Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Right Where I Belong - eBook

Thomas Nelson Right Where I Belong - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Right Where I Belong - eBook
Review 1 for Right Where I Belong - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Clean Teen Read!

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol Gehringer
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right where I belong / by Krista McGee
HS Grades 7-12 Rating: 4
Krista McGee presents another well-written contemporary young adult novel, loosely based on the biblical story of Ruth and Boaz.
In [[ASIN:1401684904 Right Where I Belong]], teenaged Natalia moves to the United States with Maureen, an American who married Natalia’s dad while working in Madrid. Due to their closeness in age and shared faith, Maureen is more a friend than a stepmother. When her dad announces his divorce to Maureen, Natalia accompanies her back to America. Her dad supports the move because it will look good on her resume. Her parents want her to become a successful businesswoman. Natalia leaves behind her culture, her country, her best friend, but not her new faith.
As she encounters challenges, Natalia is tempted to return to Spain. Maureen begins looking for a job while Natalia enrolls in high school. Maureen’s pastor and his son Brian help them get settled. Maureen struggles in her faith while trying to adjust to life as a divorced woman. Brian and Natalia become friends, even though wealthy Spencer tries to impress Natalia.
Addy (from McGee’s [[ASIN:B009F7R2XM First Date]]) befriends Natalia, and Brian invites the girls on a mission trip to Costa Rica. Spencer, Natalia, Brian, and Addy go on the mission trip together, and it has a significant on all of them, especially Spencer.
Teens will easily relate to Natalia and the other main characters. Natalia struggles with adapting to a new country, as well as learning more about the Christian life. Natalia has to balance what her parents want for her life and what she is discovering that God may want. As it becomes clear that her heart’s desire is to be a teacher, she has to deal with her parents’ expectations.
Though there is an attraction between Natalia and Brian, they have a clean romance similar to McGee’s earlier books – the teens recognize their attraction but choose to move slowly in their relationship and let God lead them.
Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Right Where I Belong - eBook
This review is fromRight Where I Belong.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A clean teen read!

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol Gehringer
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right where I belong / by Krista McGee
HS Grades 7-12 Rating: 4
Krista McGee presents another well-written contemporary young adult novel, loosely based on the biblical story of Ruth and Boaz.
In [[ASIN:1401684904 Right Where I Belong]], teenaged Natalia moves to the United States with Maureen, an American who married Natalia’s dad while working in Madrid. Due to their closeness in age and shared faith, Maureen is more a friend than a stepmother. When her dad announces his divorce to Maureen, Natalia accompanies her back to America. Her dad supports the move because it will look good on her resume. Her parents want her to become a successful businesswoman. Natalia leaves behind her culture, her country, her best friend, but not her new faith.
As she encounters challenges, Natalia is tempted to return to Spain. Maureen begins looking for a job while Natalia enrolls in high school. Maureen’s pastor and his son Brian help them get settled. Maureen struggles in her faith while trying to adjust to life as a divorced woman. Brian and Natalia become friends, even though wealthy Spencer tries to impress Natalia.
Addy (from McGee’s [[ASIN:B009F7R2XM First Date]]) befriends Natalia, and Brian invites the girls on a mission trip to Costa Rica. Spencer, Natalia, Brian, and Addy go on the mission trip together, and it has a significant on all of them, especially Spencer.
Teens will easily relate to Natalia and the other main characters. Natalia struggles with adapting to a new country, as well as learning more about the Christian life. Natalia has to balance what her parents want for her life and what she is discovering that God may want. As it becomes clear that her heart’s desire is to be a teacher, she has to deal with her parents’ expectations.
Though there is an attraction between Natalia and Brian, they have a clean romance similar to McGee’s earlier books – the teens recognize their attraction but choose to move slowly in their relationship and let God lead them.
Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Right Where I Belong - eBook
This review is fromRight Where I Belong.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Christian Young Adult Novel

Date:February 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third and final book in Krista McGee’s series for teenage girls (following First Date and Starring Me), and I’ve enjoyed all of them (even though I’m a more than a little out of the target age range). They are well-written, with interesting characters and a solid Christian message. The first two books were quite focused on the modern celebrity culture, but Right Where I Belong has more of a focus on day-to-day life, albeit in the cultural test-tube of an American Christian high school (which isn’t exactly representative of normal life for most of us, any more than reality TV is).
Right Where I Belong is loosely based on the biblical story of Ruth, which is immediately obvious when Natalia decides to go with her stepmother from Spain to Florida when her womanising father divorces Maureen to run off with a younger model. Maureen is bitter and depressed by the failure of her marriage, and is embarrassed to have to return to her home town, divorced and unemployed.
Natalia is thrilled to be going to a Christian school so she can learn more about her new faith, but is challenged in her personal resolution not to date, especially when she attracts the attention of the most popular boy in school—but she is more attracted by Brian, the pastor’s son…
A possible criticism is that Natalia is too perfect a character for teens to relate to, but (parent that I am) I prefer to see this as a positive role model for teenage girls to aspire to. And I know teenagers like this. It’s not an impossible ideal – working hard in school and trying to maintain purity in a fallen world is difficult, but it can be done.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson and Booksneeze® for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Right Where I Belong - eBook
This review is fromRight Where I Belong.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Engaging read

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Right Where I Belong, by Krista McGee, follows Natalia Lopez as she makes the decision to leave Spain and follow her ex-stepmother, Maureen, to Tampa, Florida, after her father's divorce. Maureen has led Natalia to a faith in Jesus, and Natalia has no other Christian support system remaining in Spain. Both her father and her mother support the idea of her departure, saying it will look good on her college applications to attend a high school in the States. Once Natalia arrives, however, her new friends and the education she's receiving at a small Christian high school may lead her to find a calling that her parents would have never expected. Natalia herself comes face-to-face with unexpected developments as she has vowed to herself to remain single, and yet can't stop thinking about a certain tall, red-headed, pastor's son.
This book was a loose follow-up to First Date and Starring Me, with some of the characters from the previous two stories making an appearance. However, the book would function fine as a stand-alone, and I actually found myself disappointed that Addy and Kara didn't feature more prominently in this installment. In fact, I found most of the supporting characters in this story much flatter than the previous two novels. Natalia was sort of a one-woman-show for this book, and while her story was interesting, I would have liked to have seen a stronger supporting cast. Natalia's hunger for knowledge of God was admirable, and I liked seeing her character and behavior change as she learned more of who God was and what He wanted for her and from her. She wasn't the only character to change in the book, and although I wanted more from the other characters, it was good to see them change as well, and to catch glimpses of strong Christians who had had their own struggles with the faith.
I give this book 3 stars. If I hadn't been hoping for more to Addy and Kara's stories, I think I would have had fewer reservations about it.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Right Where I Belong - eBook
This review is fromRight Where I Belong.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Teen Read

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookaholic
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book starts out as 17-year-old Natalia is faced with the fact that her father decides to end his third marriage with the only woman who has been a mother figure to her. Facing this, Natalia swears off love, or ever falling in love, and moves to America to get a fresh start. But as luck would have it, she meets a Pastor's son who is funny and loves Jesus faithfully. Will her vow to keep love at bay remain true, or will she discover that love is exactly where she needs to be?
I have to admit that when I first started reading this book, I was a little confused by all the characters. This is a book in a series, and I had never read the other books, so jumping into this book and not knowing any background was a little difficult. However, by the end of the book, I was hooked and really enjoyed the easy read and flow of it all.
If you're looking for a heartfelt book with a strong message, this is a great place to start.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Right Where I Belong - eBook
This review is fromRight Where I Belong.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Third in a Series for Young Teenage Girls

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Right Where I Belong" by Krista McGee is the third in a series, of sorts, for middle and early high school age girls. The three books contain independent stories, yet share characters and some settings. "Right Where I Belong" is the story of Natalia, a high school senior from Spain whose father has just divorced his third wife in favor of yet another. Rather than share life with a potential new stepmother, Natalia decides to move to the states with Maureen, the woman her father divorced. Maureen is also the person who led Natalia to the Lord, so Natalia is hoping Maureen will help her grow in faith. There are many surprises in store for Natalia in Tampa, Florida, USA.
Like the other two books in the series, "Right Where I Belong" has many similarities to a familiar Bible story—in this case, the story of Ruth. I wouldn't say it’s a contemporary version of Ruth’s story, though. It’s just fun to compare and contrast. Like Ruth, Natalia makes an unexpected choice, ultimately choosing to follow God first of all—always. I’m happy to recommend this book which I received from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Right Where I Belong - eBook
This review is fromRight Where I Belong.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Transforming

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Right Where I belong by Krista Mcgee is transforming. I have never read a novel by Krista and I am so glad I did. She writes in a way that I could never explain properly but I will say she sure knows how to tug your heart strings. Just like in this tale you have to get out of your comfort zone to find yourself. Natalia has first hand experience with divorce and broken-hearted women that she begins not believe in happily ever after. So when her Dad divorces the only women/mom she has ever cultivated a true relationship with, they both leave him for sunny Florida. And what a journey that was and will always be the best thing to happen to both of them. I have never been more affected by a novel like this story had affected me. I just could not put this novel down. I could relate to a lot the situations by either having experienced them or by mutual family/friends experiences. I believe this story can and should be read by any age bracket, it is worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Right Where I Belong - eBook
This review is fromRight Where I Belong.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Modern Day Ruth

Date:August 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Right Where I Belong starts in Spain , where we meet Natalia. She is about to make the biggest decision of her life and one that may cause an uproar amongst her friends and family. When her father decides to divorce his third wife Maureen , Natalia is devastated as out of the wives she was the only one Natalia could relate to and learn so much from. Natalia with Maureen's help has been moving forth with the notion of becoming a Christian and understanding the amazing power of God's love. We read as Natalia accompanies Maureen back to America as well as watch Natalia pray to God that she remains single as she never wants to experience what her father does or be one of those women who have all played the role of her stepmother. Natalia and Maureen settle in Tampa and we meet former characters Addy and Lexi who both attend Tampa Christian School where Natalia will be attending. Is God testing Natalia's heart and faith as he puts the Pastor's son Brian in her path on more than one occasion and what happens when Natalia starts to attract the attention of the most popular boy in school Spencer - a guy who resembles her father ? Can Natalia grow with God if she has boys on her mind ?
Right where I belong has taken a different direction and a more serious note than Krista's two previous novels as we read the main character Natalia having to come to terms of what it means to be a Christian and the amazing opportunites like mission trips to Costa Rica , that God can put it in your path if you only believe.
A must read for all , though due to the content in this book - I think if you are not used to reading Christian fiction then my advice is to start with something a bit lighter like First Date or Starring Me.
Right Where I belong is the perfect read for those who have really enjoyed Melody Carlson's Diaries Series and Nancy Rue's Nana Beach High.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Right Where I Belong - eBook
This review is fromRight Where I Belong.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book :)

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
PrincessMG
Location:Buffalo MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Krista McGee has done it again! This third book from Krista is a modern day version of Ruth from the Bible. Natalia leaves her home of Spain and all that she knows to move with her stepmother to Tampa Florida when Natalia's father seeks a divorce from her stepmother. Natalia is thrust into a culture she doesn't know and a brokenhearted and depressed stepmother so the move to America is not all Natalia thought it would be. She struggles but believes that God has brought her to this place and in the process Natalia finds the plans and purpose God has for her life.
I loved this book! Natalia is a wonderfully relatable character and I love that Addy and Kara from Krista's first two books are in this book too. There is a nice side story as well in the character of Spencer that brought a lot to the book. This is definitely a must read :) I can't wait for Krista's next book.
I received this book as an ARC from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.