Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SaltRiver Looking for God in Harry Potter (updated 2nd edition)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

SaltRiver Looking for God in Harry Potter (updated 2nd edition)

Despite the controversy that surround them, millions of Christian kids are reading the phenomenally best-selling Harry Potter books and watching the Harry Potter movies. In this book author John Granger, a devout Christian, literature teacher and father of seven home-schooled children, gives parents and teachers a roadmap for using the Harry Potter books to teach children Christian truth. This book explores the surprising reasons Joanne Rowling's fiction is so popular and examines what the author believes are strong Christian themes in the Potter book. Along the way, Granger contends that Rowling is writing in the tradition of Shakespeare, Donne, Tolkien, Lewis, and reveal the three tests of great fiction. This book is for Christians who want substantive answers, and for Potter fans who will devour the book to see if they agree with Granger. Updated to include information about the sixth book in Rowling's series and speculations about the seventh.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(2 Reviews) 2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Looking for God in Harry Potter (updated 2nd edition)
Review 1 for Looking for God in Harry Potter (updated 2nd edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Magic, Fantasy with a Christian Worldview

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Southeast Wisconsin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twelve years ago I was confronted by our then extreme, right wing, homeschooling mommy neighbor with accusations that "Harry Potter is evil, he is the antichrist." Sadly our neighbor had not read through any of the Harry Potter books, but based her statement on an article which appeared in the Madison, Wisconsin based, satirical newspaper, “The Onion.” Twelve years ago there were not many resource books on this topic. However, in 2002 a new author named John Granger appeared on the scene. Granger attempted to do something no other author had done before: Approach the Harry Potter books from a literary analysis/apologetics viewpoint. His first book was titled, “The Hidden Key to Harry Potter” followed by a second edition titled, “Looking for God in Harry Potter” and finally a third edition titled, “How Harry Potter Cast His Spell.”
For this review, the second edition, “Looking for God in Harry Potter” will be the subject of my review.
“Refusing to see the Christian elements in Harry Potter and insisting it is demonic is not a greater piety or fidelity to the faith; it is just a reflection of not understanding the place of literature in the spiritual life, of not understanding the Christian tradition of English literature, and of not understanding Harry Potter,” states John Granger. This is the premise for his book, “Looking for God in Harry Potter.”
Granger eloquently delivers his defense using his knowledge of classic literature, philosophy and Christian tradition in the following chapters: “Magic, Fantasy and the Christian Worldview, God’s Army versus the Servants of Satan, The Hero’s Christ like Journey, The Alchemy of Spiritual Growth, One, Person, Two Natures, Christian Answers to Big Questions, The Triumph of Love over Death, The Question of Identity, Evidence of Things Unseen, Fun with Names, The Purification of the Soul, Dangerous Books and Edifying Books, Despair and Delivery, Girded with Virtue, Dark Night of the Soul, Baptism into a Sacrificial Death, The Power of Christian Artistry and Speaking of God in Harry Potter.
“Looking for God in Harry Potter” is a must read for fans who want to know what inspired J.K. Rowling to write the Harry Potter books, parents who want to know more about the values the books teach and for teachers and students who wish to gain a better understanding of the literary elements and theological message within the books themselves.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Looking for God in Harry Potter (updated 2nd edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Judith Barrett
A truly awesome book. John Granger explains the symbolism and plot so that Christians can make an informed decision regarding Harry Potter. His insight allows one to use the Potter series as a tool to educate others regarding Christianity, and shows us that much of the controversy is really 'much ado about nothing.'
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.