Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Inter-Varsity Press Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies

Inter-Varsity Press Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies

They were ordinary people. Most would not make headlines in any other history book but God's. Yet the women of the Old Testament made critical choices that led to extraordinary results. Through faith and strong character they rescued their families, led people out of bondage, gave birth to kings and saved a nation. Each one demonstrates the far-reaching consequences of everyday actons. This revised LifeGuide Bible Study features additional questions for starting group discussions and for meeting God in personal reflection, together with expanded leader's notes and an extra "Now or Later" section in each study.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Review 1 for Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Billy
Location:Niles, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Our ladies' group is enjoying the studies. There is a challenge in each study that is so good for each of us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very easy to understand

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gale
Location:chico, ca
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this for our small bible study group. It is very informational on some of the women we rarely think about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The lesson could have been a little longer.

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
dorisr43
Location:Fairmont, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The scripture was easy to follow and gave much insight as to how the old testament women were treated and blessed by our Lord. The discussion questions were very good. We have an hour class, and the lesson could have been a little longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patti
Location:Rootstown, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are into the study in full swing right now and all our ladies (and our pastor) are enjoying it greatly. The lessons are short for our 1 hour study time and we also get to talk amongst ourselves about the women we are studying. "Very nice study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent service

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joan
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used these type of materials for many years in our Bible Study group. They lead to good discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study!

Date:March 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
w2th
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I thought I'd this book a try in a men"s study because it was there, available from a study my wife had done.
A dozen guys weren't sure at the start but it initiated a lot of good discussion, deep insight and learning of Biblical truths.
Proved itself to be a good study for men or women.
For the record, I do hunt and fish and eat meat on a regular basis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Oma O
Location:South Dakota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this as a group study. We have learned many interesting things about these old testament women that we didn't realize before. It is just the right length of lesson and it creates a lot of discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Derinda Thiessen
God using ordinary people to do extraordinary thing. This book is an excellent Bible Study tool. There are group discussion questions, personal reflection, leader notes and an extra "Now and Later" section. This is a great way, to really learn about the character of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jean Marrapodi
I have taught this study twice now with women fairly new to Bible study, and found that the conversation goes pretty far with the women. There is a nice balance of practical application and Bible knowledge. Women do not need to have significant background to participate, and there is no prework required, unless the group decides to prepare the lessons ahead of time. Each lesson can be covered in an hour. There are teacher notes in the back, so it is also appropriate for new teachers to facilitate the discussion. I've never been disappointed with any in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women of the Old Testament, LifeGuide Topical Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eloise Smith
we have just started the study of Women of the Old Testament and found that these women had freedom to make choices even though they were living in a Patriarchal society. I can't wait to get deeper into this study. There is a great deal to learn from these women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.