Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook

Howard Books Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
Review 1 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Such a fascinating novel!

Date:February 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roses Have Thorns was not my favorite novel I have ever read, but it was such a touching story that had my captured much of the novel!
Helena is a very interesting character! I felt I could relate to her in many ways, especially as she became more openly outspoken in her humorous and witty remakes with the people around her! There were many times though that my heart broke for her concerning things that she experienced (I don't want to give any examples because I don't want to spoil anything)! She could have been an extremely bitter and mean woman, but instead she turned to God to help her.
There was for the most part I felt a subtle faith message! In the time of Elizabeth there was much religious turmoil it seems between the Catholics and Protestants. However beside this their were a few Bible verses shared as well as a few prayers spoken! Many people believe me in God would sometimes openly share their faith!
Lastly I really enjoyed learning more about ladies in waiting! It was so interesting and saddening at times when they had to serve the Queen much more often rather then be with their families! It was very interesting to see Queen Elizabeth through the eyes of a lady in waiting as well! She definitely is human even it seemed she did not with her many masks!
One thing that I will mention is that there we're places where my attention was not held very good! However this is still a great historical novel! I felt I was almost reading a secret journal of Helena concerning her love life, court life, and of course the Queen herself (which was my favorite part of the whole novel)!
I recommend this novel to anyone who likes a subtle faith message weaved into a historical account with love, loyalty, and grace!
I give Roses Have Thorns by Sandra Byrd 4 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Glad to See Such a Christian Historical Read

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would venture to say that I never tire of reading about or hearing more about the royal Tudor family. I mean King Henry VIII, Queen Elizabeth, Mary Queen of Scotts, Ann Boleyn--I feel like I know so much and so little about them. Up to this point, I have never felt any real compassion for Queen Elizabeth. I have realized how great she is and all that, but I felt she had no heart. I was never really a fan of Mary Queen of Scotts either. As far as I was concerned, they came from a crazy family, and there was really nothing good about them.
Let me say that this book gave me a very different view of Queen Elizabeth and the Tudor court. I saw this supreme monarch as a real person with feeling and emotion. I actually dared to believe that maybe she was human after all. She even had friends. And all of this was told through the eyes of one of her ladies in waiting--Elin of Sweden. She was a real person, and Sandra Byrd has created a well-researched tale that kept me interested from start to finish.
I can certainly classify this book as a clean romance. There is absolutely no profanity, and there are no sex scenes. It is rare to find a historical novel that is squeaky clean like this book. I also love the fact that the dialogue fits the time period, and actual historical events are portrayed with only minor artistic liberties. I also appreciated the emphasis on the faith of the characters involved. I might even believe that Elizabeth was some kind of Christian. I have to say that as a result of this book, I will never see the Tudor family the same way again.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fresh, Majestic & Inspiring

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dolly
Location:New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book concludes Sandra’s regal & riveting Ladies in Waiting series. Through the unique perspective of one fully devoted to Elizabeth, Sandra gives a rare glimpse into a queen’s heart. I’ve read other books about Elizabeth that were less than kind, but Sandra’s stories always revive them with such fresh intimacy that the characters themselves seem to rise up & challenge my former assumptions. From the first book in this series, my hard-hearted ideas about Elizabeth I began to dissolve. However, it still took many pages to understand Elizabeth’s life choices, despite Sandra’s expertise in laying them out. They just didn’t resonate with my romantic heart but digging deeper through Elin/Helena’s point of view, reveals much of the Divine Romance at work in Elizabeth’s life. To whom much is given, indeed, much is required, but Elizabeth wasn’t the only one who made sacrifices. Those close to her also surrendered much in their own lives to serve queen & country. Why? The reason that finally penetrated my pre-conceived notions was the absolute necessity of being able to trust those who encircled her throne. Elizabeth faced enemies & adversity from the moment she entered the world female rather than male. Her father so doubted a woman’s ability to rule that he continued to switch out wives like undergarments in his restless pursuit of a son. Through Helena’s story, which is ripe with intrigue, romance, betrayal & forgiveness, Sandra showcases the heart of a queen who chose to put herself aside to fulfill the good work God prepared in advance for her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delivered on High Expectations

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lizzie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Queen Elizabeth I has always been a personal favorite of mine (I mean, talk about a great name, right?) so author Sandra Byrd had a tough feat ahead of her from the onset. I picked up "Roses Have Thorns" with great expectations and warned myself ahead of time not to put any undue pressure on the author. However, I can honestly say that while Byrd's vision of Queen Elizabeth I didn't completely match mine, I was not disappointed.
The story follows the adventures of Lady Elin Von Snakenborg as she serves as a lady's maid to Queen Elizabeth. Readers are transported to another time and place as Elin struggles to balance both allegiance to the queen and allegiance to her heart. While threats against the queen's throne mount, threats within Elin's own home abound.
I really appreciate how down-to-earth the author made both Queen Elizabeth and Elin. You feel the pain right along with Queen Elizabeth as she chooses loyalty to her people over the love of her life, and with Elin you see real flaws that would be impossible not to relate to.
What I really appreciated about this story was that Byrd didn't just stop at "happily-ever-after" and a marriage. Instead, she goes past the marriage and straight to what it means to rediscover love once the honeymoon is over. Because of that, Elin's love story is one of the more realistic and poignant I've read.
I wouldn't consider myself a prude by any stretch of the imagination, but I did feel as though the author could have done without so many sexual references. While the references were always within the context of marriage and tastefully done, I didn't feel it was necessary to know of every time the characters made love.
However, as with any Byrd book, readers are in for an emotionally-gripping read with unforgettable characters who face real challenges and end up overcoming them in a way that makes you want to cheer aloud. Byrd is a master at subtlety, and all of the witty play on words were fun to find.
Although "To Die For" will remain my favorite, all the books in this series were well-worth reading, and it is with a fond farewell I say goodbye to the "Ladies in Waiting" series and look forward to more!
(I received this book for free in exchange for my honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very intriguing story

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book, Roses Have Thorns, written by Sandra Byrd is a new book about Queen Elizabeth I. Sandra Byrd is also a new author to me. I actually enjoyed both story and author.
This novel was more than a historical romance, it was a story of the life of the lady of the Queen and her relationship to the Monarch. Lady Helena served Queen Elizabeth I through her single, married, widowed, remarried life, life with and without children.
The life of a lady of the queen was a privileged one, yet it was extremely demanding as well. Trust, devotion and true love for Monarch lead to the path of success for those who chose it. However, for those who didn't.....they quickly discovered the consequences.
Roses Have Thorns was and is an intriguing story set in 1565 about the loving devotion between a queen and her lady. I loved seeing the story play out through threats on Queen Elizabeth I's life, acts of treason and plots by Mary Queen of Scots; detailing the sacrifices each one made on behalf of England and her Queen.
This book kept me captivated as I lived through Lady Helena and felt her love and pain. It was extremely interesting to live the life of a lady through her eyes. I give the book two thumbs up because I'll probably read it again. I'd also like to read the other books in the Tudor series, all written by Sandra Byrd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Roses Have Thorns

Date:May 10, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Roses Have Thorns we are taken into the inner circle of Queen Elizabeth I. The story is told through the perspective of Helen von Snakenborg, who is a confidant of the queen and the second most powerful woman in all of England.
If you are a fan of Tudor history you are really going to enjoy this book! Sandra Byrd has woven a tale that is compelling yet tasteful. She gives you insight into just how turbulent the times were. We are reminded of how much shifting between Catholic and Protestant religions her predecessors embarked upon. The religious tension of the day was very pervasive in the lives of everyone, from those at court to those among the masses.
I came away from the book with a new respect for Elizabeth I. She really did sacrifice her life and happiness for her subjects and her country. She was a very devout woman yet her court was still riddled with scandals. One of the things I appreciate about Sandra Byrd’s writing is that she tackles these disgraces head on in a discerning manner. We are aware of exactly what is going on, but we don’t have to muck through the tawdry details.
I was also profoundly affected by the story of Helen. I can’t even begin to imagine what it was like to live at court. Every luxury is at your fingertips, but your children and even in Helen’s case your husband are elsewhere. The power the queen held over her life would have been completely overwhelming to me. I loved her strength of character and also her flaws that reminded us that we are all vulnerable when we take our eyes off of our Savior.
This is the third and final installment in the Ladies in Waiting series. The first book is To Die For; A Novel of Anne Boleyn. The second book is The Secret Keeper; A Novel of Kateryn Parr. Even though these three books are considered a series they are easily read as stand-alone novels. I highly recommend each of them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

At the top

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Historical fiction at its finest. When I want to read historical fiction, I don't want to feel as though I've picked up an encyclopedia and started reading it. I want to feel as though I have been transported back in time and am a part of that particular era. This is not an easy thing to do for any author. Sandra Byrd is one of the very few that can accomplish this. Too often, historical novels become places with major information dumps and I get bored. Quickly. And then I never want to return to the book. This one? In my opinion, this one is even better than To Die For.
I have my favorite books and authors. Sandra Byrd is at the top of the list.
This story is full of intrigue, suspense, and stratagems almost entirely within your own family.
Everyone smiles.
Everyone bows or curtsies.
Yet almost everyone wants you dead.
The solution? Surround yourself with brilliant counselors and ladies in waiting that you can trust. And even then, you may make a terrible mistake.
Taking a piece of history that is in itself fascinating, Ms. Byrd went the extra distance. She found and expounded on a tiny fractional piece of history about a person many people didn't even know existed, and gave her her own voice. Her own story. And it was captivating. Thrilling. And I was sorry to see this one end.
If you're looking for cardboard characters, limp plots and scenery? Don't waste your time on this book. If you're looking for something to chew on and think about for weeks to come? Even do a little research on your own just to see how much of this could be true? You'll want this book.
Highly recommend.
*My thanks to the author & publisher for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for a review. I was in no wise obligated this review be positive. These thoughts are my own.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Brave Enough to be the Queen's Servant?

Date:May 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The third in a historical trilogy, “Roses Have Thorns” is set in the Tudor period, a time rife with conflict and rich in more than just the jewels and costumes.
Much like a movie playing out before the mind’s eye, this novel follows richly on the its cover’s promise. Dark and deep, telling in its portrayal of real life characters through the eyes of a fictional heroine, the novel takes place over more years than most titles can pull off.
A reader can travel years within one chapter, but a tip of my feather-decked hat to never once making me feel as though I were rushed. I would have really loved to see the layer of Thomas and Helena begin much sooner in the novel. I wanted to delve deeper into their relationship and their struggles.
To be a servant to the queen? A woman with enough power to sever your head from your shoulders without being questioned? I don’t think I’d be brave enough. Helena was. 16th century England was nothing short than a walking booby trap. What faith!
I felt much of the novel was circular. The same events happening over and over and with this, I lost a great deal of my initial interest. While the story as a whole, had great potential for good, I didn’t enjoy this one as much as “To Die For” (novel #1)
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Roses Have Thorns will delight readers

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roses Have Thorns
A Novel of Elizabeth I
By Sandra Byrd
I have never read Sandra Byrd's work before, though I have to admit wanting to, so this blog tour was the perfect time to acquaint myself with a new (for me) author. I have read other books about Elizabeth I in the past as my mom has been a Tutor / Stuart history buff and I had easy access to this titles through the years. Roses Have Thorns is definitely an excellent addition to the library of anyone interested in this time period.
Roses Have Thorns captured my attention and held it the end. I wanted to know what happened to Helena (Elin) Snakenborg and how her adjusted to life in Elizabeth's England after leaving her home and family behind in Sweden.
Elin is betrayed by both her sister and her fiance just days before she is to leave for a short trip to England. When Elin is offered a chance to stay in England and serve as a lady in Elizabeth's court she takes the opportunity it offers - a new life, a new country, and perhaps a new fiance. But as Elin soon learns a new name in a new country does not create friends. Only when she proves her loyalty to the crown at risk to her own life is she accepted and forms friendships within the court.
But betrayal surrounds Elizabeth and hidden threats can rise up at any time. Any piece of information could be vital to save the life of the Queen. But when choices of the heart or loyalty to the crown threaten her marriage what will Helena decide? To whom does her heart belong?
As England's religious future hangs in the balance, Elizabeth and Helena must decide where their hearts will lead them. Roses Have Thorns is the story of Elizabeth's England seen through the eyes of a woman who chose to make Elizabeth her queen and England her home.
Helena's love and her passions drive her loyalty as does the memory of her own betrayal. Take a journey of a lifetime with Helena and rediscover England of the sixteenth century. Fall in love with England of old.
Roses Have Thorns was an enjoyable reading experience and I would highly recommend it to any history lover or royalty enthusiast. It is a lovely way to spend an evening or week-end. I will now have to read the first two books in the series.
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Grand Conclusion

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh, it was good! It was so much fun (and so interesting) to get to know Queen Elizabeth I a little better. I really did feel like I knew her pretty well by the end. And I love the cover too – more in person than online. The purple and gold are very stunning, and the entire trilogy looks so lovely all together on my shelf! Elin/Helena, the main heroine, is a lady in waiting to Elizabeth I and turned out to be a fascinating woman to “journey” with through this book, as she was telling the story herself (does that make sense?). I’m definitely sorry to see this series end – they are the best Tudor era fiction I’ve found. However, I do recommend them mostly for about age 16+ as they do occasionally deal with some more mature content – nothing explicit though.
The characters were all quite understandable and believable; perhaps the Queen most of all. At the beginning and end of the book are several informative family trees, plus an author’s note to wrap everything up. Sandra obviously put an amazing amount of research into this! One thing that I came across was that towards the beginning (page 52), one of Elin’s jobs was to warm the Queen’s bed every night for her. Yes, that means Elin got in, lay there until it was warm, then got out right before the Queen went to bed. If I were Queen? I’d get a bed-warmer. SO HANDY for cold nights. Anyway, that’s one thing that I’ve always rather wanted but never knew people did.
All in all, a great book where you’ll learn history in a fascinating, memorable, and fun way!
**I was sent this book for review. I wasn’t required to post a positive review, and I wasn’t recompensed in any other way.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Elizabeth I and Romance

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandra Byrd in her new book, "Roses Have Thorns" A Novel of Elizabeth I Book Three in The Tudor series published by Howard Books takes us into the life of Elin von Snakenborg AKA Helena.
From the Back Cover: What happens when serving a queen may cost you your marriage-or your life?
In 1565, seventeen-year-old Elin von Snakenborg leaves Sweden on a treacherous journey to England. Her fiance has fallen in love with her sister and her dowry money has been gambled away, but ahead of her lies an adventure that will take her to the dizzying heights of Tudor power. Transformed through marriage into Helena, the Marchioness of Northampton, she becomes the highest-ranking woman in Elizabeth's circle.
But in a court that is surrounded by Catholic enemies who plot the queen's downfall, Helena is forced to choose between her unyielding monarch and the husband she's not sure she can trust-a choice that will provoke catastrophic consequences.
A rich, tautly woven tale of love, deception, and grace, "Roses Have Thorns" Vividly conjures the years leading up to the beheading of Mary Queen of Scots and is a brilliant exploration of treason, both to the realm and to the heart.
I like history and if you give me history that I am not really all that familiar with I like it even more. Sandra Byrd has given us a novel about the reign of Elizabeth I of England. Elizabeth's story is told through the story of Elin from Sweden, who changes her name to Helena when she stays in England. It deals with the inner court and what these ladies were there for. "Roses Have Thorns" is full of deceit, political wheeling dealings, mistrust and some shady characters. There are also the events that led to the beheading of Mary, Queen of Scots. It also has romance. As I said this is a historical novel and it is very well researched. I don't generally receive books set in this time period so I was very glad to get this one. Sandra Byrd did a great job. You will like this book as well.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Howard Books for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The young Elin von Snakenborg travelled from Sweden to England in 1565. She left behind a fiancé who betrayed her with her sister. In England she meets the wealthy Lord Northampton, who is attracted to Elin. Although he is many years older than Elin, the feeling is mutual. When Elin’s travel companions return to Sweden, Elin stays behind in hopes to get married to Lord Northampton, meanwhile serving in Queen Elizabeth’s court.
When she got married to Lord Northampton she became the Marchioness of Northampton and she changed her name to Helena. She spends most of her time serving the queen—day and night—and that is going to have a huge impact on her marriage.
In this novel we get to know and see Queen Elizabeth through the eyes of Helena. Although I don’t know much about the Tudor family, or any other thing about English royalty for that matter, this novel rings true. The writing is engaging and I loved the historical details. This is an intriguing story that kept me turning the pages until far after midnight.
*Thanks to the publisher for providing me with a review copy through NetGalley.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Roses have Thorns- a fast favorite!

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One can’t help but have favorites in life. Favorite coffee places, favorite eateries, favorite desserts and of course favorite people. I have to say that Roses Have Thorns a novel of Elizabeth I by Sandra Byrd will go down as a favorite read of mine for this year. As you read on in this lovely historical fiction account of Queen Elizabeth’s life , you will find that she had favorite’s as well, which is how we meet young Elin von Snakenborg, a lovely young girl from Sweden who journeys to England with her Swedish Princess Cecelia to tend to her on the voyage. Through a series of events, such as a sister who is systematically stealing her fiancé back home in Sweden to the meeting of a very high ranking and very interested Lord Northampton, Elin does not return to Sweden, but remains in England. As a result, she is welcomed onto Elizabeth’s court and becomes, as previously mentioned a favorite of Queen Elizabeth. Elizabeth’s story is told through the lens of Elin’s perspective.
As Elin transitions from her Swedish roots to her new English life, she adopts the name of Helena with the mindset of embracing her new English life. It is rather lonely at first as she is treated by many around her as an outsider. But Helena in her efforts to please Queen Elizabeth uses her Swedish know-how to offer her comfort and help through Herbal fragrances and massage to help with the stress that a Queen carries. After some delay she is finally married to Lord Northampton which immediately elevates her to the Marchioness of Northampton which deems her the highest-ranking woman in Elizabeth’s circle. It’s a rather interesting circle to be a part of I’m afraid as it becomes confusing to find out who can be trusted as loyal to the crown and who cannot. There are Catholic enemies plotting everywhere and the intrigue of the court and the sundry goings on keeps one turning the pages!
As with every one of these Tudor books that Sandra Byrd has written, you can’t help but fall in love with the heroine and her plight, there are challenges, a romance (or two) and all sorts of things that keep a Marchioness on her toes. Poor Helena endures much and is sometimes confused about whom she can trust amongst the court and who she cannot and even falls in and out of favor with Elizabeth a time or two, but that adds to the interest of the story. One aspect that I though was especially well done was showing just how attached Elizabeth became to her ladies of the court. They really were her family and so she loathed to part with any of them as it was like parting with her own family. As she was a virgin queen and decided to forego marriage in lieu of her commitment to ruling as the Sovereign of England it gave way to much loneliness on Elizabeth’s part. I thought that was well written and added much understanding to why Elizabeth did what she did. This story also covers the time frame of leading up to the beheading of Mary, Queen of Scots and the very difficult decision that was for Elizabeth.
And so to sum up, yes, I very much enjoyed this read, it was very well done and I think the crowing achievement for these three Tudor books that Sandra Byrd has written. This book was well researched and when good research meets a wonderful storyteller you get a truly wonderful historical fiction account of Queen Elizabeth as well as Helena von Snakenborg. Again as stated above this one goes down in the books as a favorite!
5 stars
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Tudor Era comes alive!

Date:April 9, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“He was a pawn wishing to be promoted to king, and minor pieces are oft sacrificed early in a game. The game, though, is always between the two most powerful pieces, queens.”
It’s release day for Roses Have Thorns by the ever wonderful Sandra Byrd! So go buy it. Right now! :) Now on to the review:
Can we take a moment to take about this family’s drama? I mean seriously. I could not handle never knowing who to fully trust. Like ever. My sister wants me dead? How sweet. Someone tried to poison me with deadly lotions? Neat. I can’t marry the love of my life? Precious.
Queen Elizabeth and Mary Queen of Scots weren’t exactly b/f/fs and what a sad reality where family doesn’t always mean instant love, but sometimes you have to execute them instead. But tis the life of royalty, especially during the Tudor age. Take a look at what awaits in these pages:
What happens when serving a queen may cost you your marriage–or your life?
In 1565, seventeen-year-old Elin von Snakenborg leaves Sweden on a treacherous journey to England. Her fiance has fallen in love with her sister and her dowry money has been gambled away, but ahead of her lies an adventure that will take her to the dizzying heights of Tudor power. Transformed through marriage into Helena, the Marchioness of Northampton, she becomes the highest-ranking woman in Elizabeth’s circle. But in a court that is surrounded by Catholic enemies who plot the queen’s downfall, Helena is forced to choose between her unyielding monarch and the husband she’s not sure she can trust–a choice that will provoke catastrophic consequences.
Vividly conjuring the years leading up to the beheading of Mary Queen of Scots, Roses Have Thorns is a brilliant exploration of treason, both to the realm and to the heart.
I love love love this whole series! What I really liked about this one, was that all the main characters were based on real people and Byrd did fantastic research. Once again this family line and reign came to life in awesome and intriguing fashion. If you love this time period, you definitely need to read these three. And even if you don’t, get them and I promise you’ll become fascinated!
P.S. I find it a tad bit humorous that one of England’s greatest and most beloved Queen’s was the daughter of Anne Boylen. Just throwing it out there.
(I received an advanced copy for review)
booksandbeverages.wordpress.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Roses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I - eBook
This review is fromRoses Have Thorns: Elizabeth I.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superior Tudor Fiction

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandra Byrd has done it again. Just when I thought I couldn't become anymore intrigued by Tudor history she pens another stellar book that makes me want to know more, more, more! Each story in the Ladies in Waiting series, Roses Have Thorns included, has an authentic feel. From clothing, to court life, to dialogue you can't help become immersed in the story and feel as if you are a part of it. The best thing is that not only are historical settings and figures brought to life but romance as well.
From the beginning we follow 17-year-old Elin von Snakenborg from her home in Sweden as a young woman unsure of what her future holds to a mature, married woman with a family. The perils she faces as part of Queen Elizabeth's inner circle mingle with those of her own personal life and one is always left unsure of whether or not Elin, later known as Helena, will find true happiness and love. I for one was a little worried that Helena's husband, who will remain unnamed to prevent spoiling the story, was guilty of cheating but he redeemed himself to become one of my favorite characters in the book.
I thoroughly enjoyed Roses Have Thorns and I am sad to see this series end. I can't get enough! Drama, romance, history, this book has it all in spades.
*I received a complimentary ARC from the author. I was not obligated to provide a positive review. *
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.