Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook

Thomas Nelson Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Review 1 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennifer M
Location:Phoenix
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Jesus didn't just send a message to man through yet another prophet. Instead, he dropped a staircase from heaven so that he can walk with us, touch us, talk to us, feel like we feel, hurt as we hurt, struggle as we struggle, and eventually help us get to where we ought to be - in the presence of God again." ~ Johnnie Moore
Dirty God, by Johnnie Moore, strives to introduce its readers to the human side of Jesus. No longer just a holy man to be viewed and worshipped from a distance, Jesus becomes the man of the people... someone who walked the walk, got down in the trenches, and got his hands dirty. A man who mingled and loved and befriended the lowest members of society, and a man who modeled exactly the sort of behavior he expected from us as his followers.
With a casual and conversational style, Moore talks to us about the meaning of grace, in a way that I don't think I've ever seen before. He strips down the gospel to its core, and reminds us of its simple and profound truth: Jesus was a man who brought grace for His people, who wants us to let go of our own hindrances, pick up our own crosses, and follow him... no matter where He may lead.
I really enjoyed this book, and found its message both relatable and inspiring. While the biblical information it contained was not exactly anything new, it was presented in a fresh and unique way, making it perfect to reach new and seeking believers, or just those who are feeling stagnant in their faith. Dirty God takes you beyond mere Christianity, into what it really means to follow Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is well written

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:ON, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In Johnnie Moore’s book, “Dirty God”, he presents a refreshing view of the life of Christ and those he spent His time with. Through various stories and examples, the author portrays an inspiration view of how Jesus was not afraid to reach out to those who were neglected by most. Johnnie Moore desires to show how Jesus was not the untarnished, clean and upright man that many people think of. He got down and got dirty. Moore emphasises that Jesus was neither afraid to stretch the status quo, nor to challenge those claiming to be righteous.
After reading through Dirty God, I was refreshed at reading practical view of grace and the relational aspect of Christ. As I read, the author kept me engaged using an interactive writing style and various fetching stories. Moore involves the reader in the story, not concerning itself with the past, but focusing on the reader as being acceptable. Yet, it must be said that though this is reader friendly, it lacks a little more of an educational perspective. Being a little more versed in biblical truth, I enjoy a more in depth look at meanings and such. However, for the average reader this comes much recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Dirty God Jesus in the Trenches
By Johnnie Moore
Published by Thomas Nelson
Average Blogger Rating: 4.24 Stars
Book Description
In Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches, Johnnie Moore draws on both Scripture and his extensive experience with other cultures and religions to show how the God of the Bible is unique in his willingness to be near us in all of our messiness. Moore outlines the central importance of the doctrine of grace while introducing readers to a humble and human Jesus who reaches out to us at our worst and pulls us up to our best.
Grace, Moore argues, is something that is both gotten and given, and the two-part structure of the book allows readers to explore both of these dynamics. By offering hope rather than condemnation and showing the practical applications of grace in today’s world, Dirty God will appeal to both the committed Christian and the spiritual seeker looking for a more authentic faith. Challenging and engaging, Dirty God is sure to establish Johnnie Moore as an emerging voice for Millennial and Gen-X evangelicals for years to come.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Grace Made Understandable, Useful, and Possible

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
DanB
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read Johnnie Moore’s Dirty God in one sitting, which is incredible since I am in school, working part time, and juggling many responsibilities. While this book is packed with captivating stories, it stands out by clearly explaining one of the most often heard phrases in Christianity: grace. Johnnie is just the sort of guide to lead readers in the cause and need for grace by using humor, powerful writing, and experience. Profoundly important, Dirty God is perfect for the person who has forgotten, or never knew, the amplitude of grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Reminders

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
sfhiers
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a great reminder of what the foundation of our faith is about. The inability to earn the favor of the God of the Bible is one of the most significant differences between Christianity and every other world religion. The ability to receive and give grace is a life-long journey that cannot be understated, and this book gives many historical, experiential/personal, and account from literature of grace and its tremendous importance in the daily life of a Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dirty God is EXCELLENT!!

Date:December 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kelsey Baker
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If I could only have one book on my shelf, it would be “Dirty God.” Grasping God’s grace is the most important aspect to Christianity. It is the thing that separates us from all other religions, from having to live in guilt and shame, and from living a legalistic life. Grace produces freedom, joy, and delight! Johnnie Moore is an excellent writer with a unique perspective due to his many travels around the world. His stories draw you in, and the truth of God’s word permeates every page. I would highly recommend this book to everyone I know!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Grace

Date:December 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brent
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dirty God by Johnnie Moore is absolutely amazing! I highly recommend it to anyone interested in understanding more about who Jesus is and what He means for us. Moore shows us how God wasn’t afraid to “get His hands ‘dirty’” as He came down to earth to be like us in Jesus. He gives such a beautiful description of God and the grace He displayed through Jesus in this book, and it is truly life changing. After reading this book, I will never look at Jesus, Who He is, and the sacrifice He made for us in the same way again. Moore really challenges our view of grace – what it means to first get it, and then to give it – and how this world is in desperate need of people who give grace like Jesus does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling Grace

Date:December 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
cimberly
Location:lynchburg, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches, Johnnie Moore beautifully reminds us that the Christ we trust and serve as King was not exempt from knowing, feeling, and experiencing the suffering of the human condition. While maintaining His perfect human existence on this earth, Jesus went where others were not willing to go; He touched the untouchable, reached the unreachable, and loved the unlovable. Jesus was willing to get His hands dirty, and by doing so, gave us the chance to be cleansed from the fatal condition we know as sin. Through Moore’s compelling compilation of personal stories and travel experiences, he points us back to the concept that characterizes Jesus’ entire being: that of grace. By grace Christ took on flesh, healed the broken, and ministered to the poor and weary. And by grace He allows us to know Him intimately, rejoice in His goodness, and continue the work that He began in the trenches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

encouragement to live a life of grace

Date:December 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Johnnie writes, “I believe we are on the cusp of a revolution that will change the world and this revolution will be a grace revolution.” That's why he wrote this book.
The first part of this book is about God's grace. From the story of Elijah, Johhnie shows God cares about his people and wants to know them. Jesus touching lepers shows that God does not keep his distance from a messy world.
It was grace that brought Jesus to earth. It was grace that Jesus lived among the lowly, recruiting working class people to change history.
The second part of the book is about giving grace. Christians have the responsibility and privilege to share this grace. We are to live as people of grace. Grace is not to be cheapened. He shows how desperately the world needs grace.
Johnnie asks, What if Christians began to live a lifestyle of grace as wildly as Jesus did? Giving grace will cost you, he says, but the stakes are high.
Johnnie has high hopes for a grace movement among Christians. I hope this book will inspire readers to live grace as wildly as Jesus did.
Johnnie includes a combination of Bible illustrations and stories from his own adventures. His own stories detracted from the overall message of the book, I felt.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Real Look at God-given Grace

Date:December 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melissa Norton
The grace this book talks about is a grace that can only be described through the Gospel. Johnnie Moore describes how grace is both given and gotten. Grace has been given to all humans everywhere and this book shows how God has shown grace throughout the world by getting involved and showing His Sovereign Hand. Moore uses real situations, real people, and his own life experiences to show how he has seen the Lord's grace given to people all around the world. A book makes me think of grace in a real, tangible way as something that can be obtained by anyone willing to receive it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
jess
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I really enjoyed reading Johnnie Moore's book Dirty God. The title itself was captivating to me and wanted me to continue on to know what he meant by this title. I am a visual person and Johnnie really captured me in the stories of his own life experiences, making me feel I am there experiencing it too. It is a raw book and I just loved it. I would recommend it to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dirty God contains a life-changing message

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you loved Johnnie Moore's first book, "Honestly", you will not be able to put "Dirty God" down. This book cuts to the deepest parts of your heart and challenges you to show the same kind of grace that Jesus showed. Moore clearly explains the radical acts of Jesus and relates them to his funny and intense life experiences. By reading this book, you will understand the amazing grace of God to the people on earth. My copy of "Dirty God" is completely covered in underlines, notes, and highlights because of its wise and deep words from Johnnie. I can honestly say that my life has been changed because of the meaning of grace that Johnnie defines in this book. If you have a heart for the broken, the poor, and the needy, or if you desire to have a greater compassion for them, "Dirty God" will not disappoint!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just Like Grace, Dirty God is for Everyone

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wilberforce91
Location:Lynchburg, VA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so thankful for Dirty God. Johnnie Moore does an outstanding job of allowing his readers to understand what it means to receive and give God’s grace, which is something, even as a Christian, I find tough to do more often than not. He does this by taking his readers to the roots of grace – the life of Jesus Christ and through that underscoring the true meaning of grace, all the while interweaving stories from his childhood in the rural Carolinas, his trips to India, Africa, and elsewhere, and his interactions with people across the globe. It is this ability to take a subject like grace – that has so many different connotations to people across the world – and distill it down to its basic parts so that we as people might understand and respond to it, that makes Johnnie Moore such a skilled communicator. I encourage you, read this book! No matter if you’re a mature Christian, a wandering skeptic, or a devoted Hindu or Muslim this book is, just like grace, for all people. Read it, be blessed by it, and respond to it. You’ll be glad you did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simple yet intelligent

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
brandi leigh
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Dirty God” was a book I actually enjoyed reading. I never had to re-read something because it did not make sense the first time. Johnnie Moore cut straight to the issue at hand, and made a relevant case about why Christ is different than all other gods in all of the many religions that are in the world. It was simple to read and the author provided real life illustrations as well as biblical insight to help support what he was writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hapardue
Location:Virginia
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dirty God is a cry for this generation to understand and revel in God’s beautiful grace. Moore does not simply pull on Christians emotional heart strings, but calls for a rally around the gospel to proclaim the good news to the ends of the earth. This book will challenge those at any stage in their relationship with God to take a step closer into his mission. Christians will never view God’s radical grace through Christ the same again; causing the reader to jump into the trenches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!!!

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnDeereGirl
Location:Plainfield, Indiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always known that Christ was gracious. Yet at the same time I did not realize just how saturated by grace his life and ministry were! Dirty God brings our attention to the extreme grace of Jesus Christ from the time of his birth to his resurrection, and then calls us to that same level and life of grace towards others.
The first half of this book is on Christ giving grace to ourselves and others. It discusses how every aspect of Christ is gracious, even when that grace hurts. It discusses how we tend to have an entitlement mentality, which lessens our view of God’s grace, and perhaps even cause us to miss it!
The second half of the book follows the thought that since we have received the grace of God, we ought to extend that same grace to others in our lives. He shares how grace can be big, grace can be small, can go unnoticed, can change a life… can be hard.
I thought that this book was GREAT. It opened my eyes to aspects and details of the scripture that I too often look over without much thought. It caused me to examine my own life, to see where grace lacks (which was very convicting) and seek how to live out Christ’s grace to others around me.
I also really liked Moore’s writing style. He writes in a very easy-to-read way, with amazing illustrations and threads of humor woven in (which not only made it a beneficial read, but an enjoyable one, too!). I didn’t have to force myself to read, but was excited to come back to the book.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this book. I really had no complaints. I found it to be an enjoyable, yet eye-opening read that would greatly benefit any Christian who is seeking to better understand Christ’s grace, or apply it to their own lives!
Note: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. However, my opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I was really excited to see this book being offered because Johnnie Moore is a campus pastor at the university I go to, Liberty University, fantastic school by the way!
This book is challenging yet so real! I'm so glad to have got this book, because it seems like anymore, people are trying to just live their lives and go to church on Sunday. A relationship takes more than 1 hour a week. This book helps get back to the basics.
It is a great book for both new Christians and people who have been believers for many years, also non believers. This book is a real eye opener, way to go Johnnie!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.