Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Blood Ransom - eBook

Zondervan Blood Ransom - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blood Ransom - eBook
Review 1 for Blood Ransom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great fiction from the continent of Africa

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deb Brammer
Location:New Zealand
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lisa Harris takes you to Africa in all its raw beauty and complicated politics in this unusual combination of charity work, suspense, and romance. Natalie Sinclair and Chad Talcott are American Christians of high principles who choose to to put the welfare of the people they love over their own personal safety and desires. They encounter danger and disapproval as they face the challenge of exposing government cover-up of a modern-day slave trade. The fast-paced suspense pulls you through the book as you learn about life on another continent.
The characters in this book are thoroughly Christian, which is so unusual in Christian fiction today. They struggle to trust God and know what is right, but they hold themselves to a high standard. Chad and Natalie grow to love each other for all the right reasons, not merely physical attraction. I love the way Lisa Harris uses her missionary experience to write suspenseful fiction that deals with issues missionaries to Africa might have to face.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blood Ransom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you love adventure, you will love this book.

Date:April 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
lipto
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Blood Ransom is a book full of romance and adventure that will keep you turning the pages without putting it down. It is written by Lisa Harris and published by Zondervan (This book was sent to me from Zondervan at no cost to review).
Natalie Sinclair is working in the Republic of Dhambizao (RD) to help stop the spread of diseases that are killing whole villages. Dr. Chad Talcott is a surgeon working with Volunteers for Hope International. Gabby Mackenzie is a journalist from the US working on a big story in the RD. And Joseph Komboli is a young boy who had just returned to his village to discover that rebel soldiers were abducting his family and friends.
As the lives of these young people intersect, they realize that despite their own personal fears, they must put them aside and fight for what is right. In their fight for justice, they begin to wonder, where is God? Government corruption, kidnapping, wild animals, death threats, and more will keep you turning page after page.
I highly recommend this book to anybody who loves a little adventure. I am looking forward to reading Book 2 in Harris' series, Blood Covenant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blood Ransom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting & well-written

Date:February 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Blood Ransom" is a fast-paced Christian thriller with some romance. I think this novel will appeal to both men and women. The story was set in a fictional third-world Africa country with a corrupt government. It focused more on the government corruption than the slave trade, though the two were connected. The vivid setting details made me feel like I was really there: walking through the market, facing the tragedy at Joseph's village, etc.
The tension remained high throughout the story and mainly came from the physical danger to the characters. There were more good-guy point of view characters than just the romantic couple, and the romance was more what you'd expect from someone in this situation (as in, "I think I want to get to know him/her better when this is done" rather than "I'm so in love, I can't resist him/her even though I've only known him/her a few hours."). The characters were smart but acted realistically, like I'd expect of normal people who want to do what's right but feel overwhelmed by the scary events they've gotten caught up in.
The good-guy characters were pretty much all Christians with a strong faith in God, but they still had moments of wondering why God was letting such bad things happen when they're trying to do what's right.
There was no sex and no bad language. Overall, I'd highly recommend this interesting, well-written thriller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blood Ransom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
This book is fast-paced, action-packed, and a great read. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It really opens your eyes to a lot of things that most people never consider when living in our comfortable homes in our relatively safe country(s). The twists and turns of the plot were well written and kept me guessing until the very end. Those who love action, light romance, danger, and intricate plots will be sure to enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blood Ransom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
Sometimes a book is so true to life you have to remind yourself it is fiction. Other times a book is so fast-paced and action filled your heart races with the characters. And every now and then a book's characters touch your heart and your own life. The treasure is when you find one that does all of the above. Lisa Harris' book Blood Ransom is such a book. From page one she had me hooked. Her characters are real, her descriptions are vivid, and her action is exciting. This is a clear your calendar book, because you will not want to put it down once you start reading. I give it five stars, and I am stingy with my five star ratings. If you like action, you will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blood Ransom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
I won't try to repeat what others have already said much more eloquently. Instead let me tempt you with snippets from the middle of the book.". . .tribal clashes had already left two hundred dead from fights in the street between the army and the police.Those who could afford it fled the city. Those who couldn't leave hid in their homes, praying that God would save them and bring an end to the conflict. God chose to do neither. . . There was nothing Stephen could have done to save her He had one card left to play, and this time he knew what he had to do."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blood Ransom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Its not everyday that you find a CBA book about such difficult subject. The human slave trade is a real occurrence and so this book gets cool points simply for tackling such a horrific subject. Harris doesnt give us the sugary, dressed-up version of the slave trade. She makes it realistic and I appreciate that.The novel introduces us to Chad and Natalie, both doing humanitarian work in Dhambizao. Both struck me as authentic, God-fearing people. I like the way they struggled with their decisions to do humanitarian work, and their feelings of being overwhelmed with the needs they witnessed. But I did have a problem seeing them swept up into such a huge adventure like they had. I had to suspend my disbelief, but once I did, the story swept me away.Harris does a wonderful job of drawing you into the setting of the story. I felt like Id been transported to Africa. Harris descriptions of the landscape are incredible. She also does a great job of portraying the helplessness and fear of the citizens of Dhambizao. Their plight definitely tugged on my heart strings even though they are not real people. The reason this book did not receive the top rating is that I lost track of the characters several times. I had a hard time remembering which person did what and often had to go back and reread sections of the book. Im not sure how Harris could have clarified who did what, but that fact did slow down the reading a bit. Flow is very important to me as a reader, so I have a hard time enjoying novels that cause me to go backwards. But for those who dont mind that fact, this novel is for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blood Ransom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2010
Lisa Harris has written a gripping story of politics and intrigue set in the volatile country of the Republic of Dhambizao. Natalie Sinclair is on a 2 year tour of mercy helping to teach the citizens about basic health knowledge like washing hands to stop the spread of germs in an effort to help stop sickness. When she meets Joseph Komboli, a 15 year old boy that serves as her translator for awhile, her destiny is changed. He finds her after he heads home for a visit and stumbles upon the Ghost Soldiers destroying his village, murdering and kidnapping his family to take them as slaves to the mines. Then follows a harrowing tale of Natalie and a fellow American, Chad, as they try to help Joseph save his family by proving that the Ghost Soldiers are real. The problem is that there are many people in high places that don't want that proof getting into the proper hands.I could hardly put this book down, it is fast paced and absolutely thrilling. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blood Ransom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene Franklin
Two American volunteers, Natalie Sinclair and Dr. Chad Talcott, stay busy treating the diseases that ravage entire villages in the country of Dhambizao, Africa. With the country on the eve of a national election, they don't need any additional drama in their lives. However, when one of Natalie's village helpers comes to her with proof of slave trafficking and a plot to overturn the upcoming election, they feel compelled to act. The enemy chases them from the jungle down the river to the capitol, leaving a string of deaths behind. Will it take a Blood Ransom to prevent terrorists from taking over their adopted homeland? Lisa lives in Mozambique, where she and her husband serve as church-planting missionaries. Her love and knowledge of the land and its people shines on every page. She has woven a story that leaves the identity of the hero and the villain in doubt until the final chapter. Natalie and Chad's struggle with "why does God allow bad things to happen to His people" reaches new depths in their struggle with an enemy with no regard for human life. In general, I don't find thrillers by Christian authors as compelling as those by secular authors. Blood Ransom is a welcome exception. Pick it up today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blood Ransom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynne Gentry
Compelling, fast-paced, life-changing fiction. Reading this story will cause you to ask, how can I sit back and do nothing?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blood Ransom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Natalie Sinclair is working to help with diseases in Africa and in the village of Republic of Shambizao when she meets a long time school mate of hers, Dr. Chat Talcott. They are both trying to help the people in any way they can.But, someone don't want them to find our what is going on in the country but Natalie is determined to do so.She works with Steve and Patrick but finds out that the two men can not be trusted.She and Chad have a thing going between them and start working together.But someone is trying to stop them from fining out and it is time for a new election for the president. It seems as everywhere they turn they get into trouble or someone gets killed. My thoughts: I really liked this blook and the more you get into it the better it gets. It keeps you wondering who will be next in getting killed and what will happen at the election.One of Lisa's best books I think. So go buy a copy and read all about the turmoil that is going on in Africa.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blood Ransom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty Anne Bantz
The idyllic forest sounds as fifteen-year-old Joseph nears his mountain village in the heart of Africa are a welcome change from the noisy capital he had leftby taxi, by boat, and now by footearlier that day. But screams scatter the raucous birds, and shatter his dreams of home-as-it-used-to-be.Lisa Harris propels us from page to page with non-stop action as American health-educator Natalie Sinclair and missionary doctor Chad Talcott race to free Josephs village from the Ghost Soldiers by exposing their greedy backers.Harris brings Africa to life, its beauty, as well as its seamy side. And she knows the country first-hand. She and her family currently live in Mozambique where they work as missionaries. If you like heart-pumping action with a faith-growing message, you will love all 316 pages of BLOOD RANSOM. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.