Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook

Thomas Nelson Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook

Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Review 1 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More enjoyable than the first book but read it 1st

Date:January 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eleanor Walker is still looking for an heiress for Last Chance Ranch, the last one, Kate Tenney, will soon be married to Luke Adams the local blacksmith. When Molly Hatfield answers her newest ad, Eleanor hopes she has finally gotten her heiress but has some doubts since so many have already failed. When Molly shows up in her bright dance hall dress and not alone her doubts increase significantly.
When Miss Walker tells Molly to move on because she doesn't think she can dedicate her life to the ranch while to caring for her handicapped brother, Molly stands up to Miss Walker. So instead of returning to town it is agreed that she will have four months to prove herself. Last Chance Ranch has had so many women try to become heiress to Miss Walker, Molly is the eighth or maybe the ninth, she has lost count and is getting weary of this but she will not give up and continues to keep the stipulation that the 'new' heiress never marry.
I found this book more enjoyable than the first one. Molly has a lot more on her plate to overcome and is a quick learner, she also blames herself for something in her past and can't seem to get past that. How often do we do that in our lives and instead of talking about it we keep it hidden in our heart? When we do that it just festers and becomes bigger than life and holds us back from doing so many things we are capable of. Also, I enjoyed learning about the story behind the song "Swing High, Swing Low, Sweet Chariot". I may have heard it sometime in my life but I've forgotten and I always liked that song. This is a series that you will want to read in order and yes I will recommend this series for some good reading material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great addition to the series!

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love Caleb and Molly's story. I love their characters. I loved getting to know them. Mrs. Brownley does an excellent job of hashing out these characters. We can tell from the beginning that Caleb is going to be a fantastic male hero. He is smart, funny, compassionate, charming and stubborn as always. Molly, in my opinion, is awesome. She is a great older sister. She has a fierce love for her brother and will do anything for him. She is self-assured (most of the time), determined, and proud. Donny brings the story together. Miss Walker is still a conundrum to me. She acts all tough, but inside she's going soft. I love her character and can't wait to see her develop more.
The story is much the same as the first book in the series. However, Caleb and Molly's story has Donny. Donny adds a depth to the story and an interesting one at that. Molly is determined to be the perfect heiress. Caleb is determined to change the world as a doctor, and struggles with "failure" just like all doctors do. Donny struggles to come to grips with his paralysis and learning that he's not helpless. He works to come to grips with the fact that he is growing up. The romance between Molly and Caleb is natural and very well developed.
I love the fact that Molly, despite her former job, still believed in God. Oh she didn't like going to church because of what had happened in her past, and she might not have put God first in everything, but she still believed and didn't "spurn" God because of it. That, to me, is a more natural reaction to averse things happening in a Christian's life than to completely disown God. However, people react differently, so someone else might have a different opinion. Caleb understands people. He has to. Being a doctor means reading people to tell if they are lying to you about their symptoms, etc. He quickly learns that Molly carries more than she needs to. The message is clear. Wait on the Lord, put Him first in everything.
Overall, this story is an excellent addition to the series, and I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story moves rapidly w/both humor and challenge.

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sunshine
Location:Jacksonville, Fl.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Characters are strong, determined in their ways, protective to a fault, even misguided at times, but that only adds to the mystery of the love relationship between the doc and Molly.
Story also shows a sister's great love for her sibling and to what lengths she will go to protect him, even if it slows his personal growth to use his own strengths. I truly enjoyed the battle of wills between doc and Molly, each thinking he/she right in how to handle boy's mental and physical development. I also enjoyed the humor via the back-firing auto.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Read!

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
daisykay3
Location:Tempe, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is about a Woman named Molly who takes care of her 14 year old wheelchair bound brother and they move to Arizona so she can have the chance to be an heiress of a Last Chance Ranch. The move would help her brother and ensure that they stay together. Everything seems to make sense until Dr. Fairbanks comes into the picture.
I really enjoyed this book! The characters were memorable and the author made is easy for you to realize their internal struggles. It was an easy read and was hard for me to put down. I would finish a chapter and think to myself, "Just one more chapter. It won't take long." Before I knew it, I had read half the book! I would definitely suggest this one. Enjoy!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Last Chance Romance To Come By

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waiting For Morning is a nice book with a slow progression. This book shows the work of God’s hands in a way that tells the character’s nothing can trump His will. His will, will always make it’s way someway somehow.
Molly is trying to make a better life for her brother, much less herself. Not getting through any way she’s tried. But then comes along an offer she won’t pass. Becoming an heiress to a ranch only to be run by women. ONLY! Here comes the grueling part. Getting up at the wee hours of the morning and learning to ranch work along with taking care of her sickly brother who is confined to a wheel-chair isn’t exactly easy. Her brother on the other hand gets help and courage from a kind, new, handsome doctor. Since her younger brother is confined to a wheel chair and is paralyzed from the waist down… more like half his back down, he is a bit pessimistic. Always saying he wished he wasn’t like this would be more easier, or he wasn’t born. The doctor though helps the both of them, in more ways than one.
Other character’s the ranch owner and a fellow she has know for a long time seems to have something in common, but she has yet to open her heart after a tragic incident in her life; though the old fellow is persistent in getting her attention and right answer.
God leads these characters into a whirlwind of decisions. Their lives, the ranch, the cattle. It’s a wonder God can pull off these miracles with everything a muck. By the way of things it looks like Last Chance Ranch is still looking for an Heiress. The turn around in this book is amazing. The book has a slow start but it is worth the read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

employment for a woman is hard to come by in 1800

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book Waiting for Morning in The Brides of Last Chance Ranch series by Margaret Brownley will keep your interest from beginning to end. This book is set in the late 1800’s out west when employment for a woman is hard to come by.
The main character, Molly Hatfield, has dedicated her life to caring for her wheelchair-bound teenaged brother Denny. So when Molly learns that a wealthy rancher in Arizona is looking for an heiress, she put her whole heart into this opportunity. This way she has the chance to provide a real home for her brother. While trying to gain permanent employment, Molly meets the town’s charming, unmarried doctor. Molly decides to avoid her feeling for Caleb since she would jeopardize her new job and her brother’s future well-being.
Falling in love with Caleb would threaten everything she’s worked for. Could this be the very reason God brought her to Arizona?
This book was very well written and would be a fund read for high school girls. One of the main problems within the western town is an alcohol problem among the townsmen. I don’t feel the books makes a big enough stand against drinking to get drunk and even the preacher character drowns his sorrows in alcohol on one occasion. Parents should be cautioned on this particular aspect of the book. (rev. M.Hicks)
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary review copy was provided by BookSneeze on behalf of the publisher, Thomas Nelson, and the author, Margaret Brownley, to facilitate our honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waiting for Morning, by Margaret Brownley, is the second book in The Brides of Last Chance Ranch series. It is refreshing and fun to read! Having read the first book in this series, I had high expectations for this one and was not disappointed.
In book two, Eleanor Walker is still looking for an heiress to her ranch, having lost Kate Tenney in book one. Molly Hatfield, having lost everything in a fire in her home town, brings her wheelchair-bound brother and heads to Last Chance Ranch to fill the position. She finds everything about this decision difficult, the work, caring for her brother while working, and dealing with Dr. Caleb Fairbanks, who just wants to teach her brother to be more independent.
As in the first book,I found the characters in this story endearing. They were lovable and comical all wrapped up in one! Aunt Bessie keeps you laughing with her make-up and matchmaking attempts. Bertha keeps them all alert with her backfiring. Donny attempts to teach everyone with his infinite store of trivia and knowledge. And Molly is determined to make a home for her brother.
This is a wonderful book, one I would highly recommend!
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Romance, and A Working Cattle Ranch

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Margaret Brownley, in her new book, “Waiting for Morning” Book Two in her The Brides Of Last Chance Ranch series published by Thomas Nelson takes us to the Arizona Territory in 1896 and into the life of Molly Hatfield.
From the back cover: Molly Hatfield comes to Arizona Territory seeking stability and security. But living in Cactus Patch provides her with more than she ever dreamed.
There is nothing Molly wouldn’t do for her teenaged brother, Donny. Blaming herself for the accident that left him wheelchair bound, Molly has dedicated her life to his care. But in 1896, gainful employment for a woman is hard to come by. So when Molly learns that an eccentric rancher in Cactus Patch, Arizona, is looking for an heiress—someone to take over management of the ranch in exchange for future ownership—she jumps at the chance to provide a real home for her brother.
However, Molly didn’t bank on meeting Dr. Caleb Fairbanks, the town’s charming unmarried doctor. Caleb has a way with Molly that makes her nervous. But it’s how he is with her brother that really alarms her. Caleb sees past the wheelchair and genuinely likes Donny, but Molly fears he’s putting unrealistic ideas into her brother’s head. Falling in love with Caleb would threaten everything she’s worked for, even her brother’s future happiness.
But it could be the very reason God brought her to Last Chance Ranch.
No doubt about it I like Westerns. I grew up watching and reading a lot of them when I was younger and still watch and read them today. Margaret Brownley knows how to write a western. In her new book, “Waiting for Morning” Ms. Brownley gives us a working cattle ranch, a horseless carriage, a brother in a wheelchair and a doctor that thinks he can help him. On top of everything “Waiting for Morning” is an incredible romance that is full of charm and humor. It asks the question would you trade your future of being married for stability and security? All of this is set against a historical backdrop that is fascinating to read. Margaret Brownley has done it again. I am so looking forward to book three in this series.
If you missed the interview for “A Lady Like Sarah”, a different series from Margaret Brownley, and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Light-Hearted Western Romance

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Waiting for Morning" is Book Two in "The Brides of Last Chance Ranch" series by Margaret Brownley. In this book, we meet Molly Hatfield, a young woman doing all she can to make life good for her 14-year-old brother, Donny, who was paralyzed in an accident as an infant. When the town where Molly and Donny live burns to the ground, Molly answers an ad, applying to be Eleanor Walker’s heiress. All she has to do to inherit the Last Chance Ranch is learn everything there is to know about ranching and agree never to marry.
Enter Caleb Fairbanks, the new doctor in town. (Also Lucy’s younger brother from one of Brownley’s other books, "A Vision of Lucy." I loved that Brownley worked him in!) Recruited by Ms. Walker to serve as a veterinarian for her horse, he meets Molly and Donny en route to the ranch. His offer to help Donny learn to be more independent is met with resistance, suspicion, and a touch of hostility.
To learn how it all works out, you’ll need to read "Waiting for Morning." I’m happy to recommend this light-hearted series. (Note: Reading the books in order is not absolutely necessary. References are made to the previous book, but Molly’s story is hers alone.) I thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Butterflyreview
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Molly Hatfield is desperate to find a job that enables her to take care of her brother Donnie. Molly feels responsible for an accident that left him in a wheelchair when he was a baby. She has vowed to take care of Donnie as long as he lives. Molly sees an ad in the newspaper for an heiress to take over a ranch in Cactus Patch, Arizona. Although she knows nothing about ranching she applies for the job and is accepted. There is one stipulations and that is she can never marry. On the way to the ranch she meets Dr. Caleb Fairbanks, the town’s doctor, in a horseless carriage. The sparks fly between Molly and Caleb. Caleb offers to teach Danny how to take care of himself which does not set well with Molly.
Miss Walker, the ranch owner, does not want to take the responsibility of Donnie and reluctantly lets Molly and Danny stay. Surprisingly Molly learns ranching quickly. Caleb and Molly still continue to disagree on how much Donnie is capable of doing.
This was book 2 in the series. It would have been beneficial to read book one but not necessary. Overall it was a good book. Some parts of it dragged. While other parts kept my interest.
I received this books from booksneeze.com for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

waiting for moarning

Date:December 27, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What an interesting journey with Molly Hatfield!
Molly answers a newspaper ad looking for an ‘heiress’. The applicant must be a young woman willing to learn the ranching business. She will inherit a ranch along with a promise to never marry!
Molly quickly leaves town with her handicap brother for Cactus Patch, Arizona. She encounters some very interesting individuals along the way!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ok, but Dawn Comes Early was better...

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another heiress wannabe has found her way to Last Chance Ranch, this one with a questionable work history and an invalid brother in tow. Trying to learn the workings of the ranch and care for her brother, Molly struggles with guilt, inadequacies, and exhaustion and is challenged at every turn by the town’s new doctor.
Although book 2 in the series, Waiting for Morning can be read as a standalone. The workings of Last Chance along with the ranch hands and even some of the townspeople, like Aunt Bessie, weren’t as prominent in this story -- and I missed hearing about them. The medical issues of the day added an interesting element to the story, but I felt that Molly’s dance hall past felt forced and unnecessary in the present plot.
Waiting for Morning didn’t flow as smoothly for me, but I’m still looking forward to book 3 to see what happens to the Last Chance Ranch! Overall, I preferred Kate’s story in Dawn Comes Early.
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine. acookingbookworm DOT com*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Engaging story and eloquently written

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Waiting for Morning has so many facets that it's hard to pinpoint which one I enjoyed the most!
Molly Hatfield is a lovingly fierce sister and wants to protect her wheelchair bound younger brother, Donny, from the hurt that can be caused by rude and judgmental people. This part of the plot really struck a chord in me. As the parent of a child who had multiple disabilities, and was in a wheelchair for many years, I can fully relate to Molly's protective nature.
Dr. Caleb Fairbanks comes back to the area after medical school and befriends Donny. He feels that Donny has some untapped potential in being able to eventually care for himself and become at least partially independent. The sparks fly between Molly and Caleb about this thought because she is convinced that Donny couldn't possibly do any more for himself and she must sacrifice her life to be his caretaker. There's some romantic sparks flying for them too, and boy howdy are they something! It was fun to watch events unfold and witness the changes that take place in each of these characters. I loved watching Donny gain confidence in his abilities. That made Caleb a hero in my book!
Of course, the ranch hands of Last Chance Ranch each make their appearances and bring much humor and delight to the story. There's a very important role for a horse named Orbit, as well! You'll fall in love with him just as much as Donny did. Animals can be a huge influence in the lives of those with disabilities and Margaret has done a superb job with this in the book. Whether it was intentional or not, I don't know but it really adds dimension.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys an intricately written historical novel.
Thank you, Margaret, for my ARC. I thoroughly enjoyed this second book in The Brides of Last Chance Ranch series and look forward to the next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Waiting for Morning, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #2 -ebook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Courage in the Old West

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Looking for a fresh start after losing everything in a fire, Molly Hatfield moves her teenaged wheelchair-bound brother and herself to Arizona Territory in response to an ad for an heiress. If she can succeed at cattle ranching and will agree to remain single for life, she can inherit the ranch, and Molly is determined to succeed so she can provide for herself and Donny. The presence of attractive young Dr. Caleb Fairbanks threatens to derail her plans, as he takes an interest in Donny and works to improve his situation.
Margaret Brownley is adept at writing entertaining historical fiction. Her characters are well portrayed and the theme of learning to trust runs proactively through the story. There are several amusing scenes including those where Dr. Fairbanks introduces a noisy and unpredictable “motorcar” to a remote western town.
While Waiting for Morning was an amusing and enjoyable story, it also portrays some interesting foibles of our human nature. Molly throws herself into learning many new things - training horses, chasing cattle, and more, with courage and determination – but continues to fear the “unknown,” especially when it comes to possibilities for her brother’s health. That’s a characteristic that applies to many of us, as we trust in what we believe we can control, but fear those areas were we may “lose control”. Sometimes it’s easier to learn those lessons while enjoying an engaging fictional tale!
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.