Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition

Tyndale House Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition

Boys are different! But with pressure to be "gender neutral," many try to mold children into a one-size-fits-all model. Dr. Dobson explains why boys are the way they are, how to understand their emotional and physical development, and the best way to motivate them to become godly men. A Focus on the Family Resource.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
4
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Review 1 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful resourse for all families

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
How2
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was affordable and I purchased an additional copy for a family member. I received my order with-in the same week I placed the order! This book will be a great addition to our family Christian resources.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
not available
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dr. Dobson's book was recommended by a friend, unfortunately I did not find it helpful.
80% book consists of discouraging statics about the state of families, the failure of mothers and (fathers) and boys who have been wronged and hopelessly ruined by their parents and society. When I bought and looked forward to reading this book, I was hoping to find some "time-tested" advice about how to guide and raise our son in the nurture and admonition of the Lord, instead I felt I was dragged through a mire of disheartening statistics.
I would say about 20% of the book does actually contain advice. It comes in two forms: Dr. Dobson's personal advice, which even as a conservative stay-at-home mom, I found much of it to be antiquated and out-of-touch with today's world, and even personally offensive at times. The redeeming portions are quotes that Dobson has included from the writings of other counselors and psychiatrists. Some of these quotes make up the majority of Dobson's chapters. The advice is good and helpful, but it is not written by Dr. Dobson.
I'm very to sorry to say this book, which I had really hoped to find helpful was a great disappointment.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

In the air

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
MelEMel
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A lot of focus on what not to do and threats facing boys. I guess I expected more on what TO do and felt a bit disappointed. Mostly this book ignited anger over how as a society we are anti-male and boys always seem left out in preference to girls. As a mother of three boys, this made me angry in general. Which I suppose would be a good thing if I knew where to go from here with it. Insightful. Definitely changed my perspective and helped me to address issues differently to encourage masculine values. Would recommend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's so good that I bought it for a friend.

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Location:Breaux Bridge, LA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read this book after my mother-in-law suggested it and I borrowed it from her. Then I decided to purchase it for a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very helpful book. I enjoyed reading it and learned quite a lot. The author is easy to understand and points you to the Bible as your guide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
crissy
Location:Prescott, Az
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book, “Bringing up Boys” by James Dobson was insightful and intriguing. This book gave great insight into the way boys think and the reasons behind the way they act. Dobson’s book gives intriguing detail into the “boys will be boys” theory. The detail in the book about the way a boys’ brain is hard wired to think. James Dobson explains how we can teach our boys the qualities that we should be trying to instill in our young males. He explains the effects our society has on our young males. Societal factors such as divorce, homosexuality, absentee parents, and the view of demining masculinity. This book is full of meaningful tips on how to raise a boy in this nation with love and authority. It explains how the role of a mother affects a boy in one way while the role of a father is affects the same boy in a totally different way. A mother will tend to be more affectionate and attentive. A father will tend to be more of a disciplinarian and instructive. The father is more of a protector while the mother is more of a nurturer. This book is a good read for anyone that has a pre-adolescent or adolescent boy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I haven't finished reading it yet.

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrschow
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, this book has be incredibly insightful into why my almost four year old son is so beyond my comprehension most days. I haven't finished reading it yet so I can't rate it excellent, perhaps when I've finished I can rate it higher.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My daughter was quite pleased.

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sher
Location:Hutchinson, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bringing Up Boys" was a gift to my daughter for Christmas. She has a one year old son, and has had questions about proper raising. The first thing that came to my mind was read the Bible. The next thing I thought of is Dr. James Dobson's classic. She has already begun to dig in and discover some wonderful truths.
My daughter-in-law wants a version for girls; I know where to find it.
I would highly recommend this book to others!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book. It goes hand in hand with The Strong Willed Child. I have three boys, this book is like having a manual!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim Nguyen-le
This book is so informative that I should have read this before I had my boys. I would recommend this book to anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Rogers
This was a book for my son and daughter-in-law. My grandson will have good guidence from Dr. Dobson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa Taylor
This is an excellent book! I buy this book for anyone I know who has a boy. It has helped me understand my son (and husband)!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
SaBa
GREAT book! Has helped me with my son. Just bought it for a friend. This website had the cheapest price too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Dougherty
This book was good but not what I expected. It is very statistical and had a lot of hard true facts of how much boys need both their mother and father in their lives but very little direction on the act of raising boys.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Triston Jacobsohn
I have not finished it yet, but it is entertaning and informative. I love the description of boys as, "all afterburner, no rudder!" I can relate. Read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Eckford
This book is amazing to understand you son, in a deeper and godly way, I would definitely recomment it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Boelman
If you have boys, you need this book, excellent read from both mom and dad perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
C. Strong
I appreciate Dr. Dobson's affirmation of traditional family and gender roles. This book also excels in providing a lot of statistical support for these traditional values. The book spends a lot of time identifying some of the challenges in raising godly men in our society. Unfortunately, while the book painted a great picture of the many ways that boys can turn out bad, the book did not offer a lot of specific help on how to actually succeed. I also would have preferred the book's views were derived more from the realm of Scripture than psychology, but that is not surprising given the author's training and background. All in all, it's not a bad read, but there may be better ones out there.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becky Keller
Content is very factual; however, I found it rather "gloom and doom." I was looking for more practical help than the detailed reasons we're in the mess we are in. I pretty well knew that.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bringing Up Boys, Paperback Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Doreen Arnold
My daughter couldn't wait till Christmas for this one, and is currently enjoying it to the max.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>