Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Shiloh Autumn

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House Shiloh Autumn

In 1931, Birch and Trudy Tucker face one crisis after another---the Great Depression, severe drought, ruthless bankers, and two boys afflicted with polio. Through it all, Trudy never doubts the Lord's doings, because she knows that he hasn't abandoned her. Will faith lead the Tuckers to a new promised land? Includes study guide. 350 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shiloh Autumn
Review 1 for Shiloh Autumn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the history

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lessie Gallette
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I like historical, factual backgrounds to a story and Brock and Bodie Thoene definitely do that! They are great authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shiloh Autumn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Huge Hit

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
raymondgibson57
Location:Modesto, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In "Shiloh Autumn," the Thoenes once again demonstrate their gift of visual dialog by bringing to life another chapter of American history. From a generation too quickly disappearing, we are granted access to a time and place that has proven instrumental in the shaping of American culture. With gentle strokes of laughter and sorrow Bodie and Brock create a vivid picture of life in the dust-bowl era of the south and midwest. And what a ride! As the drama of bank forclosures hound the humble folks of Shiloh, Arkansas. Birtch and Jefferson join forces with the Bonus Expeditionary Force in a historic march on Washington.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shiloh Autumn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great history as well

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shirley Bartlett
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great read from one of my favorite authors
Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shiloh Autumn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicki
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love everything by Bodie Thoene! This book is especially personal as she tells us about her grandparents and the harshness of life just after the Great Depression. A very moving and well told story! She has included discussion questions at the end of the book which I will be using with my book club next month.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shiloh Autumn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Annette Cymbaluk
This book brings the saga of the Tuckers to a conclusion that is realistic and satisfying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shiloh Autumn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cassie
Inspiring but heart-breaking. Shiloh Autumn tells of the Great Depression, and it sure is a depressing book... but in the midst of that is the promise that God will always be there. It had the works--laughter, tears, and most of all that feeling when you finish it that you can get through anything when God is with you. One of the most interesting books I've read with a plotline that keeps the pace going, like with pretty much any books I have read from Bodie Thoene.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shiloh Autumn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2007
Great book, but pretty sad. I completely enjoyed reading "Shiloh Autumn", it had me crying and laughing as the story progressed, and especially feeling angry and sad as the seasons passed for the Tucker's. Awesome writing (again) by B&B Thoene. An inspiring novel that reminds us of God's faithfulness even in the most difficult times.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shiloh Autumn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Renee Krogsgaard
Great book, you won't be disappointed if you buy this one. The ending seemed a little rushed, but that may be because I didn't want it to end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.