Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook

Zondervan Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
24 out of 2789%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Review 1 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bread and Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table" by Shauna Niequist is a collection of essays about life, food, hospitality, and experiencing those sacred moments that can only be found around a table. The book includes not only recipes to try, but there are discussion questions at the end for a book club or a cooking club. She also includes tips for hosting a dinner party, as well as ideas for easy weeknight meals that can be thrown together quickly.
I appreciated Niequist's heart that celebrates the union of food and the hearts of people, creating a unique fellowship around a table. Faith themes run strong through this book, especially as she dives into how gathering around a shared meal creates a special sense of community. "And I believe that Jesus asked for us to remember him during the breaking of bread and the drinking of the wine every time, every meal, every day--no matter where we are, who we are, what we've done" (p. 252).
She shares candidly about her life, her insecurities, her fears when her newborn son was ill, her struggles with having children. Her writing style and vulnerability with sharing make this book an all-around winner. I started by slowly digesting two or three essays at a time, but that quickly sped up to devouring the entire book; it's really just that good.
"The table is the place where the doing stops, the trying stops, the masks are removed, and we allow ourselves to be nourished, like children. We allow someone else to meet our need. In a word that prides people on not having needs, on going longer and faster, on going without, on powering through, the table is a place of safety and rest and humanity, where we are allowed to be as fragile as we feel. If the home is a body, the table is the heart, the beating center, the sustainer of life and health" (p. 258).
(I’ve received this complimentary book through the Book Sneeze program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book spells comfort!

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shauna Niequist blew me away with this book, which I read first, having received it as a gift. I subsequently went out and bought the other two books she has out there. Love them all.
I have given six away in the past 4 months. I am inspired and so are my friends who've received the books from me.
I hope she is writing as fast as she can!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
bbykak
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the style of the writer...she is smart, witty, and a loving hostess. I have even tried a couple of the recipes. Yum! However, I was uncomfortable with how much the entertaining included some form of alcohol. This is a culture that I suppose is popular but I can not indulge in. It made me very uncomfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved reading Bread & Wine

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Genevieve
Location:Bay Area, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had heard good things about Bread & Wine from a friend and was excited to read the book myself. After hearing Shauna Neiquist speak at a Mothers of Preschoolers Convention in August 2012, I came to the conclusion that she was one of my favorite speakers there. I was drawn to her warm personality and humorous stories. She was honest, transparent, witty, relatable. I felt much the same way as I was reading Bread & Wine, being drawn to Shauna’s warm, honest, transparent, witty, relatable and humorous stories about her life around the table.
I liked that Shauna included recipes in her book. After just reading the first chapter about her mom’s blueberry crisp, I went out to buy the ingredients, made it and enjoyed eating it. I’m not much of a cook but in the chapter “start where you are,” I felt encouraged that I could be good at it one day. Shauna said it so beautifully when she wrote,
“If you put in the time, the learning, the trying, the mess, and the failure, at the end you will have learned to feed yourself and the people you love, and that’s a skill for life – like tennis or piano but yummier and far less expensive.
I’m not talking about cooking as a performance, or entertaining as a complicated choreography of competition and showing off. I’m talking about feeding someone with honestly and intimacy and love, about making your home a place where people are fiercely protected, even if just for a few hours, from the crush and cruelty of the day.”
Whew! That takes the pressure off, doesn’t it? It’s not just about the food but about the relationships that are formed and nourished. I hope to make my home like that one day, a place where people feel safe and loved and encouraged. I also want people to see glimpses of God and his love for them when we gather and share our lives together.
Shauna is a great story-teller and I loved reading Bread & Wine. I learned that life is beautiful and messy, unpredictable, yet memorable. Invite people to come and share life with you around your own table.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent book!

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Desi
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was suckered in, I admit. This was one of those books that I thought I had to read because all my savvy and awesome friends were digging into it. But it was much, much better than the hype. The reviewers always mention how Mrs. Niequist speaks like she’s your really awesome girlfriend over for coffee, but leave out how she makes you laugh along with her antics and tugs your heart strings with her sorrow.
Although I was fortunate enough to recieve this book free from Booksneeze.com to review, after reading it, I would gladly pay for it: it's THAT good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her Way of Gathering Us Around and Showing Us How

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dalyn
Location:Yakima, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bread & Wine Review
"….Part of becoming yourself, in a deeply spiritual way, is finding the words to tell the truth about what it is you really love." I love this line in the author's introduction.
Shauna loves God, food, and family, and expresses it through this generous sharing of "her table" through this book. I think it's her way of gathering us around and showing us how it's done. The almost-lost art of feeding people's belly but also nourishing souls and knitting folks together all at the same time. How many times do we gather 'round these days and just relax over a good meal and share stories and talk about God, important things, or family history, or anything at all? Not often. Holidays?
Shauna is passionate about it. I fully enjoyed vicariously being at her table through her story-telling and recipes. She shares her life here and she shares some of her best recipes. This book is a great read. You should be aware it's not a cookbook
but it is about food, and life. She shares both here and I hope I'm inspired enough to start thinking of the table as vital. The people I can have around it is more precious and deserving of my time and efforts. Of food as a pleasure and preparation of it as not a chore, but a way to gather around those I love and those I'm getting to know to be nurtured and blessed at my table.
I'm going to go wash my tablecloth and put away the stack of books, papers, and day planner away in my office! It's time to practice the age old art of hospitality and love my people with food and community.
In short I think this is a wonderful, cozy book, best enjoyed and savored, much like a good dinner around the table with friends and family.
She has a website you might enjoy. You can also find links to buy her book and download a free sample of it there. Printable or audio!
*I was given a free copy of this book by Chosen books in exchange for an unbiased review of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Building Community

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
jroc
Location:Fredericton
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have many cookbooks that lay gathering dust on my shelf. Once in a while I will turn to one and I might find a recipe that I love. Cookbooks often lose their appeal quickly, as I discover I do not have the tools or I cannot find the ingrediants to make most of the dishes. This however did now happen with Bread and Wine.
I fell in love with the story told between recipies. I found myself wanting to make the recipies to connect with the story the author has woven. It reminded me a little bit of what I had expected in Eat Pray Love, but never experienced as it didn’t have the recipies.
I found the instructions easy to follow and the ingrediants easy to find. There didn’t seem to be a overall theme of the recipies included but I could tell that they were favorites. The story was beautifully crafted and I can’t wait to hear more from the author.
I have tried a few of the recipies and hope to try many more. I would recommend this book to a person who likes to cook but is lacking motivation, the person who is a weekend cook, or the person who just enjoys a good story and good food.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

building community through food

Date:July 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wagaboodles
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
At first glance I was expecting Bread & Wine to be thoughts on communion and community--gathering around the table. While that is half right--the gathering around the table in community is the essence of the book--the subtitle of the book gives the best synopsis: A Love Letter to Life around the Table with Recipes.
Shauna Niequist writes essays from her life and love affair with food. Frequently stories come out of her gatherings with Cooking Club friends and times around the time with others. Some are about her journey as a mother and wife and struggling to go full term with pregnancies.
My one struggle with the book was it's obvious suburban-style of Christianity: eating at fancy restaurants, summer at the lake cabin in the boat, trips to Paris, etc. I can look beyond that easily, though, because the lessons on hospitality, building community around the table, and enjoying food and life are things I can appreciate.
I love food--probably a little too much--and love the idea of using food to build community. I also love that most chapters end with a delicious recipe to try out. Niequest doesn't approach the recipes as a checklist of steps to make the perfect food, but as a guide for experimenting and finding a food you like. She often gives suggestions on variations or making the dish your own. Most of them she adapted from other recipes in the first place. Many are gluten-free (her husband can't eat any) and many can be easily adapted to be vegetarian.
This is a great book for anyone who wants their dining room to be a place where people gather to enjoy life together
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My new "it" book

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
AmandaSnow
Location:Manassas, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bread & Wine is my new "it" book. It's the book that I'm going to buy for best friends, family members, graduates, new moms, and mom-pros. It's the book for every woman, despite your faith background or your cooking experience. The stories Shauna Niequist writes about are incredibly relatable -- you'll find your own life on these pages -- and she had me both giggling and crying within a few pages of one another.
I've already made the Blueberry Crisp and brought it to a friend who had just had a baby. We shared it (generous friend!) and it was simply divine and SO easy. I can't wait to give the other recipes a try, though I imagine I'll love them all. It's easy to love food that was created with friendship and hospitality in mind.
One of my greatest takeaways from this book is the idea of being hospitable, despite the size of one's home. We've always loved to have guests over and have food and drinks, but have stayed away from larger crowds, because of the small size of our house. With Shauna's urging, I know people will be thrilled to be invited, even if it means cushions on the floor and plates in laps.
I cannot possibly say enough great things about this book. It will definitely be a favorite of the year... a favorite of all-time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
bthm
Location:louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This collection of essays features recipes that come from chefs, cookbooks and restaurants- like all of us, Shauna finds a recipe she thinks her family will like, makes it and it either succeeds and becomes party of the lineup, or it doesn't come back. All of the recipes included can be individualized - Shauna's husband is on a gluten-free diet and many of the recipes are gluten-free and call for oats or ground almonds. But you could easily convert them to a regular gluten recipe if you wanted.
As a Southerner, I know that food can bring people together, break the ice, end a family argument and even start a family feud (who got Grandma's recipe box?). It is a magical science, based on individual palates and tastes, yet we can all agree with certain recipes being universal.Food can bring comfort to our souls and feed us spiritually, as well as biologically. Shauna expounds on this with her collected essays. This is the perfect book to give as a present for anyone who loves food, is Christian and believes that food nurtures the soul! I would include it in a gift basket with items to cook with. In fact, I am thinking of making 2 up for my daughter's teachers, for Christmas, as I think it would be a lovely way of keeping the 'joy of the season'!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MIMom
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bread and Wine is Shauna Niequist's latest book about focusing on the haven created when people are brought around the table for food and drink, because food connects people and shows that you care about them. Each chapter is an individual essay of her life, usually ending in a recipe that pertained to that story. In addition, the chapters are divided into four parts to make it easier for book and cooking clubs (discussion questions are also included).
To say I enjoyed this book would be a gross understatement. It's probably because I normally choose weightier reading material, but few books have the ability to cause me to escape the beautiful cacophony of my life at present. It was the perfect book to read when you only have a few minutes at a time (like nursing a child), because each essay takes only a brevity of your time and it was usually followed by an amazingly delicious sounding recipe that made my mouth water and caused me to wish it wasn't midnight and that I had those ingredients on hand. (Disclaimer: I may have made a run to a nearby grocery store to pick up a few ingredients after reading certain chapters). Although she writes about some weighty issues (such as her emotional struggles with miscarriages), it is a light, quick read; except for the introduction and a few chapters, there isn't a large spiritual component to the book.
I loved this book. I loved how real and open Niequist was in her writing about many aspects of her life. It drew me in, made me feel like I knew her and her friends. And I found myself underlining a little gold nugget in almost every chapter, because this book is so applicable to where I am in life, always nervous about hosting, but desiring that atmosphere created when people are gathered around the table. The last few pages of advice about sample menus, weeknight cooking and a pantry list were an added helpful bonus. For me it was both an inspirational encouraging and chastising read, and I've already recommended it to quite a few friends.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

full of lovely stories, recipes, and encouragement

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mooberry Farmwife
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bread and Wine is a collection of honest stories that grabbed my attention and kept me turning the pages. From the beginning, Shauna Niequist opens up and shares from her heart. Topics such as friendship, pregnancy, food, and family life are woven into the stories she tells. I was touched by how openly she shares... it soon felt like I was reading a letter from a friend and not just a book off my shelf.
For me, the icing on the cake is the recipes. I love food - I love to cook and eat and prepare all kinds of yummy things for my family. Shauna's stories each contain a recipe, and the recipe adds so much to the story! I hope to try some of the recipes the book contains (as soon as I get the ingredients I want to make Green Well Salad, especially).
I appreciate the way the book includes a lovely focus on faith. Bread and Wine is food, of course... and it also represents much more than that to a Christian. And this book has made me think about and treasure our large family's life around the table - the stories, the food, and the love that goes along with it.
I give this book an "A" for sure. (As a homeschool mama, I tend to give letter grades!) Whether you are looking for a good story, a good recipe, or simply an encouraging read I think you will find it in Bread and Wine. I liked it so much, I plan to read it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the chance to read "Bread and Wine" by Shauna Niequist from a program at BookSneeze that offers free books in return for an honest review, whether positive or negative.
I can not say enough about this book. You just kinda want to snuggle with it under a blanket and a nice glass of wine. It's cute and funny with serious undertones in some spots. You learn about the authors life, her background, her family. Why she is the way she is. Why she lives the way she does. Why she eats (ha!) the way she does. This is just one of those books you want to get and keep on your pantry shelf forever.
And the food... good lord... can we talk about the food? The recipes in this book (there are like, a million... at least) look good enough in black and whit type to make you want to lick the pages- I can only imagine what they would be like on your table for real.
So this is such a lovely little book. Read it. Share it with your best girlfriend (and then ask her for it back).
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is much more than just about food!

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
a girl with a smile
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first thing that caught my eye from Bread & Wine was the cover. I'm a lover of typography & photography done right, so I was automatically drawn with intrigue to this book. The second thing that caught my eye was the title. Who doesn't love bread and wine? These two elements play a big role in the significance of my savior Jesus Christ. I thought to myself, "Could this book possibly bring a more practical aspect to these elements in my everyday life?". As I read this book, I realized that the answer to my question was a resounding YES!
Shauna Niequist inspired me to recall my earliest memories of eating and sharing a meal. Growing up in a hispanic culture, every event revolves around food. I have more memories of funeral meals than birthday/weddings ones. I wasn't necessary taught to love cooking but I was definitely taught to love to eat. I have always been skinny, something that my family misunderstood as an obvious cry for "feed me! I need to eat!". I was constantly being offered a plate of something I could not refuse (it's insulting to refuse food). Looking back though, I recognize the importance of meals and I'm able to create meals for my husband with enjoyment. There is this desire in me to love people through the ability to make meals. Guests that visit us at home know that I am always offering something for their enjoyment, whether that's a piece of homemade cake or a soothing cup of my delicious french vanilla chai. Discovering that I related to Shauna in that way made me feel as if I was a guest at her home & I was enjoying one of her delicious recipes!
"The impulse to feed is innate. Food is a language of care, the thing we do when traditional language fails us, when we don't know what to say, when there are no words to say. And food is what we offer in celebration—at weddings, at anniversaries, at happy events of every kind. It's the thing that connects us, that bears our traditions, our sense of home and family, our deepest memories, and, on a practical level, our ability to live and breathe each day. Food matters."
I enjoyed this book because it pushes you to make, create and taste. This book is not meant to be enjoyed in the covers of your bed; this book is meant to be a companion in the kitchen as you try the recipes in each chapter. You'll laugh, cry & value the honesty that comes from Shauna, all the while you're getting stains on your apron. True interaction at it's best!
But above all, you will leave with an appreciation for God and the way He created us to bond over a hunger that we all share in common, both spiritually & physically. May we remind ourselves of the importance that came from the Last Supper and may we apply it to our ordinary lives.
"When you eat, I want you to think of God, of the holiness of hands that feed us, of the provision we are given every time we eat. When you eat bread and you drink wine, I want you to think about the body and the blood every time, not just when the bread and wine show up in church, but when they show up everywhere—on a picnic table or a hardwood floor or a beach."
I already gave this book to a dear friend & I'm planning to give a few more away-that's the best way of appreciating a good read. You should definitely pick one for yourself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A wonderful book to cook your soul

Date:May 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Shauna Niequist writes about the beautiful and broken moments of everyday life–friendship, family, faith, food, marriage, love, babies, books, celebration, heartache, and all the other things that shape us, delight us, and reveal to us the heart of God. Shauna is the author of Cold Tangerines and Bittersweet.
Her new book “Bread & Wine” is a wonderful collection of her stories and favorite recipes. At first, I didn’t quite really understand this book before I got it, I couldn’t tell if it was a cook book or a book on the Christian walk, but it turns out… that it’s both!
Shauna explains it in her book, “It’s not, actually, strictly, about food for me. It’s about what happens when we come together, slow down, open our homes, look into one another’s faces, listen to one another’s stories.”
Through her book she explains how food becomes this beautiful place to come together as people and build community. She talks about hospitality and how both preparing food and inviting people over can resonate as a spiritual practice. Our God is a creator God (a chef?) and He made us to live with each other in Community. Shauna’s book has so many wonderful moments that really tie together some of the best experiences that we all enjoy.
Shauna is a great story teller, each chapter is filled with terrific emotion and just this wonderful sense of coming around the table, laughing and passing plates. Like I said earlier, most chapters end with a recipe that somehow tie back to what she was talking about. To be honest, I have not cooked or baked any of her suggestions (because my wife does the cooking in the house) but I could tell they were delicious just by reading them.
I have a great imagination.
Thank you to Zondervan publishing for a free copy of this book for a fair and honest review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So much more then a cookbook!

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bread and Wine by Shauna is a great little book. This book is like sitting down with a friend over coffee and your just chatting away about all kinds of things in life. The recipes are yummy, healthier versions of old classics. However if you have nut allergies you will have to do some swap outs for the ground almonds. I enjoyed this book very very much! I love cookbooks and this is like a cookbook+! I've tried many of the recipes and my book has cooking stains, dog eared pages and post it's all over it :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

bread and wine review

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Bread and Wine: a Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes" by Shaunna Niequist is a collection of essays(?) centering around food, body, Christ, and house socializing. The stories are sectioned off and usually end with a recipe. They sometimes read like diary entries or blog posts. Niequist is a wonderful writer. Her voice is clear, touching, and, this gal is funny! I really enjoyed reading this book. However, the recipes are not ones that most people would try or would probably like if they did. They tend to be either bazaar or upper crust complicated. Personally, I think she eats weird. Maybe it's a Chicago thing. I don't know; but if you are looking for recipes, I would suggest you look elsewhere. The recipes are more of a footnote to the stories. I would give "Bread & Wine" an A-. I received this book for free from Handlebar Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bread & Wine - a foodie's dream book.

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Copperpetals
Location:Columbus,MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one that I will always treasure. This book is a unique blend of recipes and the love & fellowship that is linked to them. I love finding a book that is so good I want to sit down and read it in one sitting and yet I don't want it to end. We have really lost the art of having people over for a meal to just be at the table with friends. Take the time & enjoy the journey of life. Feeding people isn't just re-energizing your body so you can maintain a busy chaiotic lifestyle.
The recipes range from salad dressing to enchiladas to flour-less cake. I can't wait to try them out!
I was given this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I will be buying several more copies to give to my cooking friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bread and Wine ~ a love story

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy reading cookbooks and imagining all of the possibilities new recipes bring. Like everyone, I sometimes get in a food rut and need inspiration. Bread and Wine ~ finding community and life around the table, is no ordinary cookbook. In fact, while it has recipes in it, Shauna Niequist says it isn't really a cookbook at all. She shares some of her favorite recipes and the stories and people behind those recipes. In fact, she admits that many of these recipes came from other sources but I enjoyed the stories and memories stirred by the food she cooks.
In her introduction, Niequist says,
"It's not, actually, strictly, about food for me. It's about what happens when we come together, slow down, open our homes, look into one another's faces, listen to one another's stories. It happens when we leave the office and get a sitter and skip our workouts every so often to celebrate a birthday or an accomplishment or a wedding or a birth, when we break out of the normal clockwork of daily life and pop the champagne on a cold, gray Wednesday fore no other reason than the fact that the faces we love are gathered around our table. It happens when we enter the joy and the sorrow of the people we love, and we join together at the table to feed one another and be fed, and while it's not strictly about food, it doesn't happen without it. Food is the starting point, the common ground, the thing to hold and handle, the currency we offer to one another."
Because I come from a southern family, food is a large part of our family traditions. The food we share around our table feeds not only our bodies, but our souls too. Whether it is the four of us sitting at the dining room table at night or Sunday dinner with extended family, our mealtime is a sacred space for sharing life together. I identify with Niequist when she says,
"What happens around the table doesn't matter to a lot of people. But it matters more and more to me. Life at the table is life at its best to me, and the spiritual significance of what and how we eat, and with whom and where, is new and profound to me every day. I believe God is here among us, present and working. I believe all of life is shot through with God's presence, and that part of the gift of walking with him is seeing his fingerprints in all sorts of unexpected ways...When you
eat, I want you to think of God, of the holiness of hands that feed us, of the provision we are given every time we eat. When you eat bread and you drink wine, I want you to think about the body and the blood every time, not just when the bread an dwine show up in church, but when they show up anywhere - on a picnic table or a hardwood floor or a beach."
Niequist has inspired me to cook, to invite friends and family in and to make it about more than whether my house is perfect, but about the intimacy and love that is shared around the table.
"This is what I want you to do: I want you to tell someone you love them, and dinner's at six. I want you to throw open your front door and welcome the people you love into the inevitable mess with hugs and laughter. I want you to light a burner on the stove, to chop and stir and season with love and abandon. Begin with an onion and a drizzle of olive oil, and go from therrem, any one of a million different meals. Gather the people you love around your table and feed them with love and honestly and creativity. Fed them with your hands and the flavors and smells that remind you of home and beauty and the best stories you've ever heard, the best stories you've ever lived."
If you love food and you love spending time with your family and friends, I recommend this book. If you are in a food rut and need some inspiration, I recommend this book. After reading this book, I felt good about the times we are already spending around our table and feel inspired to create more experiences with family,old friends, and friends we've yet to make.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bread and Wine: Finding Community and Life Around the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting book but enjoyale

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Giggles
Location:Richardson, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was the first of Shauna Niequist's books I have read, so I started reading it - not knowing what to expect. It is written in a very different way than I have experienced in books – essay style. It is like she is holding a conversation with you in her kitchen about things in her life. Food is a major topic – as well as wine :) Her choice of food was not the kind I am used to eating, so it was interesting to read her recipes and see how she put together things to make something that, from her perspective, were delicious. I must say – most of the ingredients she says she always has in her house are not found in mine, but then I am from the South and do not normally do 'health-food' type foods. I did earmark several of the recipes in the book to try and she made me realize how easy it is to freeze fruit to use later in the season.
Her way of bringing people around the table together – cooking and enjoying the food and fellowship – was great and she made you feel you there with the others, enjoying the food. The traditions she keeps are great – makes me feel good that people are still doing that in the world we live in – that goes so fast and furious.
Reading this, it makes me want to go back and read her earlier books and see if they are like this one or different – which I will do. The book was interesting and I would recommend it as a fun book to read and, if you are someone who goes the health-food path, you will love it.
I received a copy of “Bread & Wine” from Zondervan via Handlebar bloggers in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>