Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook

Zondervan Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook

Is talking to God just another thing to check off on your to-do list? In Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl, Lysa TerKeurst helps you forge a deeper connection! Drawing from her own remarkable story, she encourages you to enjoy special time with God, discover the life-changing words of Scripture, learn how God uses disappointments for good, and embrace the joy of the Lord. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Review 1 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book and great price.

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
June Dyer
Location:MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book by Lysa is very good. It is too the point about different issues. She gives a personal example, scripture and insights in how to live for Jesus in your heart, relationships, thoughts, callings, etc. I am using this for a Bible Study group. There is a dvd that goes with this that helps add to the book and workbook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:May 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Green M and M
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book, when used along with the Bible Study DVD and Study Guide, you will grow in your walk with the Lord!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book fulfilled my needs and more.

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rose
Location:Ingleside, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book to women who want a closer with God.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Are you a good Bible Study girl?

Date:December 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We can be good Bible study girls and still not be living out the truths we are studying. Why? Because it’s easy to study but often difficult to apply the hard truths to our life that God serves up in the Scriptures. In “Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl,” Lysa Terkeurst offers a solution to the endless studying without application. It won’t be easy and will involve looking deep inside yourself for the reasons we act the way we do and the desire to turn away from our flesh.
If you are yearning for a deeper relationship and adventure with Christ, read Lysa’s book and let her openness and honesty transform your Bible study. Let her walk you through trying to be good enough, making your devotions more exciting, ridding yourself of envy, dealing with your struggles, learning to be yourself and finding God in unlikely places.
As a final send-off, Lysa challenges readers to pray dangerous prayers—those prayers that force you to put yourself and your desires, prejudices and feelings aside and open yourself up to God’s heart, mind and will.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from a contest. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
java lady
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This i an excellent book and workbook. You could do the study wit only the workbook but the reading book does kind of give just a bit more information. It is a great practical application book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cupcake
Location:Paducah, Tx.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Still am enjoying this book. She gives very good advice.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katie
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I am not a big reader. A book really has to catch my attention for me to keep reading... this book drew me right in. What a wonderful book. =)
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donna Rucinski
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right on with concrete examples for many women to enjoy!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring and thought provoking!

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nebraska Family Times
Location:Genoa, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lysa TerKeurst had a difficult childhood and a legalistic view of God, believing that if she did the “right” things, He in turn would give her what she wanted. All of that ended the day her baby sister died and Lysa completely turned away from God.
Several years later she was led back to Jesus by a verse a friend had written in a card, and started to seek inner peace through Him. In Becoming More than a Good Bible Study Girl Lysa shares her struggles and the truths she found. Lysa says the message she wants to share is, “to help women not only know God’s truth but also feel equipped to live it out in their everyday lives.”
Lysa addresses six areas in which we can become “more than a good Bible study girl;”
o In My Heart
o In My Walk with God
o In My Relationships
o In My Struggles
o In My Thoughts
o In My Calling
In each area she shows how we can develop a deeper relationship with God. Lysa covers personal, sensitive topics; chapter titles include “When I Feel Like I Don’t Measure Up,” “When God Hurts My Feelings” and “What Do I Do When I Don’t Feel God?”
Lysa lets readers know that it’s OK to struggle with devotion time, become disappointed when we don’t get the opportunities that we seek, and struggle with the “uglies” (times in life when things don’t go as they should and we feel ugly). She addresses real-life situations that include dealing with gossip, changing a bad attitude, and defeating satan’s attempts to make us feel inadequate. She assures us that we are not the only ones who feel this way, and then gives practical advice for finding Biblical truths and living them out in our daily lives.
Lysa writes to new Christians as well as those who have been believers for a long time, and every reader will benefit from her suggestions for studying the Bible in a way that will make it come alive
I found myself taking pages of notes and writing down Bible references as I read Becoming More than a Good Bible Study Girl. I was able to immediately put her suggestions to use, and was especially uplifted by her encouraging words for times when things just don’t go our way. One of the most reassuring things I learned was that not getting opportunities when I want them is not God’s way of keeping me from my calling, but instead His way of preparing me for opportunities.
Becoming More than a Good Bible Study Girl is a book I will refer to often, and I recommend it to anyone who seeks a deeper relationship with God and wants to live His truths in their daily life.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful study

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
DeeDee
Location:WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good study. Lysa does a great job of allowing us to get a glimpse of what her life was like and how God worked in her life. It will be a good study for my bible study group.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dbunyan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa has done it again! This was an excellent book. She is so real, down to earth, I can really relate to her and what she writes!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elaine
Location:Gadsden Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this study...It is easy to understand yet brings simple truths to us in simple ways...Have a lot of "aha's" in the class...love all of her teachings...
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kate
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is absolutely wonderful. Lysa is so down to earth and tells stories that everyone can relate to; I laughed and cried all in the same chapter! She knows how to relate to women and does a fabulous job. It seemed that each day I read, the words applied directly to what I was going through at the time. I highly recommend this study - the videos are great too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roxypop
Location:Harrington, DE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very impressed with Lysa's book. It will help any woman who is looking to better her relationship with God. Tons of bible references to look up and lots to highlight for future use. You can't go wrong with this type of teaching from the Word of God. Thanks Lysa.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the simple truths

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jacquie
Location:Greensburg, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really needed this book at this time in my life. Thank you Lysa Terkuerst.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tanya
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very good book to read. It help me with some of the issues that I have struggle with for years. I love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
stephmom
Location:Olathe, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good book that allows for practical usage and application. You actually look up passages in the Bible instead of just reading a ready made sheet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sally
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another gem by Lysa! This is a great study that I cannot hardly put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christina
I love the author Lysa TerKeurst and her personal style of writing. She writes with joy and graciousness about a personal obedient relationship with God. No condemnation or guilt ridden tactics to try and get us into devotional time. Instead she reveals a loving God that wants a relationship with us and how that relationship blesses us and leads us to love God and WANT to be more obedient. Great book for those that are kicking themselves for past failures,feel very unconnected with God, or those that may feel they are losing out on joy with the Lord. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
sarah
We did the dvd series and study at our church and it was the least favorite study that I've done. I felt that it was short on content and didn't have enough biblical basis.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>