Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook

Zondervan A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Review 1 for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

encouraging!

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
quiltnmama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Dream So Big isn't just a story about a family in Kenya, but a story of hope and healing as well, both for the Peifer Family and for Kenyan children that their ministry impacts. It is also a story of God growing a family in ways different than they expected through the gift of adoption. They fell in love with the Kenyan children and saw the many needs for better education, nutrition and better living conditions. You can read more about this ministry at Kenya Kids Can.God healed broken hearts and grew them as a family in ways they never expected in Africa while using them and their ministry to impact the Kingdom for Him in ways they never expected because they were willing to go when He called them. It is written with humor and honesty as they their joy and sorrow of daily life. It is the story of a family that said yes to serving and 13 years later are still serving through a ministry that cares for MKs, feeds 20,000 Kenyan schoolchildren and sets up solar run computer labs for kids in Kenyan public schools.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Be Inspired to Dream BIG

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
AMKreations
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Dream So Big is the story of a broken and hurting family, who leave the comforts they know, to commit to a year of service in Kenya. During their first year, they realize that they have come to love the place that God has chosen for them. Not only that, but God has given Steve Peifer a burden for the children in the schools of Kenya, who lack sufficient food to focus on learning. With renewed enthusiasm, the Peifer family returns to Kenya, where they will not only work at the Rift Valley Academy, a boarding school for missionary children, but also put into place a feeding program for thousands of starving children in their region.
As time passses and the feeding program grows to include more schools, Steve is led to begin changing more for the children of Kenya, through introducing them to computers. Through generous donations, solar powered computer centers are built at various schools. Little by little, change is being made because of the obedience and sacrifice of many.
I absolutely loved reading this book. I found Steve to be quite humorous at times. He also had the ability to move me to tears and make me ponder many things during my read. I felt transported to Kenya and could feel Steve's heart beating for the children who were seemingly without hope. I could sense the love of God for the people of Kenya, through the feeding program and sacrifice of so many. This story will forever be in my mind and heart.
I was privileged to review a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions express in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching story with vivid descriptions of Kenya

Date:June 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Dream So Big" is a memoir by a missionary in Kenya. This is the story of why this family went to Africa on a short-term mission trip (which turned into a long-term one), about his work at the missionary school as a dorm parent, teacher, etc., about the differences between American and Kenyan cultures, and about their travels to various parts of Kenya. It describes how Steve's heart was touched by the sight of children faint and crying from hunger and how he started a program to provide free lunches (and, later, computer training centers) at nearby schools.
Kenya and its people are vividly described. Steve made me really care about the Kenya kids and missionary kids. The situation of the poor in Kenya really touched my heart. I wasn't aware things were so bad there or that that it costs so little to feed one child for a month. I'm glad Steve is providing a way for people to help the Kenya kids. I'd highly recommend this book to those who like stories about other cultures and/or missionary stories.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher through Booksneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Changes your perspective

Date:May 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger" by Steve Peifer (with Gregg Lewis) is a moving look at how one family's journey through grief led them across the world to Kenya, Africa and how God has used them mightily in that nation.
Steve and Nancy Peifer were not planning on having a third child, but God had other plans for them. Their son, Stephen, was born with Trisomy 13 and died eight days later. As they grieved for their son, they began to feel a need for a change of scenery to escape the all-consuming grief. They met with friends who had worked as teachers at Rift Valley Academy, a boarding school for missionary kids in Kijabe, Kenya. Though that meeting, they found out that there was a need for dorm parents. They signed up through African Inland Mission for a one-year stint, packed up their belongings and their two older sons, and headed for Africa. One year turned into over 14 years.
Over the course of their work there, they have each served in various capacities in the boarding school. Steve had occasionally helped with relief missions delivering food to the families of school kids in nearby villages. But it was entering a classroom and seeing an entire room of kids lying in the dirt because they hadn't eaten in days and were too weak to sit up that caused an eventual shift in Steve's focus and ministry in Kenya.
After soliciting donations, he launched a feeding program through area schools that would provide a hot lunch to students. After these programs began, enrollment increased. As Steve continued to ponder how to help the Kenyan people pull out of the dire poverty and hunger that they lived in, he decided to open computer centers to train students in technology in the hopes that they would be better equipped for the future. The programs have continued to expand and now include Kenyan leadership. Steve continues to work for Rift Valley Academy as their guidance counselor.
This is an amazing book that brings to light such a serious subject that most Westerners would probably prefer to sweep under the rug. The issue of hunger is foreign to most of us in America, but a life-or-death reality that occurs daily in so many other parts of the world. I felt caught up in their journey and found myself cheering them on as they opened their first two feeding programs, as they expanded to include more schools, as they opened their first computer center. It's a fantastic example of how God can use ordinary people for His glory, how God can turn grief into something incredibly beautiful. I highly recommend this book. Be prepared to have your perspective on life altered!
If you are interested in more information about Steve's ministry with the feeding programs and computer centers, please visit their website at kenyakidscan.org.
(I’ve received this complimentary book through the Book Sneeze program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

fall in love with Africa

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a soft spot for Africa. I fall in love with Africa more and more with each and every book I read. A Dream So Big is no exception. I can't even begin to imagine the pain they must have been in before going. Africa helped heal their hearts and opened their hearts up to a whole group of kids that became a part of them!
A Dream So Big is a wonderful book and you should add it to your must read list of books for 2013! I just bet you will fall in love with Africa, the children they cared for and their family!
thank you Booksneeze and Zondervan for allowing me to add this great ebook to my little library. I know it will be one I read again and again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dorie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a story worth sharing and a story worth reading. The Peifers' experiences in Africa range from humorous to gut wrenching. Through it all Steve Peifer shares it with honesty and humility. He constantly points out that it is not he nor Nancy, who have helped many Kenyans, but it is in fact, the Lord working through them and others. His candid assessments of his own weaknesses were encouraging. We are all flawed. Yet, the Lord can use us all. We just need to be willing. This is the central message I found while reading A Dream So Big.
I received this book in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an inspiring book

Date:May 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steve Peifer was a 2007 winner of the CNN Heroes Award for Championing Children. But the story started ten years before.
He begins his book arriving at the Nairobi international Airport with his wife and sons, seven and ten. Their family had recently gone through a painful time – an at risk pregnancy and a son who lived just over a week. Friends had suggested that a change of scenery as short-term volunteer dorm parents at the Rift Valley Academy would provide the time and opportunity to heal. They had no idea what they were getting into.
Steve shares the change in his life, from a management position at the Oracle Corporation to living in the midst of poverty. His wife served as the elementary school librarian. He was assigned the task of implementing the new accounting software in the business office as well as running the elementary school computer lab. While his computer background helped prepare him for those responsibilities, it did nothing to help him teach driver's education. (His experiences are hilarious.)
Steve relates many of the emails he sent to supporters while in Kenya. He shares their experience that first year: delivering toys to an orphanage, visiting remote Masai in the African bush, riding an ostrich, enjoying safari during spring break, and teaching computer skills to first graders.
As that year was coming to an end, Steve realized what he had been doing was unexpectedly one of the most rewarding things he had ever done. “I have won million dollar accounts before in my corporate career,” he writes, “but watching third-graders high five each other because they learned how to sort on a spreadsheet was every bit as satisfying.”
A week before their scheduled flight home, he and some RVA colleagues visited an elementary school in the Karima community down the valley, delivering food to the families of students. What he saw there - children lying on the dirt floor because they were too weak to stand because of lack of food – changed his life. He knew he could not walk away from Africa. It took a while, as he returned to the Dallas area and a good job with an Oracle consulting company. But it wasn't long before he knew where he really belonged.
He chronicles their return to Kenya, the adoption of twins, starting the food program for Kenyan elementary schools and its growth, then solar powered computer labs, being college advisor at RVA and having students accepted at every Ivy League college, and much more.
Peifer writes with wit combined with feeling. Reading his stories make you feel like you are along with him in the family adventures and their cross-cultural challenges. And you can't help but chuckle from time to time. Yet the seriousness of his heart for Africa comes through loud and clear. Steve writes, “Africa can break your heart, but it is full of people who have made something beautiful out of so little.”
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging and so beautiful.

Date:May 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read for a day and put it up not to read it again until I had been through a discouraging week.
God knew I needed to read A Dream So Big. I needed the stories of hope, desperation, helplessness (which was actually filled with hope and help through Christ and His children).
I needed to be reminded that life is still not about me.
Steve Peifer takes us through a beautiful (though not always in the usual sense of the word) journey of his family and the tragedy that helped them see their future in Kenya.
I laughed a few times through this book, but I cried more and was convicted ever more than I cried. How often in America we forget how truly blessed we are and how we can use those resources to glorify God and help the least of these.
I could write a really long review about the stories I read that will break your heart or about the passion that God reminded me I have to do mission work all over the world (including the U.S. which is often neglected because people assume since we have so much poverty must not exist... well it does.), but I just really want to encourage you to pick up this book and read the stories for yourself. Allow God to let you feel the pain and then may we not numb ourselves to it, but let the Lord use it to propel us into great works for His kingdom and the lives of so many precious people on earth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Personal tragedy leads to an unlikely journey

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Steve met Nancy she was determined to be a missionary, but Steve wanted nothing more than to live his life securely on American soil. Somehow, even with their differences, they were convinced God brought them together for a purpose and though Steve still assured Nancy active participation in missions was never to be, he would still contribute to missions financially. Whether Nancy thought things would ultimately change or not, she married Steve and together they created a family.
When Nancy found out she was pregnant at the age of 40, she and Steve were both surprised and excited at the same time. However, their excitement would soon turn to concern when they were told their child would be born with trisomy 13, a genetic disorder with an extra chromosome on the thirteenth pair. Most pregnancies do not make it full term or the baby is stillborn, and those who survive live two years at the longest. Stephen Wrigley Peifer lived eight days.
Seeking to flee the pain of their loss, Steve and Nancy Peifer signed up to be dorm parents at a school in Kenya for a year. But this one-year experiment became a 13 year journey to end the tears of hunger.
“A Dream So Big” is the re-telling of the events leading up to and including this monumental decision to be an unlikely hero living life in the center of God’s Will after the excruciating pain of losing a child. It is a story of what can happen when God puts two people together to live life in a world filled with pain and sorrow and how those two people can make a decision to give their lives to help others when they have suffered loss. It tells of how their hearts became broken for the kids who desperately needed help in order to survive. Their son, Stephen, through his death, saved thousands of kids in Africa from dying from hunger. What a marvelous picture of what God did for us—allowing His own Son, Jesus, to die on a cross to save the multitudes of sinners who would later turn to Him in their spiritual hunger so that they could have eternal life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan in return for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impact your world

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Location:indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I myself served on the mission field I found the story of the Peifer family one I could connect with. Despite Africa being a continent apart from where I served in Ecuador, little seems drastically different. In A Dream So Big by Steve Peifer you experience the personal tragedy and sorrow of the loss of their newborn son, but also journey with them as they heal and see exactly what it is that God has called them to do while this healing takes place. You see triumph as they reach and make huge impacts on thousands of Kenyan schoolchildren.
I enjoyed the candor with which Steve spoke and the humility he shared. He knew that he had so much in the spite of giving up so much in his life to serve in Kenya. He realized that he often overlooked all that God had blessed him with as thankful children made him step back and understand what it truly means to be blessed. Steve does not hold back in admitting when he has come into a situation with the wrong attitude. He would also be the first to admit that none of the work they had accomplished would have been possible without the Lord and those whose hearts were touched enough to give.
If nothing else this book can encourage you to make a difference in any small way that you may be able to. We each can touch others if we first recognize that it’s within our ability to do so.
This book was provided by Booksneeze. My review was my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A 326 page feel good story; Inspiring, humourous.

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
PBJones
Location:Edmonton, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In 1997 the Peifers packed up their seven and ten year old sons and left a corporate job in Texas to embark on a short-term missions assignment in Africa that turned into a lifetime of service. Their dream of missions work was motivated by a nightmare of personal loss. Their third son, Stephen Wrigley Peifer was born with trisomy 13 and lived only eight days. Its been said that tragedy makes you bitter or better. This is a good news story of God’s grace making Steve and Nancy better and everyone round them blessed.
In his CNN acceptance speech Steve said, “We came to Kenya after one of our children died…When my son died I felt like I lost my own life. Kenya gave it back to me. I’ll always be blessed because we ended up in Kenya.” Kenya was blessed because of the Peifers. Today 20,000 children are fed daily because of their dream for a better world. Steve inspired students to strive for excellence in their studies and saw them earn scholarships to Stanford, Dartmouth and Harvard.
“A Dream So Big” is an inspiring and humourous look at a gracious world-changer. Peifer records incidents of God’s clear intervention to turn setbacks into comebacks and disappointments into divine appointments. All the while he humbly attributes his family’s good graces to his wife Nancy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Dream So Big: Our Unlikely Journey to End the Tears of Hunger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book on what one person can do

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Dream So Big by Steve Peifer with Gregg Lewis is an absolutely great book of how God can turn tragedy into triumph. Steve and Nancy had just buried their beloved 8 day old infant. They had been aware of his short life since before he was born but that did not decrease their sadness and grief when it actually happened. They had prayed without seizing before his birth for a miracle but they did not know the power of a God who would dream a dream for them so big that they could not have imagined. Nancy had been told of God that Baby Stephen “has more purpose than just fulfilling your motherhood.” This did not stop them from praying for a miracle but she began to accept that God had a purpose for her 3rd son and it was not the same as her own wishes. Stephen lived 8 short days with his mother father and 2 brothers then quietly died in his home with the help of hospice. In the midst of this great grief Steve became aware that God was directing him to help realize his wife’s lifelong dream to become a missionary family in Africa. This book is about the struggles this family went through to live the life dream big enough for God to dream it. This life leads to feeding thousands of Africa’s children and enabling them to be schooled in not only the poor bookless schools available to them but to dream big enough to bring them computer classes. Many of these children formerly had to quit school because their parents had to choose between paying for their food or the tuition for schooling. Steve and his family started allowing American families to donate to his foundation which fed the children a free lunch at school. This along not only kept the children in school but encouraged parents to send their children just to get the lunch for them.
I loved this true book of how God has a different plan for his faithful followers even though they still must go through the same problems as the unfaithful. Steve, Nancy and their children willingly accepted his response to their grief and lived a life so big that they could not have imagined it for their life. This book has a lesson for all of us trying to live a life that God wants for them to reach out in faith and see just what God has available to all of His children. God has a great dream but we must trust. This book is of what that trust and faith brought to one family and reached out into Africa to affect the dreams of thousands of families in Africa.
I am privileged to have received this book from Zondervan for this review. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.