Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Angel of the Cove - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Angel of the Cove - eBook

Anna Prentiss has never wanted to be anything but a nurse. Before she can start school in New York, however, her brother sends her to Cades Cove, deep in the Smoky Mountains, to spend a summer apprenticing to the local midwife. Anna is determined to prove herself and then head to the big city.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Review 1 for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Angel of the Cove

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angel of the Cove is a great reminder of how people lived in those days in the mountains. I felt a connection with the characters. I even found myself tear up a few times. I really enjoyed Angel of the Cove. Actually, I enjoyed it so much, I ordered the second book in the series. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Angel Of The Cove by Sandra Robbins

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Favorite Scene:
He motioned for Anna. "Follow me."
They walked a short distance up the creek bank until they came to a spot where the limestone formations branched out into the water. The trail climbed at this point across the rocks, and Anna viewed the path with uncertainty.
Simon reached his hand out toward Anna. "Come on. There's a great view of the creek from up here."
Anna hesitated. "It's too steep. I don't think I can make it."
He continued to hold his hand out to her. "I'll pull you up, but be careful. The moss on the rocks makes it slippery.
She grabbed his hand, and he gripped her fingers. With careful steps he guided her to the top of the outcropping until they stood looking down to the water eight feet below. He released her as she looked around, her eyes wide.
"It feels like we're alone in the world, doesn't it?"
He stared at her, unable to make himself look away. "I wanted to bring you here to see this, Anna." She tilted her head and looked into his eyes. He swallowed. "I told you about my parents the day you were at John and Martha's, how my grandfather didn't want my mother to stay in the Cove. She wanted to stay, but she hated to defy her father. My father brought her here to see Abram's Creek. He thought if she fell in love with the beauty of the cove, she'd never leave him.
Anna let her gaze drift over the rocks and the tumbling water below them. "It worked because you and John are still here."
"Yes, we're still here."
She turned to him. "Thank you for bringing me to a place so special to your parents. I think this is my favorite place in the Cove too. I'll never forget it."
He'd failed again. He thought maybe the magic that Abram's Creek had worked on his mother would also work on Anna, but it hadn't. His chest tightened at the thought the he would probably never be here with her again. He had nothing left to convince her to stay.
"We'd better go," He said.
She nodded and turned to leave. Without warning her foot slipped on the wet rock and she lurched forward. He grabbed her and jerked her back before she toppled over the edge to the creek below.
He pulled her close and wrapped his arms around her shaking body. His heart pounded in his chest and he tighted the embrace. Her cheek lay next to his mouth, and he whispered in her ear. "You scared me."
Her shaking arms went up to encircle his neck. "Thank you, Simon. I would have gone over if you hadn't caught me."
He pulled back from her and gazed down into her face. She returned his stare with unblinking eyes. Suddenly he didn't care if she was leaving or not. This was the woman he loved, and he wanted her to return his love.
"Anna, I've tried to just be your friend, but I don't think I can."
Her lips trembled. "Simon..."
He tightened his arms around her. "Anna, you belong here in Cades Cove with me. I can't believe God brought you hear without there being a purpose in it."
Tears stood in her eyes. "Simon..."
He clenched his teeth. "You don't want to go to New York, and you know it. You're commited to something you decided when you were a child. Well, you're a woman now. You can make your own decisions, Anna."
She closed her eyes and a tear trickled out of the side. Then she took a deep breath and stared up at him. Her arms tightened around his neck.
His eyes went to her mouth, and his lips descended toward hers. She lifted her head, welcoming his kiss.
Meet The Characters:
Anna Prentiss: A dreamer since childhood, Anna has always wanted to become a nurse. Her determination to make it happen is obvious to everyone around her. She is a strong woman and takes on every challenge that comes her way. As tough as life is in the Cove, Anna proves she is tougher. A woman of faith, Anna only needs to learn to hear God and let him guide her in His plan for her instead of trying to make her own way.
Simon Martin: Even though Simon is a man of strong faith he struggles with self doubts. He questions God about His plan for the life he seems to be called to live, even though his dreams are leading him in another direction. Simon is loyal, trustworthy and always there for the community of Cades Cove.
Granny: The local midwife of Cades Cove, Granny is held in very high esteem by the members of the community. Her skills as a midwife is well known and her talent for teaching is respected by Anna. Granny is struggling with secrets of her own and relies on God to provide whatever she may need to survive daily life in the Cove.
My Thoughts:
This is a story I really looked forward to reading because it is set in the Great Smokey Mountains, practically my favorite place in the world. I fell in love with them when I was a child and that love has only grown since that time. I remember the ramshackle cabins dotting the beautiful hillsides that never seemed to end. Sandra Robbins captured that perfectly in Angel Of The Cove. The detail she used to describe the birthing process in the 1800's was very informative. I learned alot about midwifery that I never knew and it gave me a new respect for both the midwife and the mother.
The love story between Anna and Simon was beautiful but, often times, repetitive. They would draw close and then Anna would push them apart. I wanted to shout at her to "Give in already!" but, of course, I couldn't. The one thing that slowed down my reading time was the "slang of the cove". There was such a pronounced accent in the writing style that I found myself picking my way through sentences slowly. This may not bother some but it was a tiny snag in things for me. Other than that, I found the story to be enjoyable. I will be reading the other books in this series later on so that says something for the quality of the book. I did like this book and, if you want a good story for some summer reading, I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth Snow
Location:Spiro, ok
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book, we were at Cade's Cove and I enjoyed seeing the barn they discribed in the book. A great book to understand how things were done in earlier times. I give it a five star rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Romance

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A sweet mountain romance.
This was a sweet relaxing read. I enjoyed the author's gentle style of writing, which was perfect for such a sweet tale.
My favorite character was Simon, because I thought that he was very well written, from the very first time he popped onto the scene I felt that I understood him.
I admired Anna's determination to prove herself to her brother, especially since she chose a remote mountain community to do it!
I thought that this story had a great message about trusting your future to God--something that we all know is hard to do!
Overall, this was a book with many characters and a nice community feel to it. There were times when I felt that the book moved a bit slow for my taste, but I thought that it was very well written. I liked the way that Simon and Anna's relationship moved along, and a loved how looks weren't the only thing that made the first impression :) I book that is great for lovers of sweet romance, who like a few things to think about :)
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
annie
Location:dearborn, mi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a lover of the Smokies & Cades Cove I loved the story. I lived it as I read & stayed up way to late because I simply couldn't put it down!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding Oneself

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read in July, 2012
We begin this book with Anna Prentiss and her Uncle Charley heading into the Smokey Mountains to the Community of Cades Cove, TN. Nothing has prepared Anna for the beauty she is experiencing...she is heading her to fulfill her reluctant commitment to her brother. Since her Dad has passed her brother Robert is in charge of the families finances.
Anna has been accepted into the new Nursing Program at Bellevue Hospital in New York City. In order for her to be able to attend she must get a good report to her brother from Granny...Mrs Lawson.
The description of the area sounds so wonderful and made me think of where the Walton's lived! When she arrives Granny and the Preacher Simon are at the house to greet her. She is so afraid she is going to fail. You will fall in love with these Mountain people! They are reserved and leery of strangers, but soon warm up to Anna. I really enjoyed how she interacted with these people, and came to understand their ways.
You find God's Hand on these delightful people, and you find Anna trying to do her own will, and not God's. She has been so blessed with Healing Hands, and I adored her interaction with the children. You will wonder to the end how things are going to turn out...and I mean to the very last pages of this great book.
Don't miss this sweet book to get lost into!
I received this book from First Wildcard Blog Tours and the Publisher Harvest House, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It expressed love, compassion and hope

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie
Location:Sheffield, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book, it reminded me so much of "Christy"
by Catherine Marshall. It was real and conforting. It
was the type of book that I each page I read, I regretted
because I knew that I was closer to the end and I really
wanted it to go on forever. I am anxiously waited for #2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3.5 Stars for this Intriguing Read

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandra
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Angel of the Cove is not for the faint of heart. In order to fulfill her lifelong dream of becoming a nurse, Anna Prentiss must apprentice with an elderly midwife in the Smokey Mountains of Tennessee before her brother will agree to pay for her schooling in NY. I found the descriptions of the herbal remedies and Anna's midwifery work very intriguing. But wow, I don't think I'd want to read the book if I was expecting a baby! Robbins doesn't shy away from showing the hardships these people faced. I enjoyed spending time with these characters, but I have to admit that the love story didn't grab me until about two-thirds of the way through the book. At the beginning there was an immediate attraction on both sides that made the romance seem inevitable. Then when the hero pulled back to protect his heart, he didn't act very heroic. Once they both started working toward a common goal, for me the love story really came to life. I must add that I loved how Robbins depicted and used a secondary "love" story within the book, that of a woman and her alcoholic husband, to reveal the depths of abiding love to the heroine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Liked it well enough

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
3.5 Stars
Anna has had one dream since she was a little girl and that was to be a nurse. The only thing standing in her way is her brother who took over as head of the family when her father died. He will allow her to go to nursing school only if she spends the summer in a small Smoky Mountain community called Cades Cove working with the local midwife. At first she feels like an outsider but slowly with the help of Granny(the midwife) and the cute preacher Simon she comes to love the Cove.
From the minute Simon laid eyes on Anna he knew she was someone special and maybe the one person he could love. Anna feels it too but is determined to prove to her brother that she is ready to be a nurse and does not want to let love get in the way of her dreams. Will she be able to listen to God to find out where he really wants her?
This was a sweet book set in the beautiful back drop of the Smoky Mountains.
What I liked: I really enjoyed the characters. Granny and Simon along with all the Cove people made me not want to leave their home. I also really liked the storyline of following Gods will for our lives and how its important to give our lives to him so we can know his plan.
What I did not like: This book was slow going at first and even a little boring at times. The plot just could have used a little more meat to make this book great.
Over all this was a good book and the ending was predictable but well written. I just felt the middle of the book could have used a little more excitement. I am looking forward to coming back to the Cove with the future books of this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average Great Smoky Mountains Christian Historical

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anna Prentice has her life planned out, and is sure that those are God's plans too.
She has always wanted to be a nurse, and has been accepted into nursing school in Bellevue, New York. Her brother, Robert, sees this as a potential drain on the family's resources and is reluctant to let her go even though their father had approved. But he has died, and Robert is now head of the family and gets to make those decisions. Fortunately for Anna, Uncle Charles comes to her rescue with an opportunity to spend the summer working with Granny Lawson, the midwife in the remote Smoky Mountains settlement of Cades Cove. Robert has agreed that Anna can attend school if Mrs Lawson gives her a good report.
At Cades Cove, she meets Brother Simon Martin, a young man who grew up in the Cove and who is now the community minister, despite his own early dreams of being a pastor in a large city church and leading hundreds of people to Jesus. Simon is challenged by the instant attraction he feels towards Anna, and the attraction is mutual. But Anna and Simon will have to reconcile her desire to move to New York for nursing school with his place preaching in the Cove.
The beginning of Angel of the Cove is reminiscent of the plot of Christy, Catherine Marshall's famous novel that lends its name to the Christy awards for Christian fiction. It has the young woman going alone to work with the people of the Great Smoky Mountains, the older mentor and the handsome young minister, although it is missing the enigmatic doctor (in this case, the doctor is Anna's uncle, and there is no ‘other man’ to choose between).
Anna is a bit too good to be true. There is a suggestion at the beginning of the book that she is too concerned with her own plans, but apart from that, she is perfect. The children love her, and even the ones with a reputation for mischief like and obey her. Anna comes across as rather immature, and Simon isn't much better. Although it is obvious that he has fallen for Anna, I never really understood why, beyond the immediate attraction of her pretty face and nice clothes. I would have hoped that the hero in a Christian novel was not so shallow, especially when he is a preacher.
Overall, this wasn’t a bad book. It just wasn’t that good. The opening didn’t capture my interest, I didn’t find the primary characters engaging, it took a long time to get going, the courtship was too fast and the ending was predictable, rushed and not quite believable.
Thanks to Harvest House and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Beautiful Story Set in a Majestic Place

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this inspiring tale Sandra Robbins takes us to the breathtakingly beautiful Cades Cove, Tennessee. I was very excited to read this as I have traveled several times to this magnificent place. Sandra does a wonderful job describing the beauty of this area.
Since childhood Anna Prentiss has felt God leading her to be a nurse, if only she could convince her brother to let her go to New York to study, Since her Father passed away her brother Robert has been in charge of looking after Anna. Robert thinks that Anna is not responsible enough to be a nurse. After talking to their Uncle Charles, who is a doctor in the mountains of Tennessee, Robert agrees to let Anna spend the summer with Matilda Lawson, better known to everyone in Cades Cove as Granny Lawson. Granny is the one all the coves people come to in emergencies, whether it is a broken bone, a sick child or the birth of a baby. Uncle Charles thinks this will a good experience for Anna and Robert tells her if she can do a good job helping Granny he will agree to let her go to New York.
The day that Anna arrives she meets the local pastor, Simon Martin. They quickly become close friends. Simon is a man that Anna could one day find herself falling in love with, but her dream of going to New York stands in the way.
Anna is concerned that she won’t be excepted by the close knit community but the more she helps Granny the more everyone loves her and the more Anna sees of this beautiful place the more she wonders perhaps she should stay. When the time comes to leave will Anna be able to sever the ties Cades Cove has on her heart? Will she be able to leave the man she loves behind?
This was a heart-warming story that Sandra has woven, so it was easy to lose yourself in it. The way in which Sandra describes this marvelous area you will feel you are right there with Granny and Anna. I thoroughly enjoyed being taken back to an unforgettable place, thank you Sandra for a job well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Angel of the Cove - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Historical Book!

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Description:
Anna Prentiss has never wanted to be anything but a nurse. Before she can start school in New York, however, her brother sends her to Cades Cove, deep in the Smoky Mountains, to spend a summer apprenticing to the local midwife. Anna is determined to prove herself and then head to the big city.
My Thoughts:
I really enjoyed this book. Possibly because my family and I just visited Cades Cove last year. My husband and I love history and Cades Cove is full of unique beauty and impressive historical sites. I was able to fully picture the setting in my head while reading this book.
The characters are well-developed and the story is well-written. Sandra Robbins brings these families to life through descriptive words and pages full of feeling, excitement, tragedy and faith.
The families in the Cove were very close, they helped each other, they lived simply and they appreciated the beauty around them. It was fun to read a book that portrayed these characteristics.
I look forward to reading more in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.