Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes

Hendrickson Publishers Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes

A wealth of information---including many words unavailable in other standard reference works---for all who work with the Greek text. Focusing on uncovering the religious and moral meaning of the language of the NT, entries feature transliterations, definitions, extrabiblical parallels, bibliographies, and more. Keyed to Strong's and cross-referenced to Louw and Nida's Greek lexicon. Approx. 1800 pages total, three hardcovers from Hendrickson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
3 out of 560%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Review 1 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

description does not include pertinent information

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
dixmaestro
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a first year seminary student, I purchased this set specifically to use as reference for a particular exegetical paper. Nowhere in the description did it indicate that this is not a comprehensive lexicon and the author picks and chooses only certain words. NOT ONE word that from the passage I am using shows up in this set. Don't know if it is quality work or not - couldn't use it. Could have saved the money and got something that is more useful.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dani
Location:Ontario, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Provides more in-depth understanding of words, but more for the scholar. Find it useful in studies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not your everyday lexicon... More!

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
T Moeller
Location:Round Rock, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a superior value for a rare help in understanding the background and usage of select (not all) greek words that have theological significance in the reading of the NT. Surprisingly, baptize/baptitzo is not in this work... oh, well.
Love the quality and value. Thank you for making this wonderful reference available to us all.
Tom
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

lacks important words

Date:September 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeff
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
so far all of the words I have looked up in this dictionary are not there. I have been studying romans and certain important terms are nowhere to be found. Very unfortunate that a term like "condemnation" (Rom. 8:1) is not in a dictionary.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Clancy
Location:upper midwest
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Same as for review of Old Testament Theological Lexicon. Excellent!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dion Thompson
at first glance this set might seem disappointing. certain words you'd think would be in any lexicon aren't here. you might, as i did, put it back on your shelf. but brothers and sisters, this set is a gold mine. and like any gold mine, you have to do a little digging to find the treasure. and there is much treasure to be found. the amount of information and insight in some of the entries is staggering. spicq takes you through a word's evolution from its secular use to its sacred use. he does this not only as a scholar, but as a man of god. his essay on "phos" -- light -- is remarkable. this is not a set to be skimmed. it requires time, but its rewards are great.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jon Brunson
Too abridged to be really useful to me. Most words I have looked up apparently are deemed of no theological importance.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Albert
I own the libronix version of this product and I give it 5 STARS. It is a great product and when used in conjunction with my other resources that are "hot linked" within the lexicon, I'm able to really squeeze the juice out of this great work. Props to Mr. Spicq for his scholarship and to Mr. Ernest for his excellent translation.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephen Coneglan
Initially, I was disappointed that this set came without the blue dustcovers in the original photo, which photo has now been amended. However, at the CBD price, this set is amazing value for money. An essential tool in NT theology made available at an extraordinary price thanks to CBD.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sherrill Welch
As a layman it is a challange, written for someone with a better background in Greek and Hebrew, I'm sure those schooled in these languages would be quite pleased with the material.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hermes P. Dos Santos
A very useful tool for students and professors of New Testament Greek and Theology in which Author combines depth with concise treatment to each entry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeffrey Hardy I
Excellent resource for the study of orginal language. Through, complete, and easy to use. This product was well worth the expense.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Clifford Newby Jr.
I have only gone through the first book and I can say that it alone is worth what I payed for the set!! If you want to learn Greek this is a must have set for your studies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Renee Cash
I have enjoyed them thus far and only wish I had a set in the old testament as well
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
David Kilpatrick
I just wanted to update my review. First, while Spicq translates ancient quotes, he sometimes throws a quote in untranslated. In my original review I implied he always translates (by contrast, TDNT never translates). Second, the number of footnotes can be VERY distracting to the flow of the text. But the content of those notes is great, so they're tough to ignore. Third, he sometimes is inconsistent in his coverage. For example, adynatos "impossible" is used 10x in the NT. Spicq only discusses one use, at Heb 6:4. Granted, it's a phenomenally helpful discussion, but nine other uses receive no mention. Thus, Spicq should not be your only theological dictionary. On the other hand, to best understand the Greek usage of the NT, you should not be without this. It is far superior in the number of helpful insights per entry than TDNT, NIDNTT, or EDNT. It's also more conservative. A great resource to go along with this is the abridged NIDNTT (see my review on this phonemenal abridgement - you get nearly all the information for a fraction of the price). I just needed to add these clarifications to my earlier review so as not to misrepresent this product. My opinion hasn't changed, Spicq is an outstanding resource!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Theological Lexicon of the New Testament, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
David Kilpatrick
What a gem! I couldn't give it a 5 because there are some important Greek words left out. But despite this one major drawback, it is such a phenomenal resource that I couldn't go as low as 4! By the way, though it leaves out some words, it includes many, many words that are not included in Kittel's Theological Dictionary of the NT (TDNT).The physical features of the book are great - nice bindings and clear, modern typography - a pleasure to read. Spicq made more use of everyday papyri from the ancient world than the other theological dictionaries (users of the new BDAG will see Spicq referenced at the end of many entries!). Like TDNT, Spicq quotes extensively from ancient sources to give you a better feel for the way a given word was used, but his quotes are all in English (TDNT doesn't translate ancient Greek quotes). This is refreshing and very helpful. Spicq is intentionally more theological. But his theological comments emerge from the text and ancient usage and don't stray far from that - thus, they are well grounded theological insights. This is not free flowing theological comment - it is based on all the scholarship and technicalities of the other theological dictionaries, but the more important and relevant points emerge. Next to Spicq, the other theological dictionaries seem a bit bland. There are extensive footnotes, often taking up half the page, that unfortunately breaks the flow of the text. Yet the notes contain great information. The text uses transliteration, but the footnotes use Greek font. Spicq does not provide as much background to each word as Kittel's TDNT, the reason being is that he cuts out all the irrelevant background! This is a more focused treatment for the student of the New Testament. I got my set here at CBD and am delighted with it. I've had my eye on it for about 2 years, but didn't know much about it. I'm so happy I took the plunge.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.