Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Train-Up A Child Publishing Choosing Obedience

Train-Up A Child Publishing Choosing Obedience

With the help of the Holy Spirit, your child or children will learn so much about obedience in Choosing Obedience. This study is an in-depth, independent Bible curriculum based on the Word of God. The study includes 16 illustrated lessons, activities, and quizzes. Varied question formats as well as previewing and reviewing materials make the Train-Up Studies educationally sound. At the conclusion of the study is a section titled "Steps To Inviting Jesus Into Your Heart" as well as an Answer Key.

Throughout the study, Choosing Obedience, the child will learn the following:

  • What Obedience Is
  • Who You Should Obey
  • What Love and Obedience Have in Common
  • How to Overcome Fear
  • Examples from the Bible of Those Who Have Obeyed God
  • Examples from the Bible of Those Who Have Not Obeyed God
  • The Rewards for Obedience
  • Jesus Sets You Free From the Punishment for Disobedience
  • What To Put in Your Heart, Mind, Mouth
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.727 out of 5
    4.7
     out of 
    5
    (11 Reviews) 11
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
    5 stars
    8
    4 stars
    3
    3 stars
    0
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    0
    5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for Choosing Obedience
    Review 1 for Choosing Obedience
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 23, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Home4Praise2Him
    Location:Panama City, FL
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    We all need to be reminded of the blessings of obedience and this can be used for multi-age group settings. Was able to do it quickly with my older children to start the day out right.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Choosing Obedience
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Good book

    Date:March 23, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    SarNatMom
    Location:Georgia
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I am using this book as a self-guided refresher on obedience. I am just making it a class that my daughter needs to do every day. She loves to color the pictures and it is nice that the lessons are reinforced with scriptures.
    She is 12; as I said, these are good for us as a refresher.
    If your child is younger you will need to help out.
    I plan to get the book on Contentment next time.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Choosing Obedience
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Really well done!

    Date:March 16, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Wiconi
    Location:La Crosse, Wisconisn
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Great book for beginning bible thematic study. Simply and attractively put together. Really well researched and really works to get kids familiar with the bible.
    One of the things I like SO much is that the workbook does not contain much text of the bible. Citations and scriptural references galore, but the user must take the time to go look it all up. You simply cannot use this without a bible to hand. Since the kids must, in order to complete the lessons, look up lots of verses, the by-product is a thorough literacy of the bible.
    I alos like that the book does not preach, but asks the child to go lok things up - and asks leading questions about what the messages are. The answers in the back arre general - and allow the parent to fill in details or specifics according to their beliefs.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Choosing Obedience
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Excellent Bible Study

    Date:January 21, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Megan Doyle
    Location:Virginia
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    We just started using this Bible curriculum as part of our homeschool and the kids love it! We have three children (ages 6, 3, and 10 months) and the older two really enjoy the Bible lessons and have already learned so much in just the first week of lessons. The illustrations are simple enough to captivate my 3-yr-old son's attention to help him sit through the lesson a little quieter and involved enough that they supplement the lesson for my 6-yr-old daughter. The lessons have some "meat" to them, but they aren't overwhelming, even for my 3 year old. This is curriculum that, after only one week of using, I have already recommended to some friends. If you are looking for a solid Bible curriculum to use for your children, start here!
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Choosing Obedience
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 19, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    booboogirl
    Location:D.C.
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    After the first lesson, I asked my boys to do something and instead of hearing, "Why mommy?" I heard my 5 years old son say,
    "Look mommy, I'm obeying you. I'm doing what you told me to do."
    That is priceless people!!
    We still have a long way to go, but I have noticed a difference from using this book.
    I also like that there is a coloring/illustration page I can copy and let both boys color after these simple clear lessons are over.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Choosing Obedience
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 29, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Kimberly Mitchell
    We have enjoyed using Choosing Obedience during our homeschool studies, and definitely will be continuing on with the series. I noticed a difference in my kids attitudes on day one. Even parents can learn a few lessons along the way.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Choosing Obedience
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:December 29, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Jennifer Bove
    I think this is a great study for kids. We are using it in a group Bible Study with children from ages 7-13.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Choosing Obedience
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 19, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    borntoworship
    We love this series! My daughter is 5 1/2 and we do these studies every morning. My daughter said this study "didn't work" for her because she's still getting in trouble! We recommend these studies to any family wanting to study the word with their kids.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Choosing Obedience
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 29, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Jenifer Smith
    Love it! We've added it to our homeschool curriculm, and after the first lesson I saw a difference in my 2 boy's (ages 10 and 12) attitude. Plus, they're obeying because GOD said to, not just me. I will be buying the other books in this series as well!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Choosing Obedience
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:May 5, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Sanctuary
    We purchased the whole Choosing... series and have worked through them as a part of our homeschool studies. The kids have enjoyed them very much (we did them together when the kids were in K/2 and 1/3). They are easy to do each day and are not time consuming, but are surprisingly meaty. I also liked that each book started with several lessons on Bible characters that DID choose (obedience, thankfulnes, etc), then several lessons on Bible characters that did NOT choose (kindness, etc) and then how Jesus showed that character trait. Great series. Highly recommended!
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Choosing Obedience
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:January 23, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    C.w. Hill
    I have young children ages 3 and 5 and it is a little much for them but we have worked slowly through it and I like it. Although they cannot do the activities yet the content is great. The first chapter was missing a few pages but I do not know if that was just mine or in all copies. Overall, we love it.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.