Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Lovelier than Daylight - eBook

Thomas Nelson Lovelier than Daylight - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 1894%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Review 1 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical novel tugs at heart

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The final volume of The Saddler’s Legacy trilogy by Rosslyn Elliott concludes the story of the Hanby family. This novel focuses on Susanna, Will Hanby’s niece, and her sister’s family’s dilemma. How can she possibly help her own nieces and nephews? Add to her personal struggles Westerville’s fight against alcohol in town, which she strongly supports, and the heir of a German brewing family, Johann Giere, who seems to be attracted to her. Trials mount and no solution looms in sight. Will faith and love overcome such adversity?
Based on an actual family history and the Whiskey War of 1875, this book offers insights into life then and for personal reflection on how one would react and choose to act if faced with a similar situation. I enjoy reading books that open doors to the past and the future as well as helping me improve my life in the present.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A deep and beautiful love story.

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a lovely book! I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Susanna and Johann and the struggles they went through. I have become aware that this is the third book in a series, however, I was able to follow the story without any problems at all. Lovelier Than Daylight can definitely stand alone.
The book begins with Susanna's shocking discovery that her sister has disappeared and her six nieces and nephews have been placed in orphanages. Susanna's drunk brother-in-law claims that Rachel, his wife, has deserted the family and run off with another man.
Susanna and Johann's paths cross when Johann accompanies a shipment of lager from his family's brewery to Westerville, where Susanna is living with her Aunt and Uncle. These two are drawn to each other, however, Susanna has very strong views regarding alcohol and has trouble seeing past Johann's family business.
We follow the story of Susanna and Johann's quest to retrieve the children and unearth the truth behind the disappearance of Susanna's sister. And what a story it is, with many twists and turns.
The author has done a wonderful job of creating characters that are complex and situations that are not easily resolved. The topics of prejudice, drunkenness, and malicious anger are covered, as well as lessons learned about forgiveness and love toward others.
I received this book for free from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great conclusion

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Susanna Hanby is on a quest to find and protect her sister, Rachel's, children who have disappeared. But when Susanna, who has strong temperance leanings, crosses paths with Johann Giere the heir to a German brewery sparks fly and her convictions are tested.
Johann on the other hand dreams of a career in journalism, in New York City. Can Susanna and Johann join forces to rescue Rachel's children?
The final installment in the Hanby Legacy delves into the question of Christians and alcohol, which I thought that Ms. Elliott dealt with very well, though it is a very tricky subject to tackle, just like in the situations in this story.
I loved the characters, Johann was a gentleman, who went out of his way to help Susanna and her family, in ways that not many people would. Yet he had his dreams. Susanna was passionate about protecting her sister's children and, I loved her spirit and determination.
Overall, Ms. Elliott's books are always a pleasure to read because of her excellent story telling skills and her classic style. And this book was no exception. A great book for fans of Ms. Elliot's previous installments in this series and new fans alike :)
I received this book from Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Historical fiction with unbelievable ending

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
jjlibrarian
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In Lovelier than Daylight by Rosslyn Elliot, Susanna Hanby is headed off to college in Westerville, Ohio, when she discovers her sister Rachel and Rachel’s children have disappeared. Susanna suspects that Rachel’s alcoholic husband knows more than he’s saying and she vows to uncover the truth. She travels to her aunt and uncle's house and enlists their help in searching for the children, hoping to adopt them herself. Along the way she meets Johann Giere, the heir to a successful German-American brewery in Columbus, who has recently signed on as the supplier for a new saloon in Westerville. Although she despises alcohol and fights for temperance in the town against the saloon, she soon depends on Johann's help to find and retrieve her lost nieces and nephews.
I did not read the previous two books of this trilogy, but I found that this story could stand well on its own. I was drawn to the character of Susanna and could feel the depth of her emotions as she struggled with her feelings for Johann and her intense dislike of alcohol. The mystery surrounding the disappearance of her nieces and nephews was well written, and I did not anticipate the ending at all. It was quite a surprise to learn what had really happened, and yet it was believable as well. I did have a hard time with the relationship between Johann and Susanna, as I think that someone who held such deep convictions against alcohol would have had a difficult time committing to someone who manufactured alcohol. Although I think it is possible for some people to separate the two issues, I would have had a hard time doing so. The book did pique my interest in the history from that time, and I would like to learn more about it as well as read the other two novels in the series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Ending to a Great Series

Date:February 19, 2013
I loved the first two books in the serie and was excited to read the conclusion, Lovelier Than Daylight. Rosslyn wrapped up this series while still bringing readers a new story.
I was particularly impressed with how historical details are woven throughout the story. Rather than taking over the story, they provide a great backdrop for emotional, personal stories. I can only imagine how intense Rosslyn's research process must be!
I loved Susanna's character. She has an incredible sense of justice and moral character. But as the circumstances in her life change, she is forced to evaluate what she believes and how that influences her decisions. And while the ending surprised me in some ways, I was still satisfied.
I was blown away by this beautifully-written story. At times, the book almost seemed poetic. I can't wait to see what Rosslyn writes next. In the meantime, I highly recommend Lovelier Than Daylight and the rest of The Saddler's Legacy series! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovelier Than Daylight

Date:February 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In book three of The Saddler's Legacy series Susanna Hanby stops in to visit her sister. But her sister Rachel and Rachel's children are are are no where to be found. Rachel's drunkard husband said that Rachel had be unfaithful to him and that she gave her children to an orphanage. Susanna did not believe her sister would do such things. Rachel was a good mother and loved her children even during the harshest of times.
Susanna was on a quest to first find the children and then to find their mother. She may even have to put off her life long dream of going to college in order to care for the children. She is living with her grandparents and hopes they will be able to help her in finding and caring for the children.
Johann Giere is the heir to his family's brewery but he would much rather be a newspaper journalist. One day he meets Susanna and her grandfather on the train and when Susanna found out his family owned a brewery she was ready to take his head off. She felt it was because of people like him that turned her brother-in-law to drink and therefore causing her sister to be missing and the children being thrown into an orphanage. Nothing would sway her opinion differently!
The author brings The Saddler's Legacy ahead to the third generation of Handby's. She creates Susanna as a headstrong woman moving into a new era fighting for the civil rights of women and children. There is a mystery to solve and a quest to conquer. Susanna's dragon to kill in this case is alcohol in any fashion. She blames it for all her families problems. The author came up with a lot of trickery that goes on in the characters attempt to get custody of the children. She puts her heroine in perilous situations while searching for the sister. But of course there must be a hero to come to her rescue or shall we say for Susanna's sensibility, her sidekick.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I won a copy of this book in a giveaway on Lena Nelson Dooley's website. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I quite enjoyed this book. It takes a interesting time in American history and adds a romance story and even some mystery into the fold.
What I liked: This book had a lot of depth and a few different angles to the plot that made it very interesting. Susanna was quite likeable. She did not always think before she spoke but as the book goes along she starts to realize she needs to let God help her to stop and think. I think almost anyone could relate to her. Johann was also quite likeable. He was dealing with what he wanted to do with his life. He could continue to work for his father or he could become a full time journalist. Again he had to stop and let God help him find his way. Ann and Will where also in this book. This is the third book in the series and Ann and Will where the main characters in the first book. They are Susanna’s aunt and uncle and I liked how they fit in the story line.
What I did not like: There really was not much I did not like. Susanna was a little annoying at first but I could understand why she acted the way she did.
Overall this was a great book and I really enjoyed it. It dealt with how drinking can affect a family as well as how Christians can over step at times and how in the end God is supreme even when it seems hopeless. The author did a wonderful job tying it all together. This is the last book in a series of three. I have not read the two books before it but this book can easily be read as a stand alone. Also even though I have not read the other two books I thought the way she wrapped up the book at the end closed the whole series well. I would like to go back at some point and read the first two books to learn more about those characters. If you’re a Historical Fiction fan you will like this book. The information about the time period was very well researched and crafted into a wonderful story. Check it out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A unique tale

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the third installment of the Saddler’s Legacy series, Susanna Hanby is a young woman with some heavy battles on her hands. Her sister Rachel has vanished leaving her children at an orphanage. Susanna is determined to find a way to take nieces and nephews home with her even if that means abandoning her college plans. In the midst of this personal anguish a new saloon has opened in town causing a violent uproar from the God-fearing residents of the little town of Westerville, Ohio and a young man by the name of Johann Giere-the son of a lager brewer-threatens Susanna’s convictions.
Though a little slow going at first, the Lovelier Than Daylight is a very unique tale that soon picks up momentum and the reader’s interest. The topic of alcohol abuse is handled well with the historical elements leading up to the Temperance Movement in the United States. The character of Susanna is often easy to relate to and Johann is very likeable. Overall, Ms Elliott creates an interesting story with dynamic characters and a reasonably happy ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful Story

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A captivating story in a challenging time period, this novel quickly had my attention and interest. It's one of those stories that goes beyond the page to fill my mind with questions while I can't be reading. The characters are such that you want to cheer for them and see them succeed.
One of the things I loved the most about the book was the writing style and voice. I believe this book truly captivated the essence of years of practice and hard work and previous works of published fiction. Beautiful imagery and word pictures that didn't distract from the story are what set this book above others I have read.
Now that I have read three books about the Hanby family, I am fascinated to know more and am a bit disappointed that this the final book in the series. Reconnecting with previous characters makes this novel that much more rich for the reader.
The romance was a great player in the book, though I almost wish it had played a stronger role. But the ending certainly makes up for any bit of lack I thought the middle might have had.
All in all, I am quite pleased with this latest novel find and have added it to my keeper shelf.
This review is my honest opinion, thanks to the author for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

See the Issue from Both Sides

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Lovelier Than Daylight," the third installment in the Saddler’s Legacy series by Rosslyn Elliott, was also my favorite. This story revolves around the Westerville Whiskey Wars of 1875 and 1879—though, for the purposes of her story, Elliott combined them into one event. In Elliott’s words:
“In this novel, people of faith grapple with difficult questions about the use and abuse of alcohol, questions that still cause controversy and divide families and churches. My aim was to depict all of these opinions and show how one family might have handled the decisions that faced them under the circumstances. I did not try to advocate one point of view or elevate one believer above another, but instead aimed to hold up a mirror to a historical event that still has the power to cause us to examine our moral choices.”
In my opinion, Elliott achieved her aim and did so effectively. After reading this book, people on opposite sides of this fence will have much to discuss. This book will indeed make readers think.
Aside from that, the story itself is intense. On her way to college, Susanna Hanby stops to visit her sister only to learn that her sister has left her husband and abandoned her six children. She is missing and may even be dead. Susanna finds the children in two different orphanage-type homes. With the help of her aunt and uncle, Ann and Will Hanby (introduced in Book One of this series), Susanna must find a way to rescue the children and reunite the family.
In the meantime, aspiring reporter and brewery heir Johann Giere wrestles with career choices and struggles to earn Susanna’s respect. He longs to help her family, yet is hindered when she blames his family’s business for causing the troubles in hers. The tense situation in Westerville will either draw them together or drive them forever apart.
Thomas Nelson Publishers gave me a complimentary eCopy of "Lovelier Than Daylight" for this honest review. Readers who enjoy considering how complex issues can play out in life will find much to contemplate within the pages of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story of our History in 1800's

Date:November 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book was supplied to me by Thomas Nelson Publishers through NetGalley for a review in return.
Book Description
Susanna is a lady of principles who values family above all. Johann seems to represent all she despises . . . but appearances can be deceiving.
In 1875, Susanna Hanby is headed off to college in Westerville, Ohio, when she discovers her sister Rachel and Rachel’s children have disappeared. Susanna suspects that Rachel’s alcoholic husband knows more than he’s saying and she vows to uncover the truth.
Johann Giere is heir to a successful German-American brewery in Columbus, but longs for a career in journalism in New York City. When Johann signs on as the supplier for a new saloon in Westerville, his and Susanna’s paths cross and sparks fly. A fiery temperance crusader, Susanna despises Johann’s profession, but she cannot deny the attraction.
When Susanna learns that Rachel’s children have been indentured to orphanages in the city, she despairs that her family will be fractured forever. But Johann makes Susanna an offer she can’t refuse—pitting her passion and her principles against one another.
If she can find a way for her head and her heart to be in harmony, a future lovelier than daylight awaits her.
My Review
This book is book 3 of The Saddler’s Legacy by Rosslyn Elliott. This was the first book I have ever read by Rosslyn Elliott and believe you me, it won’t be my last. She is a GREAT author on the history of our world in the late 1800’s.
This book is about Susannah Hanby and Johann Giere. Susannah is on her way to college in Westerville, Ohio but on her way, she decides to stop and surprise her sister, Rachel Leeds, the surprise is on Susannah. She finds out that Rachel and her 6 children are not there and the only one left there is a drunken husband, George Leeds. Rachel flees from him and takes her children to the orphanges in Columbus, Ohio and then Rachel flees to the docks of Columbus hiding from George. Susannah has been told that Rachel left with another man and she doesn’t believe it.
Susannah leaves and goes on to Westerville, Ohio to stay with her Aunt and Uncle so she can attend college there in Westerville.
She meets Johann Giere but finds out he is a son of a man who owns a brewery and then she is really confused. But as the story goes on, he helps her to try to get the children out of the orphanages. That is all I am going to say about this story, because I don’t want to ruin it for you.
It is such a GREAT book, I know that you will want to read this. I loved it and thank you Rosslyn for giving us all such a GREAT book to read and giving me an opportunity to give a review on this book. I would suggest this book to my family and friends. Thank you Thomas Nelson for giving me an opportunity also to read and give my review on this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Though Provoking Book

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen1356
Location:NYC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
In Lovelier Than Daylight, Rosslyn Elliott captures the struggle between love and principle at the center of the issue of alcohol.
Susanna Hanby's heart aches as she has seen first hand the devastation caused to her sister's family by the vice of drinking. Her wounds leave her righteously indignant to those who do not conform to her views while cold to the supposed culprits. She is adamant about her views and voices them clearly often being closed-minded.
Johann Giere is the heir to a brewery yet his heart longs to be a New York journalist or so he thinks. While covering a riveting story in Westerville, Ohio, he becomes all too involved in Susanna's plight to regain her nieces and nephews after their suspicious abandonment by her sister, Rachel. Contrary to Susanna, Johann's commitment to moral values has not left him callous. He offers his help in more than one crisis despite being rejected repeatedly by Susanna because of his line of work.
Throughout one crisis after another in reclaiming her family, the devastating affects of alcohol seem to become broader than Susanna imagined. Consequently, Susanna is able to see her temperance crusade in a new light. She realizes her desire for righteousness has clouded her ability to love even those hurt by the affects of alcohol.
The author provided much thought for the reader making this a provocative read and not just another love story. One was left looking at both sides of the story and able to ascertain for oneself where exactly they stood on the issue of alcohol consumption.
The juxtaposition of Johann's sensitivity and openness to change with Susanna's staunch and narrow views made the reading of this book enjoyable. The beginning immediately draws one in with the disappearence of the children and then lulls for a while during the development of the story line. However, it quickly picks up after that leaving one unable to put the book down. Overall, I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical/romance literature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovelier Than Daylight, by Rosslyn Elliott, is the third book in The Saddler’s Legacy series. It tells the story of Susanna Hanby and Johann Giere in the Columbus, Ohio area in 1875. Some of the characters in this story are based on real people of the time, while others are purely fictional.
Susanna Hanby decides to visit her sister on her way to college, but is dismayed to find her sister, as well as her sister’s six children, missing. Her brother-in-law presents outrageous accusations regarding Susanna’s sister and tells her the children are gone. Susanna sets about finding her family, discovering the children in two orphanages. Her aunt and uncle, Will and Ann Hanby, try to assist her in helping the children and finding her sister, but in the end it is Johann Giere who becomes the most helpful.
I enjoyed this book. Having read the first book of the series but missed the second one, I found myself wanting to go back and read book two. Still, I thought this story was able to stand alone, even if one had not read the other two. I would recommend this story to anyone who enjoys historical fiction.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the Westerville Whiskey War, Temperance & Romance

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosslyn Elliott in her new book, “Lovelier than Daylight” Book Three in The Saddler’s Legacy published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Susanna Hamby in 1875 Ohio.
From the back cover: Susanna is a lady of principles who values family above all. Johann seems to represent all she despises . . . but appearances can be deceiving.
In 1875, Susanna Hanby is headed off to college in Westerville, Ohio, when she discovers her sister Rachel and Rachel’s children have disappeared. Susanna suspects that Rachel’s alcoholic husband knows more than he’s saying and she vows to uncover the truth.
Johann Giere is heir to a successful German-American brewery in Columbus, but longs for a career in journalism in New York City. When Johann signs on as the supplier for a new saloon in Westerville, his and Susanna’s paths cross and sparks fly. A fiery temperance crusader, Susanna despises Johann’s profession, but she cannot deny the attraction.
When Susanna learns that Rachel’s children have been indentured to orphanages in the city, she despairs that her family will be fractured forever. But Johann makes Susanna an offer she can’t refuse—pitting her passion and her principles against one another.
If she can find a way for her head and her heart to be in harmony, a future lovelier than daylight awaits her.
Lovelier than Daylight is a story of love and faith based on the Westerville Whiskey War of 1875, a dramatic real historical event featured in the 2011 documentary Prohibition by Ken Burns.
In “Lovelier than Daylight” Rosslyn Elliott not only gives us a great romance but a real piece of history. While her work is fiction this book is based on the lives of a real Johann and Susanna who went through much of the events depicted in the story. This story has such great themes such as the use and abuse of alcohol and intolerance to the point of violence. I like history and any story that focuses on some historical event, in this case the Westerville Whiskey War of 1875, is a winner in my book. On top of all of that “Lovelier than Daylight” has the most creative romances between Johann and Susanna as one sells alcohol and the other is a temperance crusader. This is a wonderful read and I guarantee you will be delighted. I am sorry that this series is ending however I look forward to more great stories from Rosslyn Elliott
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovelier than Daylight by Rosslyn Elliott

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sunday, November 4, 2012
Lovelier Than Daylight by Rosslyn Elliot
Book #3 of The Saddler's Legacy is published by Thomas Nelson. I am grateful for the free copy they sent me. This novel takes place in 1875 in Westerville, OH and centers around the Hanby family. Just as Susanna Hanby is primed to start college, she discovers that her sister is missing as well as her children. The 6 of them has been sent to two separate orphanages and their alcoholic father cares nothing about them. Nor will he provide any help in rescuing them. Susanna values her family above all else and will do anything to get them all together again. Johann Giere is the only son of a German-American brewery in Columbus and he and his father are the supplier for a new saloon in Westerville. Johann's dream is to be a journalist and comes to Westerville to write news articles for his part-time job when the temperance crusaders start protesting the new saloon in town. Johann and Susanna seem to be on opposite sides. Both must decide what is most important in their lives and find a way to bring Susanna's family back together again.
Even though I read the first book, I didn't read book #2. I still had no trouble following along with the Hanby family. This story is based on a true historical event, the Westerville Whiskey war of 1875 that is featured in the 2011 documentary Prohibition by Ken Burns. It moved along at a good place and I liked reading about this time in history, especially about an area of the country close to where I live in western PA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovelier Than Daylight

Date:October 28, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Susanna Hanby is excited as she travels to Westerville, Ohio to begin her college experience.
On the way, she stops to visit her sister, Rachel, and her 6 children. As she stares with wide-opened eyes at the empty house, she fears something awful has happened. Where was her family???
As she continues her search in Westerville, she meets Johann Giere. They are as different as can be. Johann is the son of a German-American who owns a successful brewery enterprise and Susanna has very strong views as a temperance crusader!
When Susanna soon discovers that her nieces and nephews have been left in city orphanages, she and Johann begin a crusade to bring the children home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovelier

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovelier than Daylight by Rosslyn Elliott is a must read. It is the story of Susanna and Joahnn, she a college student and he a reporter. They could not be more different and yet the perfect pairing of a couple. They both come to an arrangement that blossoms to a lot more. which for the both of them is more than necesitated. The dynamics of Susanna and Johann is just like a firecracker, the brightness from being ignited and going even brighter as it burns down to the explosion. This story was completely relatable and poignant. I could not put this novel down for fear of losing my momentum.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lovelier than Daylight - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting historical details & characters!

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
On her way to college, Susanna Hanby stops to visit her sister Rachel and her 6 nieces and nephews, discovering that they have all disappeared. When she learns that the children have been placed in orphanages, Susanna is heart-broken at the thought of her family being forever separated. In a quest to rescue the children, she finds herself joining forces with an unlikely ally, Johann, heir to a German-American brewery in Columbus, a man connected to the alcohol that Susanna despises. Meanwhile, Johann longs to become a journalist and to capture the attention of a newspaper in New York, and so he finds himself returning over and over to Westerville, Ohio, the site of the Westerville Whiskey War of 1875. His desire for a story soon becomes replaced by a desire to win the affection of Susanna. Can Susanna rescue her family and reconcile her beliefs with what her heart is telling her? Read "Lovelier than Daylight" to find out!
I enjoyed returning to the characters featured in the Saddler's Legacy, especially to a story set against the fascinating backdrop of the Westerville Whiskey War. I've never before learned of this historical event, of the battle between a man trying to open a saloon and the community citizens set on maintaining temperance. Rosslyn Elliott has perfectly captured the tension between a desire for righteousness being overcome by a zeal that puts those beliefs above the love that Jesus would show. Susanna is a wonderful character, a woman apt to speak her mind in her quest for truth and righteousness, and someone who finds herself sometimes rushing to judgments in her desire to protect the innocent. Her faults are actually endearing and make her easy to relate to. I enjoyed watching the relationship between Susanna and Johann unfold so naturally as well. While I did grow a little impatient with some of Susanna's actions in regards to Johann, overall I quite enjoyed watching their friendship develop into a desire for more, despite seeming to have incompatible lifestyles. The dilemma of the children in the orphanages was truly heartbreaking, and I found myself frantically reading through their scenes especially to see how it would all work out.
Be prepared to be entertained by interesting historical details and delightful characters that combine for an action-packed and dramatic read! I award this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Thomas Nelson, and the Booksneeze program, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.