Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Train-Up A Child Publishing Choosing Self-Control

Train-Up A Child Publishing Choosing Self-Control

You are so blessed to be studying God's Word as a child. God's Word is filled with treasures and mysteries. With the help of the Holy Spirit, you will learn so much about self-control in the next 16 lessons. Kindergarten-5th Grade.

Some of the things you will learn from this study are:

  • The Definition of Self-Control
  • The Importance of Living for God
  • The Fruit of Self-Control
  • Without Self-Control Your Life is out of control
  • People in the Bible who had self control
  • People in the Bible who did not have self control
  • Controlling your thoughts, words and actions
  • How to die to yourself and walk in self control
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.923 out of 5
    4.9
     out of 
    5
    (13 Reviews) 13
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
    5 stars
    12
    4 stars
    1
    3 stars
    0
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    0
    5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Questions & Answers:
    1 Question | 2 Answers
    Customer Reviews for Choosing Self-Control
    Review 1 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    We absolutely love this study!!!

    Date:July 23, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Kruus
    Age:45-54
    We bought this to study during the summer and I believe we are going to continue throughout the school year. Our entire family love this book! Ages 48, 40, 12, 10, 8 and 6. We take turns in reading and we all take the quiz and grade each other. It is fun for our entire family and it brings out a lot in us that we had never thought of or considered we had. I would recommend this book for all ages!!!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Wonderful age appropriate study!

    Date:May 23, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    JustMe
    Location:Selma, Ca
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I bought this for my 8 year old daughter and I think it was one of the better investments I've made. She loves it! She can study it on her own for the most part and I just go over it after she's done, check her work, and have some pretty great discussions that I don't believe I would have thought to bring up on my own. I have already bought another book in the series, and I'm sure it won't be the last.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great Resource!

    Date:October 11, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Sherry Lynn
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I am a homeschool mom and purchased this book to expand on my daughter's daily Bible reading and catechism time. It is an excellent resource and I have been learning right along with her! What I love most is the fact that we have to actually find the referenced scriptures in her Bible. Great resource that teaches great Biblical truth about self control.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    This product teaches great values.

    Date:November 12, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Marmerjo
    Location:Independence, KY
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I am doing this series with my 6 year old daughter and the older set with my 17 year old son for homeschooling. We have finished Choosing Obedience and we are midway through this book. I LOVE this series for teaching Godly principles. My daughter likes it as well. We will continue with this series this year, and if there are enough books for next as well. The great thing is that if I want to expound on the subject I can do so and stretch the book for more than just 16 weeks. But the content itself is great. My son who is 17 just finished Godly Relationships and is now starting Jesus in the Old Testament.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 25, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Alex
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    My 7 yr old understands the material, and I am beginning to see the fruit in her life of that understanding!
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 24, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    ajl
    This is an excellent study and has made a definite difference in my children's actions!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 5, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Thomas Poche
    We are parents to 8 wonderful children by adoption and birth. We were looking for a bible study for our children/teens and we are very happy and pleased with this bible study. It is also a great tool to open the doors of communication with them.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 9, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Jennie
    Great book. Uses scripture for teaching as it should be. Note that it teaches that water baptism is necessary for salvation.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:August 21, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    K. Hubbard
    This has been a good self-study for my 4th grader. My only complaint is that it is a little too simplistic for her. Any 4th or 5th grade child who has been brought up in God's Word will probably already have a knowledge of the facts of this study; of course putting them into practice is another thing entirely! This study definitely can be discussed and referenced in daily life with your child, with the goal being for them to apply the truths to themselves.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 30, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Jo Anna
    I originally ordered this for homeschooling. However, I have found it to be appropriate for family devotions as well and for teaching at the AWANA club. It's wonderful and I highly recommend it to anyone {of all ages} who wants to know Jesus personally and how to become Christ Like...at any age.Thank you Kaye Freman & God bless~
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 13, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Linda Hawkes
    This was a good book for our grandson. He did learn the verses that most applied to him and it did make a differece in his behavior. The Bible along with this book helped him have a better understanding of why self-control is so important. He is 12 years old, we did the Bible reading together and he work in the book independently.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 8, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Stephanie Jerry
    We are using this for our twelve year old. She's older than the recommended age, but she's not bored with it and has learned a lot in the few lessons we've done.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for Choosing Self-Control
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 16, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Mrs. Schultz
    When I look back on my childhood, I remember being saturated in the Word. It seemed like my family spent most of our lives in church, and I loved it. We've all grown up and had our own children. Looking for Bible curricula can be daunting with so many options. However, the Train Up A Child Series reminded me of days of old. This series is so simply written yet powerful on its return. My daughter actually loves the workbook format, as I did as a child. 16 lessons that give children every opportunity to understand the single principle that the book is covering. It also provides for the opportunity for kids to hide the Word in their heart. The Lord directed me to this series.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.