Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Inter-Varsity Press Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies

Inter-Varsity Press Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies

Everyone loves a good story. But the parables of Jesus are a special kind of story. They sneak up on us, catching us off guard. The familiar suddenly takes an unexpected twist, and we find our secret thoughts exposed in the healing light of Jesus. In this guide John White, author of the bestselling book The Fight, helps us explore twelve of the greatest stories ever told.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Review 1 for Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not impressed

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brent Zimmerman
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was expecting a whole lot more from this study guide. There is very little information in this book concerning each parable. I felt the material did not point to Christ the way that I felt any Bible study should. I felt it was very man-centered. I would not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dar Wiersema
Location:Cherokee, Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the lifeguide series several times for our woman's Bible study. We like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

presents familiar stories with deep discussion

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
BrucieCooke
Location:Holland, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not for Sunday School presentations, this study guide introduces the stories that Jesus told about the Kingdom of God with a personal application, then leads deep discussion with clear questions. A bonus section helps leaders keep a group discussion on track. This study will help readers identify with the disciples of Jesus through phases of astonishment, bewilderment, and understanding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
barb
Location:Gibsonburg, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoying this book very much but not finished with it yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Minkus
Studying the parables of Jesus can be very confusing. The help of this book will make it a lot easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
William Thompson
This is a good simple study of several of Jesus' parables. The questions are good and promote group discussion. I recommend it for a short (12 week) study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Blosser
The study guide is concise, providing a good mix of content and application questions. We have found it effective in a small group setting to stimulate thoughtful discussion and open sharing, particularly when individuals prepare in advance of a meeting. If there is one thing that could be added to enrich it further, it would be a bit more background information. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Doris Warncke
The lessons are very interesting and enlighing and provides a greater understanding of the Parables. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia
John White has long been a favorite author so I expected much -- and was not disappointed! My Small group loved this study. Made up of mostly mature Christians and a couple seekers, it spoke to us all and sparked some wonderful discussions and brought some great insights. We were all sorry to see it end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Terry Vining
This is an excellent study for small groups. The lessons have wonderful content. This study is good for anyone regardless of spiritual maturity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Parables, The Greatest Stories Ever Told LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Linda Carver
This is a great book for understanding the Parables of Jesus. We highly recommend it for the beginner or someone who has been studying the Bible for some time. It is an excellent small group study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.