Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Amish Bride, The - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Amish Bride, The - eBook

Ella Bayer and Ezra Gundy are in love and hope to marry someday, but she is a young Mennonite woman while he is an Amish man. Though both Plain, one of them will have to forsake what they believe to embrace another way of life.

Hoping some distance will cool the relationship, Ezra's family sends him to work at an Amish dairy farm in Indiana. But Ella disregards what her family wants and follows Ezra. In short order she finds a place to live, a job in a bakery, and an unexpected but budding friendship with a handsome Amish farmhand, Luke. When a family tragedy forces Ella back to Pennsylvania, she must face all she's been running away from. And once she has made peace with those around her, she has an important decision to make: Whose Amish bride will she become-Ezra's or Luke's?

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Review 1 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series has a lot of heart.

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maren Moseley
Location:rural PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all four books in this series and I'm reading them again so I better understand how all the characters fit together to make a complete picture of an extended family. The stories contain a lot of history regarding the Anabaptists and contain a unique blend of how the main character in each book finds a piece of their identity. The families face many challenges with strength to overcome due to their faith in God. The main character in the Amish Bride is Ella, a woman of conviction who pursues her goals despite obstacles and cultural biases.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching story of Mennonite girl and Amish family

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ella Bayer, a Mennonite teen with Amish connections, has finished high school and is ready to get on with her life. This includes attending a baking school, with the dream of owning her own bakery one day, and marrying her Amish boyfriend, Ezra Gundy. Family conflicts continue—some introduced in the first two books of the series, The Amish Midwife and The Amish Nanny—with new issues impeding the path Ella has planned.
She avoids her estranged father, deceives her mother, endures separation from Ezra, tolerates humiliation from her teacher, and assists her cousin and new friends as she sorts out her life goals and what God might want. Should she join the Amish church? How can she ever forgive her dad?
Added to the drama of intertwined relationships is the element of suspense Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould skillfully weave into their tales. Ella’s great-grandmother left a journal, partially written in code. Ella endeavors to unravel the meaning behind the drawings and strange writing as she discovers more of her mother’s family history. The lessons learned parallel her own life of joy mixed with pain. Her journey of self-discovery also opens the door to greater sensitivity and understanding of others.
This book can stand alone, but the series is best read in order. The book will be out August 1, so you have time to read the earlier ones. Don’t miss them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thoroughly Wunderbar Book!

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Amish Bride, the reader is swept away to beautiful Amish country -- the picture of idyllic living with blooming daffodils, grazing cows in emerald green pastures, and clean clothes flapping in the breeze -- but underneath the guise of tranquility lie secrets, pain, and betrayal.
Ella Bayer is a lovely, young Mennonite woman who wants only to attend baking school, start her own bakery, and become the wife of her Amish sweetheart, Ezra Gundy. Seeking to separate the two, Ezra's family arranges for him to leave Lancaster County to work at a dairy farm in Indiana, although Ella has made it clear that she is willing to join the Amish church.
Meanwhile, Ella's grandmother gives her a book filled with mysterious codes and secrets, and entrusts Ella to crack the code for reasons of her own. To do so gives Ella the perfect opportunity to go to Indiana with Ezra, where the author of the book had lived, and her mammi has prepaid for her to go to baking school there as well. While there, Ella meets Luke, a shy, but kind Amish man and ends up working in close proximity to him.
Upon discovering that the two of them are together, Ezra's family immediately summon him back home, leaving a heartbroken Ella in Indiana. When a mysterious man shows up in Ella and her family's life, and disturbing secrets come to light -- will Ella stay where she is, or return to Lancaster to become Ezra's wife? Will she crack the code in the book and what are the consequences should she do so?...and if she leaves Indiana what of her friendship with Luke? Have they become more than mere friends?
Ok, I'm ashamed to admit it, but this is the first Amish book by Mindy Clark that I have read and I loved it! Although this is the third book in The Women of Lancaster County series it can be read as a stand alone. Her writing technique (I love how she pays so much attention to detail) and storyline is intriguing -- her characters -- all too human. Interspersed with a thread of suspense, and tough topics such as adultery, spousal abuse, and abandonment, this is one not to be missed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL AMISH FICTION!

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE AMISH BRIDE by Mindy Starns Clark & Leslie Gould is an interesting inspirational Amish fiction set in Lancaster,Pennsylvania. I love these Amish stories and this was no exception. Book 3 in "The Woman of Lancaster County"series,but can be read as a stand alone. Follow Ella Bayer, Ezra Gundy and a farm hand named Luke on a journey of forgiveness,patience,discovery,faith,redemption,healing,friendship,and love.While Ella and Ezra has loved each other for years,and wish to marry,they have one problem,they are of different faith,she is Mennonite and he Amish. I enjoy both of these authors stories and together they make a wonderful team. Their characters a enduring,engaging and will steal your heart. "The Amish Bride" is a story of love and coming home. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Wynn-Wynn Media. Details can be found at the authors' website,Harvest House Publishers and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Amish Bride - Loved It!

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh this book was so good. I couldn’t put it down. I loved “The Amish Nanny” and “The Amish Midwife” but “The Amish Bride” is my favorite so far.
This book begins with the character Ella Bayer. She is very adamant to what she wants in life. She wants to own her own bakery and she wants to marry Ezra Gundy. There is only one problem. She is Mennonite and Ezra is Amish. Ella is willing to become Amish to marry Ezra. It seems that both families would like nothing more than to keep them a part from each other.
Ella does a lot of planning on how to keep her and Ezra together. While she doesn’t come right out and lie, so she thinks, she just eliminates some important facts.
Ella finds out that Ezra is being sent to Indiana to work on a dairy farm. Ella devises a plan that would allow her to spend time in Indiana close by the dairy farm where Ezra is staying.
Will Ella’s plan work out for her? Does she and Ezra end up together? Does Ella become Amish?
This book is filled with a lot of characters. Some were very endearing to me. It would take up too much space to try to write about each one in this review. Besides, I think it would give away too much of the story. You will need to pick up a copy of this book to find out what makes it such a fantastic read!
This book addresses the issue of forgiveness. How often do we hang on to our hurts when we have been wronged? It is so easy to nurture those hurts and not let go. Forgiveness can be a tough issue at times and it isn’t always so easy to readily forgive. This story also shows us the value of letting God be in control of our life. Too often we are in the driver’s seat and we wonder why our life is so messed up.
Thank you Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould for writing a book that is such a good read that you don’t want it to end.
I’m hoping that we see a fourth book in The Women of Lancaster County. I want to find out more about Ella and her future!
I won this book on FaithfulReader.com. Thank you so much for the chance to do so. I have enjoyed this book immensely. The opinions that I shared are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
butterfly2
Location:Fryeburg, ME
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
met my expectations of the Amish novels I love to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story is well done

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Gabriel
Location:Binghamton,NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this author very much. I read all of her books so I would recommend this author to anyone of my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Satisfying conclusion to the series

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GENRE: AMISH ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: HARVEST HOUSE
PUBLICATION DATE: AUGUST 01, 2012
RATING: 4 OUT OF 5 - VERY GOOD
PROS: Ella's character growth is realistic and endears her to the reader; great spiritual lessons about forgiveness and trusting God; good message about marriage
CONS: Wouldn't recommend this to be read as a standalone novel; Ella's immaturity may make her unsympathetic initially
Ella Bayer was raised Mennonite, but since she began dating Ezra Gundy she's become convinced that she will one day join the Amish church so that she can marry Ezra. She thinks she has her entire future planned out - she will get a job, attend baking school, open her own bakery in Lancaster County, then be baptised in the Amish church and marry Ezra. But Ezra's parents interfere with Ella's plans when they announce that they want Ezra to purchase a local dairy farm, and decide that he needs to train in the trade at a dairy outside of Pennsylvania. Ella is convinced that they're scheming to keep her away from Ezra, out of fear that she's a bad influence on their already wild teenage son. But Ella can't help but wish she were leaving Lancaster County herself, since her long absent father has returned and wants to reconcile with her. Not yet ready to forgive the man who deserted her family fifteen years previously, Ella conspires to get herself and Ezra to Indiana, where there is a dairy farm beside her grandmother's old family home. Her grandmother wants her to decode an old family diary and thinks that visiting the family home might help Ella, which fits in perfectly with the Gundy's desire to get Ezra out of Lancaster County. But Ella's carefully constructed plans fall to pieces almost as soon as she and Ezra arrive in Nappanee, Indiana. The family who own the diary farm think that Ezra will be a bad influence on their teenage daughter, with his motorcycle and Mennonite girlfriend, and their fears are confirmed when it becomes apparent that Ella left Pennsylvania without telling anyone of her intentions. Soon Ella finds herself alone in Nappanee, with no job or friends. She had been so certain that it was God's will for her to become Amish and marry Ezra, but is it possible that he sent her to Indiana for an entirely different reason?
I've loved Mindy and Leslie's Women of Lancaster County series since I read the first book, The Amish Midwife, with my book group last year. I hadn't been terribly familiar with either author before this series, but I quickly became a fan of their writing. While the titles and covers of these books might suggest that they're standard Amish romances, the content is so much more than that. Not only do Mindy and Leslie show that the Amish are flawed human beings, who like ourselves, make mistakes and don't always get on with their family and community, but both authors bring a wealth of information about Anabaptist and Amish history into their writing. The combination of family secrets and historical detail contained in the Women of Lancaster County books is what makes them so refreshing and original.
Ella Bayer has been a memorable character right from the start of the series, so I was glad that she finally got a novel of her own. Being significantly younger than the previous two protagonists - Lexie and Ada - it took a bit of adjusting to settle into reading a novel about a nearly eighteen-year-old with such particular opinions about the way her future would pan out. The Amish Bride reminded me a little of Dianne Christner's Something Old, which also had a relatively immature protagonist. I was a little worried that Ella's stubbornness and naiveté was going to make it hard for me to sympathise with her, but it actually endeared me to her in a lot of ways. I could recall the all-consuming desire to just settle down with a husband and family, which sometimes causes young women to overlook the flaws in a man who is truly not suitable for them. While I imagine that some more mature readers may struggle with Ella's rebellious nature and stubborn belief that she knows what is best for herself, I hope that most will be able to remember what it was like to be a romantic eighteen-year-old and appreciate Ella, flaws and all.
I truly did enjoy witnessing the growth of Ella's character, especially when she learned to let go of her carefully constructed plans for the future and trust that God had control of her life. The spiritual messages in this book weren't heavy-handed, but were obvious enough that they made me dwell on whether I trusted God enough with my future. I'm sure this is something all of us struggle with and can relate to. By the end of the book, I still felt that Ella had a lot of growing to do, but I was pleased with how far she'd come over the course of the novel. The scenes in which she finally confronts her father and Ezra made me quite proud of her and how far she'd come.
The mystery/historical aspect of the novel wasn't as prominent or as complex as it had been in the previous two books in the series, but it was enough to grab my attention and make me care about whether or not Ella did manage to translate the code in her great-grandmother's diary. The storyline that revolves around the diary and the reason for Ella's trip to Indiana ties into the family details from the previous two novels a fair amount. While the authors try to do a lot of summing up of the family secrets that had been discovered earlier in the series, I would still recommend starting with The Amish Midwife and moving through the series chronologically. To be honest, even I felt confused reading the sections of the book that attempted to get new readers up to speed with Ella's family history. This book is best appreciated if you're already invested in the lives of the characters.
Unlike the previous two novels, The Amish Bride doesn't delve too much into the Anabaptist history of the family and what brought them to the United States, which is good news for the non-history fans out there, but instead focuses on the lives of Ella's great-grandmother and grandmother and their experiences as wives and mothers. The scene in which Ella finally translates the diary and learns about her ancestors ended up being a lot deeper than I expected, which was a pleasant surprise.
While I would probably class The Amish Bride as a romance novel, it is far more focused on Ella's character development than her finding her future husband. That said, there is a happy, romantic ending, and I liked the way in which the romance was woven into the story. Instead of focusing on courtship rituals or falling in love, as other Amish novels do, The Amish Bride brought attention to the factors you need to consider before choosing a mate, and how you know who is right for you. This novel wasn't so much focused on Ella choosing between two men (although I did appreciate the two love interests, and it took me a while to figure out who Ella would end up with) as it was on Ella figuring out the reasons why she wanted to get married and what was important to her about marriage. This isn't a topic that's approached very often in Amish fiction, so it was quite refreshing to read about.
The Amish Bride was a satisfying conclusion to the Women of Lancaster County series, and although Ella was a very different heroine from those in the previous books, I came to sympathise and connect with her over the course of the novel. I appreciated the blend of romance, mystery, family secrets and character growth that The Amish Bride contained and hope that this will not be the last novel that these two authors work on together. Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould definitely provide a new angle on the Amish fiction genre that would be sorely missed if this were to be the last book they penned together.
Review title provided by Harvest House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very well written

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pinkie
Location:Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed the book but I very much like reading about the Amish people. As for the service you provide it is great. I am always amazed at how quickly the books are delivered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ella and Ezra plan to get married one day but circumstances are drawing them apart. With Ezra being sent away and Ella having feelings for another man will they find there way back to each other?
This is book three is the series called Women of Lancaster. You do not have to read the other books in the series but I would recommend it. You will gain a better understanding of the family dynamics and different characters throughout the book.
I liked the story of the two main characters and how they interacted. I found the conversations in the book to flow well and help move the story in the right direction. The explanation of the differences of the Amish and Mennonite faiths was helpful. The story itself moved quickly and kept me entertained. I did find some of the characters lacking in depth and that is why I gave this book 4/5 stars.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

women of lancaster county

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
jean60
Location:n.c.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the best set of books! i could not put them down. i reread the #1 and #2 again before i started #3 book. all were excellant!!! a must read for all!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love and Finding One's Way in Life

Date:July 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review Summary: When I pick up a book with Mindy Starns Clark as one of the authors I expect to find an intriguing mystery, that keeps me up late at night trying to figure out who the culprit is. This book wasn’t one of those, so I was a little disappointed. This book was a very slow start for me and I struggled getting into the book especially the main character, Ella. I struggle with characters that are manipulative and stop at nothing to get their way. However, I must admit by I cried tears of joy at where the authors brought these characters.
I should also mention here that although this is a book 3 of the series, the book didn’t feel like a continuation. It might have added more for me to have read previous books, but it didn’t make it any less enjoyable.
Digging Deeper: The story opens with Ella visiting her Grandmother who gives her a journal that belonged to Ella’s great-grandmother,Sarah, and she ask Ella to break the code that Sarah used throughout her book. Ella is the primary female character in this book. She’s a headstrong, independent young woman of the Mennonite faith. There is much discussion regarding her faith and the Amish faith of her boyfriend, Ezra. Ella wants to go to school and learn to be a baker, something that is frowned upon by the Amish community and Ezra’s family.
The book provides an interesting assortment of characters from the conservative Amish of Lancaster Count to the slightly more relaxed Amish of Indiana. It was also interesting to see the contrast and comparison of the Amish and Mennonites. The authors did a beautiful job of portraying both groups in a positive light. I loved the Amish pastor that Ella meets in Indiana.
Another aspect of the story was Ella’s relationship with her father. Ella had much to learn and deal with in regards to him and his return to Lancaster County. I think one of the strongest messages of the book comes from this part of the story.
Final thoughts: Although not my favorite book by Mindy Starns Clark, it did have things to offer and I enjoyed it. Some of us (ok maybe me) become adrenaline junkies and need a dead body on the first 3 pages, where this book takes a slower pace. If you enjoy Amish book, I think this is a good one. If you enjoy stories that take a look at history and the importance of finding one’s own way, definitely a winner. If you want dead bodies and high intensity, then you might take a pass.
Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher for the opportunity to read and review this book. I am under no obligation to provide anything but my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Amish Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A sweet story

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Merce
Location:San Juan, PR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a very interesting read. However, although the romance is what first attracted me to this novel, it is not what kept my interest. As the story opens, Ella's grandmother gives her a book, sort of a diary, that Ella's great-grandmother wrote since she was a child, right up until a few days before she died. Some parts of this diary are written in code, and Ella's grandmother is desperate to know what her mother wrote and asks Ella to decipher the code for her, since she has not been able to do so after many years of trying. Now, that got my attention. Not only because of the secrets that were obviously hidden in the diary, but because I wanted to know why Ella's grandmother needed to know what was written there. It is very clear since the beginning that it's not just curiosity: her peace of mind depends on it. I loved that; it intrigued me.
The story is well written; I loved learning more about the differences and similarities between Amish and Mennonites, and how they played out in Ella's and Ezra's romance as well as in the whole family dynamic. But the story is too long. Ella is a nice character but, although she is 17 going on 18 years old, most of the time her voice "sounds" much more older, more mature. What I mean is that it seems as if she was not written with an 18 year old in mind. I've seen this many times but in reverse: an older character that sounds like a teenager. I'm not saying that Ella acted like a mature adult. I'm saying she sounded like one: the choice of words, the phrasing.
I had mixed feelings about the romance (not in a bad way). Sometimes I loved Ezra. Other times, it amazed me how Ella could be in love with him. Luke, on the other hand, was so sweet and quiet that I sometimes wanted to shout "Speak up!" I really wanted Ella to pick one specific boy, but, strangely, I never stopped rooting for the other. Quite interesting. Both love interests were very well written, as well as Ella's mother, grandmother and brother.
It's a sweet story of love, forgiveness, faith and trusting God to lead us to what's best for us. It is the third book of a series, so there are many characters and a long family history behind it. It can stand alone, but read as a series should give the reader a better understanding of the family.
3 1/2 stars
*I received a copy of this book from Harvest House Publishers through NetGalley in exchange of an honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.