Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Come to the Table - eBook

Thomas Nelson Come to the Table - eBook

Kat is new in her faith and she's embraced the more radical implications of Christianity with reckless abandon. She invited Rochelle, a homeless mother, and her son to move into the apartment she shares with two other housemates. An unexpected reunion takes place and life grows more complicated in every direction with Kat's vibrant spirit. From getting the brain child to start a new food pantry at Souledout Community church to her budding feelings for her roommate, Nick, an intern pastor at Souledout, Kat life is a whirlwind of ups and downs, as she tries to listen to God and find the path He has directed for her.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Come to the Table - eBook
Review 1 for Come to the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Perfect Sequel

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Come to the Table" is the continuing story of a small group of young adults learning how to get involved in ministry, learning what genuine ministry looks like. Kat, Nick, and Bree are finishing their summer in Chicago where they moved at the beginning of the first book in this series. Bree is happily working part-time as a barista in a coffee shop and looking forward to returning to college in the fall. Nick is hoping to be selected as an intern at SouledOut Community Church, where the trio attend church. Kat is still looking for ways to educate the homeless about good nutrition. In this second book of the SouledOut Sisters series, mentors, young and old and of many races, will again come alongside these young people to guide them not only in ministry, but also in basic Christian living and in matters of the heart.
I appreciated the way author Neta Jackson showed this being done. Kat and Nick, especially, learn in layers as new challenges develop and the people in their lives help them respond. They don’t just hear from their mentors, however. They learn to seek answers on their own, to watch for God at work, to recognize His teaching, and to thank Him for all He does.
Readers who enjoy a great story with gentle insights will enjoy reading this book. I thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending a complimentary eCopy for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Come to the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

come to the table review

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Come to the Table" by Neta Jackson is the second book in the Souled Out Sisters series. It is the third series in relation to the Yada Yada series. The first series is the Yada Yada Series, then the House of Hope series, now this one. There is also a Yada Yada Brothers series. Kat, a new Christian, is still bouncing around Chicago with a ton of ideas and absolutely no idea what she is doing. She is still dumpster diving and trying to save the world without any idea of what the world needs. In Come to the Table, Kat is living with Nick and Bree, friends from college, and Rochelle and Conny, Avis' daughter and grandson. Rochelle is desperate to get out of her situation, she is previously homeless with a child and is HIV positive. She needs a father for her child and a job. Oh, and come September she is gonna need a home.
Kat is called to start a food pantry and is taking a little closer look at the preacher to be, Nick. Personally, I don't know how anyone likes Kat. For most of the book, she is a self-centered dingbat. However, about half way through the book, she starts to come around in maturity and intelligence. She grows in her faith and understands that saving the world is not only not possible, but not a way for herself to be worshiped rather than God. I like this story line. I wish the white girl wasn't always so dumb in Jackson's books, but, the white supporting characters thankfully are a little more smart and less naive. I am a fan of Jackson; I read all her books, I am not disappointed here. I like the young aspect and hope Rochelle becomes the main character in another one of her series. B+
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Come to the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yada Yada Sisters continue in a new story!!

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Windsor, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book picks up from the Yada Yada series. For those how have followed this series you will enjoy the read as you already know many of the characters. If you’re not familiar with the series you will enjoy the read as it’s a different story line so you do not need to have read the other books, but it is helpful.
This book is mostly about Kat Davies, a new Christian, who is a little ‘out there’ according to her friends, since she enjoys dumpster diving to find food. We journey with Kat as she feels led to do something about the hungry in Chicago and wants to educate them on how to eat healthy. While searching for ways to do this God takes her on a journey and opens her eyes to the real needs around her. It’s a great story of personal growth as she learns a lot about herself, her motives and her walk with God
You start to fall in love with the characters and want to see them ‘win’ in the end. It’s an easy read. You’ll laugh and connect with the characters. And maybe you’ll even start to dream of ways God wants to use you in your own circle of friends and town.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Come to the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting story but helpful to read book 1 first

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fans of Neta Jackson will be excited to read her newest book in the Souled Out Sister series, Come to the Table. As the characters are in college or newly graduated, it might have more appeal to younger readers, but it is still a good read for anyone. Come to the Table continues with some of the characters in the Yada Yada series, but features the young adults, Kat, Nick, and Brygitta. The three have agreed to sub-lease an apartment while the owners are on a short term missions trip. In the first book in the Souled Out series, Kat has rescued a young mother and her six year old son, and they play an important part in this new book.
Kat feels that the Lord is calling her to start a food pantry at her church. This is, of course, not free of a few problems, and it requires all of them to pray and allow God to direct their enthusiasm for this new adventure. Then of course, there is the romantic side of the summer. Is Nick interested in Kat, or maybe his interest lies in Rochelle and her young son?
As usual, Neta Jackson has written an interesting book that I know you will enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Come to the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The gang’s all here, and Kat’s still dumpster diving. The household seems to be pretty much the same, but the dynamics are changing, especially with a young child now living there.
To top it off, there’s a bit of a triangle developing. Kat is left wondering which lady Nick will choose.
And then there’s the food pantry. When dumpster diving opportunities start fading, Kat gets her church involved with a food pantry. Not everyone loves this idea.
I’m really enjoying the family of characters in the SouledOut Sisters series. You all have to know I’m looking forward to Neta Jackson’s next book.
***A special thank you to Rick Roberson for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Come to the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Come to the Table, SouledOut Sisters, book 2

Date:January 4, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Come to the Table takes us back to the SouledOut Community Church in Chicago. If you are like me you have come to love and care for the characters that we met clear back in the Yada Yada days! I’m enjoying catching up and keeping in touch with the original characters. With each new novel a few new people are added into the community.
The problem with many long running series is that you just get tired of the characters. After all how much drama can one group of people really stand? The beauty of this series is that it blends the familiar with the new in ways that keep driving the story forward.
Neta Jackson has a unique way of breathing life into the individuals in the story. There is always someone that reminds me of myself and there are others that remind me of someone I should know. Through her continued storylines she delves into areas that aren’t always comfortable, but they are areas we each need to examine.
I think you can read Come to the Table as a stand-alone novel. However, if you have the opportunity pick up Stand By Me, book one in the series. Actually if you really want to treat yourself go all the way back and start with the Yada Yada series, then mosey on in to the House of Hope series, and by all means don’t leave out the Harry Bentley series by Neta's husband! Wow…you’ve got some great reading ahead of you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Come to the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great read from Neta Jackson!

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Neta Jackson's second installment of the "SouledOut Sisters" series shines with grace, and challenges readers to consider how we can serve others like Jesus did. Characters Kat and Nick return in fine form, growing in their understanding of who they are, who God has called them to be, and the possibility that they may have a future together! I love how the author creates characters with emotional depth, and I especially enjoyed watching Kat on her spiritual journey in this book, a woman who gets so passionate about her beliefs and sometimes runs ahead of what God may have for her.
Come to the Table is sure to please readers who are already fans of Neta Jackson, and will likely attract new readers as well. The book is well-written, and I felt that overall the book moved along at a good pace. I don't always have patience with books where the romance takes a long time to unfold, but in this case the author has added some interesting elements that kept things moving well, such as roommate Rochelle and her desire to have a man like Nick be a good father to her son. The book features characters that readers will connect with, characters who struggle with the things in life that we all struggle with. I leave the book absolutely challenged to look at the world around me and consider how God wants me to be his hands and feet, how he wants me to "feed" others by meeting both their physical and spiritual needs. I leave thankful for time well spent in having been entertained while having my own spiritual life fed as well.
I award this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Thomas Nelson, for the purposes of this unbiased review. ***Special thanks to Rick Roberson, The B&B Media Group, for sending me a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Come to the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating story with spiritual truth

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three best friends, one homeless woman with HIV and her six-year-old son make unlikely roommates especially when the one man in the group falls in love with one of the women and another begins to have feelings for him. That isn’t even the plot of this cute story. Kat Davies is a new Christian filled with excitement and reckless abandon. She is passionate about nutrition and believes that everyone should make healthy food choices but doesn’t realize that people living in poverty, especially the homeless, cannot afford the cost of eating fruits and vegetables.
As she comes to realize that food is not the answer, Kat begins to focus on the real issues of hunger and thirst for Christ. She must also confront her motives. Is she really wanting to help others or just gain recognition for herself?
In the midst of all of this, her relationship with her roommates comes to the forefront and she must trust God to take care of the details of her life. Encouragement and affirmation come from some unlikely sources and Kat begins to see God working in and through her to bring comfort and hope to others.
Neta Jackson’s “Come to the Table” is a novel in the Yada Yada Prayer Group Series and the second book in the SouledOut Sisters series. It releases this month from Thomas Nelson Publishers.
If you are looking for a light read with a heavy dose of spiritual truth, “Come to the Table” fits the bill. You will laugh and cry with Nick, Kat, Bree, Rochelle and Conny as they live life together as Christians trying to find their place in the world. Even if you haven’t read any of Jackson’s previous novels, you won’t have any problems catching up. Now, if I could only find a group like the Yada Yada Prayer Group.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The B&B Media Group as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Come to the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a novel of character development

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In this continuation of the lives of Nick, Kat, and Bree (Rochelle and Conny, too), we see Kat really beginning to mature. Kat is a pretty new Christian, having been saved just a few years ago at a music fest. Remember, she's the dumpster diver so concerned about healthy eating. In this novel we see her passion being channeled to feeding the homeless and poor. Kat is also jealous of Rochelle as Nick is spending time and showing lots of affection to young Conny.
We see Nick mature too as he serves an internship at SouledOut Church. He faces his own crisis when he finds out Rochelle thinks he would make a great husband for her and father for Conny. But Nick has eyes only for Kat. It's just that he hasn't told her yet.
This is definitely a character driven novel so don't expect much action. But do expect a pleasant experience as you watch these young career age people mature in character and faith. You'll be left hanging just enough at the end of the book to look forward to a sequel.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Come to the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Come to the Table

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Saleslady371
Location:Cornville, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I'm a big fan of Neta Jackson's writing.
This novel is the second book of the SouledOut Sisters series and can be read easily by itself. Nick, Brygitta, Kat and Rochelle and her six year old son, Conny all share an apartment and learn to apply Christian principles to living together in harmony overcoming jealousy, criticism and insecurity. The author does a great job of integrating biblical topics in the storyline and just like the characters, you find yourself asking questions like who should be baptized, is church membership a necessary commitment and how to interact with someone with HIV. I specifically like the way the main character, Kat, learns how to slow down and pray for God’s leading before running off with her many ideas and getting way in over her head.
The story focuses on serving God by serving His people through a food pantry ministry. It includes a touch of romance and some great lessons in communication. I found it to be delightful and entertaining with a few surprises in the last few chapters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Come to the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
friendofreaders
Location:Colorado Springs,Co
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neta Jackson has written another wonderful series! She has taken some very important social issues that we face today and made an amazing story. "Come To Tha Table" the second book of The Souled Out Sisters" series is a story that you can't put down till you find out what happens. Neta uses Jesus' words to open the eyes of her characters and readers to the needs of the poor, sick, single parents and the elderly. Her characters come alive with their challenges and emotions that we the reader have faced or might face. If you have read "The Yada Yada Prayer Group, & "The House of Hope series, you will meet some old friends from these books in this series. This will be a 'Must Read' for my Book club.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Come to the Table - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Come to the Table
By Neta Jackson
Kat may be new in her faith, but she’s embraced the more radical implications of Christianity with reckless abandon. She invited Rochelle—a homeless mother—and her son to move in the apartment she shares with two other housemates. And she’s finally found a practical way to channel her passion for healthy eating by starting a food pantry at the church.
Her feelings for Nick are getting harder to ignore. The fact that he’s the interning pastor at SouledOut Community Church and one of her housemates makes it complicated enough. But with Rochelle showing interest in Nick as a father-figure for her son, their apartment is feeling way too small.
But not everyone thinks the food pantry is a good idea. When the woman she thought would be her biggest supporter just wants to “pray about it,” Kat is forced to look deeper at her own motives. Only when she begins to look past the surface does she see people who are hungry and thirsty for more than just food and drink and realizes the deeper significance of inviting them to “come to the table.”
It is a cute easy to read story. It is super easy to read. I read it in one afternoon, with a cup of tea while it rained outside. It is the second book in the series. I did not read the first book. I don't think it really matters. I was able to follow the story just fine without reading the first book.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.