Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Discovery House The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Discovery House The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM

A must for Chambers' admirers. This handsome volume contains all 34 of his books, transcribed by his wife from her verbatim shorthand notes of his messages. You'll find the beloved My Utmost for His Highest, Biblical Psychology, Christian Disciplines, Prayer: a Holy Occuptation, plus his never-before-published notes on Ezekiel and Jeremiah. Includes a searchable CD-ROM.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Review 1 for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an awesome bible study-even for Pastors.

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julia Mckee
Location:Claremore, OK
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy this - read it every day for a wonderful blessing. The Holy Spirit will draw you ever closer to our dear Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
itsmercytime
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No author has spoken to my heart like Oswald Chambers. I have been reading from this collection for 3 years and will reread it constantly. Mr Chambers was nothing short of a genius.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a vital teacher of a true's in the Bible

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
JERM
Location:Lenir,NC.
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oswald Chamber's. Is a minister of deep Biblical truths,as deep as the oceans canyons. HE'S an example of how deep the HolySpirit can take you in knowing Christ Jesus.I never pass up an Oswald Chambers book. This complete wools if an all in all devotional in one,plus the CD-Rom is excellent!!!!!!.It can keep the Deepest Pastor busy 24/7 in deep,rich,study with The Lord!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a special, special work...

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Andy
Location:Singapore
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If I can only have one other book apart from the Bible, it will be Oswald Chamber's Complete Works! I rate this work far higher than any other I have come across, for the way it has transformed and helped me in understanding what it is to be a Christian.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Next to the Bible, this is a must!

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jordan
Location:Tucson, Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have many study aids, but if I could only have two books, I would choose my Bible and this book.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dominique Gill
this is an awesome resource and teaching book both for yourself and for others. I am so glad I bought it. There is much to learn, to meditate about and to digest in this book. This man's wisdom was far beyond his years. I just love it. His wife did a great job putting it together
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeanne Randall
This is one of the most awesome books I have ever begun to read. I keep reading the same portions over and over again because I want to grasp everything he is saying. It will probably take me several years to get through it. I would suggest this book to anyone who wants to have a deeper walk with God.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Thrasher
For many years I have really enjoyed the writings of Oswald Chambers in the book "My Utmost for His Highest;" now I am also loving the tremendous insights of his writings contained in "The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers." How thankful I am to now have a copy of it in my possession! It is excellent!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charles Griffith
I didnt know so much treasure was to be found outside the bible. Truly wonderful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Linda Hemme
I have not had a chance to read this work completely, but I am a great admirer of Chambers works. I have only scanned the book and from what I have seen I know without a doubt I will not be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2003
Customer Avatar
Dusty Parker
If you like "My Utmost for His Highest", "The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers" is probably for you. To be sure, this is one of the best books I've ever read and still read. It is a very long book filled with lots of 'solid food.' Chamber's wife was his stenographer, so the book contains all he ever wrote and everything he ever preached at the Bible college where he taught and anywhere else. He was so in touch with God. His writings encourage worshipping God in Spirit and in truth. Don't hesitate to buy this book. Although he may question you about your walk with God, Chambers never offends, he reinforces and strengthens. I paid $50 for it several years ago and consider it a bargain even at that price. I can't wait to meet this guy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Complete Works of Oswald Chambers, with CD-ROM
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2002
Customer Avatar
Thomas Ewald
UPS just brought this (from CBD, of course) an hour or so ago, and I've already gotten my money's worth! Be warned: Chambers is not afraid to use words of more than one syllable. His writing can be an intellectual challenge, as well as a spiritual one. I'll include a quote, below. I love his use of the phrase, "worship of prayer", as opposed to the prayer of worship. Many today speak of the power of prayer; prayer has no power at all, except that given it by the One to Whom it is addressed. A side note: The accompanying CD-ROM includes a VIDEO interview with Chambers' only child (daughter). Here's one paragraph from Chambers:How many cease from praying by indiscernible, unconscious ways! They are not those who because of intellectual barriers have determined on prayerlessness, or who have abandoned praying in favour of a cherished sin, but those who have ceased praying by more indecipherable ways. The life of God in us is manifested by spiritual concentration, not by pious self-consciousness; pious self-consciousness produces the worship of prayer, which is anti-Christian. This unscriptural piety fixes itself on the actual incidents in such verses as Mark 1:35And in the morning, rising up a great while before day, He went out, and departed into a solitary place, and there prayed, and disproportionately emphasises rising up a great while before day, implying that if this actual early rising were imitated it would produce Christ-likeness in us; whereas our Lord prayed because He was concentrated on God; that is, He did not worship prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.