I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I look forward to reading more from the Jerusalem Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intriguing!

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
RonieK
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Known for their attention to historical detail and accuracy, the Thoenes shine in Jesus Wept. My reading of Thoene novels goes back to 1994 and Twilight of Courage, so it was a no-brainer for me to want to help and participate in this blog tour!
The story brought a new dimension to Jesus—a friend. We know Him as Lord, and we know he had friends, but it’s one thing to read that He had friends and another to see what that friendship might have looked like. The story is told through Lazarus’s point of view, and it was intriguing to see the Thoene’s tie several events in the New Testament (the healing of the boy with mud on his eyes, the healing of the beggar told to pick up his mat on the Sabbath) to Lazarus’s life. Some felt a bit too convenient, but it did not detract from the story at all. An enjoyable read, especially for those who enjoy biblical fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Interpretation of Lazarus's Story

Date:April 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
The IE Mommy
Location:Beaumont, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m officially hooked on Biblical Fiction. When Jesus Wept is another well-written book that takes scripture and history together to make people from the Bible tangible. I understand there are a lot of elements that are the author’s interpretation, but I do believe it is a ministry that God has His hand in. Reading books like this creates thoughts, interests, conversations and prayers as we ponder what the story was all about and what it means to us.
It always amazes me how someone can take verses in the bible and tell the story to touch your heart in more ways than you ever thought possible. For me, I read the Bible and most of the time I don’t understand anything deeper than the words on the page. That is really hard for me to admit because I know that means I need to work me as well as my relationship with God!
I get so much more out if the bible when I go to church, watch Biblical films or movies, read books like this, read Christian self-help books or devotionals. So, I was happy to read When Jesus Wept!
The story of Jesus and Lazarus has always amazed me. I enjoyed Bodie and Brock Thoene’s interpretation of the person Lazarus was and his relationship with Jesus as well as all the other characters in the story.
When Jesus Wept is the first book in the Jerusalem Chronicles and I can’t wait to read the next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for When Jesus Wept, The Jerusalem Chronicles Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A vivid and captivating story!

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two thoughts about this book: How do the Thoenes write the way they do? And: I am sure glad that When Jesus Wept is the first in a new series.
I may have been sitting on my couch in an April afternoon reading the first chapter of this book, but my mind was with David ben Lazarus in Israel as he rode among the grapevines.
This book is written so vividly that the heat can be felt, the grapes can be tasted and you want to pet the pleasant faced goats that follow you through the vineyards.
The scene, Israel under Roman oppression during the time Jesus began to publicly minister, comes to life. As you read you understand a little of the turmoil and pain that being Jewish under Roman rule must have involved.
Biblical events such as John's Baptizing and The Wedding at Cana are woven into the story and the character's lives, allowing you to read the Scriptures with richer eyes.
The characters themselves are complex and carefully imagined: David ben Lazarus and his sisters Mary and Martha, and Jesus, as well as the invalid by the pool and the blind beggar that Jesus healed.
In this novel, Martha and Lazarus's sister Mary is the sensitive young one whom Lazarus married off to an old man in a profitable business deal. Now she is the wealthy widowed Mary of Magdala, who is still seeking love in broken relationships.
Lazarus is bearing his own pain... the loss of his dear bride and their first child in childbirth, the loss of his best friend in an act of Roman cruelty.
And Martha, sensible and sturdy, trying to serve her brother and praying for Mary to come home.
This book is written so that the emotions and spirit of the characters glow.
These men and women can see the brutality and injustice of the Romans, and the hypocrisy and corruption of the religious leaders, and they want Israel purged of these sins.
They hope the the Messiah will do so, ushering in God's blessing on the nation.
Do they realize their own hearts need cleansing and forgiveness, and that God may have another way of bringing His Kingdom?
All of them are asking the question: Is this Nazarene the Messiah?
I love the way the Thoene's write about Jesus, with passion and reverence and joy. You delight in your Savior when you read their books.
Open this book and experience the days when Jesus walked in Israel though the eyes of David ben Lazarus, vintner of Bethany.
Thank you for writing a great beginning to a new series, Mr and Mrs. Thoene! And thank you Litfuse for sending me a copy of When Jesus Wept.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>